As always
Do it now, paint it never laugh.gif

WIP of Modelcollect 1/72 T-64 mod 1972 biggrin.gif
TSlimfreelance
post Apr 7 2016, 10:43 AM

343 posts

nice kit...
Modelcollect release quite alot of variety of t64-t72-t80-t90.

Tiger I
post Apr 10 2016, 12:45 PM

210 posts

Assembled T-72B3M last night. There were so many parts, one could literally made a T-90 cast turret, many glacis plates, and myriads of roadwheels laugh.gif
Tiger I
post Apr 10 2016, 03:28 PM

210 posts

The joy of kit building.

WIP of Modelcollect 1/72 T-72B3M.
Another one with open hatches tongue.gif
Tiger I
post Apr 10 2016, 06:08 PM

210 posts

Sekali tiga kita kasi gerakkk
TSlimfreelance
post Apr 11 2016, 02:32 PM

343 posts

all that russian tank from model collect look very detail....& got alot of type. biggrin.gif
it allow u to collect the whole series of tank rclxms.gif
but... i must resist in 1/72 tank line. cry.gif
running low space & money.
Tiger I
post Apr 11 2016, 03:38 PM

210 posts

Those are the reasons I collect 1/72:
Space and money
Small and cheap yo tongue.gif
Battlefield1942
post Apr 11 2016, 08:28 PM

73 posts

Modelcollect cheap?..I think they cost more then the normal trumpeter 1/35. The Tamiya 1/48 range RM55-80. Modelcollect range around RM90-RM120/= for a 1/72. Same price range as 1/35.
Tiger I
post Apr 12 2016, 07:46 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(Battlefield1942 @ Apr 11 2016, 08:28 PM)
Modelcollect cheap?..I think they cost more then the normal trumpeter 1/35. The Tamiya 1/48 range RM55-80. Modelcollect range around RM90-RM120/= for a 1/72. Same price range as 1/35.
I am guessing you are probably getting the Modelcollect kit at higher price range.

From what I am getting, the lowest range is around RMB 58 (earlier kits like T-90A/T-90) and up to RMB 98 (for T-14 Armata). Since I am buying for myself the exchange rate would make these babies around less than MYR 50 (for T-90A). Easier way for seller to sell it just to exchange the RMB to MYR (for some profits).

But then again it would be an unfair comparison between different scale, in my point of view. A comparison between 1/72 Modelcollect and 1/72 Revell would always turn up with Modelcollect as the cheaper priced kit. This would also be true with Aoshima and Fujimi (in terms of 1/72 ground vehicles). However, this would seems as the higher price kits for 1/72 since Italeri, Trumpeter, ICM and Ace Models (to name a few) could produce some 1/72 ground vehicles at much cheaper price. Zvezda price range is rather the same niche with Modelcollect in my POV. Their 1/72 T-90 could be the best T-90 comparative to Modelcollect, Revell, and Ace Models, at a price between Modelcollect and Revell.

In terms of details and engineering, some of their latest kits are rather scaled down version of Trumpeter (this is for T-64) and even overkill (for T-14 Armata with the full sheet of P.E. For the grills, myriad of sensors on the turret, etc). I do believe this makes the price justifiable. Even the T-72B3/B3M does include buttloads of parts, one could literally make a T-90 if lower hull and upper hull (back part) is provided.

Probably my POV is a bit biased since I exclusively collect and build 1/72, and with Modelcollect providing me with most of what I want (at least for MBT. I get my IFV and APC fix from Ace Models), but this is what I could see for 1/72 in terms of price range. Modelcollect is appropriately priced for 1/72.

Older 1/35 Trumpeter such as M1 Abrams, AS-90, and PLA ground vehicles can be acquired at around same price with some 1/72 Modelcollect, that I agree. Newer ones like Trumpeter 1/35 MBT (T-64, T-80, and the likes) would always be around MYR 150+ as the SRP.

Preference of scale and having what I want are some of the reasons that drives me towards Modelcollect. While others can't deliver (such as Toxso, they are quite inactive for a while now) and others might not have the kit I wanted, Modelcollect fill this niche nicely and always listen to what their customers said (doing what their customers said is entirely up to them). Try that with Zvezda tongue.gif
Tiger I
post Apr 12 2016, 07:55 AM

210 posts

Also
Ease of construction (for length and link tracks, which I prefer over bendable rubber-like tracks).

Frankly I am lazy to assemble the tracks 98 times (more or less) in 1/35.

Or assembling 5 parts for a single track, and times that with the total amount of tracks that vehicle have (yes Meng I am looking at you).

1/72 is cheating with ease of construction, and give us faster (albeit smaller) satisfaction in doing the kit (since the kit part count is less). Hard tracks for 1/72 are always molded to a certain length together, with the exception with the ones that would simulate the tracks wrapping the idler wheels and sprokets (these are molded one by one) tongue.gif
TSlimfreelance
post Apr 12 2016, 11:21 AM

343 posts

QUOTE(Battlefield1942 @ Apr 11 2016, 08:28 PM)
rm 90-120 above... i think that is a price for heavy weapon..like S300, smerch & Pactriot system.
Model collect Tank price still under acceptable range....from rm 50- 75...unless the kit come with special PE part.

Old trumpeter or tamiya Kit is cheaper, but the latest one is quite expensive.

Btw, Revell gonna make 1/72 Topol....but not Topol M. doh.gif

Tiger I
post Apr 12 2016, 01:10 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(limfreelance @ Apr 12 2016, 11:21 AM)
rm 90-120 above... i think that is a price for heavy weapon..like S300, smerch & Pactriot system.
Model collect Tank price still under acceptable range....from rm 50- 75...unless the kit come with special PE part.

Old trumpeter or tamiya Kit is cheaper, but the latest one is quite expensive.

Btw, Revell gonna make 1/72 Topol....but not Topol M. doh.gif
well shit. same old mold.

i am under the impression revell is just going to retool the mold and make it under their name, like they did with lee mi-28n (zvezda did it first), mi-24v/vp (64839) ...

the latest zvezda kit are mostly remade by revell with more stencils and whatnot at heftier price. kudos revell for making moolah laugh.gif
Battlefield1942
post Apr 17 2016, 10:38 PM

73 posts

Here in Penang, 1/72 model collect is hard to come by leaving us Russian afv lover with little choice except go for 1/35 which we have plenty of choice like trumpeter/hobbyboss and takom. Those multi-link track (4 part into one track) sure pain in the ass but meng and takom is doing it well. The latest takom T-55 track is easy to do. I skip that trumpeter track. Meng now selling leo and Russian tank track as supply for other. I been looking for that modelcollect bmp-3 with cage armour but no where to find it here except on taobao.
Tiger I
post Apr 17 2016, 11:21 PM

210 posts

Personally my percentage of spending is more on taobao and ebay. The second option would always be personal stash and preloved.

While shops and sellers do bring in their goods too, I would buy from they even if the price is slightly higher if the services are good.

Most of the time, they are. Only a few that sell it at scalped price. I tend to avoid that entirely, and get it myself since I can.
Khai62
post Apr 22 2016, 08:07 PM

WIP of different kind of tank biggrin.gif
TSlimfreelance
post Apr 23 2016, 07:56 AM

343 posts

woo..look like war hammer tank?
how much?? look small..1/72??
Khai62
post Apr 24 2016, 05:30 AM

Yeah it the Warhammer tank, Bandeblade tank kit specifically. It cost like RM 500+ leh but can get like 7 variation in one kit (most of them is just change barrel tho) and Games Workshop is known to overprice stuff.

I certainly won't call it small tho since it certainly towers some 1/35 kits. It use the wargaming scale which is 28mm but i guess it about 1/48 if compare to their figure height.

Compare with Tamiya 1/35 Type 10

Also put some DIY ERA blocks to the tank. I wish there a better way to make it since it took me like 3 hours to make 4 of them. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Khai62: Apr 24 2016, 05:31 AM
TSlimfreelance
post Apr 25 2016, 08:37 AM

343 posts

wooo... it look big when u place it next to type 10.
but the price is sweat.gif
anyway, nice build.

132 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0429sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:18 AM