LYN Official Hyundai Elantra MD Club V9, Interested? Curious? Owner? Join Us!

wei
post Oct 20 2015, 10:08 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

QUOTE(Fairluck @ Oct 19 2015, 07:50 PM)
Hi.. i need help.. i have lost my service book..
What should i do?.. i have look around for it.. nowehere to be found.. usually i put it on dashboard.. best chance is to check it with service centre tomorrow, see if i have left it there.. if no success, then what should i do?
Call Hyundai Malaysia cust care, request for replacement.
wei
post Nov 2 2015, 02:04 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(fatbug @ Nov 2 2015, 01:43 PM)
Hi any 2012 Elantra 1.8 owner faced the issue which headlight sometime cannot on properly, sometime only one of them can on and even sometime both of the headlights couldn't on.

Any solution? or need go bek SC to check?
This usually happen when you use HID. If stock bulbs then please go check.
wei
post Nov 5 2015, 02:02 PM

6,496 posts

Stock absorbers, doesn't matter came from where (Korea/ Malaysia), whatever revision, whatever design they claim, it will not solve your sway issue. This is a fact. Worldwide Elantra/ Avante owner have this issue. Drive your car slowly, and safely, you won't notice this issue. That's the advice from them.

So do not waste time to claim. You felt improvement cause the absorber is new and stiff, once it's settle down with few months of usage, it will be the same.

Also, there are some SC suggest owner add shim plate to the axle/ wheel. Do not waste your money as well.

Lastly, those who keen to solve / improve the driving experience of their Elantra, here's what you can consider:
- Add a rear sway bar/ rear lower link. This will cut down the sway for 50-60%.
- Change your absorbers to sports/ stiffer rating one. This will cut down sway up to 90%.
- Up size your rim/ widen your tyre profile. Cut down the body rolling and possible lesser sway.

You get better understanding watch this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uWlzygAuBf4

Pay attention to the moose test part and you can see the car sway out of line as it goes above 70KM/h. So, drive slow.
wei
post Nov 6 2015, 09:58 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(ericpoh007 @ Nov 6 2015, 08:38 AM)
Good stuff. Thanks for the detail explanation. Which brand of absortber would u recommend?
Many have switch over to IMP comfort. I have no tried it myself. I'm using a custom setup.
wei
post Dec 21 2015, 05:25 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(bizjh @ Dec 21 2015, 03:15 PM)
So just curious is this just me or anyone else too? I mean isn't this fraud?
I recall during my 70K KM service, the centre already remind me to replace ATF. And a few other owner did mention they replace ATF at similar mileage.
Check with your respective centre. Don't think the "maintenance free" is still valid.

wei
post Dec 22 2015, 12:03 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(bizjh @ Dec 22 2015, 05:15 AM)
That is why when i went for my 40,000km service, i was surprise being told that ATF needs to be change. Is this some revised maintenance that Hyundai add in after the car is being delivered to customers?
Maybe you should contact Hyundai Malaysia directly and get a better answer.

Since we are on this, on the manual it says recommended to use Shell engine lubricant. But it was never mention it is mandatory and only brand we can use. Nor using other brand will void the warranty. But seems like everyone just silently accept the sucky Shell oil. doh.gif
wei
post Dec 22 2015, 05:22 PM

6,496 posts

On spec, ATF is 7.3L. (Written on manual)

In real life you'll need 4L, cause they are not doing a complete flush out. More reason to do frequent ATF replacement.

Still not happy about engine oil. Should not void our warranty by using a better grade and better performance engine oil.

Also the Aircond service also newly added not long ago. It was not required before this. Extra RM100-120 to do it. Going 3rd party very soon. Bye HSDM.
wei
post Dec 23 2015, 04:14 PM

6,496 posts

Don't remember seeing it on my manual. But will check on it. Some of us exceed 100K KM only get reminded to do first aircond service this year, but it's optional. That is why I presumed it's also a newly added requirement.

Anyway, done enough "talking" to HSDM cust-care, can't even provide a clear answer on what was cover under their extended warranty. As some of us get varied answer from SC. Some say only engine and gear box. Some say certain electrical parts also covered.
wei
post Dec 27 2015, 05:36 PM

6,496 posts

Just did a quick check on the manual. And it's exactly the same with what posted.

ATF replace 100k KM or 60months.
Aircond every 30k KM or 18months.
wei
post Jan 12 2016, 05:55 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(Jusstatic @ Jan 12 2016, 05:03 PM)
i tried glenmarie, puchong and old klang road. all cannot tell me whats wrong
Try ask for inhibitor switch replacement.
wei
post Jan 13 2016, 02:10 PM

6,496 posts

Low beam, H7. High beam H1.
Parking lights T10-T15.

Check first post for car collection checking.
wei
post Apr 14 2016, 05:46 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(thomas_dotcom @ Apr 8 2016, 07:30 AM)
There are Elantrians mentioned something about resetting the system in SC and managed to get the average FC. You may try on this
This been discussed many time. Resetting the memory will only show you default FC set by the factory for short term period. As the car "reset" from your past drive record. As the car has no real life data to compute projected FC. So after one or two tank of refuel, the reading will be back to the same.

It's not magic reset. So don't hope some resetting will make your car consumed any less petrol.

Also, please do not based on the projected FC on the ODO, do your own calculation based on litre pumped and KM traveled. If really want to save fuel then adjust your driving style and travel route. That have more direct results.
wei
post Jul 17 2017, 05:28 PM

6,496 posts

Depends how you drive your car and how much you cherish it.
For aggressive driver, even low mileage, replace it, replace it often.
No oil that are manufactured meant to last long. Gearbox not cheap yo.

I replace mine every ~50-60k KM

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0558sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:34 AM