Sea monkeys, Discuss and share.

sayasebuk
post Jul 21 2006, 03:07 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(itssg @ Jul 21 2006, 02:27 PM)
I am kind of sick n upset when you guys fooling by those shop or seller about this sea monkey. It is not sea monkey. It is brine shrimp. They surviving in salt water.

Goto fish shop and ask for Artemia eggs will do. 1 small bottle is around rm18-22. But hatching rate is low. Life brine shimp...mostly lfs with those marine stuff selling it.
I just bought one small packet of artemia eggs (Sera brand) for RM5.30 at Pet Family Taman Megah. On the packet says already included salt and high hatch rate, so just add water. This is yet to be proven though since i just poured the contents last night.
itssg
post Jul 21 2006, 03:17 PM

638 posts

it gonna take 24 hours or more to hatch...
QD_buyer
post Jul 21 2006, 06:19 PM

John and Paul™
2,047 posts

Mine need to aerate it to hatched it! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by QD_buyer: Jul 21 2006, 06:20 PM
QD_buyer
post Jul 21 2006, 06:21 PM

John and Paul™
2,047 posts

Are u interested to get triops and fairy shrimp?

Just get some samples from my cousin!
sui
post Jul 21 2006, 07:45 PM

115 posts

how much u sell for 1 colony of fairy shrimps?

how big is a triop and how much each?
sayasebuk
post Jul 22 2006, 09:34 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(itssg @ Jul 21 2006, 03:17 PM)
it gonna take 24 hours or more to hatch...
woke up this morning and was excited to see that my artemias had hatched rclxms.gif . But i can still see a lot of eggs unhatched. Hope i can raise them untill they're adult. icon_rolleyes.gif.
any expert advices? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sayasebuk: Jul 22 2006, 09:37 PM
QD_buyer
post Jul 23 2006, 06:57 PM

John and Paul™
2,047 posts

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Jul 22 2006, 09:34 PM)
woke up this morning and was excited to see that my artemias had hatched  rclxms.gif . But  i can still see a lot of eggs unhatched. Hope i can raise them untill they're adult.  icon_rolleyes.gif.
any expert advices? sweat.gif
Ya,but not all eggs hatched,what ur hatched rate on ur packet of eggs?

U may see the eggs were floating,but most of them were eggs shell of hatched artemia! biggrin.gif

Its really hard to raised them until they big,u maybe got only less than 1% to raise them until big! laugh.gif

Mine only 40-50 from hundred of thousand of artemia live until now, sad.gif
hamster9
post Jul 24 2006, 06:53 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

Yay! mine finally hatched... rclxms.gif But I see only got 3 'sperms' like creatures swimming around... hardly see em anyway. The eggs provided is kind of lil amount of it. I wonder how many percentage of it will hatch... blink.gif
TSchastise
post Jul 24 2006, 09:37 PM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Jul 24 2006, 06:53 PM)
Yay! mine finally hatched...  rclxms.gif  But I see only got 3 'sperms' like creatures swimming around... hardly see em anyway. The eggs provided is kind of lil amount of it. I wonder how many percentage of it will hatch...  blink.gif
haha! it will continue to hatch...
when mine first started hatching only like 3-4 or them..
after a few days....it has 20 over!!!

sayasebuk
post Jul 25 2006, 09:37 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Jul 23 2006, 06:57 PM)
Ya,but not all eggs hatched,what ur hatched rate on ur packet of eggs?

U may see the eggs were floating,but most of them were eggs shell of hatched artemia! biggrin.gif

Its really hard to raised them until they big,u maybe got only less than 1% to raise them until big! laugh.gif

Mine only 40-50  from hundred of thousand of artemia live until now,  sad.gif
Dont know the hatch rate. The packet only says high hatch rate. I dont know how many eggs are there, but i can count more than 100 baby artemias thumbup.gif
sui
post Jul 25 2006, 01:11 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Jul 25 2006, 09:37 AM)
Dont know the hatch rate. The packet only says high hatch rate. I dont know how many eggs are there, but i can count more than 100 baby artemias  thumbup.gif
wow thats alot, did u buy additional stuff or just the eggs alone?
TSchastise
post Jul 25 2006, 04:29 PM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

huh? u can count 100?

that's weird.....i cant even count when i have 20.....just rough estimation....
sayasebuk
post Jul 25 2006, 06:20 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ Jul 25 2006, 04:29 PM)
huh? u can count 100?

that's weird.....i cant even count when i have 20.....just rough estimation....
haha of course i did not exactly count biggrin.gif . I count roughly ten at one area, than i estimated there are at least 10 more areas with 10 artemia. so i multiplied 10 with 10 so got 100.. err paham ke tak? rclxub.gif
sayasebuk
post Jul 25 2006, 06:22 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(sui @ Jul 25 2006, 01:11 PM)
wow thats alot, did u buy additional stuff or just the eggs alone?
The packet says (artemia + salt). Just need to add water. I poured some aquarium water into a bowl (500 ml - 1L). Then i poured the contents. I took a spoon and stirred the contents. It took 1 1/2 day before i saw results.
TSchastise
post Jul 25 2006, 06:38 PM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

haha..i just thought many ppl chui sui here...

TSchastise
post Jul 25 2006, 06:39 PM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Jul 25 2006, 06:20 PM)
haha of course i did not exactly count  biggrin.gif . I count roughly ten at one area, than i estimated there are at least 10 more areas with 10 artemia. so i multiplied 10 with 10 so got 100.. err paham ke tak?  rclxub.gif
they nvr stand still..ada paham tak? laugh.gif
sayasebuk
post Jul 26 2006, 09:19 AM

677 posts

It's been 5 days now, and i dont think any more artemia will hatch.
Anyone know how to clean the unhatched eggs and the egg "shells" from hatched artemia?Without accidently disposing the hatched artemia?? Sakit mata when I want to find the artemias since they are still very small and same size as the eggs. rclxub.gif
TSchastise
post Jul 26 2006, 02:03 PM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

dont need to clean it.....it's their food..

sayasebuk
post Jul 27 2006, 09:36 AM

677 posts

Came back home yesterday and wanted to do another "head count" of my artemia.
I found out that my previous calculation was wrong. I did not have approx. 100 hatched artemia. In fact I have HUNDREDS of hatched artemia rclxms.gif . 300 would not be an exaggeration icon_idea.gif
sui
post Jul 27 2006, 06:51 PM

115 posts

i just came back from Pet Family Taman Megah,i asked the cashier and he said dont have Artemia eggs for sale? rclxub.gif

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0202sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:30 AM