Car overheating problem, Radiator water leakage

TSjerrymouse
post Mar 7 2014, 12:17 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Mar 7 2014, 12:04 PM)
Could be clutch plate symtoms but honestly, the mileage seems a bit low for clutch plate to give way.  Normally, clutch plate starts to give was for say a 10-year old car and mileage > 150,000 km.  At least, that's what happened to both my Manual Cars.

You can try to change the Transmission Fluid first.

Btw, your radiator problem fixed already.  Wanted to share that my wife old car also had similar issue, the top part of the radiator had hairline cracks and water was evaporating.  The mech tried to check for leaks int he pipping buy could not find any leaks.  Waited until the engine was hot and could see that water was evoporating on the top part of the radiator

http://www.carama.com/car-service-price-ca...et_modelYear=25

Unfortunately, the price estimate is not available but my guess is not more than RM600
Hi there,
Thank you for your sharing your experience. Hope you get your car fixed bro smile.gif

Thanks for the link to. Really appreciate it.

Are you suspecting the jerking came from the gear transmission from not having the fluid change?

cfa28
post Mar 7 2014, 12:36 PM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(jerrymouse @ Mar 7 2014, 12:17 PM)
Hi there,
Thank you for your sharing your experience. Hope you get your car fixed bro smile.gif

Thanks for the link to. Really appreciate it.

Are you suspecting the jerking came from the gear transmission from not having the fluid change?
When it comes to repairign cars, its based on the cheapest to the most expensive way to fix it.

So, For gearbox, its

1) Change Transmission Fluid first - cheapest way

2) if Change fluid, problem still persist - Change Clutch Plate - more expensive than (1) but cheaper than (3)

3) If change Clutch Plate problem still persist - Overhaul Gear Box. I always recommend to overhaul your existing gear box cos u still know its history and existign condition and if your mechanic does a good job, it will operate as good as brand new. Problem is many if not most mechs don't want the trouble of opening a gear box and changing the individual parts as it could be a 1-week 2-week job depending on availability of parts but swap to a gear box from a chop shop is just 1-day job.

Cost wise, it depends on your car and model, which is cheaper. If you want a reliable mechanic around Puchong area, I can PM you. I have another in Sg Long area who does not cheat newbies, no camber tricks on people who does alignment. So, depends on which area you want

amandzing
post Sep 30 2018, 12:08 AM

Hi all,

I didn't want to start a new thread for essentially the same problem, I hope it's ok if I carry on here.

I drive a 2007 Avanza, about a year ago the radiator burst.

I was able to stop before the car overheated, and managed to replace the radiator myself.

Of course, idiot me never tried to figure out why it burst, believing it was old age/lime buildup etc.

Summer is here, and the fan is not working. I've checked the fuse with a multi-tester, it seems fine.

And I've now exhausted my mechanical ability :/

Please, how do I test the fan motor/circuit/thermostat without dismantling the entire cooling system again?

Any advice is welcome, thank you.

eddievh
post Sep 30 2018, 06:41 AM

3,219 posts

QUOTE(amandzing @ Sep 30 2018, 12:08 AM)
Hi all,

I didn't want to start a new thread for essentially the same problem, I hope it's ok if I carry on here.

I drive a 2007 Avanza, about a year ago the radiator burst.

I was able to stop before the car overheated, and managed to replace the radiator myself.

Of course, idiot me never tried to figure out why it burst, believing it was old age/lime buildup etc.

Summer is here, and the fan is not working. I've checked the fuse with a multi-tester, it seems fine.

And I've now exhausted my mechanical ability :/

Please, how do I test the fan motor/circuit/thermostat without dismantling the entire cooling system again?

Any advice is welcome, thank you.
Advanza rear wheel drive isn't using fan belt and viscous clutch meh?

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0209sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:45 PM