20k enuf to open small biznes?

SUSWintersuN
post Dec 30 2013, 09:45 AM, updated 12y ago

3,173 posts

Hi all,

Is 20k enough to open small biness? Not shop or wat la.. just small bizness

20k include set up of stall and initial equiptment and stuff..not the monthly cost as it wil be sustain as the bisnezz operate. I mean initial only.
pisces88
post Dec 30 2013, 09:51 AM

3,970 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Dec 30 2013, 09:45 AM)
Hi all,

20k include set up of stall and initial equiptment and stuff..not the monthly cost as it wil be sustain as the bisnezz operate. I mean initial only.
what small business? if your answer is 'duno', then we cant answer liao smile.gif
nap2617
post Dec 30 2013, 09:51 AM

182 posts

kalo stall cukup..kalo kedai memang x ler..
azerroes
post Dec 30 2013, 09:59 AM

No sorcery lies beyond my grasp
1,105 posts

what scope you are currently eyeing on?

actually im also interested in knowing this
SUSMatrix
post Dec 30 2013, 10:01 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Stall jual nasi lemak at roadside enough. Make sure you have a getaway van.
peterhealth
post Dec 30 2013, 10:02 AM

96 posts

If business is service based, then RM20k should be ok.
If want to sell some products, this figure surely is not enough, unless you can get credit term from supplier.

leah235
post Dec 30 2013, 10:03 AM

DIMPLE EATER
1,215 posts

YES. and NO.

Depending on your business.

Too little information, TS.
SUSWintersuN
post Dec 30 2013, 10:49 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Dec 30 2013, 09:51 AM)
what small business? if your answer is 'duno', then we cant answer liao  smile.gif
QUOTE(nap2617 @ Dec 30 2013, 09:51 AM)
kalo stall cukup..kalo kedai memang x ler..
QUOTE(peterhealth @ Dec 30 2013, 10:02 AM)
If business is service based, then RM20k should be ok.
If want to sell some products, this figure surely is not enough, unless you can get credit term from supplier.
QUOTE(leah235 @ Dec 30 2013, 10:03 AM)
YES. and NO.

Depending on your business.

Too little information, TS.
Biznes like chatime or sell ice kacang in shopping mall. So set up the kiosk. Rm20k enough for initial startup? The stall and stuff la. Then other is during bizness only kira. Should b ok right?
leah235
post Dec 30 2013, 10:54 AM

DIMPLE EATER
1,215 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Dec 30 2013, 11:49 AM)
Biznes like chatime or sell ice kacang in shopping mall. So set up the kiosk. Rm20k enough for initial startup? The stall and stuff la. Then other is during bizness only kira. Should b ok right?
More than enough I presumed. hmm.gif
mr.noone
post Dec 30 2013, 10:54 AM

349 posts

chatime definitely not enough.
SUSWintersuN
post Dec 30 2013, 11:04 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(mr.noone @ Dec 30 2013, 10:54 AM)
chatime definitely not enough.
im not mean chatime la just example of something similar.. maybe ChaWintersun but sell bubble tea or fruit juice..

Cos i not talking about franchise.. franchise the fee already 100k.
pisces88
post Dec 30 2013, 11:15 AM

3,970 posts

Buy n renovate stall and buy kitchen equipment cukup meh 20k?
skloda
post Dec 30 2013, 11:18 AM

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,895 posts

how about 20k open car wash center ?
hey_there
post Dec 30 2013, 12:20 PM

1,600 posts

Stall at malls not enough la. How much is the rental? I heard the monthly rental is rm4000 is certain mall. 2+1 deposit already cost u rm12k. U have rm8k left to buy machines and ingredients.

hey_there
post Dec 30 2013, 12:23 PM

1,600 posts

QUOTE(skloda @ Dec 30 2013, 11:18 AM)
how about 20k open car wash center ?
Car wash beside open car park should be ok I guess. Only thing that cost u a lot is the vacuums I guess
SUSWintersuN
post Dec 30 2013, 12:31 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Dec 30 2013, 12:20 PM)
Stall at malls not enough la. How much is the rental? I heard the monthly rental is rm4000 is certain mall. 2+1 deposit already cost u rm12k. U have rm8k left to buy machines and ingredients.
If make fruit jucie rm12k shud b enuff for the machine like blender and stuff. Then maybe add abit to reno the stall like put counter, signboard and stuff.
syahmie
post Dec 30 2013, 12:33 PM

262 posts

you need 100k at least for shop.
hey_there
post Dec 30 2013, 12:37 PM

1,600 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Dec 30 2013, 12:31 PM)
If make fruit jucie rm12k shud b enuff for the machine like blender and stuff. Then maybe add abit to reno the stall like put counter, signboard and stuff.
Rm12k is just for renting the place. Renovation could cost u few thousand, signboard and license 1-2k. Make it rm15k to set up. U calculate how much is ur machines, fridge, and ingredients cost la.. Unless u rent the fridge and machines la.
SUSWintersuN
post Dec 30 2013, 12:39 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Dec 30 2013, 12:37 PM)
Rm12k is just for renting the place. Renovation could cost u few thousand, signboard and license 1-2k. Make it rm15k to set up. U calculate how much is ur machines, fridge, and ingredients cost la.. Unless u rent the fridge and machines la.
thnx hey there.. can i ask if u r a business owner who have experience set up b4?

I guess i can just top up a bit more to start my biz right..
hey_there
post Dec 30 2013, 12:41 PM

1,600 posts

QUOTE(syahmie @ Dec 30 2013, 12:33 PM)
you need 100k at least for shop.
Depends on what kind of shop I guess. I spend rm20k each with a partner to open a shop. Total rm40k inclusive of rental deposits, signboard & license, renovation (got it cheap from relative), equipments and air conds, and stocks.
kurangak
post Dec 30 2013, 12:42 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

obviously not enough for ur scope.

if u open roadside burger stalll, then more than enough la
Seriousdealerboy
post Dec 30 2013, 12:42 PM

214 posts

20K is enough for a small online buisness,if buka kedai is a big no,gerai makan maybe still can..
hey_there
post Dec 30 2013, 12:45 PM

1,600 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Dec 30 2013, 12:39 PM)
thnx hey there.. can i ask if u r a business owner who have experience set up b4?

I guess i can just top up a bit more to start my biz right..
I have no experience setting up a stall. I open a shop. I personally think shops/stalls in malls are much more complicated.

My friend recently open stalls in mid valley and empire mall. If u heard of the name akachan no hoppe, selling Japanese rice balls. I roughly calculate, it needs rm100k to start. But he did it BIG la.
Seriousdealerboy
post Dec 30 2013, 12:46 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Dec 30 2013, 12:45 PM)
I have no experience setting up a stall. I open a shop. I personally think shops/stalls in malls are much more complicated.

My friend recently open stalls in mid valley and empire mall. If u heard of the name akachan no hoppe, selling Japanese rice balls. I roughly calculate, it needs rm100k to start. But he did it  BIG la.
mid valley is a big croc location la,their agreement and rental is kao kao one..
hey_there
post Dec 30 2013, 12:46 PM

1,600 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Dec 30 2013, 12:42 PM)

Agree.. Coz u'll save a lot in rental, deposit and renovation
SUSWintersuN
post Dec 30 2013, 12:48 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Dec 30 2013, 12:42 PM)

plz dun insult me.. 20k is more than enuff for roadside

QUOTE(Seriousdealerboy @ Dec 30 2013, 12:42 PM)
20K is enough for a small online buisness,if buka kedai is a big no,gerai makan maybe still can..
ya buka kedai i agree is too small cos renovation of shop and interior furniture is kinda expensive.. online business cost much less than 20k la

QUOTE(hey_there @ Dec 30 2013, 12:45 PM)

My friend recently open stalls in mid valley and empire mall. If u heard of the name akachan no hoppe, selling Japanese rice balls. I roughly calculate, it needs rm100k to start. But he did it  BIG la.
thnx.. ugpm
hey_there
post Dec 30 2013, 12:50 PM

1,600 posts

QUOTE(Seriousdealerboy @ Dec 30 2013, 12:46 PM)
mid valley is a big croc location la,their agreement and rental is kao kao one..
Yea, the stall rental of rm4000 is the price that I ask many years ago in sg wang, top floor. I bet it's much more now. And yes, my friend's father owns quicksilver and roxy malaysia. Sure he can afford. 2 stalls is less than 6 months.
Aydee
post Dec 30 2013, 12:53 PM

Mr. Big
735 posts

Depends on your location and product. If locations like MV definitely not enough. The Curve flea market is already charging like 120-180 per day depending on your spot.

If you have a lot of products of course you need to get a lot more ingredients.

If it's just a simple setup at a 'reasonable' it should be enough for startup, you need to take account of your running costs. It might be more than you think.
SUSWintersuN
post Dec 30 2013, 12:59 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(Aydee @ Dec 30 2013, 12:53 PM)
Depends on your location and product. If locations like MV definitely not enough. The Curve flea market is already charging like 120-180 per day depending on your spot.

If you have a lot of products of course you need to get a lot more ingredients.

If it's just a simple setup at a 'reasonable' it should be enough for startup, you need to take account of your running costs. It might be more than you think.
120 a day thats crazy.. more expensive than rent shop la if want open everyday
Seriousdealerboy
post Dec 30 2013, 01:02 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Dec 30 2013, 12:48 PM)

ya buka kedai i agree is too small cos renovation of shop and interior furniture is kinda expensive.. online business cost much less than 20k la

yep,just to renovate the shop in terms of flooring,lightning,island/display rack,counter,pc..etc etc..
it will cost u a bomb alrdy..

well,20k is just comfortable for online buisness,u still need a proper webpage,advertising,license,accountant..etc etc..
(if u want to do big la)..

if want to do small then 20k is ok-ok.depend on wat u sell..
hey_there
post Dec 30 2013, 01:05 PM

1,600 posts

Maybe can consider pasar malam. At the same time, u can test the market and see whether ur product can sell or not b4 u go into malls.
Seriousdealerboy
post Dec 30 2013, 01:05 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Dec 30 2013, 12:50 PM)
Yea, the stall rental of rm4000 is the price that I ask many years ago in sg wang, top floor. I bet it's much more now. And yes, my friend's father owns quicksilver and roxy malaysia. Sure he can afford. 2 stalls is less than 6 months.
yep,and the agreement like XXXX geh..but what to do..ppl big mall..they possess the upmost rights..and the walk flow they is really high as well..especially weekend..so is a give and take lo..

fuuuuu...ur friend is one lucky guy..those buisness they steady steady geh..

sg wang now reno alrdy mah..high class alrdy..rental also high class lo brows.gif
Seriousdealerboy
post Dec 30 2013, 01:08 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Dec 30 2013, 01:05 PM)
Maybe can consider pasar malam. At the same time, u can test the market and see whether ur product can sell or not b4 u go into malls.
i kinda agree with this..
and dont need to aim big mall first,aim for those simple shopping mall,and then focus on ur advertisement on fb or lowyat..

build a customer list first..when u confident slowly go higher..

deploy a base by base..dont rush..

20k if plan wrong..sekejap aje gone..
kaiserwulf
post Dec 30 2013, 01:43 PM

1,110 posts

Small money big thoughts... try with small money small thoughts... open your small kiosk at open air hawker centre also not bad... like ss2 there always busy got hungry hungry hippos... smile.gif

Your rental also not as high as midvalley but you get the traffic you want... ofc in the FB world, you 'lose face' la abit...
SUSWintersuN
post Dec 30 2013, 02:30 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(Seriousdealerboy @ Dec 30 2013, 01:08 PM)
i kinda agree with this..
and dont need to aim big mall first,aim for those simple shopping mall,and then focus on ur advertisement on fb or lowyat..

build a customer list first..when u confident slowly go higher..

deploy a base by base..dont rush..

20k if plan wrong..sekejap aje gone..
oh no la im not aiming for big malls.. Im also doing a detail planning and din rush to open many chains at once
ace.princess
post Dec 30 2013, 04:23 PM

713 posts

20k for initial set-up, with nothing left to cushion subsequent operational costs?

NO way.

How daring of you to assume that you'd turn an awesome profit upon day one of opening.
SUSWintersuN
post Dec 30 2013, 04:34 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(ace.princess @ Dec 30 2013, 04:23 PM)
20k for initial set-up, with nothing left to cushion subsequent operational costs?

NO way.

How daring of you to assume that you'd turn an awesome profit upon day one of opening.
no operational cost cos is small business. Worst also is only gaji pekerja at end of month but sure wont la until 1 bizness also dun haf.. Maybe enuff to cover then not get profit at 1st month or so..

If big business then i understand la need operational cost. Correct?
loki
post Dec 30 2013, 04:36 PM

2,109 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Dec 30 2013, 10:49 AM)
Rental and deposits gonna cost more than that already in shopping mall..
SUSWintersuN
post Dec 30 2013, 04:39 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(loki @ Dec 30 2013, 04:36 PM)
Rental and deposits gonna cost more than that already in shopping mall..
yeah thats my main concern too.. so i haf to scout for reasonable rental mall if wanna start at that budget
nakedtruth
post Dec 30 2013, 05:24 PM

931 posts

depend on what business and location. rent, equipment, salary, stocks and some reserve cash. 20k very tight la..
Bonescythe
post Dec 30 2013, 06:06 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

Nowadays, 20k is to pay rent only if it a shop.

Road side stall then ok. Ramly burger also need 6k
hey_there
post Dec 30 2013, 06:41 PM

1,600 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Dec 30 2013, 04:34 PM)
no operational cost cos is small business. Worst also is only gaji pekerja at end of month but sure wont la until 1 bizness also dun haf.. Maybe enuff to cover then not get profit at 1st month or so..

If big business then i understand la need operational cost. Correct?
It's hard to say. I don't have any biz during my 1st month. Biz starts coming in from 2nd month but not enough to cover operational cost. It is normal for new biz. To be safe, u must have enough money to sustain for 1 year in case ur monthly sales is not enough to cover ur monthly costs. Not being negative but u must prepare for worst case scenario in biz. Must always have plan B, plan C or more...
Siao_Lang
post Jan 1 2014, 02:25 AM

454 posts

Hmm, this thread is interesting...

wanna ask what about service biz? Say for instance, a real estate agency or property management company and valuation firm. Or all in one.. One stop services? Anybody have experiences in this? It usually cost how much? Will open a few branches in different different areas.
hey_there
post Jan 1 2014, 10:48 AM

1,600 posts

QUOTE(Siao_Lang @ Jan 1 2014, 02:25 AM)
Hmm, this thread is interesting...

wanna ask what about service biz? Say for instance, a real estate agency or property management company and valuation firm. Or all in one.. One stop services? Anybody have experiences in this? It usually cost how much? Will open a few branches in different different areas.
If u r doing it small should be enough. Small as in not many PC. U can buy 2nd hand tables, chairs and cubicles. Might need to spend some money on a/c, carpet etc. but nowadays, u can look for a place with semi furnished for office used. Some places with ready partition and carpet suit for office use.
max_cavalera
post Jan 1 2014, 01:32 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Dec 30 2013, 07:41 PM)
It's hard to say. I don't have any biz during my 1st month. Biz starts coming in from 2nd month but not enough to cover operational cost. It is normal for new biz. To be safe, u must have enough money to sustain for 1 year in case ur monthly sales is not enough to cover ur monthly costs. Not being negative but u must prepare for worst case scenario in biz. Must always have plan B, plan C or more...
+100.

Talking from experience. Be prepared with fund capital minimum 10 months to 1 year to cover rental n ur minimum living cost. New biz takes time to take off....my ex boss when open new branch standby minimum 1.5 years without any meaningful operating profit...
Siao_Lang
post Jan 1 2014, 04:07 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Jan 1 2014, 10:48 AM)
If u r doing it small should be enough. Small as in not many PC. U can buy 2nd hand tables, chairs and cubicles. Might need to spend some money on a/c, carpet etc. but nowadays, u can look for a place with semi furnished for office used. Some places with ready partition and carpet suit for office use.
WOW. thanks a lot for the input never thought of 2nd hand furnitures. You must be very experienced in setting up business. .. smile.gif  
yltoh
post Jan 1 2014, 04:20 PM

608 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Dec 30 2013, 10:45 AM)
Hi all,

20k to set up a kiosk inside a shopping mall is insufficient as malls requires us to pay at least 3 months rental up front. On top of that,the rental of kiosks could be as high as the rental of a shop lot. The cheaper option is to set up push carts.
slowkancil
post Jan 1 2014, 06:57 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(yltoh @ Jan 1 2014, 04:20 PM)
20k to set up a kiosk inside a  shopping mall is insufficient as malls requires us to pay at least 3 months rental up front.  On top of that,the rental of kiosks could be as high as the  rental of a shop lot. The cheaper option is to set up push carts.
agreed.. my budget of rm40k also not sufficient let alone 20k...
if anyone know a good place to rent inside a shopping mall, fnb item
(budget for rent is rm2.5k monthly)
do let me know...
SUSWintersuN
post Jan 1 2014, 08:10 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jan 1 2014, 01:32 PM)
+100.

Talking from experience. Be prepared with fund capital minimum 10 months to 1 year to cover rental n ur minimum living cost. New biz takes time to take off....my ex boss when open new branch standby minimum 1.5 years without any meaningful operating profit...
What kind of biz is yours?
SUSWintersuN
post Jan 1 2014, 08:12 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(slowkancil @ Jan 1 2014, 06:57 PM)
agreed.. my budget of rm40k also not sufficient let alone 20k...
if anyone know a good place to rent inside a shopping mall, fnb item
(budget for rent is rm2.5k monthly)
do let me know...
Which mall u ask? 40k not enough for the rent or everything? Kiosk only wor
SUSWintersuN
post Jan 1 2014, 08:28 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Dec 30 2013, 06:41 PM)
How many months u tahan before businesses start picking up?
slowkancil
post Jan 1 2014, 08:58 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Jan 1 2014, 08:12 PM)
Which mall u ask? 40k not enough for the rent or everything? Kiosk only wor
around puchong/ seri kembangan area..
if rent enough, 20k already enough, but for setup + 6 month overhead expense...
nope...

yup.. im targeting kiosk...

This post has been edited by slowkancil: Jan 1 2014, 09:01 PM
farizulazlan
post Jan 1 2014, 10:04 PM

14 posts

hello taikos,

i am starting uo a business with quite the same fund, would like to ask if opening up a sdn bhd directly or just start small with enterprise ?
SUSWintersuN
post Jan 1 2014, 10:09 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(farizulazlan @ Jan 1 2014, 10:04 PM)
hello taikos,

i am starting uo a business with quite the same fund, would like to ask if opening up a sdn bhd directly or just start small with enterprise ?
sdn bhd need 100k profit only can register
farizulazlan
post Jan 1 2014, 10:37 PM

14 posts

tq wintersun for the advise

SUSyklooi
post Jan 1 2014, 11:06 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Jan 1 2014, 10:09 PM)
hmm.gif error suspected! shakehead.gif
shahjaafar
post Jan 2 2014, 02:30 AM

88 posts

Wintersun,

you don't need 100K to register, a sdn. bhd. can be registered without any money in it. In order to register for government of malaysia tenders and other GLC's business they would ask for your paid up capital and that can be the requirement for 100K. Now, paid up capital, if I remember correctly (please correct me if I'm wrong) can be achieved in 2 main ways:-

1. To place a RM 100K deposit into the company account and take the deposit slip and give it to your company secretary who will then charge you a service fee to complete the 100K paid up capital process or;

2. To use the various deposits that you will be getting throughout the time that you are in business and provide to the company secretary who will then charge you a service fee to complete the 100K pad up capital process.

It all depends on the speed of your requirement and upon providing the deposit slip to your company secretary, you can immediately take out the money, or at least that was what I did when I started about 9 years ago. And further more you don't need to have 100K in profit.

The Government of Malaysia also has tenders which are for enterprise based companies and I believe that it is usually under RM 200K or so (again I am not sure you will have to check on this). But if your desire is to do business with the Government of Malaysia, you would have to register yourself with eperolehan and to get the necessary bidangs to be able to transact with the government. This applies for either Sdn. Bhd. or enterprise.

About the 20K budget to start a business again, everyone in the thread has given excellent advice. I can relate my own personal experience. I had bought a small tom yam kedai 3 years ago. I had bought the shop (actually it was a "warong" under the tree in a taman), for RM 13,000.00, that included the 6 people (I was shocked because I didn't think I could buy people nowadays), 10 tables, 50 chairs, pots, pans, 2 cooking stalls, 6 drink stalls and others. After paying the money, I had to put in another RM 3K for the purchase of the weekly ingredients. Surprisingly, after 3 years and looking back at it again, I have never had to put into the business any other money. The daily take was able to settle the daily operation costs (gaji and others) and since we bought our "groceries" weekly, the weekly take was able to settle that also. It had been that way for the last 3 years with a slight change, where we had gone from under the tree to a proper shop lot, but that took about 2 1/2 years. So good luck in your endeavor, and I am always excited to see the young people of malaysia interested in setting out on their own. Have fun.

SUSWintersuN
post Jan 2 2014, 08:25 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(shahjaafar @ Jan 2 2014, 02:30 AM)
Wintersun,

you don't need 100K to register, a sdn. bhd. can be registered without any money in it.  In order to register for government of malaysia tenders and other GLC's business they would ask for your paid up capital and that can be the requirement for 100K.  Now, paid up capital, if I remember correctly (please correct me if I'm wrong) can be achieved in 2 main ways:-

1.  To place a RM 100K deposit into the company account and take the deposit slip and give it to your company secretary who will then charge you a service fee to complete the 100K paid up capital process or;

2.  To use the various deposits that you will be getting throughout the time that you are in business and provide to the company secretary who will then charge you a service fee to complete the 100K pad up capital process.

It all depends on the speed of your requirement and upon providing the deposit slip to your company secretary, you can immediately take out the money, or at least that was what I did when I started about 9 years ago.  And further more you don't need to have 100K in profit.

The Government of Malaysia also has tenders which are for enterprise based companies and I believe that it is usually under RM 200K or so (again I am not sure you will have to check on this).  But if your desire is to do business with the Government of Malaysia, you would have to register yourself with eperolehan and to get the necessary bidangs to be able to transact with the government.  This applies for either Sdn. Bhd. or enterprise.

About the 20K budget to start a business again, everyone in the thread has given excellent advice.  I can relate my own personal experience.  I had bought a small tom yam kedai 3 years ago.  I had bought the shop (actually it was a "warong" under the tree in a taman), for RM 13,000.00, that included the 6 people (I was shocked because I didn't think I could buy people nowadays), 10 tables, 50 chairs, pots, pans, 2 cooking stalls, 6 drink stalls and others.  After paying the money, I had to put in another RM 3K for the purchase of the weekly ingredients.  Surprisingly, after 3 years and looking back at it again, I have never had to put into the business any other money.  The daily take was able to settle the daily operation costs (gaji and others) and since we bought our "groceries" weekly, the weekly take was able to settle that also.  It had been that way for the last 3 years with a slight change, where we had gone from under the tree to a proper shop lot, but that took about 2 1/2 years.  So good luck in your endeavor, and I am always excited to see the young people of malaysia interested in setting out on their own.  Have fun.
Hi shah,

Thanks very much for sharing your experience. For 13k you get quite a good deal. When you move in to your shop, is the operation smooth and bizness able to cover operation or you need to start building up your bizness again?
Hapeng
post Jan 2 2014, 09:48 AM

1,031 posts

lol really.. doh.gif
hey_there
post Jan 2 2014, 11:57 AM

1,600 posts

QUOTE(Siao_Lang @ Jan 1 2014, 04:07 PM)
WOW. thanks a lot for the input never thought of 2nd hand furnitures. You must be very experienced in setting up business. .. smile.gif  
No la. Coz I have very little fund to start my biz too. Just have to remember, all these doesn't generate biz. Whether u use brand new or 2nd furniture, it doesn't change ppl to take ur service.
hey_there
post Jan 2 2014, 11:59 AM

1,600 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Jan 1 2014, 08:28 PM)
How many months u tahan before businesses start picking up?
12 months.
SUSWintersuN
post Jan 2 2014, 12:47 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Jan 2 2014, 11:59 AM)
12 months.
wow.. thats really hardcore..

so u tahan 1 year for your business to pick up and continue rugi? if me i think max 6 months rugi already give up sweat.gif
shahjaafar
post Jan 2 2014, 02:03 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Jan 2 2014, 08:25 AM)
Hi shah,

Thanks very much for sharing your experience. For 13k you get quite a good deal. When you move in to your shop, is the operation smooth and bizness able to cover operation or you need to start building up your bizness again?
Wintersun,

Yes it was a good deal in the long run. Once it was in the shop it is business as usual, I still haven't had to top up any of my personal money towards the tom yam, and all upgrades was paid by the savings that we had put aside within the tom yam's account. I know I was extremely lucky, because even the guys that came with the warong is still with me after all these years...
shahjaafar
post Jan 2 2014, 02:06 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Jan 2 2014, 11:57 AM)
No la. Coz I have very little fund to start my biz too. Just have to remember, all these doesn't generate biz. Whether u use brand new or 2nd furniture, it doesn't change ppl to take ur service.
Excellent idea on the 2nd hand furniture shop... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif . For our new office, I plan to do all my furniture purchasing using the 2nd hand furniture idea. A friend of mine introduced me to chaitradings.com.my. They display all their furniture on the web. Seems like a good place to start and I see their price is lower than expected.

Good Luck.

Shah.
hey_there
post Jan 2 2014, 02:21 PM

1,600 posts

QUOTE(shahjaafar @ Jan 2 2014, 02:06 PM)
Excellent idea on the 2nd hand furniture shop...  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif .  For our new office, I plan to do all my furniture purchasing using the 2nd hand furniture idea.  A friend of mine introduced me to chaitradings.com.my.  They display all their furniture on the web.  Seems like a good place to start and I see their price is lower than expected.

Good Luck.

Shah.
There's many shops selling used furniture in malaysia. I found out those shops in google. With price and pic.
hey_there
post Jan 2 2014, 02:24 PM

1,600 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Jan 2 2014, 12:47 PM)
wow.. thats really hardcore..

so u tahan 1 year for your business to pick up and continue rugi? if me i think max 6 months rugi already give up sweat.gif
This is normal for biz owner la. It's not easy. But have to have plans lo. Most biz owner don't get paid in the 1st few years. Whatever money that u earn, will have to pump it back to biz.
Aaron212
post Jan 9 2014, 09:42 AM

1,773 posts

Depends on where is the mall because of the rentals. Just a small stall 20k maybe just sufficient for first month operation? You should save up more and do some survey at the mall that you intend to start your business at.

At least have some spare cash in case the business during first few months are not ideal. So you won't have to end your business. Think in the long run.
king_kong
post Jan 9 2014, 02:04 PM

371 posts

best to look at what you areas are good at. that way the money can be put to good use.

if u invest in something you're not good at, then good biz also can lose money.
max_cavalera
post Jan 9 2014, 02:16 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Jan 1 2014, 09:10 PM)
What kind of biz is yours?
Its hair saloon in a shopping mall.
king_kong
post Jan 9 2014, 10:57 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Jan 2 2014, 02:21 PM)
There's many shops selling used furniture in malaysia. I found out those shops in google. With price and pic.
2nd hand market is booming as people become more cost concious. good luck!
hey_there
post Jan 10 2014, 11:32 AM

1,600 posts

QUOTE(king_kong @ Jan 9 2014, 10:57 PM)
2nd hand market is booming as people become more cost concious. good luck!
Yes, I agree. U don't have to pay GST to buy used stuffs. rclxms.gif
king_kong
post Jan 10 2014, 12:49 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Jan 10 2014, 11:32 AM)
Yes, I agree. U don't have to pay GST to buy used stuffs.  rclxms.gif
hmm, i did know that. hehe.
max_cavalera
post Jan 11 2014, 01:02 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

Alternatively u could use 20k buying auctioned flat in a good lication. Passive income of rm250-350 a month confirmed ....it might b my cup of tea but not urs....
andrewleewaikeong
post Jan 12 2014, 03:09 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jan 11 2014, 01:02 PM)
Alternatively u could use 20k buying auctioned flat in a good lication. Passive income of rm250-350 a month confirmed ....it might b my cup of tea but not urs....
but auction flat inside condition is quite bad fo rm20k, no ?
yoongzhen.lee
post Jan 13 2014, 06:34 AM

I have once plan to start a business with 30k on hand , selling something like bubble tea as well, RM 20k just enough for Rental ( RM 2500 at wangsa Maju Area, very small shop without toilet ) and Equipment , something like juicer 1.5k (slow rpm kind of juicer using squeeze tech) , blender 1.5k (those use in coffee shop), deep fryer (few hundred), pan (few hundred) , Kitchen stove (5k). And MOST IMPORTANTLY, you need 6 month additional money in hand to cover all the fixed cost (just in case that ur products cannot sell)

p/s : if your business is good , 1 juicer is definitely not enough if u are selling juice as main products, i saw those hawker using 4-5 juicer at once ( slow rpm 1 and those traditional 1 using blade techno - diff fruits will needed diff juicer for it best performance)
max_cavalera
post Jan 14 2014, 08:49 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

Hi all,

This many way to make money n b rich. Not only thru entrepreneurship. I realize I'm very interested with this field n keep trying n fail when in my early 20s.

But if u juz wana make lots of money n keep em... This other way as well... One of my fren is enrolling for a simple diploma course in Australia...2 years visa n once completed n u get a job thr gov will consider for PR status for u... Go the on a ticket as a part time student n work as hard as u could...the pay the is very high minimum wage is 16aud per hour...that's like rm50 hourly rate... One of my office colleague whose been the can save rm120k-140k in just 2 yes time.. Use the 20k in ur bank account as proof to get a student visa that u have the money to pay for ur course thr.. Meanwhile me working here want to save 10k per annum oso separuh mati lol...
PM Borong
post Mar 4 2014, 02:21 PM

28 posts

RM20K is definitely enough. Starting off as a pushcart operator is not expensive, normally from RM 800 to 2000 you can rent a pushcart in hypermarket (depending on location). Usually, just 1 month rental deposit.
If you want to know what is best to sell, go to any wholesale center and see what is available. Personally, I think Ladies Accessories is the best products.

Go around shopping malls, hypermarkets to survey and see how they are selling and come to my shop in GM Klang to check your "Cost price". Then, do a simple calculation of Expected Monthly Sales - (Rental + salary + Product Cost).

This may not make you big money, but the risk is so much lower and a good way to learn how to do business.

This post has been edited by PM Borong: Mar 4 2014, 02:25 PM
stockoperator
post Mar 4 2014, 02:25 PM

168 posts

erm, apply for a decent job.
(1) invest the 20k in stocks; insas (currently 0.87), furnweb (0.82), lafmsia( 8.83) ~ you choose which one to invest.
(2) every 3 mths put in the savings you put aside from your salary
(3) 36 months later, the money in these counters would be more than the small stall you intend to set up.

LawrenceTan
post Mar 4 2014, 02:50 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(stockoperator @ Mar 4 2014, 02:25 PM)
(1) invest the 20k in stocks; insas (currently 0.87), furnweb (0.82), lafmsia( 8.83) ~ you choose which one to invest.
(3) 36 months later, the money in these counters would be more than the small stall you intend to set up.
People looking for an apple and you giving them a durian. doh.gif
stockoperator
post Mar 4 2014, 03:09 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(LawrenceTan @ Mar 4 2014, 02:50 PM)
People looking for an apple and you giving them a durian.  doh.gif
durian better than apple. thus the durian. why give an apple when I can him the durian?
taxman
post Mar 5 2014, 09:04 PM

526 posts

20k enough to open a handphone shop
cenzor
post Mar 8 2014, 09:47 PM

Hi all,

decided on the biz yet?
any progress?
Chaud
post Mar 10 2014, 10:19 AM

1,119 posts

how small is small? a simple online business? hawker?
SUSSammich!
post Mar 11 2014, 08:53 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(cenzor @ Mar 8 2014, 09:47 PM)
decided on the biz yet?
any progress?
I decide to make waffle kiosk is it enough? Everyone loves waffle!
pisces88
post Mar 11 2014, 09:27 AM

3,970 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Mar 11 2014, 08:53 AM)
I decide to make waffle kiosk is it enough? Everyone loves waffle!
kaya ball + waffle. yum yum
BboyDora
post Mar 11 2014, 11:22 PM

2,368 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 11 2014, 09:27 AM)
kaya ball + waffle. yum yum
I like Kaya balls smile.gif
BboyDora
post Mar 12 2014, 09:42 AM

2,368 posts

QUOTE(stockoperator @ Mar 4 2014, 02:25 PM)
Anything can happen in 36 months and stock doesn't guaranteed goes all the way up.
yapwooi
post May 11 2014, 02:34 PM

36 posts

Running Business with Regular Customer for Sale!! (Bandar Puteri Puchong !!!)

Stunning Cafe for sale in the highly sought after Bandar Puteri Puchong. Located near the banks and PFCC, only a short walk from Giant hyper market.

Recently refurbished to a high luxurious eye catching standard from the outside all the way through.

Fully equipped Operational juice / Coffee Counter
Fully operational kitchen with fully equipped kitchen equipment
Outside seating area
Inside seating Area
Toilet
Rear outside space
Well-trained staff
Secret Food Recipes included.

Interested buyers pls PM… or call 0123079723

Asking price: RM99k