4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Travel South Korea V5, Seoul & Surroundings

xriies
post Oct 2 2014, 09:55 PM

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 2 2014, 07:08 PM)
it depends on where you staying. sometimes bus arrive nearby your guesthouse/hotel so it's better to take bus instead cause if you take subway, many stairs.. n walk a distance to exchange to another line..  tongue.gif
how about the walking distance from arex line exchange to line 2, hongik uni. station?
xriies
post Oct 4 2014, 12:30 AM

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 3 2014, 11:24 AM)
where is your guesthouse? hongik station got many exits and some with stairs. if you have big luggage be prepared as hongik exit usually crowded and many peoples most of the time  whistling.gif
guesthouse at euljiro 3-ga exit2. im planning to ride arex train to hongik stn. then ride to euljiro3.

the airport limo bus also got reach there but the walking distant to guesthouse further than walking out from the euljiro stn.
xriies
post Oct 4 2014, 12:33 AM

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 2 2014, 11:30 AM)
3 options. you can walk up (many koreans do that) or take the cable car or by bus. if by bus, the walking distance to the tower is near as it stop right below n seoul tower
alright but some people say very far sweat.gif cuz i know if take cable car also need to walk like 10-15min from myeongdong stn.

This post has been edited by xriies: Oct 4 2014, 12:33 AM
xriies
post Oct 8 2014, 12:41 AM

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 7 2014, 01:12 PM)
take bus is straight arrive at the location and u only need to drag ur luggage to the guesthouse. take arex + subway. u need to alight at hongik, drag ur luggage to transfer to subway line 2. reach station u still need to drag ur luggage to your guesthouse.. u ownself do your calculation lo..  tongue.gif
err.. in korea be prepared to walk alot. 10-15 mins walking distance is like nothing for koreans. if u can't walk that far, you might need to to double think whether you need to have free & easy trip or not. as alot of attractions in korea need to have alot of walking.. not to say some road is hilly as well  whistling.gif
if your aim is to shop for beauty products.. stay near myeongdong area.. namsan guesthouse 3 is the nearest.. or you can try out super junior new opening guesthouse at myeongdong if you are his fans..  rclxm9.gif
ok thumbup.gif . i'm ready to walk or die tongue.gif
xriies
post Oct 8 2014, 04:17 PM

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 8 2014, 11:50 AM)
no la i'm not. i wish i am. lolz. korea is just like my 2nd home hehe. also got korean friends over there so sometimes go visit them.. korea so big, actually i still haven't finish explore yet. btw, i'm flying to korea end of this month  tongue.gif
so coincidence. i'm also going to korea end of this month ^^
xriies
post Oct 8 2014, 09:52 PM

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 8 2014, 04:35 PM)
when is your travel date? mine is 20-27 oct. depart to busan and back from seoul
opps different date. me 29oct - 5nov. smile.gif
xriies
post Oct 11 2014, 06:52 PM

im going to seoul end of this month. there's one day im planning to go gangchon rail park and nami island. Is it advisable to go rail park in the morning then go nami island by afternoon? or should go nami island first? btw. normally how many hours ppl spend their time in nami island?

xriies
post Oct 13 2014, 04:49 PM

-

This post has been edited by xriies: Oct 13 2014, 04:50 PM
xriies
post Oct 13 2014, 04:52 PM

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 13 2014, 11:51 AM)
if you don't plan to spend a lot of time at Namiseom should not be an issue. but you will have an issue at the rail bike. fyi, it's better to reserve or purchase the ticket before you go to the rail bike as tickets almost sold out most of the time especially weekend or certain timing.. somemore the timing is not frequent. if you reach there and the ticket sold out, you can opt for another timing but it's a waste of time lor.. cz u need to wait for few hours unless you stroll around nearby places and return to the park

timing: 9 am / 11 am / 1 pm / 3pm / 5pm.
i asked the guesthouse owner to book the ticket so shouldn't have problem. my only problem is don't know which place to go first. haha sweat.gif

if i go nami 1st. let say i depart from seoul at 9am, will i arrive gapyeong at 10/11am? travel by subway
xriies
post Oct 13 2014, 11:13 PM

QUOTE(kca @ Oct 13 2014, 09:18 PM)
Whats the name of that place with rail bike? Worth to go? Thanks
it called gangchon rail park. if you love sight seeing you can give it a try. smile.gif
xriies
post Oct 14 2014, 04:14 PM

Banpo Bridge water fountain is it a must visit place? I want to go there but my itinerary quite pack . ><
xriies
post Oct 25 2014, 10:38 PM

-

This post has been edited by xriies: Nov 6 2014, 04:25 PM
xriies
post Nov 6 2014, 04:21 PM

Just came back from Korea last night, the weather there was good. Slightly windy and very cold during night. Celsius around 6-18.

Some places around Seoul the leaves still yellow colored but you can see red one in Nami Island. If you are are going to Nami Island by subway, once you arrive Gapyeong Stn. I prefer you take taxi than bus because taxi rate start from 3,000won.
I think I took the wrong bus which cost me 5,000won per person and only 5mins from Stn to the Whaft. Grrr. Mental breakdown. Or you can even walk.

If you guys are going Seoul, it's alright not to know or know lil Korea language because now they speak lil English and mandarin. I spoke in korean but then they straight away reply in Mandarin ==

For people who want to rent pocket wifi, I recommend you Wifi-Korea http://www.wifi-korea.com.
They have 2 type of pocket wifi. I rented the cheaper one which is UDP. The coverage is so so. It better to rent ESP. Their office just right in front Insadong Main Street. For more info do visit their website.

Hmmm. One more thing. I stayed at 24!guesthouse Cheongyestream branch. The location is good. 5mins walk from Stn to guesthouse and there's 2 line which is line 2&3. From guesthouse can walk to myeondong,Cheongyestream,city hall,gwangwamun plaza and dongdaemun. The Stn,exit 1, theres a restaurant it 국수하고 만두가 맛있어요! Cheap and delicious.

Alright that's all. Almost wrote an essay. ㅋㅋ

This post has been edited by xriies: Nov 26 2014, 09:11 PM
xriies
post Nov 7 2014, 08:28 PM

QUOTE(azkoleq @ Nov 7 2014, 07:36 PM)
The bus one is a daily pass. You can it unlimited for the today. It is also benefitial if you also go to Petite France and Garden of Morning Calm.
Does it means 2way pass!? How wasted! When I depart back to the Gapyeong Stn. I took taxi ==
xriies
post Nov 8 2014, 02:07 AM

QUOTE(azkoleq @ Nov 7 2014, 11:45 PM)
It is a daily pass. You can use it unlimited for
the day. Like I use it from Gapyeong to Nami Island. Nami island to Petite France. Lastly, from Petite France back to Gapyeong.
doh.gif cry.gif huhuh~ tfyi. lesson learned.
xriies
post Nov 14 2014, 10:43 PM

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Nov 14 2014, 10:46 AM)
btw, perhaps you didn't know, it's common that they pushed other people at crowded area or inside subway  whistling.gif  and they also won't easily apologize for small matter  smile.gif

they don't favor China chinese and thought if you are chinese is definitely from China already haha.. but they love to earn their $$ cause they can spent a lot. that's why China people have benefits in certain shopping complexes such as lotte, shinsegae, etc. my friends encountered that the ahjumma in the restaurant serve them badly cause she thought they are from China tongue.gif
So true. Now every corner in Korea you will see China people. vmad.gif next time go any country just bring along Msia flag pin badge. Haha sweat.gif but lucky I didn't get any bad service when dining in restaurant but they showed me black face when I ordered 2potion shared for 3person. Zzz
xriies
post Nov 19 2014, 05:24 PM

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Nov 19 2014, 12:58 AM)
Updated costing

Sunken cost at the moment = RM 2404

KUL-ICN = RM 429
Sim Card = RM 80
Seoul City Pass (3 days, 20 time subway ride a day) = RM 100
Namsan cable car (return) = RM 26
N Seoul Tower = RM 30
National Museum of Korea = free
War Memorial of Korea = free
Seoul accommodation (3 nights) = RM 280
Panmunjom JSA tour = RM 258
Gyeongbokgung = RM 10
KTX train (Seoul-Busan) = RM 230
Busan accommodation (1 night) = RM 100
PUS-KUL = RM 429
Food budget = RM 500
you can take bus to namsam tower from myeondong station,exit 3. cheaper thumbup.gif
xriies
post Nov 28 2014, 12:28 AM

QUOTE(ee7han @ Nov 27 2014, 08:12 PM)
whats the estimated cost for daily expenses (food) ? going there for 10 days no idea how much KRW should i bring..
depend on what you eat. i spent almost 20,000 - 35,000won a day . i bring rm3k for 8days. and used almost rm2.5k (including meal,transport, attraction fee, some shopping and accommodation)

This post has been edited by xriies: Nov 28 2014, 12:36 AM
xriies
post Dec 8 2014, 10:10 PM

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 8 2014, 02:18 PM)
it depends what you buy or who you deal with. nowadays you can't bargain much plus some won't bargain and will tell you it's "made in korea" and will shoo you away whistling.gif
that day my sis bought a pair of shoes and asked for discount then the seller said it's "made in korea" you can only find it in korea. hahah. but still manage to get 10% off sweat.gif

This post has been edited by xriies: Dec 8 2014, 10:11 PM
xriies
post Dec 10 2014, 01:04 AM

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 9 2014, 11:29 AM)
lol.. they like to use this tactic so that tourists don't have reason to bargain much.. but actually some of the label that state "made in korea" is not locally made also. some is manufactured from other countries and put that label on.. i knew that because i went to 1 garment manufacturer factory in Bangkok before  brows.gif

of cause there is some that is genuinely made in korea but you can know by the price. it's not cheap though  doh.gif
ya. either we buy or go. haha. now buy things also can't 100% believe where it come/made from. doh.gif

btw. just wondering y i didnt get any notification when i got your/someone replies. do u know whr to set? hmm.gif because i only get notification(BETA) when other ppl reply to other ppl post. weird icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by xriies: Dec 10 2014, 01:16 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0307sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:28 AM