Travel South Korea V5, Seoul & Surroundings

Mollai
post Sep 16 2015, 12:27 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Sep 14 2015, 10:31 AM)
haha.. not so bad as you think ler..

too many nice food i like in Seoul drool.gif  but i'm afraid not everyone have the same taste bud as me. bbq you can choose what type of meat.. most of their bbq place is quite nice. but i still prefer black pork bbq in jeju  tongue.gif  perhaps you can try their bbq makjang (pork intenstine) at hongdae. sujebi at samcheongdong or insadong. both place also nice just that insadong one got sell dongdongju, yoogane, samgyetang at gyeongbokgung (for me this place quite touristy but first timer usually will wanna try it), jjimdak and too many to be listed out haha
u bought aa promo?  tongue.gif  which month now? u take early leave definitely can
Haha.. i know quite some korean dishes..best thing i had from my last trip was their pork bbq. The pork was so fresh that i can even eat it without any sauce. Yummmm..cant wait for 2 weeks more.

One thing i concern is im going alone :$

This post has been edited by Mollai: Sep 16 2015, 12:28 AM
Mollai
post Sep 18 2015, 04:30 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Sep 18 2015, 10:08 AM)
if you travel alone, get the sim card. travel with pairs or friends, get the wifi device. if wanna save, don't get any and just look at hardcopy maps and use free wifi in your guesthouse or hotel  biggrin.gif
which sim card you would suggest?
possible to buy when in airport? I reach korea like 5am. not sure if the shop is open leh...
Mollai
post Sep 24 2015, 09:55 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(loan_application @ Sep 23 2015, 04:34 PM)
Hi everyone,

I'm going Seoul on earlier of October for 7 days
Didn't go for Jeju island.
Is that any suggestion for my schedules?
Sorry that i'm kinda busy until cant survey for my Korea trip
Saw alot of details for it but can't really know where is those places ><
First time visit to Korea
Anyone can draft a simple schedule if possible tongue.gif ?
Will modify it. Appreciated
Depends what type of traveller are you.

koonghx you are living in Seoul? Im going on early Oct, can show me some good makan places?

This post has been edited by Mollai: Sep 24 2015, 09:58 PM
Mollai
post Oct 1 2015, 08:25 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(eugene9201 @ Sep 28 2015, 12:42 PM)
I will recommend EG sim card if you are traveling alone AND more than one week.
Their package works like this:-

20,000 won to buy the sim card and you will get 20,000won credit in it.
(extra 5,500won for hybrid sim or 9,900won need for nano sim).

You can use the credit available to buy data.
5,000won for 100MB
10,000won for 500MB
15,000won for 1GB

*If you select 500MB or 1GB they will give you olleh wifi, which you can use in the subway and some places with their hotspot.

The good thing is that you pay less if you stay more than one week (wifi device 5,000won/day, do the maths), you don't need to carry and charge the wifi device and you can call out (if you need) but you have to plan on how you use your data. I didn't even finish 500MB for my two weeks trip because wifi is everywhere, I only use my data for Twitter/Facebook, Kakao/Line messaging and Naver map.

P.s. You can get the sim card at many places like Seoul Station if you can't get it at the airport. Btw I think you can't get wifi device that early too, right?
Too late reading this post...the sim card from convenient stores really need to have patience to wait it to configure..i opted for the 44,000 sim rental available at the airport. Unlimited data.
Mollai
post Oct 2 2015, 08:36 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(scFoong @ Oct 1 2015, 08:39 PM)
Hi Mollai,

Can you tell me more about this 44000 won for unlimited data? Is there a period limit? How is the network coverage? Thank you in advance:)
Coverage is pretty good. Basically it is sim card rental, need to return on my departure date. They have for 10 days anout 36k won if im not mistaken. But unfortunate me my trip is 11days thus I need to opt for the 30days package 44k won. 10days is not an option for me because I would need to return on the 10th day at airport. Calls and sms are additional charges.

0.0539sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:35 PM