How to choose a good Cooker Hoods & Gas Hobs ?, Kitchen appliances hood / hob / oven
jasmine0085
Mar 26 2014, 05:23 PM
Hi all sifus , wanan ask bout recirculating ( ductless) vs ducted hood.
I stay in a condo so i have no way to drill a hole for the duct , and the window is quite far away ( at least 10' to the window, even more if i place the hob further). If i choose ducted hood , i will have to build plaster ceiling or cabinet to hide the ducts.
So , I am considering to use recirculating hood . Certainly i know that the functionality of it is lower since air is released back to the room , but how bad could this be? would a recirculating hood appears to be close to useless?
This post has been edited by jasmine0085: Mar 26 2014, 05:44 PM
jasmine0085
Mar 27 2014, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(zheilwane @ Mar 26 2014, 08:25 PM) Ofcoz having one is better than not having anything. Recirculating hoods help to remove airborne grease and reduce odor. Ofocz, a ducting one is much better as it could reduce more odor, suck out heat, lesser maintenance and etc. QUOTE(azleena @ Mar 26 2014, 10:10 PM) So in a situation where ducting would need to run more than 10ft, which is better: recirculating or ducted? Ya ya , same question too
jasmine0085
Jun 13 2014, 07:03 PM
 Bought a Rubine Hood from Builders Hardware [ model : Rosemary , suction power 1350m3/hr or 1200 as stated in the manual ( i didnt read it in detail)]. I am yet to move in so i have no way to comment on the long term performance; anyhow i tested the hood randomly with paper , glove , plastic and etc. The suction power is really not bad. I guess it is quite a good buy. Since it is an OEM, it is cheaper as compared to fotile , bosch or rinnai. I hope it will last long enough , finger crossed I am satisfied with the after-sale service from Builders Harware , My hood was previously not working due to incomplete installation ( problem from my kitchen cabinet guy). I contacted BH and they forwarded my request to Rubine. Problem was solved after Rubine sent a technician to my place for service. The price .... i bought a hood , a sink and a tap. I didn't get the package so my price is at the higher side  *still regret* For those who wanan get kitchen hardware , seriously hv to consider the package, seems to be a lot cheaper then my " A la carte" way of purchase.