11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

LYN Proton INSPIRA Owners and Fans Thread V61!, Still going strong!

K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 11:44 AM

2,479 posts

One thing where most POWER seekers forget ...

NOT HOW MUCH POWER GAIN ONLY .. but WHEN the power gain .. and any sides effect
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 11:54 AM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 21 2014, 11:49 AM)
Yeap fully agree on this hehe
There was a few so highs .. direct put open pod .. tell me .. ppl says POWER good .. then how come car like dun wan move .. padan muka .. rclxms.gif
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 12:26 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 21 2014, 12:07 PM)
Yeah, because in my opinion, the plug and play open pod design by k&n have no difference as the stock intake aside from much wider diameter connecting to the throttle body

Why? Because you're main air ram effect is still restricted by you stock air snorkel which they still reuse without any modification.

I was actually surprised that it could even yield 6 to 7 horse power even,  at what, 6k rpm? While as you guys mentioned,  having the low /mid end screwed maybe because of the lack of further heat shielding (metal vs rubber /silicone throttle body connection rofl) and if I'm not mistaken,  the air baffling compartments of the stock air box and snorkel can also serve as a short term air "storage " (for the lack of my vocabulary /term lol)  which helps significantly in the low /mid range rpm /power band

Correct a sifu?  notworthy.gif
Nope.. go read up how iVtec works ..
at low RPM .. u wanted to create some restriction on the intake so that when the air goes in .. its like causing some sort of turbulance.. this will ensure better mixture of the Air and Fuel.. remember our engine not GDI .. so mixing the fuel and air plays a cruicial part as well. an open pod allow air flow in like no one business, ... YOU WAN AIR AH .. take la ... so end up the mixture not that nice cause it does not stir much ..

Thats why u look at 4AGE design .. BIG PORT .. suffer at low RPM .. so Toyota redesign the inlet .. the have the proton so call VIM (Variable intake) .. sorry forget what toyota call it d .. its actually to compensate back the big port design .. at lower RPM it uses the long path .. so that the mixture of the air and fuel gets better ... at high RPM .. engine need air and fuel FAST .. dont care mix nice or not d la ... that is when it switch to short intake.. so the engine get as much air asap ...

erm... all that from a non qualify engineer .. whom works for bank ..

u guys better listen up to yang amat berhormat dato prof doctor jaykrupter ..
buy a Forte 1.6 4 speed ... hassle free .. 90% torque at 1500 rpm on ur right foot .. rclxm9.gif
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 12:28 PM

2,479 posts

Nah Pigi baca ..

TVIS

That is what our mivec is helping as well ... not some expert whom tell u mivec open at 4500 rpm .. drool.gif
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 02:21 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 21 2014, 02:06 PM)
so is it something like this which is applicable for carburetor engines that i have also linked earlier?
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ram-air_intake
more on the venturi effect:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Venturi_effect

after reading the link, i finally understood better; much thanks for the info sifu k3! notworthy.gif

this would be a more accurate explanation/term that i attempted to convey
this however basically reinforced what sifu kenny is trying to correct me in that the longer length is equally important especially in dealing with low/mid end...
however at the end of the day, would you really need the low end during a track? my brain storming on open pods are strictly track only as i don't intend to sell my K&N drop in tongue.gif
more like a second setup similar to how i already apply to my wheels (both rims/tires) and even spring for the iswara lol.
btw for toyota:

they ever advertised that? macam never heard of lol
don't worry, i also no qualification even in my own job. diploma in IT work in telco with no networking qualification laugh.gif
tak pe la, malaysia ma, where got standards geh, simply do la. asal jalan. laugh.gif
track day no . coz u full time full rev ..
but u were talking about not properly shield open pod that causes low/ mid power drop .. im trying to tell .. no matter what .. open pod will cause power drop at low / mid ..

Oh well ... sorry for tat .. im pretending to know something again .. sorry YAB ..
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 02:31 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 21 2014, 02:24 PM)
aye now understand jor, thanks! thumbup.gif
nvm YAB win all on track punya, no need to brainstorm because he already knew.

commoners like us still on thinking process while he ALREADY EXECUTED, past f***ing tense.

btw would you think that the K&N open pod design can be further improved and that design is mainly to serve a plug and play/ease of installation market?
WHAT IS THE POINT ?

manufacturer bukan bodoh ... (but according to YAB .. street tuners.. tune shop .. whatever shop u call it .. all BODOH .. )

KNN do drop in .. so u gain small amount HP at higher end.. but actually drop slightly at front end ..but we cheapskate wanted it cause cheaper to maintain..

If you are going for OPEN pod.. by all means u trying to gain MAX power possible .. dun care low end jo .. so KNN kasih besar as possible la..

Takkan they design something best of both world (for sure require air routing or some sort of technology to reduce the air flow at certain Rpm) ... and sell it at says 2-3k ... YOU THINK U WANNA BUY ?? gain that little bit of power ??

REmember ur car is juz NA 1.8 .. how much u think u can gain by messing up the intake ? 50 ? 100 bhp ? .. u be lucky to get 3 bhp out of it .. few thousands for 3 bhp ? .. go BOT .. so u tell me who the farking b@stard will go buy it ?

** disclaimer : according to YAB , the car manufacturer will give u the best... regardless of cost .. its already the best.
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 02:51 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(mercury99 @ Jan 21 2014, 02:40 PM)
we talking bout the Opening of the intake la.. not CAI ..
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 02:53 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 21 2014, 02:49 PM)
yeah that's exactly what i was thinking also hehe.

but eh the design i was thinking, if we're just aiming for high end/high rev, why not have the throttle body straight away connect to the intake snorkel (cut/shortened) just around the air cond condenser area... yes it's going to be hot there, however i believe some heat shielding/insulation should solve that. furthermore the snorkel and tubing to the TB can be non heat conductive materials such as plastic/rubber/silicone.

then maybe bonnet mod another air scoop (or cheaper CAI alternatives) to have more air flow DIRECTLY to the filter element?

though yeah, when you consider all this indirect/complex/expensive approaches, it seems like BOT is more feasible laugh.gif
If u talking about track use .. yes .. i think they have the kit .. direct replacement of the host .. to the intake throttle .. then with the proper shield.. no CAI if i remember..

but how much can u tahan the low end suffer.. remmember its a 1.8 .. with reduce torque summore .. such heavy car.. u think forte 1.6 4 speed meh
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 03:01 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 21 2014, 02:57 PM)
For tracking yes.. u want all that ..

For daily .. instead u do not wan it to suck that much actually
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 03:06 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 21 2014, 03:01 PM)
mercury99 K3nnYkl82

while the main reason is AFR, temperature plays an important role too as i speculated laugh.gif
Yup .. temperature do play a big difference.. but the swirling effect does matter..

go google up the ivtec system as well .. thats mixing better the Air and fuel to gain better torque and complete burn .. u open up it .. it does not help much
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 03:07 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(mercury99 @ Jan 21 2014, 03:05 PM)
yup, a tune to lean out the AFR and CAI is the way to go. but K&N CAI is kinda expensive. can almost buy a turbo
i strongly disagree ..

if its for track .. yes .. but for daily use .. i can almost confirm guarantee .. no matter how u tune .. the power will drop ..

simple .. u ask those kaki whom change bigger flow exhaust one .. does that helps or not .. tongue.gif
i know an ah beng whom change to 2.2" .. lolz
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 03:08 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 21 2014, 03:06 PM)
all this is with assumption you're tuning a track car with disregard to low/mid end as k3 already highlighted numerous times though laugh.gif
correct .. if u are going for a track car .. that is .. but we are talking about daily drive with open pod ..
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 03:11 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(mercury99 @ Jan 21 2014, 03:05 PM)
yup, a tune to lean out the AFR and CAI is the way to go. but K&N CAI is kinda expensive. can almost buy a turbo
Go back to ur website and see between 2000 - 3000 rpm .. stock or short ramp with what ever CAI .. which one higher ..

daily drive power range is 2-3k rpm ..
and one thing dyno chart never show .. time for the thing to climb
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 03:18 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(mercury99 @ Jan 21 2014, 03:14 PM)
iinm, swirling effect happens in the intake manifold right?
Have a look at the 3rd dyno by RPW for the CAI. This is untuned, rich, and doesn't deviate much from the original torque curve.
you have not even know where the swirling take effect ... doh.gif

again . u dun get what the hell we are aiming at .. LOW END!

CAI .. very expensive CAI + un-tune is equivalent to a stock at low end ... (temperature drop so much u only get the same amount as stock)

can u imagine if i put CAI + stock .. how much low end u get ???

do u get what im trying to says now ????

all this summarize that the SWIRL effect does matter.. just that RPW compensate it will COLD AIR INTAKE ... your stock does not comes with CAI ... understand boh
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 03:19 PM

2,479 posts

and in Malaysia .. you try stand outside at the road .. noon time .. to 4 pm .. u see u can get 28 degree or not
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 03:25 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 21 2014, 03:21 PM)
with this assumption, can say the campro effect becomes worse? tongue.gif
thats why proton comes with VIM now .. the campro drivablity improve a whole lot .. which mercury doubt it thou .. tongue.gif
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 03:29 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(mercury99 @ Jan 21 2014, 03:27 PM)
you must only look at the difference between both curves  rclxub.gif from 2750 onwards the one with CAI is above the original curve
u still dont get what we are talking isit ??

what will happen stock + CAI .? (Low end)
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 03:34 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(mercury99 @ Jan 21 2014, 03:31 PM)
hmm maybe not. what you mean by stock? how to keep things stock once you went CAI?
u can remain the stock air filter add on CAI ma .. adui .. first day mod car isit ?

my putra stock also we play CAI la ..

we are just PROVING that OPEN POD will kill ur low end ..

and your theory is NOT PROVING that it wont kill .. but u can rescue the low end by CAI (REAL GOOD CAI)

and im saying stock its non CAI also can achieve what you have CAI ..

Nah .. stock filter CAI on a wira

This post has been edited by K3nnYkl82: Jan 21 2014, 03:34 PM
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 03:36 PM

2,479 posts

CAI on stock air filter on a SAGA ..
K3nnYkl82
post Jan 21 2014, 03:48 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(mercury99 @ Jan 21 2014, 03:42 PM)
paham

the reason why open pod will ruin low end is because it sucks in too much air (richens AFR) and not because of the swirling effect right? because swirling effect happens in the intake manifold.
doh.gif

There is no vacuum cleaner in the car .. the effect of sucking air is produce by the piston moving downwards pulling the air in from the intake .. an open pod (BIG BIG HOLE) .. air can flow in easily .. hence ur air and fuel does not mix good .. does not mix good means some fuel is not burn completely.. not burn means wasted .. if u minus out the NOT BURN fuel its like GOING rich .. bcoz u got fuel .. u cant burn .. yet it takes up the limited space within the combusion chamber ... thats why u get the rich AFR ... FAHAM BOH ?

the swirling effect is not happen in the intake manifold.. the intake manifold is guiding the air into the combusion chamber.. the mivec reduce the inlet valve open .. to make it like close a bit .. that is the part where the swirling of the air and fuel happen .. when it run into the combusion it causes turbulance.. hence the mixture better...

11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:57 PM