One-day Legal Aid Clinic on 11 Jan 2014

gedebe
post Dec 22 2013, 01:24 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Dec 22 2013, 12:46 AM)
Good idea. Perhaps i can arrange a 2-hr slot in the afternoon for roundtable talk  icon_rolleyes.gif
forgive me for my ignorance, legal advice is confine to property matter or other matter also can??
TSdariofoo
post Dec 22 2013, 01:31 AM

In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king
2,795 posts

QUOTE(shalom @ Dec 22 2013, 01:21 AM)
wow lawyer trying to get business huh? lol...
With all due respect, your comment is not fair. I've been around in this forum since 2010. You can the way I operated v1 and v2 of my thread. If you think that legal aid is a way to 'get business' then you are seriously misconceived.
TSdariofoo
post Dec 22 2013, 01:33 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Dec 22 2013, 01:24 AM)
forgive me for my ignorance, legal advice is confine to property matter or other matter also can??
Any other area of law also can. See no.5. If it is not within my knowledge I will let you know n advance so that you need not fix an appointment. icon_rolleyes.gif
gedebe
post Dec 22 2013, 02:13 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Dec 22 2013, 01:33 AM)
Any other area of law also can. See no.5. If it is not within my knowledge I will let you know n advance so that you need not fix an appointment.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks for the quick response rclxms.gif i wanna be the 1st in the list tongue.gif
gedebe
post Dec 22 2013, 02:41 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Dec 21 2013, 02:36 AM)
APPOINTMENT LIST

(leave a comment and I will update this post from time to time)
1. Nick: gedebe. Matter pertaining to probate and negligence. Time: 2:00 - 2:30pm

This post has been edited by gedebe: Dec 22 2013, 02:56 AM
TSdariofoo
post Dec 22 2013, 10:53 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Dec 22 2013, 02:41 AM)
1. Nick: gedebe.  Matter pertaining to probate and negligence.  Time: 2:00 - 2:30pm
Ok confirmed and updated.
ManutdGiggs
post Dec 22 2013, 12:09 PM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(shalom @ Dec 22 2013, 01:21 AM)
wow lawyer trying to get business huh? lol...
Boss u must b a fool to say tat. Pls know who is dariofoo b4 u further humiliate urself le.
ManutdGiggs
post Dec 22 2013, 12:10 PM

13,761 posts

This post has been edited by ManutdGiggs: Dec 22 2013, 12:29 PM
bub01
post Dec 22 2013, 09:13 PM

41 posts

Would like to add that you can get a free consultation with any lawyer by visiting any nearby law firm. Usually just by explaining your matter to the clerk or lawyer and obtain an appointment. If the lawyer charges you any money or insists on an upfront payment just for a consultation please report the matter to the Malaysian Bar Council. thumbup.gif

Legal aid clinics are usually organized and held by Bar Council periodically or permanently at Legal Aid Centres such as:

Bar Council Legal Aid Centre Selangor
No. 41A, Jalan Bola Jaring
13/15, Section 13
40100 Shah Alam
Selangor Darul Ehsan
Tel : 03-5510 7007 / 7008
Fax : 03-5510 7009
Email : lacselangor@outlook.com

Bar Council Legal Aid Centre Kuala Selangor
No. 32, 1st Floor
Jalan Bendahara, 1/1 Taman Bendahara
45000, Kuala Selangor
Selangor Darul Ehsan
Tel : 03-3281 2428
Fax : 03-3281 2427
Email : legalaidcentrekualaselangor@gmail.com

All consultations are free of charge. thumbup.gif

I think what dariofoo is doing is merely giving free legal advice, it isn't actively soliciting for business which is actionable by the Bar Council. Lawyers just as other professionals are bound by their advice i.e giving negligent advice, and this isn't even the lawyer's fault as sometimes person asking for advice has an agenda or doesn't provide adequate information or doesn't disclose all the relevant facts.

A lawyer cannot insist that you pay for a consultation and cannot insist that he or she take your case. I.e you have divulged private information integral to your matter to him so only that lawyer should take the case. You ultimately decide whether to appoint him for your matter. After the consultation you may decide to appoint him or obtain a second opinion from another lawyer. Remember, it's free. thumbup.gif

LiverpoolNewton
post Dec 23 2013, 12:01 AM

Good news!
TSdariofoo
post Dec 23 2013, 12:14 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(bub01 @ Dec 22 2013, 09:13 PM)
Would like to add that you can get a free consultation with any lawyer by visiting any nearby law firm. Usually just by explaining your matter to the clerk or lawyer and obtain an appointment. If the lawyer charges you any money or insists on an upfront payment just for a consultation please report the matter to the Malaysian Bar Council.  thumbup.gif

Legal aid clinics are usually organized and held by Bar Council periodically or permanently at Legal Aid Centres such as:

All consultations are free of charge. thumbup.gif
I think what dariofoo is doing is merely giving free legal advice, it isn't actively soliciting for business which is actionable by the Bar Council.  Lawyers just as other professionals are bound by their advice i.e giving negligent advice, and this isn't even the lawyer's fault as sometimes person asking for advice has an agenda or doesn't provide adequate information or doesn't disclose all the relevant facts.

A lawyer cannot insist that you pay for a consultation and cannot insist that he or she take your case. I.e you have divulged private information integral to your matter to him so only that lawyer should take the case. You ultimately decide whether to appoint him for your matter. After the consultation you may decide to appoint him or obtain a second opinion from another lawyer. Remember, it's free. thumbup.gif
I appreciate the time and effort which you have taken. Most of it are pretty accurate, except the following which I should elaborate a little plus a few more facts:

1. There is no such thing as a compulsory free consultation by a lawyer. I won't even talk about a clerk as a clerk is not a qualified person, as much as a clerk may be experienced. A lawyer has the right to charge for consultation, even if it is for 5 minutes. Try walking into a big firm like Shearn Delamore or Skrine. They even have a clock on the table to time you. They bill by the hour.

The lawyer has the duty to inform you in advance as to the charges for the consultation. Either by the hour or per appointment. If the lawyer informed you that it would be free and later charges you, then yes, you can complain to the Bar Council. However, it would be your word against the lawyer's.

2. The Selangor and KL Legal Aid Centre does not have any full time lawyers on their payroll. If you walk in, you would have to go through a Means Test first. Basically, advice will only be given to the needy, not any man on the street. If you pass the Means Test, they will open a file, and put it on the list of file for 'adoption' by volunteer lawyers.

3. Not all type of cases will be taken up. For the KL LAC, most of the cases are criminal cases in the Magistrate's Court or divorce cases, especially for abused women who need interim protection orders (IPO). General civil cases would normally not be accepted as it is difficult to find a lawyer who would be willing to take up the case.

4. Alternatively, there is Biro Bantuan Guaman, set up by the Govt. Similarly, there is a Means Test and they only handle either family law cases or probate/inheritence cases.

5. The Selangor and KL Legal Aid Centres do not hold legal aod clinics, as far as I know. Most legal clinics have been held on a monthly basis by certain MPs. There are several groups as well, like Lawyers For Liberty and the Peguam Untuk Felda group.

I will not ask anyone to sign any disclaimer forms. Advice will be proper and professional. There is no ulterior motive in this. I joined a fellow lawyer to attend a legal clinic organised in Klang recently and found it to be a very interesting and satisfying experience, hence the reason to have one here.
ProperTYcoon
post Dec 23 2013, 09:55 AM

1,322 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Dec 21 2013, 12:13 PM)
No problem. Am glad I passed your 'security check'  sweat.gif

Haven't been active for the past year so new forummers may not know me but the veterans might still remember  smile.gif

Can I have a few more suggestions. Perhaps the date?

Anyone interested so far?  hmm.gif
Haha I'm sorry about that which I don't really focused on Legal Issues,

I'm more to investment
nookie188
post Dec 23 2013, 10:31 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Dec 23 2013, 12:14 AM)
I....................................................... law cases or probate/inheritence cases.

5. The Selangor and KL Legal Aid Centres do not hold legal aod clinics, as far as I know. Most legal clinics have been held on a monthly basis by certain MPs. There are several groups as well, like Lawyers For Liberty and the Peguam Untuk Felda group.

I will not ask anyone to sign any disclaimer forms. Advice will be proper and professional. There is no ulterior motive in this. I joined a fellow lawyer to attend a legal clinic organised in Klang recently and found it to be a very interesting and satisfying experience, hence the reason to have one here.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

cant win them all..sometimes people are just sceptical if they see anything being offered free though i must say
its good to be cautious ..

however, those of us who have been in LYN for a while will know that this is not the first time DF is offering his services for free lah.. ..so those of you who need legal advice, grab this opportunity...and yes, he is REAL LAWYER.. nod.gif

This post has been edited by nookie188: Dec 23 2013, 10:31 AM
TSdariofoo
post Dec 24 2013, 10:46 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(manapergi @ Dec 24 2013, 03:04 AM)
It is the same id1ot that keep posting zen thread
Relax,guys. Just ignore and focus on the bright stuff. icon_rolleyes.gif

Only one slot taken so far. sweat.gif
shalom
post Dec 24 2013, 03:33 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(manapergi @ Dec 24 2013, 03:04 AM)
It is the same id1ot that keep posting zen thread
damn funny someone posted such anti freedom of speech sentiments in a so-called legal forum/avenue...
TiramisuCoffee
post Dec 25 2013, 10:34 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Dec 22 2013, 01:19 AM)
Am sorry but would be unable to maintain a proper v3 thread due to work commitments. I hope that the clinic can assist as many forummers as possible. If the response is good I do not mind havng another one  Decided not to fix a date which is too long ahead as some may have pressing issues.
Hi Dario,
Members here are all over the country, some even abroad. sad.gif I doubt all are able to meet you up ( though I'm sure we all love to get to know you in person. wink.gif ) As such, it would be really helpful if there could be v3 thread to dish out advices to the needy in cyber space. How about members here posting non urgent issues here for you to answer at your convenience? smile.gif
500Kmission
post Dec 25 2013, 11:45 PM

789 posts

Hi DarioFoo, Are you able to speak Cantonese or Mandarin?
idunnolol
post Dec 28 2013, 12:29 AM

1,044 posts

Is bankruptcy also a area of your work?

Have a relative that is bankrupt and coincidentally,his appointment with JIM is on 24th
TSdariofoo
post Dec 28 2013, 09:06 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Dec 28 2013, 12:29 AM)
Is bankruptcy also a area of your work?

Have a relative that is bankrupt and coincidentally,his appointment with JIM is on 24th
Yes.
idunnolol
post Dec 28 2013, 11:42 PM

1,044 posts

Boss,can i book my appointment at 1130?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0383sec    0.90    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:30 PM