8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

> Malaysian student accepted into Harvard Universit

cj7
post Dec 20 2013, 10:51 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(meistsh_musical @ Dec 20 2013, 10:33 PM)
that old news
not that old wut, 50 year pass, more or less still same.

QUOTE(bakula @ Dec 20 2013, 10:34 PM)
Connection and crony.

Goh Tong got Genting because royalty owe him favor.
oh didnt know that. thx

SUSmeistsh_musical
post Dec 20 2013, 10:52 PM

Ahbeng
1,111 posts

QUOTE(cj7 @ Dec 20 2013, 11:51 PM)
not that old wut, 50 year pass, more or less still same.
oh didnt know that.  thx
happy.gif
different century kid yo
go open thread ask in K
let K give u answer
t3arsCulprit
post Dec 20 2013, 10:56 PM

769 posts

Cheh.. Not a guy enter harvard.. No use ler..
SUSabccab123
post Dec 20 2013, 11:01 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Skidd Chung @ Dec 20 2013, 10:34 PM)
Because Harvard is harder to get in.
no.It depends on what course you are planning to get in to.Stanford/MIT Comp Sci are way harder to get in compared to Harvard's
janszmatt
post Dec 20 2013, 11:10 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(barista @ Dec 20 2013, 09:29 PM)
So now only International School student can get in huh? What is there to shout about? People pay a lot to study in International School.
If our schools can be so high standard, I am sure there are many more Malaysians who can achieve great things on the international level.
She's an SPM graduate from SMK (P) St George and took IB as pre-u studies.

So yes, you need IB or A-levels or a recognisable Pre-U test results to get in Harvard which is only offered in private or international school. Don't expect them accepting an STPM graduate.

Source: I know her personally
Sylf
post Dec 20 2013, 11:16 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(11c @ Dec 20 2013, 09:21 PM)
by kang soon chen

PETALING JAYA: It has been three years since a Malaysian was accepted into Harvard University. Eleasha Chew (pix) has put an end to the "drought."

The former student of St. George's Girls' School will be admitted under Harvard College's Early Action programme for the class of 2018.

The 19-year-old International Baccalaureate student has been very active in theatre and community service.
Dr Goh Cheng Teik, who heads the selection panel that interviews students for undergraduate admission into Harvard, described Eleasha as “extremely intelligent”.

“She speaks very well and she is able to communicate very effectively, I am sure she will not face any difficulty when she is in Harvard,” said Dr Goh in a telephone interview on Friday.

Former SMK Damansara Jaya student Avinaash Subramaniam was the last Malaysian to be accepted into Harvard - in 2010.

My Webpage
Jpa also taken up many of such students.
StarScream01
post Dec 20 2013, 11:23 PM

73 posts

proud of her race....... do us proud
SUSJyunkai
post Dec 20 2013, 11:28 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Dec 20 2013, 09:42 PM)
i jelly

coz she will piap piap ang moh

sad.gif
ang mo probably wouldn't want to piap her... she looks like a child
PhakFuhZai
post Dec 20 2013, 11:31 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

QUOTE(Webbonbon @ Dec 20 2013, 10:56 PM)
They also have lots of money to buy tips from prominent people who set exam papers and hire private tutors to home school their children.

So education is nothing serious for them except for reputation to keep their empires going.

Meanwhile poor people can dream and borrow text books.
inb4 dapat BR1M pergi Courts Mammoth beli TV 32"
hitsugaya2010
post Dec 20 2013, 11:39 PM

946 posts

Malaysian lo if can go Harvard... when lose election then you know lo...
TSOM
post Dec 20 2013, 11:41 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(janszmatt @ Dec 20 2013, 11:10 PM)
She's an SPM graduate from SMK (P) St George and took IB as pre-u studies.

So yes, you need IB or A-levels or a recognisable Pre-U test results to get in Harvard which is only offered in private or international school. Don't expect them accepting an STPM graduate.

Source: I know her personally
Where she did her IB ?

I also want to study .. sad.gif
SUSaaaeye
post Dec 20 2013, 11:43 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(11c @ Dec 20 2013, 09:21 PM)
by kang soon chen

PETALING JAYA: It has been three years since a Malaysian was accepted into Harvard University. Eleasha Chew (pix) has put an end to the "drought."

The former student of St. George's Girls' School will be admitted under Harvard College's Early Action programme for the class of 2018.

The 19-year-old International Baccalaureate student has been very active in theatre and community service.
Dr Goh Cheng Teik, who heads the selection panel that interviews students for undergraduate admission into Harvard, described Eleasha as “extremely intelligent”.

“She speaks very well and she is able to communicate very effectively, I am sure she will not face any difficulty when she is in Harvard,” said Dr Goh in a telephone interview on Friday.

Former SMK Damansara Jaya student Avinaash Subramaniam was the last Malaysian to be accepted into Harvard - in 2010.

My Webpage
Good! just like my fren..but my friend went to oxford did her TESL..
Cinevision
post Dec 20 2013, 11:45 PM

226 posts

Congrats!

Harvard accepts 21 percent of early applicants for class of 2018
Posted by Matt Rocheleau December 16, 2013 11:30 AM

Harvard University, through its “early action” program, accepted 992 prospective students, or 21 percent of the 4,692 applicants, to join the class of 2018, campus officials announced.

The early action admission rate was higher than the 18 percent of applicants the university accepted early each of the past two years.

“This year’s applicants are remarkable by any standard. Their academic and extracurricular strengths are impressive — as is their ethnic, economic, and geographic diversity,” said a statement from William R. Fitzsimmons, dean of admissions and financial aid. “The larger number of admitted students is another indication that early admission is the ‘new normal,’ and that more of the nation’s and the world’s most promising students apply early to college.”

For four years, from 2007 to 2010, the university said it did not offer early admission “due to concerns that such programs advantaged students who attended secondary schools that had more resources and better college counseling — while putting pressure on all students to make premature college choices.”

The university said it brought back its early action program two years ago “in the wake of the global financial crisis after it became clear that many students from low-income backgrounds were looking for the certainty provided by early financial aid awards.”

“In restoring Early Action, we have emphasized the fact that applying early is not an advantage at Harvard, and that students should take the entire senior year to make the best possible college choice,” said Fitzsimmons’ statement. “When a student applies — either early or regular — has no bearing on whether he or she will ultimately be admitted.

“Given the large numbers applying to Harvard in recent years, over 35,000, the admissions committee is careful to admit only those who are certain to be admitted later,” he added. “Last year, a significant number of students who were deferred in Early Action were admitted in the spring.”

Unlike “early decision” programs at some other schools, Harvard said its early action program does not obligate accepted students to attend.

Early action applications were sent notifications on Friday, officials said.

Along with those notified of their acceptance, another 3,197 were deferred and “will be considered again in the ‘regular action’ process,” while 366 were denied, 18 withdrew, and 115 were incomplete, campus officials said. Students considered through the regular action process will be notified on March 27, officials said.

University officials said the number of minorities admitted through early action increased this year.

Latino admissions climbed from 70 last year to 104 this year, said Marlyn E. McGrath, director of admissions. African-American admissions rose from 77 to 98, and Asian-American admissions increased from 193 to 209. Native Hawaiian admissions remained the same at two, she said. Native American admissions declined slightly from 14 to 9.

International student admissions increased from 66 to 83, while U.S. dual citizen admissions rose from 60 to 90, officials said.

“Three women in particular will add unusual diversity to the Class of 2018: one from Afghanistan, another from Iran, and the third is a Syrian refugee who applied from Lebanon,” said a statement from McGrath.

Harvard officials said they do not yet know the socioeconomic composition of the admitted group because many applicants have not yet submitted financial information.

But, preliminary data suggests 122 of the newly admitted students requested application fee waivers, compared to 64 last year, “a strong indication of substantial financial need,” said Sarah C. Donahue, financial aid director.

News

mysticxin
post Dec 20 2013, 11:51 PM

251 posts

brb
United Rulez
post Dec 21 2013, 12:03 AM

668 posts

QUOTE(mysticxin @ Dec 20 2013, 11:51 PM)
brb
https://www.facebook.com/eleashachew
brows.gif
hwt
post Dec 21 2013, 12:16 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Dec 20 2013, 10:51 PM)
I suppose rich people have alot of free time to study and do community work. Too bad for those who have to work hard to help their parents.
If a poor student used computing to transform his/her parent's nasi lemak/fried kuay teow business, that can be a plus point. If it was a new concept, plus plus plus point...... The problem may be too many local students strictly follow their decade-old textbooks.......

This post has been edited by hwt: Dec 21 2013, 12:19 AM
mumeichan
post Dec 21 2013, 12:19 AM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(hwt @ Dec 21 2013, 12:16 AM)
If a poor student used computing to transform his/her parent's nasi lemak / fried kuay teow business, that can be a plus point.  If it was a new concept, plus plus plus point......  The problem may be too many local students strictly follow their decade-old textbooks.......
I think if poor student use computing to transform his parents nasih lemak until fail and they're indebt and declare bankrupt will be plus plus point. Can say perseverance through hardship
mumeichan
post Dec 21 2013, 12:27 AM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(Webbonbon @ Dec 21 2013, 12:20 AM)
As long as make enough money to survive or buy what you want who cares if you are nasi lemak seller or hawker.

These glamorous lives not for the poor people. Even if you can enter Harvard as poor fag, you won't be able to enjoy what the elite students enjoy like buy iPads and iPhones in classes.

They all buy one text book already like RM1000. You can afford? You can't means you're most loser in class.
haha don't tell me. I'm just HELP graduate. The thing I'm most proud of is being part of the uni that awarded Kim Jong Un a honorory degree.
marsupilami
post Dec 21 2013, 12:39 AM

313 posts

Ohh..no wonder la..
Malaysian chinese all hardworking and smart
GunBlaDeR
post Dec 21 2013, 12:55 AM

504 posts

Good la... why are some people making a big deal of her race? Damn, man. If you're trying to be funny, it sure as hell ain't amusing.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » 

0.0213sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:09 AM