Social Issues Need advise on Orphanage

TSiPlx
post Dec 17 2013, 05:46 PM, updated 12y ago

__Tomorrow is another day__ ( ̄(工) ̄)
707 posts

Hi, I am Daniel. Me and few of my friends are planning to organise a charity for orphanage around KL area. But this is our 1st time and we do not know a lot of things so hope some forumer that been in some charity would be good to give us suggestion thanks.

- Which Orphanage? (KL Area, less donators, with friendly staff that take good cares of the children)

- What should we get for them (will not be donating cash, Would prefer educational items or food or any kinds)

At 1st i suggested stationeries for education like (mechanical pencil, led, eraser,gum,pencil box,excerse book, etc in a gift set) but after i enquire on some orphanage i notice the age range and i got no idea on what to give for age like 16-21.

Budget will depends on how much donation we will collect by the end of the day.

I heard from some people they say some orphanage age range is from 6months - 21yo so i also donno what should get for them. And some even say if we buy food supplies like Milo refill...... etc some bad orphanage staff would take home and use instate. And some would even abuse the children. That's why i would love to heard and get some suggestion on which orphanage should we go to.

This post has been edited by iPlx: Dec 17 2013, 05:49 PM
klthor
post Dec 18 2013, 10:09 AM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(iPlx @ Dec 17 2013, 05:46 PM)
Hi, I am Daniel. Me and few of my friends are planning to organise a charity for orphanage around KL area. But this is our 1st time and we do not know a lot of things so hope some forumer that been in some charity would be good to give us suggestion thanks.

- Which Orphanage? (KL Area, less donators, with friendly staff that take good cares of the children)

- What should we get for them (will not be donating cash, Would prefer educational items or food or any kinds)

At 1st i suggested stationeries for education like (mechanical pencil, led, eraser,gum,pencil box,excerse book, etc in a gift set) but after i enquire on some orphanage i notice the age range and i got no idea on what to give for age like 16-21.

Budget will depends on how much donation we will collect by the end of the day.

I heard from some people they say some orphanage age range is from 6months - 21yo so i also donno what should get for them. And some even say if we buy food supplies like Milo refill...... etc some bad orphanage staff would take home and use instate. And some would even abuse the children. That's why i would love to heard and get some suggestion on which orphanage should we go to.
my colleagues went to an orphanage last weekend. actually its preferable if u select 1 and then give their PIC a call see what they need. coz from what i know, they have tons of milo/stationeries/snacks... instead most of them lack of toiletries like toilet roll, floor cleaning, toilet cleaning... give them what they need not what you wanna give... i have seen a 60" LED TV locked in their store room becoz they dun want the children to watch tv at nite, imagine that... about which orphanage, i have no comment but i will give u a hint that those around KL are mostly over supplied with stuff... look for those out skirts 1, but they do have links btw each other so certain overflow will pass to rural area's.
TSiPlx
post Dec 18 2013, 10:59 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Dec 18 2013, 10:09 AM)
my colleagues went to an orphanage last weekend. actually its preferable if u select 1 and then give their PIC a call see what they need. coz from what i know, they have tons of milo/stationeries/snacks... instead most of them lack of toiletries like toilet roll, floor cleaning, toilet cleaning... give them what they need not what you wanna give... i have seen a 60" LED TV locked in their store room becoz they dun want the children to watch tv at nite, imagine that... about which orphanage, i have no comment but i will give u a hint that those around KL are mostly over supplied with stuff... look for those out skirts 1, but they do have links btw each other so certain overflow will pass to rural area's.
As long the orphanage is not too far then should be ok. Now most important is i need a orphanage then only we can go to the next step. Like to know on whats their age range.... I dont mind supplying toiletries as long their stuff wont take home and use... etc as i heard from others. Everything can be arrange. thumbup.gif Thanks for the advise
witchx
post Dec 18 2013, 12:58 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(iPlx @ Dec 18 2013, 10:59 AM)
As long the orphanage is not too far then should be ok. Now most important is i need a orphanage then only we can go to the next step. Like to know on whats their age range.... I dont mind supplying toiletries as long their stuff wont take home and use... etc as i heard from others. Everything can be arrange.  thumbup.gif  Thanks for the advise
I am not sure if you have only looking for orphanages

But do give Rumah Jaireh a thought. More details on the website http://www.rumahjaireh.com/index.html

If you are interested you can get give them a shout to see how you can assist.
TSiPlx
post Dec 18 2013, 01:19 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(witchx @ Dec 18 2013, 12:58 PM)
I am not sure if you have only looking for orphanages

But do give Rumah Jaireh a thought. More details on the website http://www.rumahjaireh.com/index.html

If you are interested you can get give them a shout to see how you can assist.
Thank you for the details. We will look into it. thumbup.gif
Sophiera
post Dec 19 2013, 02:00 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

Try to look for less publisized orphanages. The really popular ones are overflowing with funding/KFC, while the unknown ones are suffering
TiramisuCoffee
post Dec 19 2013, 04:50 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(iPlx @ Dec 17 2013, 05:46 PM)

Hi Daniel, thumbup.gif

I dunno much about orphanage. But since you are interested to do charity, you can also sponsor a child to further his/her study. The bright ones will somehow get scholarships, so go for the average category. A good education may not guarantee they 'd make it big in life, but at least it can give then a competitive start. Once my brother sponsored his very poor coursemate his first degree. Now the latter is a successful professional. It's a very satisfying feeling to be able to help another climb out of poverty , he told me. Just an idea. wink.gif Good luck!

TSiPlx
post Dec 19 2013, 05:40 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Dec 19 2013, 02:00 AM)
Try to look for less publisized orphanages. The really popular ones are overflowing with funding/KFC, while the unknown ones are suffering
thats why i start a post so that people could tell me which one is the suffering ones smile.gif
TSiPlx
post Dec 19 2013, 05:42 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(TiramisuCoffee @ Dec 19 2013, 04:50 PM)
Hi Daniel,  thumbup.gif

I dunno much about orphanage. But since you are interested to do charity, you can also sponsor a child to further his/her study. The bright ones will somehow get scholarships, so go for the average category. A good education may not guarantee they 'd make it big in life, but at least it can give then a competitive start. Once my brother sponsored his very poor coursemate his first degree. Now the latter is a successful professional. It's a very satisfying feeling to be able to help another climb out of poverty , he told me.  Just an idea. wink.gif  Good luck!
cant really afford to sponsor a child as i have my family to deal with too. I am doing this just once a year with friends and representative smile.gif
TiramisuCoffee
post Dec 19 2013, 08:43 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(iPlx @ Dec 19 2013, 05:42 PM)
I am doing this just once a year with friends and representative smile.gif

+100
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

b00n
post Dec 19 2013, 09:49 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Moved from RWI to https://forum.lowyat.net/LYNCharityFoundation
Joelle Wyser-Pratte
post Dec 27 2013, 01:46 PM

I believe, the best thing to do is to search all Orphanage in KL and select the on that really needs help.
yo_yo
post Mar 19 2014, 11:30 PM

337 posts

I work with over 20 NGOs per year and many of them need financial assistance regardless of whether they are established or not. The bigger they are the more expenses they have but at least some of them have big corporations supporting their backs. So I would suggest to not overlook the big organisations too. Which means we should try our best to do charity consistently.

As for orphanage, you can always try to ask the caretaker what does the home need. Fresh vegetables and meat are always top on their list so is non-perishable items like laundry powder. What I have done in the past is making an appointment with the caretaker at a supermarket and they choose whatever they want within my budget and I pay for their items. So I don't have to deliver the items to their house and they are happy with the items.

Alternatively, I buy some biscuits and cooking oil whenever I visit the orphanages or elderly room as part of my work. Tidbits and sweets are no-no to some orphanages, so ask the caretaker first if you are buying those items.

I have also heard some caretakers will share the food that is donated for the kids. There was one who accidentally told me that the brown rice I was donating is good for his wife's health. Yikes. It happens so I just donate to other orphanages.

I hope you have found the right items for the kids. =)
Joelle Wyser-Pratte
post Mar 29 2014, 04:03 PM

Wow! I admire you!

This post has been edited by Joelle Wyser-Pratte: Mar 29 2014, 04:03 PM
limfreelance
post Apr 16 2014, 07:44 PM

343 posts

woow.
good luck.
Tak3shi
post Apr 20 2014, 03:02 AM

431 posts

It's pretty difficult to find the less publicized ones, I initially wanted to start a project to map out all the homes/orphanages in klang valley but was tied up with other stuff.

If anyone wants to help with this endeavour where we can map out all the homes and orphanages in Klang Valley let me know I can restart the project.
UnknownDave
post Apr 21 2014, 02:30 AM

303 posts

Once I donated to amounted RM200 of Rice + Sardines Tin to one of the orphanage in KL, found out that they have almost everything they need there. So on my next career ladder, still finding a job and hopefully as soon I get one in the soonest time, my first month salary this time, I will be donating to those rural orphanage.

I told myself, whenever my career goes up so does my money goes up I will donate once everytime I got better in it, rezeki datang hanya jika kita berbuat baik semula dan menurunkan balik rezekinya kepada yang memerlukan, insyallah our rezeki will come even more and more without us knowing it. hmm.gif smile.gif

yo_yo
post Apr 22 2014, 09:01 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(Tak3shi @ Apr 20 2014, 03:02 AM)
It's pretty difficult to find the less publicized ones, I initially wanted to start a project to map out all the homes/orphanages in klang valley but was tied up with other stuff.

If anyone wants to help with this endeavour where we can map out all the homes and orphanages in Klang Valley let me know I can restart the project.
may i ask how do you want to map out? i have a list but it is incomplete. sometimes the ministry list is also not updated. would love to hear your thoughts.
yo_yo
post Apr 22 2014, 09:02 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(UnknownDave @ Apr 21 2014, 02:30 AM)
Once I donated to amounted RM200 of Rice + Sardines Tin to one of the orphanage in KL, found out that they have almost everything they need there. So on my next career ladder, still finding a job and hopefully as soon I get one in the soonest time, my first month salary this time, I will be donating to those rural orphanage.

I told myself, whenever my career goes up so does my money goes up I will donate once everytime I got better in it, rezeki datang hanya jika kita berbuat baik semula dan menurunkan balik rezekinya kepada yang memerlukan, insyallah our rezeki will come even more and more without us knowing it.  hmm.gif  smile.gif
good work!
UnknownDave
post Apr 22 2014, 04:32 PM

303 posts

It is not a good work, at least there are still someone out there who knows what kind of life for these orphanage are going through.

From certain research, orphanage are still orphanage there are negative side to all these, even the kids.., just remember that you are doing this because you wanting to help them, we only have this much of power to do certain changes and it doesn't effect all. Hey..at least you are doing something.

0.0201sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:58 AM