6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

Dickong
post Jun 4 2017, 02:32 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jun 3 2017, 10:18 PM)
No golden rule.
Most competent speakers should be able to play with authority down to at least 60-80hz, making 80hz a very nice balance point as a crossover for most situations/rooms.

I personally have my LCRs at 60hz, surrounds and heights at 80hz.

But at the same time, I've heard and seen a few people who employs a minimum of 6 subs in the room but has LCR speakers that can play down to 40hz easily yet cross them at 100hz. Because of how even the bass is in the room due to the multi subs config, even at 120hz it is very difficult to localize where the subs are yet at the same time the LCR speakers sound extremely cohesive with the entire system.
I also set my lcr at 60hz n the rest 80hz but i realise when lcr set to 80hz the mid is more detail. Any commend on this. Actually my ypao detect all my spk as big n 40hz but i set all to small n the hz as above mention
Dickong
post Jun 5 2017, 02:27 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jun 4 2017, 07:11 PM)
Various factors.

1) Speaker placement, how close are they to any boundaries? From your post, sounds like YPAO is setting your fronts to 40hz because they are getting a lot of gain between 40-80hz, thus it detects them as full range speakers which is wrong.

2) Maybe your speakers -3db roll off is at 100hz, thus the close it is to the -3db cut the better it performs. What speakers are you using again?

3) Crossovers are room and system dependant. Your same system may have an entirely different crossover setting in my room for example.
Not exactly.

The more subs you have, the more headroom you have.
In fact, the more subs you have, the easier it is to tame the room modes and to reduce excessiveness of volume at any frequency.

Using a high crossover is simply for the simple fact that multiple 15" drivers (as an example) is always going to beat the usual 6.5 to 8" drivers on most L/R loudspeakers in efficiency and output.
i am using front B&W 683 S2, Center B&W htm61 S2 surround monitor audio sub SVS PB2000 n atmos in ceiling spk. My front spk is around 8ft apart n 2.5 feet away from wall surround 12ft apart n sub is about 15 feet from listening position.Any commend about the placing.tq

This post has been edited by Dickong: Jun 5 2017, 02:28 PM
Dickong
post Jun 5 2017, 04:14 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jun 5 2017, 03:24 PM)
According to this measurement from stereophile;

Your 683s -3db point is around 50hz. It rolls off to -6db at 33hz.
A picture of your room would be best to illustrate your placement though. 2.5ft from a wall boundary doesn't actually mean much, because 2.5ft may not actually be the minimum 1/4 wave length of your entire room.

An example;
If a room's length is 18 feet, then the wave cycles is approx 60. So if we take 18ft and divide it by 4 as per the 1/4 rule, the result is 4.5 ft. So you need to calculate your room's wavelength first before you actually place your speakers.

If you are very anal retentive about the placement, then next you will have to calculate the cancellation notch for your speakers. The formula is dmin (feet) = 1.4(1125) / 4f-3dB.
The f3 point is the -3db point of your speakers, which is around 50hz there are or so.

Generally people always recommend to have about 2-3 ft of space from the front wall and around 3 - 4ft off the side walls. This is just a very vague, general recommendation. Often times, it can be wrong because people generally forget that we don't all have the same room dimensions.
Thanks bro. very detail info
Dickong
post Jun 7 2017, 06:17 PM

1,689 posts

Any news when is yammy A 3070 avr coming to malaysia
Dickong
post Sep 3 2017, 08:58 PM

1,689 posts

Why my sub woofer got popping sound each time i turn power off
Dickong
post Sep 6 2017, 08:01 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(bad2928 @ Sep 5 2017, 08:52 PM)
popping sound when turn it on is normal(  hmm.gif ),but turn off i'm not sure.your sub svs right?
I am using svs sub but its not this sub having popping sound but my the other ht sub. Anyway i think its old age problem
Dickong
post Sep 6 2017, 10:17 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 6 2017, 03:20 PM)
Some plate amps has a relay on them that when you turn it on or off, they will have click/pop noise.

However, no Sledge amps that I know of used by current SVS models has a relay on them. Correct me if I'm wrong though, I'm not 100% sure on this but I haven't actually seen any.
Thank for the info bro. anyway i have been thinking of getting a lower range sub for my second ht set like klipsch. is it ok
Dickong
post Sep 8 2017, 08:40 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 7 2017, 03:05 PM)
Which Klipsch sub?

The only Klipsch sub that I feel is fairly decent is the R112SW. But honestly, it isn't priced too well - another 800-900 and you can get yourself a PB2000/PC2000.
Will consider your suggestion thumbup.gif but i think the room is too small for that pb2000 n aldy got 1 pb2000 in another room
Dickong
post Sep 14 2017, 08:02 AM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 8 2017, 10:22 PM)
Maybe just get an SB1000 then?

Room dimensions would be helpful to suggest a sub.
I never test bfore the sb1000 hows the review like compare pb 2000.tq
Dickong
post Apr 23 2020, 11:43 PM

1,689 posts

Is it ok to use center spk stand with width smaller by 8 inche. My center spk is 23 inches in width but the spk stand plate width is only 13 inches
Dickong
post Apr 27 2020, 03:21 PM

1,689 posts

Sifu, i wonder why when playing atmos format my surround spk can hear dialogue voice, suppose the dialogue voice come from center spk only right. I use spk test from my AVR n seems ok n even test with AVR ypao also ok. Any sifu can give comment why.tq
Dickong
post Apr 27 2020, 03:22 PM

1,689 posts

Sifu, i wonder why when playing atmos format my surround spk can hear dialogue voice, suppose the dialogue voice come from center spk only right. I use spk test from my AVR n seems ok n even test with AVR ypao also ok. Any sifu can give comment why.tq
Dickong
post Apr 27 2020, 07:47 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Apr 27 2020, 05:45 PM)
did you enable any yamaha sound effect program? or pure/straight mode?
Ya i am using DSP Enhanced setting n only yammy A30.. series got this setting. Can any yammy users confirm its original like that or my avr got problem. Secondly bro normally what dsp setting u put for atmos format.tq
Dickong
post Apr 27 2020, 11:52 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Apr 27 2020, 11:13 PM)
I don't t think it's avr problem. More like dsp effect. Why don't you set to straight (aka pure direct) mode and confirm?
I'm always on pure direct. Dialog lift if you need the front height speakers to augment your center channel. Other than that, i don't see the need for extra dsp, but some may like it.
Thanks bro, will test tomorrow n see but all this while i use dsp mode not sure can use to it
Dickong
post Apr 28 2020, 06:59 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 28 2020, 04:46 PM)
Understand that Atmos is object based audio mixing. Sometimes if voice CAN indeed come from your surround or even height speakers. It can be purposely done that way by the director.

But if you're talking about hearing voices constantly on all your speakers no matter the content, then yes - Yamaha's DSP could also indeed map voices to your surround speakers. Which DSP setting are you using?
When playing Atmos (or DTSX) content, I just use straight. In fact, I use Straight for ALL content. I don't know why you'd want to use any DSP to mess with the audio.
I always like to use Enhanced mode for dsp sound don't have to crank up the volume, for skylinestar n ben both of u r right when turn to straight no more dialogue sound from surround, to be honest all this while i use Enhanced mode n didnt notice much until ytd when i was standing near my surround spk only realise got soft dialogue sound there.
Dickong
post Apr 29 2020, 07:11 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Apr 29 2020, 08:33 AM)
Which model of Yamaha you are using ? If you have the surround AI function enable that will be good
Bro.poor man lah now still using A3060 only n dont have AI function. Side issue, u guys really dont use the DSP MODE
Dickong
post Apr 30 2020, 10:55 AM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Apr 30 2020, 07:28 AM)
I never use DSP mode before on A3050. Currently I am using the CX5200 with the surround AI is really nice 😁
All this whole u use pure direct n straight only
Dickong
post May 6 2020, 09:03 PM

1,689 posts

Normally u guys put your spk wire at high or low at biwire port if not using biwire
Dickong
post May 14 2020, 10:39 AM

1,689 posts

Is it ok to set all my spk to small except my surround spk to big, any comments on this.tq
Dickong
post May 14 2020, 07:29 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 14 2020, 03:14 PM)
Well... it's your speakers, you can set them however you want.

But scientifically speaking, why would you bass manage all your speakers except your surround? That doesn't make any logical sense.
I want slightly more bass from my surround spk, moreover i feel its slightly more detail surround sound or maybe its physiology effect

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.1146sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:13 AM