QUOTE(kyheng @ Aug 11 2006, 12:25 PM)
Why not try Gmail, got >2gig.
why not hard drive, i got 120GB...

but it's an option as well... tongue.gif
bsl555
post Aug 11 2006, 01:29 PM

8,046 posts

I've seen this sold at Harvey Norman and AllIt in LYP.
http://www.imation.com/products/disc_stakka/index.html

Burn to CDR's and store them there. But its not cheap though!.
kitman
post Aug 11 2006, 03:29 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Aug 11 2006, 12:25 PM)
Why not try Gmail, got >2gig.
2gig where can fit? if you take lots of pix definately more than this .......
piggymeow
post Aug 11 2006, 03:50 PM

love Piggy, love Meow, love Me
810 posts

any recommended camera??? hehehe...
SUSkyheng
post Aug 11 2006, 07:02 PM

888 posts

Well, when 1 gmail account created, you can have 100 accounts behind your account. So when you open a gmail account, is actually you will have 200gig. Is that still not enough for you? Somemore they will always backup your datas, where to get, FOC and can save files?
kitman
post Aug 12 2006, 01:03 AM

2,691 posts

yeah right ...... but you will always need to be online to get your pics and you will have to spend time to upload. max email size is 10m right? that can only fit 2-3 high megapix in one email. can you imagine taking hundreds of pix in each photo outing session and then upload it? dvd backup is faster.

the gmail have any rules on inactive account? if yes imagine keeping your 100gmail accounts active.

gmail backup is a good idea if you don't have a large active pics library....
iPlay
post Aug 12 2006, 03:47 AM

383 posts

Well for me i'll
1) Burn those pics in DVD+R
2) Save it in a external hard disc

Why not make a poll? biggrin.gif
SUSAcey
post Aug 12 2006, 04:20 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Zip it up and email to own account. Forever safe unless if you dont log in for a year laugh.gif
space_odessy
post Aug 24 2006, 04:28 PM

32 posts

question : large size of photos, how i gonna zip them all & upload to email?? haha

BTW, i have a fren who change his HDD every 6 months just to back up his photos~~ ensure no HDD problem could happen
gold3knight
post Aug 24 2006, 05:29 PM

1,672 posts

burn to dvdr (2 copies) keep in ziplock cd holder, cd holder keep in cabinet away from sunlight, cabinet keep in room w/air cond 16hrs a day.
zombie
post Feb 3 2007, 06:30 PM

Died
685 posts

One visit to titiwangsa already yielded 1GB of data. Looks like CDRW is no longer practical.

It'll be either DVDRW and/or external HDD.
mr lappy
post Feb 3 2007, 06:41 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(LanEvoX @ Jun 27 2006, 10:31 PM)
haha, may be it's a phobia, i lost pic in hdd b4 because hdd crash and lost data in CD because it got scratch...so now very scare of lost data again, might as well keep 2 to 3 copy as spare sweat.gif
lol, i guess im not the only 1 biggrin.gif

i have a primary copy in my ext hdd. and a backup of the hdd
every now and then ill backup my progs and pics to dvdrw.
and i have a archive dvd9 where i have a couple yrs of pics.
TSLanEvoX
post Feb 3 2007, 09:56 PM

6 stars only...meh...
1,452 posts

QUOTE(mr lappy @ Feb 3 2007, 06:41 PM)
lol, i guess im not the only 1 biggrin.gif

i have a primary copy in my ext hdd. and a backup of the hdd
every now and then ill backup my progs and pics to dvdrw.
and i have a archive dvd9 where i have a couple yrs of pics.
i have read on other website, the guy keep one copy in the PC where he working on, some DVD, and copy in HDD which he keep in a safe in his relative place...

y he keep a copy in other place,? he said if his house got burn down he still got a copy in his relative place thumbup.gif
cheewooi
post Feb 3 2007, 11:08 PM

Old Bird
540 posts

Here's what I normally do:

1. Keep a copy into PC HDD
2. Backup into External HDD
3. Make a DVD backup every month

Those DVD-R must be kept in a folder and stored in a dry place

mr lappy
post Feb 4 2007, 05:26 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(LanEvoX @ Feb 3 2007, 09:56 PM)
i have read on other website, the guy keep one copy in the PC where he working on, some DVD, and copy in HDD which he keep in a safe in his relative place...

y he keep a copy in other place,? he said if his house got burn down he still got a copy in his relative place thumbup.gif
well, put in a fire proof safe?
leonardtan2
post Feb 5 2007, 09:05 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Jun 28 2006, 07:04 PM)
currently 2 copies of CD-R for me. imation CD. should be good enough. but i am still abit paranoid. i am thinking of getting a 120GB portable HDD though.
Not really..Even though cd's and hardrive sound good... CD and DVD's have a lifespan of maybe around 2 years if well take care of. Harddrive has a longer span but if should it fall... sorry lah. Ur harddrive will only be worth as scrap metal.

0.0202sec    1.03    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:40 AM