Bitcoin Thread v1, and other cryptocurrencies

jack2
post Mar 3 2017, 05:04 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Mar 3 2017, 04:22 PM)
Just as with any bitcoin transactions, it will only show in the blockchain ledger when a miner successfully completes mining a block and adds it into the ledger.
Depending on how much transaction fees you paid (usually determined by the exchange that you sent from), it could take anywhere from 1 minute to 1 hour.
The higher the transaction fee, the higher the priority and the faster your transaction will be confirmed.
Personally, the fastest confirmation I ever got was less than 2 minutes, and the longest I had to wait was something like 40 minutes.
Some exchanges even specify that they will only update your account when more than 2 or 3 confirmations are available in the blockchain.
Don't worry, your transaction is safe, just congested in the queue (assuming your sent to the right address!)
Wow, so complex.

Many thanks for your guidance.
jack2
post Mar 3 2017, 05:52 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

I just managed to sell 0.10 BTC at RM560.44 net off.. Ads was just placed and immediately "eaten" by buyer.... lol
wengherng
post Mar 3 2017, 06:12 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Mar 3 2017, 05:52 PM)
I just managed to sell 0.10 BTC at RM560.44 net off.. Ads was just placed and immediately "eaten" by buyer.... lol
Congratulations! biggrin.gif
More to come.
Let's hope the ETF gets approved next week.

jack2
post Mar 3 2017, 06:18 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Mar 3 2017, 06:12 PM)
Congratulations! biggrin.gif
More to come.
Let's hope the ETF gets approved next week.
I better don't tamak and got earn and lari first...
kmarc
post Mar 3 2017, 08:39 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Mar 2 2017, 11:33 PM)
Actually I not only use bitcoin for long term investment, but also as it was actually meant to be used, i.e. as a mode of currency transfer. I needed to transfer money from offshore account back to Malaysia, so I bought BTC using the offshore account, and transferred it to my Malaysian exchange, then sold it off to get MYR.
Pretty convenient, sold it yesterday night, got my money in my Maybank account this afternoon.
I get a much better exchange rate if I were to compare with normal TT.

Yeah, I can't believe how easy it is to do cross-border transactions using different currencies. With bitcoins, it opens up endless possibilities. When I was into stocks a few years ago, it was so difficult to start trading overseas stocks that I never got the chance to do it. Now with bitcoins, I can just use any bitcoin/altcoin exchanges anywhere in the world. Borderless and not limited by MYR!!!!! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(-CoupeFanatic- @ Mar 2 2017, 11:42 PM)
Yes, poloniex is convenient if you're not looking to withdraw your altcoins. You're just holding those altcoin on poloniex's balance sheet, you have the right to the altcoins but ultimately they are holding it on your behalf. Counterparty risk there.

However, if you're looking to buy altcoins and hold it in your own wallet, ShapeShift would be your best bet!

Good luck on trading. Remember, don't get emotionally tied to the volatility, don't buy peak and sell at dip!
buy the dip and sell the peak smile.gif
Thanx for the info. I need to look into Shapeshift and it's wallet.

For bitcoins/altcoins, my aim is to accumulate. Not planning to trade. smile.gif

QUOTE(wengherng @ Mar 2 2017, 11:45 PM)
Personally, I've not used Poloniex yet, but please beware of the maker/taker fees and the withdrawal fees, if any.
Those can easily eat into your profits.
Yeah, did notice the maker/taker fees. As my aim (hopefully) is BIG gains, the fees will not be an issue.

At the moment, I bought some DASH, XMR, XRP, FCT.

Any other recommendations? Next time if I become millionaire through this man-made craziness, I will belanja you makan. Of course, if crash, can only belanja "air kosong with ais". biggrin.gif
wengherng
post Mar 3 2017, 11:33 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 3 2017, 08:39 PM)
For bitcoins/altcoins, my aim is to accumulate. Not planning to trade.  smile.gif
Yeah, did notice the maker/taker fees. As my aim (hopefully) is BIG gains, the fees will not be an issue.

At the moment, I bought some DASH, XMR, XRP, FCT.

Any other recommendations? Next time if I become millionaire through this man-made craziness, I will belanja you makan. Of course, if crash, can only belanja "air kosong with ais".  biggrin.gif
The recent pump and dump of cryptocurrencies is kind of annoying to me.
DASH rose 100% in 2 days, only to lose more than 20% of it within the last 24 hours.
Several other altcoins have been experiencing the same trend, albeit on a lesser scale.
None of these were really backed by actual fundamentals; just pure speculation by the masses, pump and dump.
Makes it difficult if you are really trying to use the altcoin for something legit; so hopefully this does not happen to bitcoin or ether.
On the other hand, I understand that it's been a money-making party for day traders over the last 72 hours.
I guess that's just not my cup of tea.

jun6065168
post Mar 3 2017, 11:56 PM

194 posts

Are there any reliable MYR to ETH online exchange?
wengherng
post Mar 4 2017, 01:06 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(jun6065168 @ Mar 3 2017, 11:56 PM)
Exchange for direct MYR/ETH transactions, I don't think so, at least I've not heard of one yet.
It might be possible with P2P platforms like Localbitcoins and Remitano, I'm not too sure.

kmarc
post Mar 4 2017, 07:55 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Mar 3 2017, 11:33 PM)
The recent pump and dump of cryptocurrencies is kind of annoying to me.
DASH rose 100% in 2 days, only to lose more than 20% of it within the last 24 hours.
Several other altcoins have been experiencing the same trend, albeit on a lesser scale.
None of these were really backed by actual fundamentals; just pure speculation by the masses, pump and dump.
Makes it difficult if you are really trying to use the altcoin for something legit; so hopefully this does not happen to bitcoin or ether.
On the other hand, I understand that it's been a money-making party for day traders over the last 72 hours.
I guess that's just not my cup of tea.
Yeah, it is human nature/greed to basically speculate on anything they can get their hands on. Stocks, commodities, forex and now bitcoins/altcoins. Not my cup of tea either as speculation can go either way unless you have insider info.

Not sure but I use bitcoins to buy ETH. That's the beauty of bitcoin at the moment since it is the most well-accepted crytocurrency currently and there are a few peer-to-peer exchanges that allows MYR. Say you want to buy RM 1,000 worth of ETH. Just use any of those exchanges to buy RM1,000 worth of bitcoins. Once bought, just transfer bitcoins to the exchange that deals ETH and buy using bitcoins. The other good thing is that it doesn't matter how much bitcoin is worth at that point of time as you are only buying what MYR amount you want.

One disadvantage of this method is the premium or fees involved. You many need to pay a premium or fee when buying bitcoins. However, I find I can get a good price on bitcoin on remitano peer-to-peer exchange. You just have to wait for the right person to come online and advertise their bitcoins price. At certain times, I could buy bitcoins without any premium or even slightly lower than the spot bitcoin price!!!! There are also transfer fees from one exchange to another and buying fees when you buy ETH. I guess if the fees are important to you, you would need to calculate how much fees are involved in total if you want to use this method.

Oh ya, using bitcoins, you basically can buy whatever type of cryotocurrency you want! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(wengherng @ Mar 4 2017, 01:06 AM)
Exchange for direct MYR/ETH transactions, I don't think so, at least I've not heard of one yet.
It might be possible with P2P platforms like Localbitcoins and Remitano, I'm not too sure.
Nope. Localbitcoins and Remitano deals only with bitcoins.

This post has been edited by kmarc: Mar 4 2017, 07:57 AM
WooTz
post Mar 4 2017, 10:20 AM

1,011 posts

Well for the most part you can buy BTC and trade for ETH at poloniex.

Or you could save SGD in a Singapore bank and sign up for GDAX/Coinbase.

ETH/BTC on GDAX will charge 0.25% fee while Coinbase ETH/SGD instant buy would be 1.5%

I've used Coinbase since 2015 and they're quite reliable.

Edit: here's a PSA regarding the upcoming ETF decision by the SEC, I think this deserves some serious attention.

This post has been edited by WooTz: Mar 4 2017, 10:38 AM
asimov82
post Mar 4 2017, 06:23 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Mar 4 2017, 10:20 AM)

ETH/BTC on GDAX will charge 0.25% fee while Coinbase ETH/SGD instant buy would be 1.5%

Edit: here's a PSA regarding the upcoming ETF decision by the SEC, I think this deserves some serious attention.

my reaction to btc etf is quite negative,
as for me such cryptocurrentcy is meant for transaction, not for stockpiling in etf and keep them away from blockchain transaction. basically it take away the transaction volume from blockchain exchange to stock exchange.

can anyone imagine if somebody tell you they are going to setup a us dollar greenback etf, would you incline to invest into it?

to me it just the typical story of business founder try to get IPO to cash out the money and multiply their wealth, those benefit most from it is the people who dump their btc into forming the etf, not those invest into it later.

sirxl
post Mar 4 2017, 07:29 PM

583 posts

QUOTE(Napoleon Hill @ Mar 3 2017, 10:36 AM)
Does anybody here join a bitcoin telegram group that shares news, sells bitcoin and stuff? i would like to take part  sweat.gif

sharing is caring  nod.gif
yes see my sig. BTC 2 group.
WooTz
post Mar 4 2017, 08:33 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(asimov82 @ Mar 4 2017, 06:23 PM)
as for me such cryptocurrentcy is meant for transaction, not for stockpiling in etf and keep them away from blockchain transaction. basically it take away the transaction volume from blockchain exchange to stock exchange.

can anyone imagine if somebody tell you they are going to setup a us dollar greenback etf, would you incline to invest into it?

to me it just the typical story of business founder try to get IPO to cash out the money and multiply their wealth, those benefit most from it is the people who dump their btc into forming the etf, not those invest into it later.
Snapchat, Groupon and twitter IPOs are fine examples of mass dumb money.

With this ETF I dunno man, I just hope other chains are spared from the ensuing craze

This post has been edited by WooTz: Mar 4 2017, 08:36 PM
sirxl
post Mar 5 2017, 09:07 AM

583 posts

Good discussion on whether bitcoin is a ponzi. With Tone Vays and Chris DeRose.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1r482VFVsnc

sirxl
post Mar 5 2017, 09:11 AM

583 posts

QUOTE(sirxl @ Mar 2 2017, 06:15 AM)
Yes knowledge is power.

With that in mind, the upcoming KL Blockchain conference will provide that;

There will be international speakers talking about the blockchain industry updates, regulatory frameworks, etc.

http://bloktex.com/speakers/

see you all on 8/9 APRIL 2017.

http://bloktex.com/
Hi all,

Use code: CLBLOKTEXMY17
to get 5% off the Conference tickets.

http://bloktex.com/conference/

Napoleon Hill
post Mar 5 2017, 12:30 PM

QUOTE(jack2 @ Mar 3 2017, 05:52 PM)
Where did you sell it? And how much the fee? I'm still looking for a platform to sell my 0.0999 bitcoin πŸ˜‚
jack2
post Mar 5 2017, 12:41 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Napoleon Hill @ Mar 5 2017, 12:30 PM)
Where did you sell it? And how much the fee? I'm still looking for a platform to sell my 0.0999 bitcoin πŸ˜‚
xbitasia

sirxl
post Mar 5 2017, 01:21 PM

583 posts

QUOTE(Napoleon Hill @ Mar 5 2017, 12:30 PM)
Go and try Luno (formerly BITX)

Sign up for Luno and get MYR 5.00 worth of Bitcoin when you buy or sell BTC 0.10,

using code: 8NBYU

wengherng
post Mar 6 2017, 12:29 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Mar 4 2017, 10:20 AM)

Interesting article, with many valid points, although I do not agree with some of the arguments raised.
Basically, it's like a prospectus for any unit trust, with generic warnings about the risks and dangers of investing in it. The author seemed resigned to the notion that the entire COIN ETF idea itself was a joke and destined to fail, no two ways about it.
Me, on the other hand, I am not that pessimistic; although I am not entirely sure that the price and market of BTC will be as rosy as people think it will be after the ETF approval, I still think that the ETF will have its own part to play in the grand scheme of things.

QUOTE(asimov82 @ Mar 4 2017, 06:23 PM)

You raised a valid point there, but personally, I do not equate BTC to the US dollar or any other fiat currency in existence, but rather as a hybrid of sorts......something between gold and US dollar, for example.
It serves as both a medium of transaction, and also a store of value.
I am thinking further in the sense that opening up such influx of cashflow into the ETF will definitely raise awareness of cryptocurrencies to the general population, therefore potentially greatly increasing the adoption of BTC both as an investment vehicle and also in transactions.
Sort of like there are people buying gold ETFs but also at the same time many people are also buying and trading physical gold.

Sure, BTC has got its massive problems to solve, like its block size limit which is choking the system and causing the long transaction confirmation times, but I also believe that we are approaching the threshold, the final tipping point where BTC has to evolve in order to survive; and I have no doubt that it will......too much is at stake with too many big players involved that failure is no longer an option, I do not think they will allow BTC to fail.
Maybe I'm just being naΓ―ve.

sirxl
post Mar 6 2017, 06:08 AM

583 posts

There's a lot of political games happening in the BTC scene. You won't know unless you mix around with the big boys.

155 Pages « < 147 148 149 150 151 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:16 AM