155 Pages « < 148 149 150 151 152 > » Bottom

Bitcoin Thread v1, and other cryptocurrencies

sirxl
post Mar 6 2017, 06:11 AM

583 posts

New Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) watch list just added Bitkingdom, these people also manage aureus and deuscoin. stay away from them. They are ponzi people.

http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=en_financialconsumeralert

List of companies and websites [PDF, 69KB] (Updated 24 February 2017)

WooTz
post Mar 6 2017, 08:08 AM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Mar 6 2017, 12:29 AM)
Interesting article, with many valid points, although I do not agree with some of the arguments raised.
Basically, it's like a prospectus for any unit trust, with generic warnings about the risks and dangers of investing in it. The author seemed resigned to the notion that the entire COIN ETF idea itself was a joke and destined to fail, no two ways about it.
Me, on the other hand, I am not that pessimistic; although I am not entirely sure that the price and market of BTC will be as rosy as people think it will be after the ETF approval, I still think that the ETF will have its own part to play in the grand scheme of things.
You raised a valid point there, but personally, I do not equate BTC to the US dollar or any other fiat currency in existence, but rather as a hybrid of sorts......something between gold and US dollar, for example.
It serves as both a medium of transaction, and also a store of value.
I am thinking further in the sense that opening up such influx of cashflow into the ETF will definitely raise awareness of cryptocurrencies to the general population, therefore potentially greatly increasing the adoption of BTC both as an investment vehicle and also in transactions.
Sort of like there are people buying gold ETFs but also at the same time many people are also buying and trading physical gold.

Sure, BTC has got its massive problems to solve, like its block size limit which is choking the system and causing the long transaction confirmation times, but I also believe that we are approaching the threshold, the final tipping point where BTC has to evolve in order to survive; and I have no doubt that it will......too much is at stake with too many big players involved that failure is no longer an option, I do not think they will allow BTC to fail.
Maybe I'm just being naïve.
With this UASF thing, I'm starting to think core is getting desperate, and with the eventual hard/soft fork, institutional investors in the ETF might not like the growing conflict and price volatility that comes with it.

The first month after ETH/ETC fork wasn't pretty at all, FUD was everywhere and there was that risk of parity, which is dangerous.

This post has been edited by WooTz: Mar 6 2017, 08:10 AM
barry
post Mar 6 2017, 11:36 AM

214 posts

I am very keen to set aside some of my savings into Bitcoins having little faith in fiat currencies. I have put some money in gold but I realize that Bitcoins and silver are not to be overlooked.

I would really love it if someone can help me towards buying my first BTC . Please pm me and I will be most appreciative. My phone contact is 0122040983.
Regards
Barry

This post has been edited by barry: Mar 6 2017, 12:07 PM
jack2
post Mar 6 2017, 11:38 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(barry @ Mar 6 2017, 11:36 AM)
I am very keen to set aside some of my savings into Bitcoins having little faith in first currencies. I have put some money in gold but I realize that Bitcoins and silver are not to be overlooked.

I would really love it if someone can help me towards buying my first btc. Please pm me and I will be most appreciative. My phone contact is 0122040983.
Regards
Barry
You want buy or sell?
barry
post Mar 6 2017, 12:06 PM

214 posts

Looking at buying, thanks.
TheConqueror
post Mar 6 2017, 02:41 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Mar 2 2017, 01:05 PM)
Where did you sell it?

I wanna sell mine too  notworthy.gif
I sold mine at Remitano.
TheConqueror
post Mar 6 2017, 02:46 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Mar 3 2017, 12:03 AM)
Need any verification with ID documents?
For Remitano, verification is optional. Of course, verified seller/buyer is more credible.

TheConqueror
post Mar 6 2017, 02:54 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(Napoleon Hill @ Mar 5 2017, 12:30 PM)
Where did you sell it? And how much the fee? I'm still looking for a platform to sell my 0.0999 bitcoin 😂
Remitano does not charge for selling, only buying.
wengherng
post Mar 6 2017, 02:54 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Mar 6 2017, 08:08 AM)
With this UASF thing, I'm starting to think core is getting desperate, and with the eventual hard/soft fork, institutional investors in the ETF might not like the growing conflict and price volatility that comes with it.

The first month after ETH/ETC fork wasn't pretty at all, FUD was everywhere and there was that risk of parity, which is dangerous.
Short term volatility is probably expected, as with all major events.
Like you, I also think core is getting a bit desperate.
But thinking over the longer term (i.e. 3 years and more), I remain optimistic still.

wengherng
post Mar 6 2017, 05:39 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Mar 6 2017, 08:08 AM)

Why do you say that parity is dangerous?

WooTz
post Mar 6 2017, 05:55 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Mar 6 2017, 05:39 PM)
Why do you say that parity is dangerous?
Can you imagine what will happen when both ETH/ETC is $19.50 now?

The entire community would get split, the hashrate follows the profit and we could see frequent 51% attacks against each other.

This is enough to destroy all confidence with Ethereum.

When polo listed ETC, the hashrate kept climbing and climbing, the miners didn't care about fundamentals as long as they can sell their minted ETC.

I hope Bitcoin is prepared for this as well. Zombie chain is real
kmarc
post Mar 6 2017, 06:19 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

I am very keen to set aside some of my savings into Bitcoins having little faith in fiat currencies. I have put some money in gold but I realize that Bitcoins and silver are not to be overlooked.

I would really love it if someone can help me towards buying my first BTC . Please pm me and I will be most appreciative.
Regards
Barry
Barry, I'm not too sure whether this is the right time to enter bitcoins. The main reason is that by 11th March, SEC will have to decide whether bitcoin ETF is a go or not. There are two predictions on what will happen. If the ETF is approved, it is estimated that maybe 300 million (if not mistaken) will be available to pour into bitcoin, making the price of bitcoin shoot up. How high it can go in the medium and long term remains to be seen, estimated from USD 2,000/BTC to USD 10,000/BTC to even 1,000,000/BTC!!! rclxub.gif Do remember that these estimates are unsubstantiated rumours/prediction that only time will tell. On the other hand, if the ETF is not approved, it is predicted that there will be some correction as recent surge in bitcoin value is probably secondary to the hope that bitcoin ETF will be approved. How much correction is anybody's guess but it probably won't be much as there are actually 3 ETFs awaiting SEC approval. Besides the 11th March ETF dateline, there's also the 30th March ETF dateline. I don't know about the last ETF dateline though. Of course, like the dotcom bubble, one may never know if bitcoin will eventually crash to the ground.

If you are still serious in buying some bitcoins now, we can help you get started. I'm only 3 weeks old in crytocurrencies but have been buying some bitcoins and altcoins. Of course, we have some sifus here who are, well, sifus in crytocurrencies! thumbup.gif

A word of advice from our sifus. Do know what you're getting into and do your own research. You don't want to lose your hard-earn money on cryptocurrencies which I consider a high-risk (but high-return) investment. wink.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Mar 6 2017, 09:26 PM
barry
post Mar 6 2017, 08:42 PM

214 posts

Thanks for the info kmarc. I am wondering this BTC thing may be a good way of taking money out the country. My son and daughter will likely be going to UK and US respectively - wonder if it is a convenient way of sending them money at the same time potentially hedging against our ringgit
sirxl
post Mar 6 2017, 08:47 PM

583 posts

I would really love it if someone can help me towards buying my first BTC . Please pm me and I will be most appreciative. My phone contact is .
Regards
Barry
better not publish your cell number here.
I have seen a lot of scammers using a newbie's personal information to commit crimes.

This post has been edited by sirxl: Mar 7 2017, 06:02 AM
kmarc
post Mar 6 2017, 09:30 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(barry @ Mar 6 2017, 08:42 PM)
Thanks for the info kmarc. I am wondering this BTC thing may be a good way of taking money out the country. My son and daughter will likely be going to UK and US respectively - wonder if it is a convenient way of sending them money at the same time potentially hedging against our ringgit
That's the beauty of cryotocurrencies! Convenient without conversion rate with minimal charges. However, I won't be the best person to ask this as I'm buying for investment. I have not sold any bitcoin yet. wink.gif

QUOTE(sirxl @ Mar 6 2017, 08:47 PM)
better not publish your cell number here.
I have seen a lot of scammers using a newbie's personal information to commit crimes.
You quoted his phone number. How's he going to delete it? tongue.gif
archangel22
post Mar 6 2017, 09:57 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 6 2017, 09:30 PM)
That's the beauty of cryotocurrencies! Convenient without conversion rate with minimal charges. However, I won't be the best person to ask this as I'm buying for investment. I have not sold any bitcoin yet. wink.gif
You quoted his phone number. How's he going to delete it?  tongue.gif
Yes the convenient conversion and appreciation in value makes it so attractive, at least for me.

Waiting for more bitcoin ATMs, so perhaps I dont have to go to currency exchanges anymore, everytime I wanna go travel overseas.

I'll def try it when I go Sg or japan. smile.gif
sirxl
post Mar 7 2017, 06:03 AM

583 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 6 2017, 09:30 PM)
You quoted his phone number. How's he going to delete it?  tongue.gif
true, removed his cell. thanks for the reminder.

Reminder to use this code before 15 MARCH as the ticket price will increase after that. thanks.

Use code: CLBLOKTEXMY17
to get 5% off the Conference tickets.

http://bloktex.com/conference/

This post has been edited by sirxl: Mar 7 2017, 06:04 AM
WooTz
post Mar 7 2017, 08:43 AM

1,011 posts

Antpool is now on board with BU, exciting times ahead.

I might diversify into BTC once the fork went through without a hitch, good luck to all, core wouldn't take this lying down for sure.
kmarc
post Mar 7 2017, 10:32 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(archangel22 @ Mar 6 2017, 09:57 PM)
Yes the convenient conversion and appreciation in value makes it so attractive, at least for me.

Waiting for more bitcoin ATMs, so perhaps I dont have to go to currency exchanges anymore, everytime I wanna go travel overseas.

I'll def try it when I go Sg or japan. smile.gif
Oh, I hope to see a bitcoin ATM one day. Still don't fully understand the whole bitcoin infrastructure.

QUOTE(WooTz @ Mar 7 2017, 08:43 AM)
Antpool is now on board with BU, exciting times ahead.

I might diversify into BTC once the fork went through without a hitch, good luck to all, core wouldn't take this lying down for sure.
Damn. I googled your keywords and I can't make head or tails what they were discussing about. Mind to share in layman terms especially why it is exciting?
WooTz
post Mar 7 2017, 11:52 AM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 7 2017, 10:32 AM)
Oh, I hope to see a bitcoin ATM one day. Still don't fully understand the whole bitcoin infrastructure.
Damn. I googled your keywords and I can't make head or tails what they were discussing about. Mind to share in layman terms especially why it is exciting?
The blocksize stalemate finally gets resolved, no more clogged mempool and high fees. The network will fork into two once they achieve majority in hashpower.

all current BTC holder will get two coins, the majority BTC and core BTC.

Fork will happen once they hit 51%

[attachmentid=8561277]

This post has been edited by WooTz: Mar 7 2017, 12:01 PM

155 Pages « < 148 149 150 151 152 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:43 PM