Insurance Talk V2, Anything and everything about insurance

JIUHWEI
post Nov 12 2015, 03:22 PM

1,332 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Nov 12 2015, 02:29 PM)
Thank for the info.
Now i understand. So every car insurance around same.
Better i keep this premium until 5years so premium will deducted.
Just very surprise my car insurance installment by PB but insurance company is Liberty which i though normally PB is Lonpac
Is better to get comprehensive cover now since your car is only 2 years.

The main point is to get the coverage, not pay less premium cuz frankly, it's not much of a difference.
By saving a few hundred ringgit you are exposing yourself to potentially much higher liabilities should an accident happen. I mean... Axia doesn't have the best brakes rclxub.gif
JIUHWEI
post Nov 12 2015, 06:09 PM

1,332 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Nov 12 2015, 05:53 PM)
That means the car insurance i taking now not very good with that price?
Frankly I won't be able to tell because I don't know what is your coverage atm.

As of now, the tariff is still imposed, what you pay for is exactly what you would get anywhere else.

My point is this: your car is still new. Why don't you take the comprehensive coverage?

To illustrate:
comprehensive cover
- in an accident, you knocked someone from behind. Both cars damaged.
Your victim can claim his damage from your third party cover, while you can claim your own car's damage from your own policy.

Third party
- in an accident, you knocked someone from behind. Both cars damaged.
Your victim can claim his damage from your third party cover, while you pay for your own costs to repair.

Other things to look out for:
Windscreen and it's sum insured,
flood
fire & theft
roadside assistance, ...etc.

JIUHWEI
post Nov 12 2015, 07:51 PM

1,332 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Nov 12 2015, 06:59 PM)
Consider these two hypothetical plans:
A - protection only, monthly premium RM100
B - protection + savings, monthly premium RM200

Now, for plan B, if you calculate savings return based on RM200 monthly premium, the number is going to be mediocre. But I don't think this is a fair calculation.
If, OTOH, if you calculate savings returns based on RM100, the number should be better than FD rate, though probably not as good as you would get from a typical equity trust fund.
I like the way you break it down. But again, I would like to point out (I am an insurance agent):

Insurance should never be thought of as an investment; vice versa, investments will never give you living benefits, or guarantee you a sum of money upon death.
These are products that come with different features to serve different objectives... for the same person.

Ever heard of a quote that says "If you have no destination in mind, every road takes you there."
With that said, insurance products will take you somewhere. investment products will take you places too.

But in the case where you know exactly where you want to be (wongmunkeong appears to be among this group notworthy.gif ), all of a sudden the different insurance products becomes so interesting, and the investment products become very attractive too! Because you have a purpose in mind to have those products perform their roles well.

I know ILP throws a lot of people off with the term "investment-linked". It's really a means to an end. The returns cannot be calculated like how we calculate ROI on UT, due to the fact that there is an ever-growing COI to pay for.

It's the cost of insuring yourself. It's your contribution into the pool of funds that is also insuring everyone else, your neighbors, your friends, your colleagues, your fellow countrymen. In some countries, this comes in the form of taxes. Like it or not, you're paying for something you didn't sign up for, but you're getting it anyway.
Or would you prefer some form of control over your finances?
Maybe I want to leave behind a bit more for my spouse and kids, for my family members, maybe I don't want them to worry about being short-changed by my partners in my share of the company. Who knows? We each have our own reasons to buy a life insurance, just like how we also have our own reasons not to buy life insurance.

Frankly, majority of my customers just want to be rich. How rich is rich? Hardly ever thought about it.
The process of buying life insurance is not just going into a shop, buy a product, and leave.
You never really leave do you? Someone has to manage it for you, call you up once in a while for a review, discuss about it, etc. Agents like me need to do these things because frankly, you're better at running your business.
Do you just stop using your bank accounts one day? It becomes part of your finances. It is a tool to safeguard our money. Your bank accounts grow along with you, and so do your life stages, your objectives, and people and things that you care for.

When I was younger, I wanted to marry my girlfriend. I want a house for ourselves too. I start planning for it, I start saving for it.

When my kid was younger, I want her to have a decent education. I start planning for it, I start saving for it.

Is there a chance that my wife and kid will outlive me? Absolutely. Just a matter of sooner or later. I start saving for it, I start planning for it.

How about my investments? I want my money to be compounding at a steady rate, for reasons such as child's education, preserving my options, keeping my options open for the future, maybe the possibility of retiring sooner or starting a business? I start planning for it, I start saving for it.

I had a good chat with a high school mate last night. When guys get together, complaint about life, complaint about gov lah. Beer is so expensive, cigarettes naik harga, all these fat cats raking in the taxes, the APs, etc.
But if we just don't drink, don't buy cars, just for the sake of protesting against the system, we will lead very unhappy lives. I still love my beer, I still want a nice new car.

Agents like me get paid a commission. But should this be the sole reason preventing you from accessing the products with the better outlook that fits your portfolio well, wouldn't that be excessive on yourself? wink.gif
JIUHWEI
post Nov 15 2015, 08:20 AM

1,332 posts

QUOTE(highwaytuner @ Nov 14 2015, 09:11 PM)
Is there coverage for floods or things falling off the construction of the lrt structures?
Of course there is. It's called Life Insurance and Personal Accident.

For your car there is too!
It's called flood cover and aerial damage benefits.
JIUHWEI
post Nov 16 2015, 12:21 PM

1,332 posts

QUOTE(KopitiamTalk @ Nov 16 2015, 11:30 AM)
anyone heard of the great eastern smart extender max? it is a rider on top of your basic medical insurance. looks like a cheap option. anyone?
Best to check with your own agent first if you're looking for a top-up.
Most insurance companies do have such riders at a very comparable price too.
JIUHWEI
post Nov 17 2015, 11:17 AM

1,332 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Nov 17 2015, 10:59 AM)
420+? that's expensive... you should be less than 40 yes? should not be that expensive... smoker? or family history resulting in loading?

aside of allianz... you can look into Great Eastern, which has like a short term ilp. what i do like about GE is despite their Dai Kor status in the industry, their price is usually quite on the cheaper side. but since i haven't done any comparison, maybe allianz could be cheaper.

OR... you can go back to old school term life insurance, depending on which company still offers it. not too long ago, this AIA agent said AIA still sell term life.

some companies still sell a whole life traditional life insurance, which is more expensive than the term life, but still has cash value but no investment kind of factor.
Actually all companies still have a broad range of traditional life insurance including term life.

It's just that since Takaful has adopted the ILP model, the whole market is only teaching agents to sell investment-linked.
And you can see very clearly insurers are really gunning for ILP too, pli pla pli pla introduce so many riders exclusively as ILP riders, churning out a lot of ILP promoters.

Only some old-school agents still has knowledge on traditional life insurance including term life.

As for the technical details behind the product and how to utilize traditional life insurance... frankly will vomit blood. I vomit a lot already. doh.gif

JIUHWEI
post Nov 18 2015, 07:14 PM

1,332 posts

QUOTE(dunder @ Nov 18 2015, 05:20 PM)
Oh, so this is only pure life insurance, but I found that they actually do have the Critical illness and the PA cover. Btw, what do you mean by term life and the yearly renewable term? Any different from this uforlife and other life insurances?  I just did a quotation at the uforlife official site. Find that it's quite a lot of questions to fill. Currently still considering whether to buy or not. The premium is acceptable, but I am confused with this term life and the yearly renewable term.
When we're sick, we engage a doctor to find out what exactly is wrong with our body.
When our cars break down, we engage a mechanic because they will know best.

Why don't you engage an agent in your insurance matters?
It's very easy to identify a product pusher agent, and a planner.

If you would like, I don't mind spending some time with you to give you a big picture of what is there in the market.
After all, it's the end of the year, the sales to be done are done, pretty much just servicing and planning for december holidays with the fiance now. For all the info, I charge you for the price of a kopi'o at a local mamak lah. I'm a local boy anyhow. Malaysian true and through

JIUHWEI
post Nov 20 2015, 10:47 AM

1,332 posts

QUOTE(holymushroom @ Nov 19 2015, 08:28 PM)
i gave my agent a call. he said i can get back cash value + dividend. but to know the cash value i have to refer to a table found in my policy booklet which i dont understand at all.. i  guess i will have to give AIA a call ( with multiple of 20mins + waiting time on the phone... wth)
huh? what does that mean? something like a table?
If you would like my services, pm me your email, and we'll proceed from there. I can get your questions answered by today if you're quick.
JIUHWEI
post Nov 24 2015, 12:36 PM

1,332 posts

QUOTE(dunder @ Nov 24 2015, 11:13 AM)
I had just bought a RM 100k coverage Life Insurance from Uforlife just now.
Somehow just would like to share, that it is a very good alternative way to buy insurance compared to agency based distribution model. I would think such insurance buying online is more affordable, and it should be that way. Just wondering? Can medical card can buy online as well?
You really want to engage the call center with your medical claims?
JIUHWEI
post Nov 26 2015, 11:38 AM

1,332 posts

QUOTE(dunder @ Nov 25 2015, 04:53 PM)
I don't mind, as long as I get the claim. Beside that, I am paying less to get my 10k life cover. I can treat this as extra protection and with the balance left I can go for other type insurance if I want.
Why would you buy a life cover of only 10k? hmm.gif

JIUHWEI
post Nov 27 2015, 01:14 PM

1,332 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Nov 27 2015, 11:46 AM)
do you think I made a mistake by committing to that? I only earn 2.6k per month
It is never a mistake, in fact you can talk to your agent and see how and where you can reduce the premium commitment.

Ask your agent to
1. lay out what exactly is covered.
2. explain thoroughly
3. And the tell him/her your situation on affordability.

I do regular reviews with my customers too.
JIUHWEI
post Nov 27 2015, 01:58 PM

1,332 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Nov 27 2015, 01:38 PM)
so even if the plan is signed for 200k life insurance. I already commit to it for one year. I can still change the coverage? and installements?
If it is an investment-linked life insurance policy, yes, you can.

But at the same time, it has to make sense. Otherwise, your agent will advice you against it, simply because it doesn't make sense.

Be transparent with your agent, be truthful and give accurate information.
Because like all the other agents, our work can only be as accurate as the information that you provide to us.

Frankly we are humans too, we have moms too just like everyone else.
We want to do our level best and deliver for our customers a good and relevant portfolio as well.

Certain forumers here like to say "don't buy insurance, it is only making the agents rich and travel overseas."
I want to say that is true. We do qualify for convention trips upon hitting certain sales targets.
But let's consider the situation that you don't buy insurance. At all.
How much would an unfavorable situation set you back?

Is it really worth the effort to prevent me, the insurance agent, from taking 20% commissions of RM40-60?
Who has more at stake here? The agent, me? Or the person, you?

JIUHWEI
post Nov 30 2015, 06:35 PM

1,332 posts

On the critical illness...

Long story short:
Would you buy a car with any missing parts?
If yes, what are the parts would you go without? Airbags? Wheels? The engine?
JIUHWEI
post Dec 17 2015, 04:08 PM

1,332 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 17 2015, 03:09 PM)
Alright, here the deal.

I have an insurance policy years ago. Been diligently paying, except that I have lapsed payment for months. Did not apply for 'holiday' (or what ever it is that they termed it).

Intended to surrender the policy, as it no longer fit my requirements.

My query is, how much money will I get back?

Will the insurance return what ever it is in my policy, or will the insurance deduct the months that I have not paid, before returning any balance available ?
Why don't you go to your agent?
If your agent is no longer around, bring your policy booklet to the servicing branch and the customer service rep will be able to help you.

If it no longer fit your requirements, perhaps it is time to do a review instead of surrendering it for the sake of surrendering it.
Find out exactly what that policy is, what is needed in your current finances, and make things clear.

After gathering the information, then from there you'll have a better direction and more confidence to either surrender, or buy more coverage.
JIUHWEI
post Dec 18 2015, 11:22 AM

1,332 posts

QUOTE(baymax7 @ Dec 17 2015, 10:42 PM)
Outpatient Cancer Treatment       
Outpatient Kidney Dialysis Treatment

PRUValue Med
As Charged (Up to 1.5 times of the chosen Med Value Point per lifetime. MVP option 1.0/1.5/2.0 Million)

Great Eastern Smart Extender
As Charged (No mention of per lifetime)

AIA A-Plus MedBooster
RM750,000 (Plan 150: Lifetime limit of RM250,000 from A-Plus Med + RM500,000 from A-Plus MedBooster)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hope insurance sifu here can help to answer some of my questions below:

1. Is there a per lifetime limit for Smart Extender for Outpatient Cancer/Kidney treatment?
2. If there no per lifetime limit for Smart Extender, does the limit follow the Annual Limit and resets at each policy year?
3. It seems like, AIA A-Plus MedBooster Outpatient Cancer/Kidney treatment is less attractive compared to Prudential and GE. Is my observation correct?
Thanks for the help.
It's like comparing Honda Accord, Hyundai Sonata, and Toyota Camry.
Which is better?

Honda Accord interior nicer, exterior a bit boring.
Hyundai Sonata exterior nicer than Honda.
Toyota Camry engine better.

Each has it's strengths. Betul tak?

Furthermore, the average cancer patient spends between 200k - 300k over his/her lifetime. All 3 companies is more than able to cater, as the numbers show.
The big chunk is in the hospital admission, surgical procedures. Betul tak?
The Outpatient Cancer Treatment and Kidney Dialysis is for follow-up sessions, without hospital admission.
How many sessions to go, I leave it to the doctor, and families members of late patients. I guess they would be in a better position to give you a clearer picture.

Like in a production factory, waste is our common enemy.
Talk to your servicing agent, meet up with him/her and plan TOGETHER.
If you would like a new agent, there are many good and responsible agents here in this forum, shamelessly including myself. We're in the industry for a long term, and I'm the second generation.

Happy agent-hunting and I am very happy that you are putting an active effort at looking into your finances!

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0718sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:31 AM