Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.23, National Geography edition

slowkancil
post Feb 21 2014, 01:37 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Feb 20 2014, 09:24 PM)
Perfect moment laugh.gif

What are they looking at? by colinleezl, on Flickr
the sound effect..
woah.... until fly inside mouth tongue.gif
slowkancil
post Feb 23 2014, 11:31 AM

333 posts

lot of nikon user here already using fuji..
this thread becoming semi-fuji thread
well im also guilty of this..

can u guess which 1 is fuji, and which 1 is nikon ff
without looking in the exif?

slowkancil
post Feb 23 2014, 06:25 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Feb 23 2014, 11:46 AM)
wah how come you can buy so many cameras/lenses? last time d800+24-70, then 50 1.8, then 105 vr, then....(not sure how many left haha). i thought you are student only?
top is nikon, bottom is fuji? (based on my stalking on fuji thread of you having 18-55 on fuji while 35 on nikon only tongue.gif)
haha.. i got multiple nikon lens (well primes mostly)
upper is fuji

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Feb 23 2014, 12:41 PM)

moire moire  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
dno which is which la.
maybe my post precessing fault.. to much sharpening..
this pic is set to be print in 4r only..

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Feb 23 2014, 12:59 PM)
Above is Fuji, below is Nikon ff?
yup.. that correct

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Feb 23 2014, 03:07 PM)
Top is Fuji, bottom is Nikon... Just a wild guess since Fuji has no AA filter and u r using D600...  whistling.gif thumbup.gif  cool.gif
yup.. that correct.. hmmm.. moire because lack of AA filter

slowkancil
post Feb 23 2014, 06:28 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 23 2014, 06:21 PM)
I can't accept micro 4/3 >_< took me sometime to decide to go back to APS-C LOL. Not gonna consider going below that. For sure the Olympus is a matured system, good AF and all.
Top Fuji, bottom Nikon. Unless post processing is doing a part, the dynamic range for the top seems worse than the bottom. And the dude's clothes is showing some weird patterns, X-trans RAW convertor issue?
yup... correct with most accurate reason.. rclxms.gif
but the diff is not much...
well, maybe will show more in really lowlight situation..
iso 6400 and above perhaps?
slowkancil
post Feb 23 2014, 09:22 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 23 2014, 06:42 PM)
LOL, lucky I replied earlier else people say I was cheating tongue.gif

What RAW converter were you using? The moire is pretty obvious! the also shot same condition as in both without flash?
using lightroom 5.2.. later sharpening by photoshop
the moire is made worse by my post processing
both is with strobe and 60cm softbox

slowkancil
post Feb 23 2014, 10:52 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 23 2014, 10:49 PM)
Well, higher ISO means a lot to me ;-).
Though seems like there's heavy processing done with the Nikon shot, what about the Fuji? Try applying the same method and see if the differences is that huge?
using same prosessing.. well same preset..
slowkancil
post Feb 23 2014, 11:46 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 23 2014, 11:21 PM)
Nikon seems to have slightly warmer, and retains more of the details in blown areas and shadows.
agreed.. well need to make new preset for fuji.. biggrin.gif
slowkancil
post Mar 11 2014, 11:56 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Mar 11 2014, 09:50 PM)
pw by Song laa, on Flickr

nice... rclxms.gif
mind to share the setup?
lighting etc... tongue.gif
i know it shot using 5d mark3
slowkancil
post Mar 12 2014, 12:35 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Mar 12 2014, 12:09 AM)
f4, 1/60, ISO800
sunlight, no flash
and not 5dm3 la  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 12 2014, 12:27 AM)
I wonder based on what you think its a 5D3?
i saw exif in filkr..? hahaha.. not problem.. no matter what the camera as long as the pic is good rclxms.gif
the room white wall and ceiling make a nice reflector till need no fill flash...

This post has been edited by slowkancil: Mar 12 2014, 12:36 AM
slowkancil
post Mar 15 2014, 01:06 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Mar 14 2014, 10:21 PM)
Untitled-2 by Song laa, on Flickr
bonggol=hump..
anyway. this one using softbox or beauty dish?
the light falloff is quit control
slowkancil
post Mar 15 2014, 01:36 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Mar 15 2014, 01:10 AM)
actual pic is like this, i make vignette only lol

haha.. tricked...
but nice light control nonetheless rclxms.gif

slowkancil
post Mar 24 2014, 10:23 AM

333 posts

ok guys.. need recommendation on UWA..
preferably around rm2k

dont mind buying 2nd hand or new

few lens come to my mind:
new nikon 18-35 f3.5-4.5 afs
tokina 16-28 f2.8
tokina 17-35 f3.5-4.5

nikon 16-35 is out of budget
also old nikon 18-35 afd not quite a match for my d600 (tested)
slowkancil
post Mar 24 2014, 10:46 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(makoshark @ Mar 24 2014, 10:43 AM)
do u know how much nikon 18-35 f3.5-4.5 afs? solution for the pricey 16-35mm f4 & 14-24mm f2.8..
nope.. but price in shashinki is rm2.3k
shashinki
slowkancil
post Mar 24 2014, 10:56 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 24 2014, 10:52 AM)
If you were using DX, I have the Sigma 10-20.

Anyway, have read that the Tokina 16-28mm f/2.8 is quite good. Have not seen people using it. But if I'm not wrong, quite pricey and price is close to 2nd hand price of Nikon's 16-35mm f/4 VR.

One thing to note is that there is no standard filter for that Tokina. You need to use special filter holder like what is used on the Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8.
There's no solution or substitution for 14-24mm f/2.8. Muahahah.  tongue.gif
nope.. using FX...
the tokina 16-28 f2.8 new.. around rm2.6k
2nd hand maybe minus 200-400
got anyone selling their 16-35 f4 below rm2.5k?

This post has been edited by slowkancil: Mar 24 2014, 10:58 AM
slowkancil
post Mar 24 2014, 05:12 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Mar 24 2014, 12:10 PM)
tokina 16-28 seems good. or else get the nikon 18-35 lo if u dun mind the 18mm and the smaller aperture.
garage seller

hmmm.. rm2.2k.. seem tempting..
i do used sigma 15-30 f3.5-4.5 before this.. same bulging, no filter.. the only downside is only flare
i dont used much 15-18mm any way (hard to control distortion at those focal length)
slowkancil
post Mar 25 2014, 06:17 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Mar 25 2014, 05:48 PM)
If not mistaken RM20 for still warranty set... sweat.gif
haha.. now d600 got free sensor cleaning.. rclxms.gif

anyway.. got a loan unit of nikon 16-35 f4..
will test it against my sigma 15-30, see if the extra sharpness is worth the extra price
slowkancil
post Mar 25 2014, 11:33 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Mar 25 2014, 06:36 PM)
It is if you sell your pictures biggrin.gif

16-35 with D800 can pixel peep if you want biggrin.gif

I recently sold this   icon_rolleyes.gif 

nice pic... rclxms.gif
im not selling any pic.. but im usually print up to 12"x18" and UWA is my workhorse... so..nod.gif
the unique view pique my customer interest when im presenting them my portfolio..

here are sample from my sigma 15-30

hmm ur 1st pic seem familiar? nikon/starbuck PD contest last year?
if u remember my pic tongue.gif

This post has been edited by slowkancil: Mar 25 2014, 11:35 PM
slowkancil
post Mar 29 2014, 03:27 PM

333 posts

hmm... any d600 user here able to trade their d600 with d610?
how many time d600 need to be service before nikon decide to replace it with d610?

0.0466sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:36 PM