Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.23, National Geography edition

ongdennis
post Feb 25 2014, 10:31 AM

762 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Feb 25 2014, 10:11 AM)
yeah i have the 35 and 50mm now. i have to say i still love the 35mm compared to 50mm.. vignetting sometimes really terrible.. when can i get a 35mm for FF? hmm..
sometime the effect really nice but sometime kenot use at all..
ya i also like 35mm at FF. so sometime i hook up the 18-35mm lo..because this new lens really lightweight smile.gif

so far anyone get in touch with the new nikon 35mm f1.8? for me it seem a bit expensive, might save longer to get sigma f1.4... drool.gif
ongdennis
post Feb 27 2014, 10:08 AM

762 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Feb 27 2014, 10:00 AM)
better than nothing rite smile.gif
when mine has few more oil mark come out...maybe can contact them biggrin.gif
ongdennis
post Mar 10 2014, 09:39 AM

762 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Mar 9 2014, 01:38 PM)
Thinking of getting a wider lens for landscape work.... Anyone have or used the 24mm f2.8 before? the f1.4 one is out of my budget.... cry.gif
hehehe...go as wide as u can tongue.gif
i dont think 24mm is wide enough when u looking for wide angle lens
but y u need f1.4 for wide angle lens?

when u in night landscape, most of the time you will need long exposure mode already.
ongdennis
post Mar 10 2014, 10:56 PM

762 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Mar 10 2014, 09:13 PM)
Welcome & thanks laugh.gif

The 24mm f2.8 is the best i could afford currently... Was actually planning for 16-35 f4 but the price is too high for me sweat.gif
i never try the 16-35 f4 before...
but i do own the 18-35 and i like the lightweight of the lens...and sometime...i do feel 18mm also not wide enough... hmm.gif
ongdennis
post Mar 11 2014, 02:08 PM

762 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Mar 10 2014, 11:13 PM)
time for 14-24  brows.gif
hahaha...dont want liao la..
looking at telezoom, that what i missing now

70-200 f2.8 - out of budget
70-200 f4 - need to save more but highly interest on it
70-300 - zoom power over image quality, considering it

*all nikon

ongdennis
post Mar 11 2014, 04:22 PM

762 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 11 2014, 03:13 PM)
70-300 provided its the VR version has pretty good image quality, but seems QC varies...i was lucky i got a good one.
eventually i replaced it with 70-200 and tc2.0 tongue.gif
ya..looking at the VR one..
dont know nikon will come out replacement for it or not...since now the 18-55 also get replacement d
ongdennis
post Mar 11 2014, 06:05 PM

762 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 11 2014, 04:28 PM)
Maybe you can look for 70-200vr2 used set, i am selling mine  brows.gif
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 11 2014, 05:09 PM)
What type of subjects are you shooting for tele?

Should look at the new AF-S 80-400mm VR.  brows.gif

<Caabbuut>
yalo..u all so bad...already mention out of budget liao still want to poison me...hahaha...
i only plan to shoot the bird outside my house only tongue.gif or maybe the gal next door

QUOTE(kennexionz @ Mar 11 2014, 05:16 PM)
waaa... you guys really trying to poison the poor fella a??? hahaha

those lens are heavy and huge... not really that portable IMHO.. so unless you have a passion for sniping your subjects.. it will probable be gathering dust in your drybox... tongue.gif

You can always op for secondhand lens or other brands.. the Tammy 70-200 f2.8with VR is not too bad and not as pricey as the Nikon variant smile.gif
yups...the weight does matter for me. that is why i really look into the nikon 70-200 f4
i do own tammy 70-300 vc before but it was sold out sometime ago...i should keep it...haiz..
ongdennis
post Mar 12 2014, 10:51 AM

762 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Mar 11 2014, 09:47 PM)
he meant the tammy 70-200 2.8. i oso seen alot review on this lens.
yups..i know that...just thinking need f2.8 or not...if i not sold my tammy 70-300, then wont have this issue now..hahaha

so what is the summary of the review? got 2 rite, one is with macro (cheaper) and one without (expensive)
ongdennis
post Mar 18 2014, 02:21 PM

762 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Mar 18 2014, 01:36 PM)
Hi guys,

I'm planning to upgrade my kit lens, and I have 2 lens in mind.
Rather than browsing the review site, I would like to ask the experience of the user here.

Current lens in Mind would be the 2 famous comparison standard zoom, 3 may be, the Tamron 17-50mm f2.8 VC and non VC also the Sigma 17-50mm f2.8.

Noise(auto focus) doesn't bother me much, but my main concern is the VC and the dust issue that my friend warned me about Tamron lens.

He got the Sigma one, and I've tried it and it is wonderful. However it is too heavy in my taste, as I'm more on walking and traveling, food photog kind of hobbyist.

I can't justify between between these 3 lens, which includes:

Tamron VC - Moderate pricing, quality ok, dust problem? Can fund a 50mm or 85mm for protrait with the saved $$
Tamron non-VC - superb cheap, no VC(might do some video), saved money and fund another prime. Can fund a 50mm or 85mm for protrait with the saved $$ or even throw a speedlite that I always wanted.
Sigma - Rm1.9k, super good in all aspect, but too heavy? a little expensive, but is it worth it?

Dilemma to the max. Some wise advice and justification would be nice. Getting either of these this coming Saturday for my Japan trip Next month. smile.gif
if me...i will pick tamron non-vc
a lot ppl comment that the non-vc is more sharp than the vc one (provided it not a lemon copy). then it also lighter and smaller compare to the vc one. most important also it cheaper compare to the VC one.

i own the vc before, the VC in this lens is a bit diff from the VR in nikon lens. after u pre focus, the lens mirror will shake n stable. the important point is you need to wait it stop then only can capture. if you straight away snap, it will give u blur image instead of clear one.

so in the past, most of the time (day time) i will shoot with VC disable. only in low light environment then will enable it.

the 50mm at the tamron also can be a good potrait lens in dx body smile.gif

no idea about the sigma...so no comment smile.gif
ongdennis
post Mar 21 2014, 11:13 AM

762 posts

QUOTE(c010 @ Mar 20 2014, 11:41 AM)
just found out from friend yesterday that Nikon Malaysia is offering free shutter and aperture control replacement for D600 and i just called to confirm. Am i the only person got to know this or everyone is aware of this?
this is the latest service advisory from nikon malaysia
http://www.nikon.com.my/en_MY/service-and-...ce_advisory.dcr

it mention that shipping cost also will be cover.
i now also tempting to contact them n see how the process going on.
ongdennis
post Mar 21 2014, 11:20 AM

762 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 21 2014, 11:16 AM)
Is Bro pro3363 aware of this?  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
not sure...
but his one need to send over from east malaysia...sure take long time tongue.gif

but sian is y nikon malaysia all squeeze in penang and kl/selangor

penang - 2
kl/selangor - 3

haiz..
ongdennis
post Mar 21 2014, 09:53 PM

762 posts

found this AF tuning method "dot-tune"
enjoy the video

corrected for the link

This post has been edited by ongdennis: Mar 22 2014, 11:34 AM
ongdennis
post Mar 22 2014, 11:39 AM

762 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Mar 22 2014, 03:49 AM)
fixed here

i tot it says it cant work with d610 n d7000? does it work with d600?
thanks for the link correction smile.gif
i think it should working for all nikon body. In the video it was AF fine tune with D800 and i think D7000, D600 and D610 all have the same setting rite?

last night i try it with the 50mm f1.8g lens, i only checking is the method working (partially because i dont have good printed focus chart, i only focus it to my son mummy poko packing).

Theoretically, i think this method should work smile.gif
ongdennis
post Mar 26 2014, 05:30 PM

762 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Mar 21 2014, 11:13 AM)
this is the latest service advisory from nikon malaysia
http://www.nikon.com.my/en_MY/service-and-...ce_advisory.dcr

it mention that shipping cost also will be cover.
i now also tempting to contact them n see how the process going on.
just call Nikon PJ just now about the service advisory on D600.
they will arrange a pick up service for my camera via citi-link.

below is how the photo look like, ori and edited in LR to have clearer view

ongdennis
post Mar 31 2014, 03:30 PM

762 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2014, 03:22 PM)
Slow export might be due to USB2.0 or slow HDD  nod.gif
Upgrading to SSD or hybrid SSD/HDD will improve performance by alot icon_rolleyes.gif
raid 0 also give very good performance on the LR experience
but always beware that either 1 hdd KO mean all gone.
so backup to other media is crucial

UPDATE on my D600 (about Nikon Malaysia Service Advisory)
- 26 March : call nikon PJ
- 28 March : update to me that City-Link will come pickup on next week
- 31 March : update me that tomorrow City-Link will come

so far so good...

0.0540sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:09 AM