Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.23, National Geography edition

jchue73
post Feb 5 2014, 01:26 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(3antz @ Feb 5 2014, 12:37 PM)
Hi, it is very unfortunate that there was a small flood in my home and now both my D5100 and Nikon 1 camera is soaked with water.

Both cameras are now left to dry. Are there anything I can do in the mean time to save them? sad.gif

My DSLR is brand new ... ugh
Try and buy some desiccant dehumidifier and put in together with your camera in a plastic container box for a few days. Detach your lens from the camera body. Leave the camera body mount exposed (not covered).

Hopefully that will dry out any moist inside the camera body and lens.
jchue73
post Feb 7 2014, 12:15 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(asrul @ Feb 7 2014, 11:40 AM)
Nikon Showroom (KK)
A-01-11a, 1st Floor, Block A, Warisan Square
Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens,
88000 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Tel:  +6088 486192 / +6088 486190   
Fax: +6088 485133
Email: service1.nb@futuromic.com
Opening hours:  10.00 a.m. – 7.00 p.m.  (Monday to Sunday including Public Holidays)

it had been there for few years already la.
last time they told me, for any servicing matter, they will sent it to HQ because they didnt have any technician there.
it was three years ago.

they also told me that they are going to have their own techician..soon..
Of course they have to set up one there. So long as people like Cede Prudente and Louis Pang continue to make images with Nikon equipment. biggrin.gif
jchue73
post Feb 10 2014, 01:19 PM

2,496 posts

Eh, nobody excited that the D4s already made it's entrance in the Winter Olympics?

Can already find a few images floating around.
jchue73
post Feb 10 2014, 04:16 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 10 2014, 02:06 PM)
Well... its out of my league so... tak rasa tongue.gif

I see now you're wearing Fuji armor. Think will try and settle for D3 / D3s to sample pro body. Still a lot of money though. sad.gif
jchue73
post Feb 11 2014, 12:54 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 10 2014, 05:08 PM)
if want style, just buy D2s / x tongue.gif
I still have a 4MP D2Hs. Can kira got style or not? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 10 2014, 05:12 PM)
Iyer, I rather just use my D800+grip! tongue.gif
Seriously, once you use a pro body, it's so comfortable to use compared to a separate body + battery grip.
jchue73
post Feb 18 2014, 12:47 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(BigBoy1510 @ Feb 14 2014, 11:35 PM)
http://flic.kr/p/k5xqcU

d5100 f2.8 1/2sec iso 500 17mm

http://flic.kr/p/k5xD33
d5100 f2.8 1/60sec iso 3200 17mm

sifu sifu why my 2nd picture got those dot dot ... is it my lens or camera body problem?
You using UV filter on your lens?

QUOTE(neohwengtart @ Feb 16 2014, 10:00 AM)
Guys, what is the different for lens for example:
NIKON AF Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4-5.6G - RM 389
NIKON AF-S VR Zoom-NiKKOR 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED - RM 1849
Both also 70-300mm, but price different so huge?
AF vs AF-S
non VR vs VR
non ED vs ED glass
cheap vs expensive

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 16 2014, 12:01 PM)
Sunday macro shots~  laugh.gif

Evarcha flavocincta ♀ 1 by PF T.J., on Flickr
Like this. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Feb 16 2014, 04:39 PM)
I didnt say bad ah. I said many different type only

Monkey Business by Cybreed, on Flickr
Eh, why got mosaic one? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 17 2014, 10:48 AM)
Zeiss OTUS more ngam you...
Pengsan. rclxub.gif
jchue73
post Feb 27 2014, 11:19 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Feb 26 2014, 08:02 PM)
haha that's true. u don't get to feel the best part of FF.. now im using FF, i noe another problem that DX dont often happen. Vignetting. >.<
get a DX first i think. who knows suddenly duwan play photography d. hangat hangat tahi ayam like that.
Vignetting... A curse and sometimes can be a plus point depending on what you plan to do.

Anyway, shooting NEF would let you play around with how much you want vignetting or don't want vignetting.

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Feb 26 2014, 08:24 PM)
FF isn't the best of everything la, unless you buy d4 or d800 grade camera straightaway. the 6D and d600 are actually quite basic camera with a FX sensor only, the buffer and focusing are quite basic also. there are advantages of each system, you can't say IQ = everything. lets say if someone likes to shoot street, no point asking him to get a d600/ d800 just for street right? a smaller camera can do the job better. not saying FF is bad, just you need to save and buy what you need and what you want, not because it's the best image quality camera.
Yes, buy what you can afford. Camera body is just part of the equation for IQ. When recommending FX body, you need to recommend good lenses as well. Good lenses cost money and adds up to the starting cost of a newbie.

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Feb 26 2014, 08:45 PM)
Today's walkabout

DSC_5658_59_60_61_62_63_64 by QiAnG92, on Flickr
Nice. Looks like vampires / zombies gonna come out from those houses. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Feb 26 2014, 09:23 PM)
Spam... tongue.gif

user posted image 渔人码头 by coolkwc2006, on Flickr
Taiwan? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Feb 27 2014, 01:54 AM)

greetings from India biggrin.gif
This is one of those landmark places for me to go. sad.gif

jchue73
post Feb 27 2014, 11:20 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(c010 @ Feb 27 2014, 10:27 AM)
i am actually one of them who spent so much money from m43, crop then FF. the money that i spent could have gotten me a better FF. if you have the budget, seriously please consider a higher end camera. at least an entry level FF like D600/610. D600/610 may not be the ultimate FF camera, but at least it is affordable and i find it is way better than other crop sensor. very versatile and i have no issue to shoot low light with even auto ISO. anyway this is my personal experience/opinion and if you wish to go for crop sensor camera, by all means please go ahead.
While I agree with you, still you cannot put a blanket statement and say like that. If newbies spend too much money and gets overwhelmed with all the buttons and steep learning curve, they would probably have their interest killed and would have sold their gear. But those who can persevere, they can save a lot and can go on to be better photographers. So really it depends on that person itself.

When I started photography, I had very little money. I had no choice lah since DX also damn expensive already and FX digital was still unavailable. Well, the advantage now is that great equipment can be gotten fairly competitively lah unlike last time and you have plenty of choices.
jchue73
post Feb 27 2014, 04:05 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Feb 27 2014, 11:47 AM)
i got one more without them flowers, more up front.. that time was misty.. havta get close and wait a little while to get clear shot.

btw they dont allow us to bring tripods in.. dang.. and the amount of people makes finding a good angle hard. ><
make sure u go early and around summer time ( no mist ) biggrin.gif best is full moon time ! wait for sunrise !
Thanks for the tips. High security area usually tripod not allowed. Summer time not hot?

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Feb 27 2014, 12:53 PM)
I agree that they might have their interest killed, but in another way, is it weeds out those who buy because they everyone's getting one. Still expensive bodies still fetch higher price than lower specked bodies, when u buy 3k, can you sell at 2.8k after 6 months? when people can buy new with zero interest at 3k?
I started with a second hand d80. actually wanted to buy into SONY. my highest end camera, d600. and 5dmk3.  whistling.gif I still shoot with my d300 when I can tho. for me its still very capable, just annoyingly all the rubber bits are expanding and coming off. . .

At the end of the day its up to the person do decide. My advice is always go as high as you can with your budget, if you have the interest, you will find a way, when you spend so much, MOST people will find a way to learn. if they produce mediocre images, well, cant blame the gears now can we smile.gif
Yup. Higher end camera bodies and lenses don't drop so much as compared to the consumer type DSLRs.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 27 2014, 02:12 PM)
I started with D90 and when I was learning it, I actually had the chance to play with D300 and D700 as well. In fact I don't find the functions "hard" when compared to my D90. But then I had big issues using the entry bodies like D60  laugh.gif
Coolpix 800 > D70 > D2Hs > D300 > D40x > D700 > D800 > ??? <Canon 1DX>? shakehead.gif

Hmmm, looks like I went up high and slowly came back to normal again. sweat.gif

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Feb 27 2014, 03:15 PM)
Um, but then the APSC-s nowadays are already very capable and more than what we actually need, since most of the people owning DSLRs nowadays doesn't really print.

FF is sort of like a ... want thing rather than a need. Damn those buyer remorse, haha
True true. BTW, which kind of hobby is defined as a need instead of want? laugh.gif

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Feb 27 2014, 03:21 PM)
want is a powerful emotion.
in fishing you start with a small reel, then you upgrade and you upgrade then at the end you have spent half a condo dy.. same applies for all hobbies hahaha
Like they say, we grow into the hobby. No way out. cry.gif
jchue73
post Feb 28 2014, 11:57 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Feb 28 2014, 03:59 AM)
hot like desert, but u get nice pic xD

for now, its good time for snowy places biggrin.gif will upload ltr.. Manali biggrin.gif
Cool. Look forward to it.

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Feb 28 2014, 10:07 AM)
So ur should be DX 35mm 1.8G too? I using this lens on my D3200 too. At night the auto focus is soft, but i think is body limitation rather than lens limitation. Have to use manual focus in magnified live view for better focus.
Any body (even D4 / D800 /D800E with -2EV sensitivity) would also have difficulty focusing in the dark. Switch to manual focus. At those distances, the focus will be at infinity anyways.

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Feb 28 2014, 10:39 AM)
different range.

the d600 got many problems... slow focus (unscientifically I feel my d300 is faster and more accurate), dust (and oil on sensor issue), ergonomics (my index finger pain after holding it with heavy lens, maybe I'm holding it wrong) super big files(compare to 5dmk3 which also have small&medium raw, esp event dont need all that resolution) cause slow preview sometimes would randomly pause (about 2-3 secs) when I hit the playback button, not able to change aperture when in Live View video mode.

The good, big resolution (can crop in nicely with heaps of details), fantastic dynamic range (really can do a lot with the raw), awesome metering (for me la), headphone jack...

5dmk3.. nothing to be said... different range.

but I still love my Nikon. fanboi.
Actually the D300 is targeted as a pro calibre DX body. Focusing is pretty fast.

I think the problem with pauses during preview on your D600 is due to your SD card. What are you using?
jchue73
post Mar 2 2014, 02:54 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Mar 2 2014, 02:14 AM)
It has been a while didn't post anything here...
Still didn't upgrade my body or lens blush.gif  blush.gif 
d5100, tamron 18-200mm sweat.gif

more image in spoiler...

Nice. Woow, where is this?

This post has been edited by jchue73: Mar 2 2014, 02:55 AM
jchue73
post Mar 3 2014, 03:58 PM

2,496 posts

QiAnG, Pro3363, nice landscape pics.

For the moment, people in Semenanjung or specifically in the Klang Valley suffer lousy sceneries due to bad air quality plus water crisis. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 3 2014, 03:39 PM)
boss you sponsor me then i get laugh.gif
You already have D800. You want D4s some more? notworthy.gif
jchue73
post Mar 3 2014, 11:54 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Mar 3 2014, 07:34 PM)
Budget? I'm currently eyeing Manfrotto 055CXPRO4, a 4 section CF tripod, getting awesome reviews everywhere, bit large I think.
That Manfrotto carbon fiber cannot fit in the RM 500 budget. I think RM 1k budget also cannot get.

With all the Chinese manufacturers coming out with tripods that rival or better the quality that Gitzo offers, I don't see the reason paying extra for the Manfrotto brand.
jchue73
post Mar 4 2014, 10:17 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Mar 3 2014, 06:32 PM)
Went for a really awesome flame photography shoot yesterday.
Learnt a number of really cool stuff from the main photog.

Here's the one of my shot with the main photog breathing fire.

Just too bad I didn't / couldn't bring or use any flash or strobes since that will interrupt the main photog work.
Forgot about this. I think it's a great shot with excellent timing. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Mar 4 2014, 02:02 AM)
Probably my last sunset hunting in a short while, hopefully will be able to improve more after this break

DSC_6696_697_698_699_700_701_702 by QiAnG92, on Flickr

These were all taken at a fishing village in Kuala Baram, Miri

Wooow. Nice sunsets. I like them. Gives me hope looking at these pics that the current smog situation will be better. cry.gif

QUOTE(Destro89 @ Mar 4 2014, 02:41 AM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
I wish I had that kind of money also.so I can get a Nikon D4s n the holy trinity of Nikon lens.
Why do you need the D4s? It's nice to want it but if you want it for the wrong reasons, then it will not serve you and perhaps something like a D800/D800E would be better. Savings can go to getting better prime lenses to compliment the 14-24mm f/2.8, 24-70mm f/2.8 and 70-200mm f/2.8 trinity lenses.

QUOTE(shogun_125 @ Mar 4 2014, 09:47 AM)
do you have any sample photo showing a fantastic dynamic range from d600?
Look for it. I think no point trying to re-invent something already done.

One of the many examples;

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3523237
jchue73
post Mar 10 2014, 02:50 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 10 2014, 02:46 PM)
That's my proposal ring haha  tongue.gif
Congrats ! rclxms.gif When is the big day?

Sudah propose or belum propose?
jchue73
post Mar 10 2014, 08:43 PM

2,496 posts

Hey guys, thought I'd post something very relevant. I came across this on Kopitiam.

Looks like they are using a D4 + 24-70mm f/2.8 + SB-800 speedlight + Blackrapid strap. Perhaps the picture did not show it but I hope they have a D800 setup. The D4 resolution may not cut it.

I personally use my D800 with my 24-70 most of the time when I want to identify something far like a car number plate that my eyes fail to identify. I just take a grab shot at 70mm making sure it's at high shutter speed to prevent any blur at f/3.5 or f/4 and then zoom in at 100% on the LCD screen. Gets legible and clear image for identification purposes. No guess work required.

The whole rescue operation thingy was lingering in my mind the whole of last weekend. Just felt like saying something about it.
jchue73
post Mar 11 2014, 05:09 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Mar 11 2014, 02:08 PM)
hahaha...dont want liao la..
looking at telezoom, that what i missing now

70-200 f2.8 - out of budget
70-200 f4 - need to save more but highly interest on it
70-300 - zoom power over image quality, considering it

*all nikon
What type of subjects are you shooting for tele?

Should look at the new AF-S 80-400mm VR. brows.gif

<Caabbuut>
jchue73
post Mar 12 2014, 01:21 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(kennexionz @ Mar 11 2014, 05:16 PM)
waaa... you guys really trying to poison the poor fella a??? hahaha

those lens are heavy and huge... not really that portable IMHO.. so unless you have a passion for sniping your subjects.. it will probable be gathering dust in your drybox... tongue.gif

You can always op for secondhand lens or other brands.. the Tammy 70-200 f2.8with VR is not too bad and not as pricey as the Nikon variant smile.gif
LOL True. My lenses are in the drybox and longing to come out for some action. Been too busy with other things. Have not taken holidays too. sad.gif

Yeah, from what I read, the Tamron has slower focus but image quality is not bad.

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Mar 11 2014, 06:05 PM)
yalo..u all so bad...already mention out of budget liao still want to poison me...hahaha...
i only plan to shoot the bird outside my house only tongue.gif or maybe the gal next door
For that purpose, the new AF-S 80-400mm VR is excellent. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Mar 11 2014, 06:05 PM)
yups...the weight does matter for me. that is why i really look into the nikon 70-200 f4
i do own tammy 70-300 vc before but it was sold out sometime ago...i should keep it...haiz..
The 70-200mm f/4 Nikon is a very good lens. But if you want something longer, you may want to use a 1.4x TC on it but that's about the max it can take.

If you can get the AF-S 300mm f/4 2nd hand, you get more reach and because it's a prime, you can use up to 1.7x TC with decent results because the bare lens itself is razor sharp. This is a go to lens for beginner / aspiring birders. The downside of this lens is that it's not a zoom lens and it does not have VR for hand holding.

Anyway, you'd notice that if you go deeper into birding photography, weight is inevitable and you start to buy a tripod for good support and stability. Hope you get a little bit of the whole picture because it will be more and more expensive.

Some people have opted with digiscoping because they desperately need the long reach focal length the setup gives. They are quite expensive too but you get quite a good reach and focal length with moderate weight setup. The other way to get good reach with light weight is to go with a Nikon 1 body, FT1 adapter and a lens like the AF-S 300mm f/4. That setup would give you a field of view equivalent to a 810mm lens. rclxms.gif Some people also use the AF-S 80-400mm VR and get equivalent 1080mm field of view and still get VR. You can choose the cheaper 10Mp J1 or can opt for the newer 14Mp AW1 bodies. The electronic shutter available is actually very useful when shooting long focal lengths and it eliminates shutter vibration usually associated with mechanical shutter on DSLRs.

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Mar 11 2014, 11:55 PM)
pw by Song laa, on Flickr

last one for today smile.gif
Aiyoh... Why have to take photo with the guy? Spoil lah. tongue.gif I prefer the series with her solo. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Lotus1109 @ Mar 12 2014, 01:03 AM)
skill is good, not only editing skill but phototaking skill biggrin.gif
I think the model is also a crucial part of the equation.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Mar 12 2014, 01:26 PM
jchue73
post Mar 12 2014, 08:16 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 12 2014, 06:37 PM)
Thanks for the valuable input mate  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Quite keen on testing out a 70-200mm hehe, bird shooting seemed fun~  thumbup.gif
Forgot to add that the Nikon 1 is not very good at high ISOs. If I'm not mistaken, above ISO 800 and you will notice the image quality not there anymore.

The other thing to add is when using the FT 1 adapter, that the focus is limited to the centre only. wink.gif

Regarding support, you still need a reasonable tripod because at 800 to 1000mm equivalent focal range, any kind of vibration is amplified.
jchue73
post Mar 19 2014, 12:53 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Mar 19 2014, 01:28 AM)
Absolutely.
The linear polarizer will always cut light by one stop of any unpolarized light(Basically, the majority of light).
When you turn it, you only vary the amount of polarized light(Monitors, reflections) it cuts.
On top of cutting out glares and reflections on water / shiny surfaces, landscape colours become more saturated. Blues on the skies becomes more blue.

But if the polarizer used is not thin enough, you get vignetting problems. Also, with extreme wide angle lenses and the wide angle of view (say 10mm on DX or 14mm on FX), it is not possible to polarize the whole image. Most of the time you get uneven polarising effect from left to right.

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 19 2014, 12:10 PM)
Great camera  wub.gif  wub.gif Always wanted a 5xxx series laugh.gif
Yeah, a 35mm would be a great choice for street shots~
Pair it with the original kitlens and you'll be good to go  thumbup.gif
Haiya... Apa lagi you mau? laugh.gif Got D800 and now want a D5xxx? biggrin.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0505sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:54 PM