Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.23, National Geography edition

gunzerdude
post Dec 12 2013, 09:31 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Dec 12 2013, 11:38 AM)
just read finish ur story.
sorry about that. but what happen to ur tammy after that?

in the past my tammy 70-300 also has this same issue. photo taken in some condition it will become under exposure. In same setting in camera, taken few shot at same location, same position and just different click. A different exposure image will appear. it happen most in the matrix mode n less in spot mode. At the end, i send it back to for warranty and it come back without issue anymore.

moral of story is for tammy, it is better to stick to local set although it slightly expensive...
After that event, as you have discovered, matrix metering shows the fault the most, so I used center average from then onwards, other than that I'm pretty happy with my copy until I sold it recently. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Dec 12 2013, 02:53 PM)
n his price is rocketing high! >.< it's obvious i noe the pricing, yet he never wanna reduce it.. so i jz went off..
KL used camera and lenses https://www.facebook.com/KLDslr not bad  thumbup.gif
low prices and quite efficient..dealt with him once..
Yeah, summore a colleague of mine went there and all he got was bragging that their price confirm the lowest.

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 12 2013, 05:55 PM)
You can start by downloading presets for Lightroom icon_rolleyes.gif
There are a lot of presets available for free download in the web, and many are vintage hehe~
After you have downloaded, apply the preset onto your photo, and adjust from there icon_rolleyes.gif
Just finished reading it, sorry to hear of your experience man...
Although I wasn't dealing with mitmivec, my experience was not good as well... macam don't even want my money also haha  laugh.gif
I only dealt with eric from start to end, if the rest is as bad then maswell don't even let me see them also. doh.gif

gunzerdude
post Dec 15 2013, 02:40 PM

693 posts

Wedding job yesterday icon_rolleyes.gif

gunzerdude
post Dec 15 2013, 02:53 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 15 2013, 02:45 PM)
Awesome shot man  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Very natural~~
Was lucky that the spotlight at the back was aimed at me for this shot really.

Right place, right time whistling.gif
gunzerdude
post Dec 26 2013, 09:59 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 26 2013, 09:30 PM)
Just replaced 3 of my D700 rubber grip, RM230 total damage  cry.gif
Now I know how much I need to prepare when I replace mine brows.gif

Never considered ordering them from china and DIY instead?
gunzerdude
post Dec 26 2013, 10:28 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 26 2013, 10:15 PM)
China sells them? Friend told me the glue is actually UV cured... not sure if I could do that myself?
Yep, you can actually order the whole set off of ebay, but the hand grip part can't be done on your own tho. Since the body needs to be partially dismantled to loosen it.

The thumb grip, bottom and sides can la, since they're just stuck on.

About the glue, it's basically just double sided tape.
If it was cured glue, will be extremely difficult to take off 1, even for the technicians.

Here's a picture of the inside

gunzerdude
post Dec 26 2013, 10:59 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Dec 26 2013, 10:47 PM)
Better wait for the rumored 35/1.8 for FF... Probably will be announced in January 2014... Can be use on DX & FF tongue.gif
I'm waiting for this to replace my 35mm F2D also icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 26 2013, 10:54 PM)
The hand grip actually no need open up, the screw access from the battery bay as I watched the video before smile.gif. Didn't know can buy direct else I would DIY lol. Well my friend said he saw them shining UV wor.
Ooh, even better then, now I know I can fully replace the grip myself d laugh.gif

The ones made by Nikon probably using a better type of tape that's UV activated then. Still doesn't prevent them from peeling off over time tho. rclxub.gif
gunzerdude
post Dec 26 2013, 11:07 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 26 2013, 11:00 PM)
Well, my D700 went through the rain a few times before... so... hmm... where else my D800 is still a pretty good haven't went under the rain much haha!
Rain will loosen the adhesive meh? shocking.gif

Aren't these things supposed to be weatherproof?
gunzerdude
post Dec 26 2013, 11:14 PM

693 posts

Probably not gua, but sweat and moisture does make the rubber expand la, which is part of the reason for it to peel.
gunzerdude
post Dec 27 2013, 08:15 AM

693 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 26 2013, 11:54 PM)
A green crested lizard feeding

Wooh, a lizard this time (y)

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Dec 27 2013, 08:10 AM)
IMO, camera replacement part/accessories most of them the pricing is unreasonable.

Last Sunday i saw the Nikon remote pricing, ridiculous high, just a button for shutter, RM290. shakehead.gif
I just use my handphone to remote only... yawn.gif  whistling.gif
Which is why there's a booming market for OEM accessories, my wired shutter release is just 15 bucks laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gunzerdude: Dec 27 2013, 08:19 AM
gunzerdude
post Dec 28 2013, 10:45 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Dec 28 2013, 10:16 PM)
sometime i really wonder if nikon is really using sony sensors, i've seen many sony camera doesn't capture good low light shoots like nikon does hmm.gif

canon lens is cheap because they dont have focus motor inside, but their lens lineup is more like quantity > quality, i heard their 35mm 1.8 prime is really bad at wide open and need to stop down to f2.8 and above laugh.gif

what i like about nikon is the dynamic range and the color, tried to do single image HDR on canon and nikon and i like nikon RAW file more biggrin.gif

and canon having larger user base most likely is because of the advertisement and sponsored event from canon malaysia, you dont really see much nikon sponsored event, even advertisement also not as much as canon
NEX crappy? i thought nex is better than sony alpha entry level and peoples always talking about nex nex nex

but one thing i dont like about sony dslr is the electronic viewfinder, used too much battery, i've seen some sony user posting in their facebook that their camera can only last for one day for normal usage in event
The sensor might come from sony, but the image processing is still by nikon la, plus the fact that sony DSLTs have a translucent mirror in front of the sensor, affecting the quality of the output (The mirror cuts about 30% of light going to the sensor, hence the performance difference)

I thought all canon mount lenses have a built in motor? The mount is completely electronic leh, no screw drive like nikon. hmm.gif

Nex cameras are quite good, again that's depending on the user comparing it to what first la.
Their menu system is too consumer-ish tho, alot of menu diving to do to access some settings, plus some aren't labeled the way you'd expect.

This post has been edited by gunzerdude: Dec 28 2013, 10:47 PM
gunzerdude
post Dec 28 2013, 10:55 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Dec 28 2013, 10:50 PM)
so sony only helped to manufacture the sensor but the architecture is designed by nikon? hmm.gif

one good thing about nex is it can use lens from nikon, sony and canon with the help of adapter thumbup.gif
Not sure whether the sensor is designed by Nikon or Sony, perhaps it's even a co-design for some of them.

A large majority of imaging sensors in the market come from sony, so it makes sense to obtain a sensor from them since the R&D cost required to design and produce them would be extremely high.

Canon on the other hand is able to do this since they have much more budget than Nikon due to their larger market presence, but one funny thing is that for an in-house design, it's supposed to be superior to Nikon's outsourced sensors. Yet we see otherwise. sweat.gif sweat.gif

Agree with you about the adapters, especially those speed boosters that can even AF with canon lenses whistling.gif

This post has been edited by gunzerdude: Dec 28 2013, 10:57 PM
gunzerdude
post Dec 29 2013, 04:25 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Dec 29 2013, 01:50 PM)
okay, stupid random question. which to choose for FF (i havent gone to FF yet bt just asking)? 50mm 1.4 or 85mm 1.8? hmm..
Why not both? laugh.gif
gunzerdude
post Dec 29 2013, 07:38 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Dec 29 2013, 07:17 PM)
Good answer  rclxms.gif , it's depend which focal length u like most , in crop i like 50mm most , because it can compress background and focus on ur subject , so when come to FF ,  85mmm would be my choice , unlike u really love ur 35mm on CROP body , so 50mm is ur choice
if let me to choose , i will get a 35mm + 85mm for FF body  biggrin.gif
I already have the 35D and 50D, while my portrait lens is a 90VC, which isn't enough since normal portrait distances gives me F3.3 (The lens stops down when focused closer). Hence thinking of an 85/105/135 to complement that range. hmm.gif
gunzerdude
post Dec 29 2013, 07:51 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 29 2013, 07:44 PM)
always wondered something. how to know the lens is stopped down? for example when i am using my tammy 70-200 macro, i can focus pretty close and get quite "ok" magnification yet still maintain quick enough shutter speed. but when i am using my friend's 100mm L macro, I feel like it becomes really dark when focused closer at around the same environment with the 70-200.  rclxub.gif
When a macro lens magnifies something, the imaging circle is enlarged, resulting in a magnified image reaching the sensor but also meaning that less light is hitting it. The stopping down is just there to represent the light loss as physically the aperture is unchanged.

Edit: about the comparison between a macro lens and a 70-200, that huge barrel and diameter difference means more light, hence the lens being able to maintain it's light levels even when focused to it's nearest distance.

This post has been edited by gunzerdude: Dec 29 2013, 07:53 PM
gunzerdude
post Dec 29 2013, 08:00 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 29 2013, 07:54 PM)
i noticed the lens's aperture blades will close a bit as you turn the focus ring into closer focus distance, that's the reason right? also is the 90mm vc good enough for portrait? how different is it compared to something like 50mm f1.8 or 135mm f2.8 lens?
Mine does that also, but it's there to maintain an F/2.8 circle since the focal length of a macro lens is changing while getting closer to 1:1. It's really complex, I'm not sure how to explain why either since I know this from a macro article I read sometime back.

The 90mm VC is good enough for portraits, although it might not satisfy bokeh people la. laugh.gif

Compared to the 50mm, it's the aperture and perspective that's different only, still sharp if you stop down.

Same thing with a 105/135, they say these focal lengths gives the most flattering perspective, but I do notice that it doesn't necessarily apply to everyone's face. Some faces actually look better when shot up close with a 50 as opposed to a 90 laugh.gif
gunzerdude
post Dec 29 2013, 08:13 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Dec 29 2013, 08:10 PM)
My limit is ISO6400  laugh.gif The noise is acceptable for me icon_rolleyes.gif If no choise, then will bump to H1 cool.gif
Mine old body but 6400 still looks quite fine to me whistling.gif
gunzerdude
post Dec 30 2013, 01:55 AM

693 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Dec 30 2013, 01:09 AM)
lol..if can sure i would like to hands on both before buying.. bt i dno anyone that has 85mm for me to try..
owning both would be a luxury ><
im attracted to the 1.4 the 50mm offers.. bt 85mm is a better portrait outdoor lens or head+shoulder shot and vy sharp wide open. life always got dilemma.

btw, 999 posts!  cheers.gif
Which 50 tho? D/G or Sigma?

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Dec 30 2013, 01:42 AM)
I find Both Canon and Nikon are missing that 35mm fast lens prime FF equivalent for the crop sensor.  I noticed this when I got my EOS M that came with a 22mm F2 prime (Which is the FF 35mm equivalent but only can fit the EOS M). 

A cheap small size 22 to 24mm Fast prime for the APSC would be so nice. 

The closest lens are the expensive Sigma prime lens 20mm F1.8 and 24mm F1.8.  And not forget the all new Sigma 18-35mm F1.8 zoom lens.  But they are all expensive and quite Long.
Ehh, I using EOS M also leh, here's a shot of my friend using the 22mm F/2 brows.gif

gunzerdude
post Dec 31 2013, 12:24 AM

693 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Dec 31 2013, 12:17 AM)
Just dont be higher than RM1.5k whistling.gif  cool.gif
If higher than 1.5K then I'll go straight for the sigma already whistling.gif
gunzerdude
post Dec 31 2013, 10:03 AM

693 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Dec 31 2013, 02:14 AM)
35mm 1.8 FX will be more then 1.5k

See the 28mm 1.8G for example tongue.gif

and dont diss canon 24-105mm F4. Its a great lens. Very useful for everyday use and very good for video recording thanks to its IS. Nikon doesnt have this kind of lens (interm of price and perf la. nikon 24-120mm F4 expensive and slow i heard) so i reckon the new sigma 24-105mm F4 will be popular among nikon video kaki. I know shinchan excited about it laugh.gif
The wider the lens, the more difficult it is to make, and the higher the price. A 1.5K price point is a logical one considering the price of the previous 35F2D

Don't diss nikon's 24-120 either, yes it may be expensive, but it's a good lens nonetheless. Don't really get what you mean by slow tho hmm.gif
Edit: ahh, I forgot, it's common for canon pipu to call nikon lenses slow. Yeah, af is slow compared to canon's USM motors, but still quite fast imo.

This post has been edited by gunzerdude: Dec 31 2013, 10:06 AM
gunzerdude
post Dec 31 2013, 11:51 AM

693 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Dec 31 2013, 10:39 AM)
For that kind of money and grade its slow. Some say on par with 85mm 1.4G focusing speed and iirc CY say 85mm focusing not that quick lol

and dont talk about logical with nikon, they seems to be out of it atm. case to point the D610 and 58mm 1.4G laugh.gif
Unless you've tried it yourself, its still a very subjective opinion. Just saying la. laugh.gif

And yes, Nikon seems to enjoy shooting itself in the foot nowadays. doh.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0521sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:47 AM