8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.23, National Geography edition

copperwire93
post Dec 2 2013, 08:56 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Dec 2 2013, 08:35 PM)
Today's try, really need improve lightning liao, either the light wont hit, or sometimes too harsh

My those magnification. I would never achieve this with Raynox. cry.gif

copperwire93
post Dec 2 2013, 10:37 PM

574 posts

Me and bro [PF] T.J. made it to Flickr blog. biggrin.gif
http://blog.flickr.net/en/2013/12/02/your-...-puppy-kittens/
copperwire93
post Dec 2 2013, 10:44 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Dec 2 2013, 10:41 PM)
you guys are so pro!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Haha! Thank you.

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 2 2013, 10:43 PM)
Grats! haha  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Its just luck for me laugh.gif
I just found the cat, and took a few photos, all credits go to the cat  tongue.gif
Same, lucky I was out when my kittens are playing. laugh.gif
copperwire93
post Dec 2 2013, 11:02 PM

574 posts

This are today's "macro" laugh.gif
Itsy-bitsy spider by NurAzam, on Flickr
Unknown by NurAzam, on Flickr
copperwire93
post Dec 2 2013, 11:25 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(tongweng @ Dec 2 2013, 11:11 PM)
I hate spiders XD...but they look very nice thumbup.gif
Thanks, I love to see how the spider was tangling its web onto the flower.
copperwire93
post Dec 3 2013, 01:37 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Dec 3 2013, 11:26 AM)
Guys, almost a month since i owned my D3200. Throughout last 3 weeks i have been learn alot of theory and trial and error shooting.

Last Sunday is 1st part of my wedding, the indoor lighting is bright but the colour is warm yellow. I handed my camera to my wife's bro for shooting. Before that i already fix all the setting to below:

1. A mode.
2. ISO set to 800, with ISO-A turn on, max ISO 1600, min shutter 1/8.
3. All photo without flash.
4. White balance (direct sun light)
5. LCD brightness turn down to -2 in order to match with actual output. Ori default brightness is too bright until mislead shooter feel the exposure is enough adi.
6. Center weighted metering.

So he just point and shoot without adjust anything.

Output:
1. Overall majority important shot was clear (although many of it also blur due to low shutter speed and movement),
2. I struggle with white balance, yesterday night when i back home, i saw all the picture are too yellowish, but luckily can be adjusted in LR.

So pro, i have feel questions need your help:
1. May i know should i use AWB for indoor shooting?? I don't know, i feel only the direct sun light can give me closest actual white balance most of the time, but not in restaurant lighting. Let say if at outdoor and fluorescent lighting indoor, direct sun light WB can give me accurate WB, why not inside the warm lighting? I just want my photo looks as natural as actual scene without too much WB correction.

2. Face is exposed correctly, the items on the dinner table was overexposed, although it can be corrected by lowering 'highlight' in LR. Does it means the focus point is wrong?

Anyway, after the wedding ceremony is end, i took over the camera and shoot myself, i pop up the flash, set flash option from TTL to manual full power, i use my glossy white Xperia phone to bounce the flash 45' to the ceiling, the outcome is much more nicer with correct WB. I think i will make a card with reflective material to bounce the flash to ceiling on upcoming Sunday ceremony. This time my own bro will be my camera men.

I will post some shot tonight if time permitted. smile.gif
Like bro Gunzerdude,
Past experience of me shooting an event in a hall, I use custom white balance by using white paper as standard measurement. Also used RAW+Jpeg mode. If the white balance fail, I can use the raw to recover the white balance, if the photo has alright white balance, than I stick to the JPEG. Too lazy to retouch every photos. tongue.gif

For face stuff, I usually make use of radial filter or brush tool to balance the exposure. Not sure if it's right thing to do, but most of the time it works.

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Dec 3 2013, 12:28 PM)
Le fly~  whistling.gif

Ate that fly already.
Lunch time! by NurAzam, on Flickr
copperwire93
post Dec 3 2013, 02:55 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Dec 3 2013, 02:28 PM)
A white paper would not be a good option..

Because it is thin/transparent, unless it is a pure white cardboard than that would be a better options..

If you are so concerned about WB, maybe you can get an EXPO Disc which would give u accurate WB at the same time convenient! You'll save plenty of time that way smile.gif

I would normally shoot in Auto WB in events and all and manipulate later in post processing!

Here's a link for more information on EXPO Disc!

http://www.expoimaging.com/product-overview.php?cat_id=1

Cheers!

I have been gone for to long! So many macro shots!

Recent event I shot last weekend! Met many new friends! Ranging from photographers, drivers and models biggrin.gif

Untitled by Calvin Seak, on Flickr

Car or Girls? biggrin.gif
Carr!!! So dramatic with the rain! More car action! rclxm9.gif
copperwire93
post Dec 3 2013, 05:02 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Dec 3 2013, 03:40 PM)
Haha join me next time! biggrin.gif

Shooting in the rain is not an easy task, really challenging ><
But you nailed it at the end. rclxms.gif
I like the 1st and 2nd. Third the rain is so heavy? Checked your exif, wow 70mm already can reach this far.

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Dec 3 2013, 04:42 PM)
Then nvm, i manipulate later in post processing... sweat.gif
Capture RAW+Jpeg man with AWB. If anything goes wrong on a certain picture, you have a raw as backup. nod.gif

Edit: Added spoiler tag. Haha! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by copperwire93: Dec 3 2013, 05:23 PM
copperwire93
post Dec 3 2013, 05:29 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Dec 3 2013, 05:14 PM)
nod.gif I only shoot in RAW, RAW+Jpeg file size is too huge for D3200 as the pixel count is high. Now shoot in RAW alone 16GB memory card only can store around 500 photos only.

Just wonder LR will have the limitation if the WB is gone too far. Now i'm towards taking photo as close as what i saw rather than shots with creative effect. Is it just a dream for entry level cam + kitlens? blush.gif
No problem man, if you shoot in RAW you can recover the WB just fine regardless of the lens you use.
QUOTE(QiAnG @ Dec 3 2013, 05:14 PM)
Nice shot bro of that lynx spider, I saw 1 yesterday, but it hid itself after seeing me  vmad.gif
Thanks, this spider really shy. Haha! I want to shoot this way, he goes another way. lol!

copperwire93
post Dec 3 2013, 07:39 PM

574 posts

I just got a fly today. Cannot go out, banjir.
Paradox by NurAzam, on Flickr
copperwire93
post Dec 3 2013, 08:00 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 3 2013, 07:49 PM)
Thanks mate, do share your photos too oh  thumbup.gif
Beautiful action shot!
That fly can be cropped out and photochopped for many stuffs haha  laugh.gif
One fly shot to complement yours hehe, though mine a bit out of focus liao XD

Fly pee~
Wow! You got many macro photos, I have another shot of the fly, but it release somekind of fluid from its mouth whenever I get close. I got the shot with its fluid. But... not good for viewing whistling.gif
copperwire93
post Dec 3 2013, 08:47 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Dec 3 2013, 08:12 PM)
Haha thanks! Been really busy with a another hobby tongue.gif Lol
How long do you guys wait for the subjects for a macro shot?? Keep up the good work! thumbup.gif
Not so much wait. Just look around for bugs and try to approach them. The challenge is more on try and error to get in focus or worse, the chances of the bugs run away. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by copperwire93: Dec 3 2013, 08:47 PM
copperwire93
post Dec 3 2013, 10:35 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Dec 3 2013, 09:40 PM)
U Shoot I Shoot

Haha! I encountered same pictures like this. Whenever we try to shoot someone with SLR, they shoot you back. laugh.gif

QUOTE(tongweng @ Dec 3 2013, 10:06 PM)
spent whole day walking in lowyat and times square...seems like very few ppl selling extension tube
Looking for one? This might help you. I never deal with him, but the group page is quiet well-moderated, so I think he can be trusted.

That said, I recommend getting a Raynox 250 for convenience. But I never tested an Auto ET, so I can't be sure. It might be better.

This post has been edited by copperwire93: Dec 3 2013, 10:36 PM
copperwire93
post Dec 3 2013, 11:14 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 3 2013, 10:51 PM)
Wow, that is an interesting shot man!
Flies will secrete fluids when they find suitable food. The fluid will digest the food before the fly sucks them up  brows.gif
I'm sure its a great shot hehe, share share~~
Here, then I guess it is makan angin. tongue.gif
Put spoiler tag in case some finds it uneasy.

copperwire93
post Dec 4 2013, 12:06 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Dec 4 2013, 11:27 AM)
Because panning cars and motorbikes are too mainstream, Pro3363 do aeroplane panning instead. Haha! Good work! laugh.gif
copperwire93
post Dec 4 2013, 06:19 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(poad @ Dec 4 2013, 01:05 PM)
i feel small in here...admire all /k shoot  thumbup.gif
Hey, I'm here less than 6 months, really newbie. Just go "camera-blazing" and post your work here. See others' photos too to learn and lastly, enjoy your hobby. nod.gif

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Dec 4 2013, 02:22 PM)
hmm tamron also got wor.. Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 VC.. but is like 400 cheaper than the sigma version..  blink.gif

Edit : ok got vc and non-vc, and os.. gah! brain hurt when browse, just like when the first time I learn how to operate my DSLR..  cry.gif
In a nutshell, people say non-vc is much sharper than the vc one, but vc surely can help you to reduce camera shake especially in lowlight situation. But, maximum 50mm is enough for you to make do without VC. Hence, the choice is yours. Hehe! That's all I can advice. sweat.gif
copperwire93
post Dec 4 2013, 10:21 PM

574 posts

I made this out of boredom. Danbo boxman actually really pricey O.o

Visiting Pahang by NurAzam, on Flickr
copperwire93
post Dec 4 2013, 11:24 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Dec 4 2013, 11:18 PM)
sifus, anyone knows about HOYA filter's http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1012...o_nd_1000x.html  ?

tried searching in the web for reviews.. but cant find any.. even the official website dont have.. takkan BHPhoto simply sell ._.
I did do some research while back to search for 10 stops ND. Hoya is a good one too, but some people said BW is better. But those are too pricey for me. Now I'm aiming for second hand Hoya HMC ND400 instead, only 8 stops but I don't mind.

Thinking to get a portable drybox too, any specific model for a newcomer? blush.gif
I always move so need a portable one.
copperwire93
post Dec 5 2013, 04:13 PM

574 posts

Mushroom season by NurAzam, on Flickr
copperwire93
post Dec 5 2013, 08:02 PM

574 posts