Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.23, National Geography edition

amduser
post Dec 30 2013, 10:18 AM

5,542 posts

pictures from 85mm look awesome from both ff and crop

though you might need to walk to some distance for a full body shoot
amduser
post Dec 30 2013, 10:23 AM

5,542 posts

any of you going to countdown for 2014? anyone wanna shoot firework? rclxm9.gif
amduser
post Dec 30 2013, 03:37 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Dec 30 2013, 11:07 AM)
where are the locations for fireworks?
plenty of places got firework last year, putrajaya, e@curve and KLCC

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Dec 30 2013, 03:22 PM)
35mm 1.4 waiting for you~

85mm drool.gif

planning to let go my 55-300mm f4.5 - f5.6 and get a 85mm 1.8g instead
amduser
post Dec 30 2013, 06:11 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Dec 30 2013, 04:05 PM)
yeah 85mm.. how u noe?

85mm 1.2L

brows.gif  brows.gif
simply guess only tongue.gif
amduser
post Dec 30 2013, 08:27 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Dec 30 2013, 08:18 PM)
kit lens i think no need la. expensive o cleaning. ur lens maybe worth rm300, cleaning 100++  sweat.gif
kitlens worth rm300? hmm.gif might as well buy 2nd hand kit lens laugh.gif
amduser
post Dec 30 2013, 09:21 PM

5,542 posts

some pictures taken from Comic Fiesta 2013, now only upload all tongue.gif

amduser
post Jan 2 2014, 01:10 AM

5,542 posts

went to canon and sony thread, their thread nothing much to see sad.gif
amduser
post Jan 3 2014, 11:50 PM

5,542 posts

the amount of insects and animals in this thread rclxub.gif

2014 New Year Firework by K_S16, on Flickr

This post has been edited by amduser: Jan 3 2014, 11:52 PM
amduser
post Jan 4 2014, 02:10 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Jan 4 2014, 02:04 AM)
Seems to be that recently Nikon Thread is becoming a bugs macro thread.
No complains from me though, the pics are good.

You went for another round of new year fireworks at the same place?
Wish I could shoot again too... but not this year lol.
yeah, i went to the same place again this year, since that place is good and no need to sandwich with other people like in KLCC and putrajaya biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Maniac @ Jan 4 2014, 10:19 AM)
Do you guy know where can I have a good view on night, cityscape with KLCC in it?
no idea, i only know ampang lookout point but it is closed

wanted to know places for KLCC night view too
amduser
post Jan 5 2014, 03:59 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Jan 4 2014, 05:26 PM)
anyone else know where to find good view for KLCC at night?

look out point is closed from access forever or?
the restaurant there is closed, but not sure about access to public

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Jan 5 2014, 02:59 AM)
i tot u bought MBP 15 inch?
CY sifu has his 85mm 1.4G bokeh king.. i dun think he will shoot at 2.8 for portrait la..haha..

btw i see 200mm 1.8 photos.. bokeh is mad creamy bt then it looks super fake most of the time.  sweat.gif
200mm 2.8 enuf.
the distance required to use 200mm is crazily far, unless you are doing half body shoot or headshot only

85 1.4/1.8 on the other hand has better balance between bokeh and DOF drool.gif

found this god lens for sell in facebook
Rm4600 - Nikon 24-70MM F2.8 G ED N, 97% like new, excellent condition. No fungus, no haze on glass. Superb lens for FX body.
https://www.facebook.com/KLDslr/posts/416209611842313:0

quite cheap i guess
amduser
post Jan 6 2014, 03:52 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Jan 5 2014, 08:39 PM)
i wanna ask noob question here. I have a 50mm 1.8 and using a D90.

I was looking into a 35mm 1.8G as well, and i was just wondering other than the difference in the focal length. Whats the difference between this 2 lens. Forgot to mention 35mm is DX while the 50mm is a FX lens.

I wanna know, does the 35mm 1.8 performs better than the 50mm? or shall i forget the 35mm and just stick with the 50mm.
50mm on crop sensor is too tight, 35mm has a better field of view

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Jan 5 2014, 11:34 PM)
for most of us, we prefer 35mm in crop body. since it's more usable indoors n outdoors. Well, wait for 35mm FX coming on 7th Jan. then only decide.
i'm pretty sure 35mm 1.8g dx and fx sure not much different one unless you want to own a ff but cant afford the 1.4g then only go for 1.8g fx la

if crop sensor then just grab the cheapest one which is 1.8g dx biggrin.gif
amduser
post Mar 31 2014, 02:31 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2014, 10:51 AM)
Wuwuw T___T Yeah, will go steal university line tomorrow laugh.gif

I'm no sifu la, usually the "loudest" ones in the forums are the noobest haha  rclxm9.gif
wa....like that no one want to post here already sad.gif
amduser
post Mar 31 2014, 03:05 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Mar 31 2014, 02:55 PM)
walao both of u got so much stars. tak cukup already lah the space. loled especially our "loudest" one
my stars come from hardware Q&A section, not photography section and it is long long time ago la tongue.gif

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Mar 31 2014, 02:59 PM)
Go for 35mm. I had no regrets. Bought 50 before, then sold off n got 35. 35mm much more usable indoors.
you use 50mm yesterday the bokeh so nice drool.gif
amduser
post Mar 31 2014, 08:30 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Mar 31 2014, 06:03 PM)
that's when 50mm is with a FX body.

much bokeh

win liao lo

85mm f1.8 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by amduser: Mar 31 2014, 08:32 PM
amduser
post Mar 31 2014, 11:03 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2014, 10:56 PM)
Thank you for the input guys haha, now only know tongue.gif
Lightroom is also part of Photoshop right? haha laugh.gif
Anyways, I usually use LR for everything.. I only use Photoshop when it involves intense spot healing and watermarking  hmm.gif
isn't lightroom can do watermark as well? and batch export as well
amduser
post Mar 31 2014, 11:05 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Mar 31 2014, 10:21 PM)
Just need some critics about my 1st editing. and how to improve. I feel like the fur is totally not sharp. Using LR5

Image First try
use tripod, lower your ISO and set the F number higher (smaller aperture)
amduser
post Mar 31 2014, 11:25 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Mar 31 2014, 11:11 PM)
ur series of shots at the beach really nice leh the editing is good.  thumbup.gif  use LR oni?
shoot during golden hours, around 9am - 10am (already quite harsh sunlight sad.gif ), some closeup shoots i used diffuser from the reflector

edit with LR only

0.0615sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:14 PM