Sony Xperia Z / ZL Official V~10 Thread, JB 4.3 & KitKat 4.4 It`s Comming Yo

mafioso
post Feb 9 2014, 04:12 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(clivechen @ Feb 9 2014, 04:11 PM)
True true...

Now I try use IE download, maybe Chrome bad mood today. IE download stable at 120 KB/sec. Chrome fluctuates.
perhaps you're lucky now you connected to a better mirror of g-drive.

anyway just leave it then later you flash and see..
mafioso
post Feb 9 2014, 06:59 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(clivechen @ Feb 9 2014, 06:54 PM)
Finally managed to manually flash my new Xperia Z with the stock 4.3 sg unbranded.

Stupid Chrome made me lose 5 hours of my life. IE managed to complete the download in the first try.

Anyway just flashed and yet to go through in detail. First impression is the animation changed. Boot up down slowed down by a few seconds in comparison with 4.2.2.

Thanks and gratitute to mafioso for the guidance and assurance.

Hope the next update can be done via OTA or PC Companion and not having to resort to manual flashing.
thanks but i didnt help much laugh.gif
just simple guide only..

you learn it yourself. so you should be proud.. at least you know when something is wrong (software related).. you no you no need to have the hassle to travel to sony center and leave it there for 1week-1 month just to get a software reflash. sweat.gif nod.gif
mafioso
post Feb 9 2014, 10:30 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(clivechen @ Feb 9 2014, 09:23 PM)
You're modest, at least I felt confident flashing my phone after our correspondance.

Now I hava 4.3 on my Xperia Z and the changes are very welcomed. Hardly notice any lag or stutter. Still in the midst of customizing though.

I can now get back to my life and wait for the upcoming 4.4.2 release and update my Xperia Z via OTA, PCC or SUS.

Mafioso, have a good week ahead!  smile.gif
4.4.2 will have a very major overhaul for its framework and systemui.

have a look here.. http://www.xperiablog.net/2014/01/20/exclu...y-d6503-sirius/

luckily for sony. a rather good looking overhaul..
mafioso
post Feb 10 2014, 01:15 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(clivechen @ Feb 10 2014, 12:30 AM)
Yeah I've read that link already.

I was using a Note 2 before my Lumia 925 and now Sony is beginning to grow on me. Especially with this 4.3 update and the 4.4.2 sneak peak already have me salivating.

My first impressions on the 4.3 update:

1. Boot up is slower by a few seconds compared to 4.2.2 - the vibration comes in a slower when you press the on button.
2. More free space (around 200mb-300mb) and a little higher memory consumption (41% compared to 33% on previous version - I only have 3 downloaded apps which are WhatsApp, WeChat and Clean Master
3. UI is more streamlined and animations are better looking. Glimpses of AOSP here and there.
4. Battery improvement

Overall it's worth the update.
and if you are rooted you definitely must install xposed.. if you heard about it before nod.gif
mafioso
post Feb 10 2014, 01:49 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(clivechen @ Feb 10 2014, 01:44 AM)
LOL, too much tinkering for me bro. The OCD in me will go crazy. I'll stick to stock for now until I get bored with the IU and probably get CM10.2.1 on it.

Thanks for the recommendation though  thumbup.gif
no point unlocking your bootloader to flash CM seriously..

every single mod you see from CM/PA/AOKP = you can inject it to stock rom with the xposed app..

best part = most mods are very stable and since sony didnt alter their rom much = most of the AOSP mods available in xposed are compatible with our sony xperia z stock rom as well..

ofcuz the only ones you cannot change are the fixed UI like notification panel or something like that..

--
plus if you unlock the bootloader and flash CM = you wont get the same camera quality/features that we can get on stock.

This post has been edited by mafioso: Feb 10 2014, 01:50 AM
mafioso
post Feb 10 2014, 11:57 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(clivechen @ Feb 10 2014, 10:10 AM)
You do have a point, now hand itchy already, I'll try to hold to "urge" until this coming weekend.  drool.gif

any modules to recommend?
Alot. I'll list out the useful ones tonight.
mafioso
post Feb 10 2014, 08:18 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(clivechen @ Feb 10 2014, 10:10 AM)
You do have a point, now hand itchy already, I'll try to hold to "urge" until this coming weekend.  drool.gif

any modules to recommend?
here are the useful ones for our xperia z:

xperia related:
1. long-press to specific menu (toggles)
- long-press the toggles you set to go to specific setting pages (like samsung)

2. gem xposed mod
- set transparency for 3rd party launcher (nova for example)

3. fix sony 4.3 bugs
- the installer bar is off place. this one fixes it

4. gxmod extender
- adds flash toggle (replaces it with a toggle that you do not use)

5. semc patcher
- remove the annoying data toggle nagging (notification bar and pop up msg)

more for general tweaks:
1. gravity box
- basically 95% of AOSP mods are here

2. xuimod
- adds animation to list-view, toasts and system

3. app setting
- paranoid android's per app DPI

4. instagram downloader
- well.. instagram photos downloader

5. advanced power menu
- adds reboot/reboot to recovery menu and screenshot into power button
mafioso
post Feb 10 2014, 09:19 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(clivechen @ Feb 10 2014, 09:03 PM)
Whoa...thanks for the compilation! I'll root my device when I have the time this weekend and I'll definitely a few of this mentioned above especially gravity box and advanced power menu.

Thanks again for your effort.
but for xposed you have to download a special version that the developer modded to work with xperia..

its already so many pages back.. maybe try to search for the "xposed apk" keyword..
mafioso
post Feb 10 2014, 09:32 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(clivechen @ Feb 10 2014, 09:22 PM)
If I'm not mistaken, xposed for Xperia is GEM exposed.

Doing some light reading on it now while I put my son to sleep.
no.. GEM xposed is a module

xposed installer is different.. thats just the framework

framework: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1574401
modules: http://repo.xposed.info/module-overview

but for xperia you need to download a modified version by the dev.. the normal one wouldnt work.
for the modules you can download in-app, that way its easier. no need to manage every apk updates every time.

whenever there's an update, they will tell you there's an update (not notification nag.. but when you open the xposed app and check.. similar to play store)
mafioso
post Feb 11 2014, 11:58 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Feb 11 2014, 11:36 PM)
just now i reserved the TV ady with price rm799.. i will pay by cash.. but today didnt bring enough money.. Tmr i will ask them for the MHL cable.. coz their official website do FREE the MHL cable.. if got, then i no need buy any cable ady.. this MHL cable can direct charge my phone and mirror my phone display..
got voltage control?
mafioso
post Feb 12 2014, 04:27 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(merican93 @ Feb 12 2014, 03:31 PM)
Why the gps try to connecting most of the time? After the latest update. It's killing my battery. sleep.gif
must be some app using it..
try to see what is currently being active with appops module (if you are rooted + xposed installed)

mine i enable it 24/7, no battery drain nod.gif
mafioso
post Feb 12 2014, 11:40 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(delang @ Feb 12 2014, 09:43 PM)
Already updated to latest version last night.
AR effect doesnt working properly, it rotate and disappear.
Do u guys have same issue?
you can try to clear cache of the camera app..

did you give it a reformat?

mafioso
post Feb 13 2014, 08:49 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(delang @ Feb 13 2014, 07:49 AM)
thanks for reminder, i had done it twice & it works.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Thats great nod.gif

Now cant wait for 4.4.2 only laugh.gif
mafioso
post Feb 13 2014, 08:47 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Feb 13 2014, 02:18 PM)
my ZL seems didnt get the update.. but nvm.. now my battery life also quite good d..
straight wait for 4.4.2 only lah tongue.gif tongue.gif

hopefully in a month's ++ time. haha..
mafioso
post Feb 14 2014, 03:38 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(anarchy2cruo @ Feb 14 2014, 03:13 AM)
well i am hoping 4.2 touch sound come back on 4.4 as in this video. XD
http://www.lowyat.net/2014/02/leak-sony-xp...n-off-on-video/
im using that right now.. (the sound)..
but im rooted lah so i can easily replace. nod.gif

even on AOSP i used the sony's sound.. more original tongue.gif
been keeping it on my SD card ever since laugh.gif

This post has been edited by mafioso: Feb 14 2014, 03:39 AM
mafioso
post Feb 16 2014, 02:39 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(KAWAII GIFT @ Feb 16 2014, 12:53 PM)
another problem is why my phone show highest resolution for the camera is only 12mp?
where you check? in camera settings you can switch between 2mp,5mp,9mp and 13mp in manual mode..

but mostly default is 9mp
mafioso
post Feb 17 2014, 11:36 PM

6,155 posts

more about 4.4.2

source: http://www.xperiablog.net/2014/02/17/sony-...ontent=FaceBook

This post has been edited by mafioso: Feb 18 2014, 12:34 AM
mafioso
post Feb 18 2014, 12:34 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(acid427 @ Feb 18 2014, 12:21 AM)
Help u fix the black box  tongue.gif
o.0 i didnt realize! LOL.

thanks!
mafioso
post Feb 19 2014, 12:19 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Feb 18 2014, 03:14 PM)
Ada tapi mahal. Hehe... 1.3k at Kuching. Need to survey and nego kaw-kaw.
1.3k FOR ZL????!!

lol. here you can get 1.3-1.4k for xperia z

why not go for Z instead? since its also around that price! nod.gif
mafioso
post Feb 19 2014, 12:50 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(KAWAII GIFT @ Feb 19 2014, 12:27 AM)
just got my xperia Z AP update 10.4.B.0.101
from .569
any diffrent?
.101 is the latest firmware..

according to changelog only 3 different things changed.

13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0268sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:10 PM