Just bit the bullet and got my very FIRST Alienware just yesterday.

Any tips and tricks for a newbie like me?
Alienware Mothership V11, Intruder alert!
Jul 7 2014, 11:41 AM
11,883 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Hi Guys and bro TS raymondtong94
Just bit the bullet and got my very FIRST Alienware just yesterday. ![]() ![]() Any tips and tricks for a newbie like me? |
Jul 7 2014, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Jul 7 2014, 12:19 PM) nice Thanks Sifu!create a backup image asap if you prefer to have oem branding stuff. however in order to see its true power, imo a better way of running the machine is with ssd (not ssd caching), and do a fresh windows install. that's the same trick. the thing with these electronics is that although it works flawlessly, you cannot be sure how long it can withstand the modified power source. (like previously some lyp sales people telling everyone that laptop ram with 1.5v rating worked for haswell laptops) Good tips. Will do the backup image this week. And also, later will hunt for a 512GB mSATA SSD for it, and do a fresh install of Windows in it. If I install it myself, no issues right? Or is it better for me to call a Dell service personnel to come over and install for me? |
Jul 8 2014, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Jul 7 2014, 03:38 PM) Install urself no issues. Unless you can't then call the dell professionals. Congrats on ur new buy. I am still drooling over that 8GB 880M hehe. Thanks bro! Well, the 1TB HDD with 80GB mSATA Caching also performs quite good surprisingly. Just that booting up times are still not as good as SSD. QUOTE(silencer5089 @ Jul 7 2014, 04:49 PM) LOL. Surprised to see you here. I thought you said you not a gamer ma. QUOTE(horns @ Jul 7 2014, 04:49 PM) there is no sifu here. we all learn and share TQ for the detailed advice man! I just downloaded the Alienware 17 manual meant for 2013 Aliewanre 17, I believe it's the same hardware layout for the 2014 Alienware 17. Hmm. after the creation of recovery media, go to dell support site and upgrade the system with latest drivers and bios. as for regular dust cleanup and maintenance, just consult the manual. (they have very good manuals. never got lost with it. it's a good reference to plan your upgrades also) yeah.. a ssd with a fresh windows will be the best change for the laptop. it's fine to do it yourself (there is a windows os media cd in the box just for that. however a bootable usb helps make the installation even faster). after the fresh install, create system image for the purpose of recovery. maintaining that will make your life to restore system way easier. lol! maybe you can upgrade to 880m when the price is cheaper QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jul 8 2014, 12:46 AM) Hahah. Still remember me from Z2 thread yeah. |
Jul 10 2014, 04:57 PM
Jul 10 2014, 06:12 PM
Jul 10 2014, 10:59 PM
Jul 13 2014, 12:58 AM
One sad thing about the Alienware 17 series (R5 & R6), there seems to be no way to set White backlighting in AlienFX.
Sometimes, I just want it to be white, like how it is on the G750 series. |
Jul 15 2014, 12:41 AM
Hey guys.
Sorry for this newbie question. How does the switchable graphics in Alienware laptops actually work? For example, I seem to be able to switch between the integrated graphics and discrete graphics by pressing FN + F5 keys, and it requires a reboot to switch back and forth between the integrated and discrete graphics. I was thinking, with Nvidia Optimus technology, shouldn't this be automatic? Like when I'm 3D gaming, my discrete graphics turns on and vice versa when I'm not gaming. And the funny thing is, when I first got my AW17, the default was set to the integrated graphics! lol. I couldn't even run TitanFall at maximum settings properly then, and after I switched to discrete graphics (FN + F5 keys) and rebooted - then only everything became silky smooth. Any thoughts? I tried to Google up some info about this but found none, hmmm. Whoever can shed some light, I would be most grateful! *side note: for comparison sake, on my MacBook Preo Retina 15", under Mac OS X, the discrete GPU automatically kicks in whenever I'm doing anything graphic intensive, and it reverts back to the Integrated Graphics when I return to doing some light work. This post has been edited by shockk: Jul 15 2014, 12:44 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0454sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:57 PM |