Alienware Mothership V11, Intruder alert!
EmperorScorpion
Dec 27 2013, 10:57 PM
To all m15x user,
Today I went to All IT at Digital Mall, I wanted to buy a internal harddisk for my m15x because currently I'm using a SSD 120G which is not enough for me. So I asked the technician to give me a 1TB harddisk which can fit inside my m15x. The technician went opening the back of my m15x cover, after checking he told me that this can only be supported by 1 harddisk. m15x doesn't have 2nd hardisk slot.
So what do you guys think? Are you all currently using 1 or 2 hardisk.
EmperorScorpion
Dec 28 2013, 12:26 AM
QUOTE(horns @ Dec 27 2013, 11:46 PM) m15x has only one hdd bay. maybe you can replace the dvdrom drive to hdd caddy to house the new hdd. So I only can have one hdd at the moment ?
EmperorScorpion
Dec 28 2013, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 28 2013, 10:05 AM) only if you can swap out the DVD bay and replace it with HDD bay, and you can have 2 HDD bays. What is the price for SATA HARD DRIVE OR SSD caddy for 12.7mm and Dell Dell 750GB 7200RPM SATA 2.5" Hard Drive. Is that good enough or any other suggestion ?
EmperorScorpion
Dec 28 2013, 01:17 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Dec 28 2013, 01:13 PM) you can get silverstonetek's ts09, http://silverstonetek.com/product.php?pid=387i bought them at lyp. also, there are some sellers having the similar products at garage sales. Does ALL IT sell it ? You bought the 12.7mm or 9.5mm
EmperorScorpion
Dec 28 2013, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Dec 28 2013, 01:29 PM) i think it's viewnet, near the psu section. it's 12.7mm. http://forum.notebookreview.com/alienware-...6k-warning.htmlfrom the above both work. Yeah I had a SSD + HDD in my m15x now. Does anyone know how much will it cost if I change the whole m15x old casing to a new one ?
EmperorScorpion
Dec 28 2013, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 28 2013, 11:15 PM) if you can find the chassis online, then it isnt a problem. Alienware don't provide it ? Replacing a new cover? This post has been edited by EmperorScorpion: Dec 28 2013, 11:30 PM
EmperorScorpion
Dec 29 2013, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 28 2013, 11:51 PM) this laptop has been EOL-ed, so i dont think Dell is able to provide the chassis. Ic that is a sad case just wondering what if I dropped my Alienware and it doesn't't have a replacement lol. Anyway today I send my Alienware m15x to Lowyat Plaze for inserting the SSD+HDD. Everything looks fine just that they screwed my Alienware a little. And I don't think this mess can be undo or whatever. Attached thumbnail(s)
EmperorScorpion
Dec 29 2013, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(horns @ Dec 29 2013, 12:13 AM) ah typical :/ there are parts sold online. you can check out taobao. (damn good. i have gotten many parts from there) But I don't think they sell that part because it's not removable if I'm not mistaken, correct me if I'm wrong. Yeah although it's a little **** up but still Alienware is our beauty baby
EmperorScorpion
Dec 29 2013, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 29 2013, 12:17 AM) i think those technicians used the wrong tool to pry. they should pry it with hard plastic, not with screwdriver. Yeah I don't know why are they so cow it's so logic that it can't be open up like that -.-! with a screwdriver. Anyway I didn't really check on the shop because it's so crowded and I went back checking and I FOUND OUT that my Alienware had be hardcored. T.T This post has been edited by EmperorScorpion: Dec 29 2013, 12:24 AM
EmperorScorpion
Dec 29 2013, 12:47 AM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 29 2013, 12:34 AM) i still remember the moment when i helped someone to upgrade his M18x, i did used screwdriver too but in a soft manner. technicians nowadays  hahaha.... do you know what is the thing called surrounding the keyboard both side ?
EmperorScorpion
Dec 29 2013, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(horns @ Dec 29 2013, 12:53 AM) maybe they also pry at the wrong places :/ if it's not removable, it will come in one piece. which part is that exactly? with electronic parts or not? they will never learn that. i wonder if they have at least checked out the service manual of m15x :/ It's not electronic parts just beside your Alienware keyboard that plastic thing. 2 plastic thing beside your keyboard left and right. Don't if it's removable.
EmperorScorpion
Dec 29 2013, 01:13 AM
QUOTE(horns @ Dec 29 2013, 12:53 AM) maybe they also pry at the wrong places :/ if it's not removable, it will come in one piece. which part is that exactly? with electronic parts or not? they will never learn that. i wonder if they have at least checked out the service manual of m15x :/ Your help is appreciated. Don't know if they still only this part lol don't even know what it called. Attached thumbnail(s)
EmperorScorpion
Dec 29 2013, 02:17 AM
QUOTE(kaoru @ Dec 29 2013, 02:04 AM) OMG you found it yeah that is what I'm looking for. I'm really appreciated that all of you helped me out. Although it's expansive because of the shipping but at least I know what the **** is the thing now hahaha. This post has been edited by EmperorScorpion: Dec 29 2013, 02:25 AM
EmperorScorpion
Dec 29 2013, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Dec 29 2013, 11:30 AM) kaoru found it  here are taobao's listings: http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=19319825276http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=19856201692http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=17246462362your other option is to talk to putochip123. maybe you should also contact dell. uh? the screen is really that under-performing? putochip123 got "lobang"  he has a 120hz screen without 3d functions to offer. How much is't dont really know Chinese here haha
EmperorScorpion
Jun 12 2014, 03:19 PM
Guys Im currently using my m15x Nvidia GeForce GTX 460M I wanted to upgrade it, any recommendation? I'm having some issue when playing games, i feel very spike when playing games and the game runs slow.
EmperorScorpion
Sep 27 2014, 02:16 PM
I had just formatted my Alienware m15x and it has an error code 28 ethernet controller. Will this error cost the blue screen to occurs as well ?
EmperorScorpion
Sep 27 2014, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Sep 27 2014, 02:32 PM) Ethernet should be lan port problem LAN PORT? its a motherboard drive that I'm missing ? Because what i did was i format my laptop and let the windows update by itself. didnt install the motherboard drive manually.
EmperorScorpion
Sep 27 2014, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Sep 27 2014, 03:17 PM) run diagnosis test from dell website? driver update de? i tried updating the drives in device manager but I have 2 unknown drive that couldn't be update. And most importantly i think my blue screen of death is costed by this drives that are not updated. where can i find the diagnosis test in their website all i can find is programs that i need to download in order to diagnosis which i didnt want to be install in my hard disc.
This post has been edited by EmperorScorpion: Sep 27 2014, 03:21 PM
EmperorScorpion
Sep 27 2014, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(refnulf @ Sep 27 2014, 04:25 PM) Had the same issue the other day. Just reinstall the ethernet driver from the support page. You should be able to fix it. did you mean reinstall it from the device manager?
EmperorScorpion
Sep 27 2014, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(refnulf @ Sep 27 2014, 04:28 PM) No, I just installed the whole .exe file that you download from the support page. what driver did u install motherboard?