[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestions Thread V4

llk
post Dec 10 2013, 05:58 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(carepayer @ Dec 10 2013, 05:56 PM)
hi there, i'm going to buy r9 290 soon. i was opting for seasonic 620W but the shop owner recon 750W. do i really nid such high psu or 620W is already sufficient?
Yes, 620w should be sufficient, i'm using 600w with R9 290 as well
llk
post Dec 10 2013, 06:46 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(carepayer @ Dec 10 2013, 05:59 PM)
may i know whats ur cpu and mobo?  biggrin.gif
My signature there stated, i7 4770k and Asrock Extreme4
llk
post Dec 10 2013, 07:07 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(carepayer @ Dec 10 2013, 06:54 PM)
Gigabyte r9 290 also reference cooler like asus and sapphire right? got heat issue?
Yes, exactly same as other reference card, about heat issue it is depends on how you adjust the fan speed, pls check back this thread for more info

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2989467
llk
post Dec 19 2013, 02:05 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(vNirvana @ Dec 19 2013, 02:03 PM)
ok ok thxxxxxx.
then I need to check my PSU first. Is 600w enough for these ?
Real 600W PSU is enough to powerup R9 290
llk
post Dec 19 2013, 06:31 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Dec 19 2013, 06:25 PM)
Hi guys,
please comment on my setup below
Wanting to play games in ultra settings and I won't OC.

i5 4440
AsRock B85M Pro4
Asus GTX770 2GB
Samsung 840 EVO 120GB
WD Black 1TB
Corsair Vengeance 1x8GB 1600

Also, which PSU would you recommend from the list below?
Keeping quality + price in consideration

Actually what is your budget allocated for PSU? Your PSU list consisted of price range from RM200 to RM1200
llk
post Dec 19 2013, 06:46 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Dec 19 2013, 06:34 PM)
oh. Maybe RM400? I don't know if that's reasonable or not. What do you think?
Your RM400 budget actually can get better PSU, suggest getting reliable PSU, here are some suggestions:

Super Flower Golden Green HX600W 80Plus Gold Semi Modular RM299
SeaSonic S12-II 620 620W 80Plus Bronze Non Modular RM299
SeaSonic M12-II 620 620W 80Plus Bronze Semi Modular RM3XX
Seasonic S12G-650 650W 80Plus Gold Non Modular RM4xx
Corsair TX650M TXM Series 80Plus Bronze Semi Modular RM3xx
Corsair HX650 Series 80Plus Gold Full Modular RM4xx

llk
post Dec 20 2013, 08:39 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Dec 20 2013, 09:28 AM)
I don't know your usage,so here's my recommendation.  tongue.gif

CPU:Intel Core i5 4670K 3.4 ghz RM729
MOBO:Asrock Z87 Extreme3 RM449
RAM:Corsair 8GB ddr3 1600mhz RM229
GPU:Reuse
HDD:WD caviar Blue 1TB rm189
SSD:Plextor M5S 128GB RM319
PSU:Seasonic S12II 80+ GOLD 650W RM409
Casing:CM K380 RM149
Monitor:Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM 23' RM629

Total:RM3102
Price from Viewnet.  smile.gif
Your PSU should be Seasonic S12G 80+ GOLD 650W
llk
post Dec 20 2013, 08:48 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Dec 20 2013, 08:40 PM)
Yeah,the Viewnet pricelist was kinda  doh.gif
I means u must check carefully when u buy, S12II is cheaper & it is 80+ bronze

llk
post Jan 3 2014, 09:53 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jan 3 2014, 09:41 PM)
You can get the 500W incase if you want to put GPU... wink.gif
hmm.gif I think Asrock's 1 year of warranty,but im not exactly sure. tongue.gif
Asrock is 3 years warranty
llk
post Jan 6 2014, 09:22 PM

4,157 posts

Actually Zotac/Sapphire are under same comapny, Zotac belong to PC Partner, & Sapphire is the sister company of PC Partner
llk
post Jan 8 2014, 03:45 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 8 2014, 03:18 PM)
CPU: i7 4770
MoBo: asrock z87 extreme3, 4, or killer? Best choice?
Ram: 8gb (1x8gb or 2x4gb) or how much is 16gb?
Hdd: 1tb
Gpu: sapphire r9 290 tri-x
Psu: please suggest a good buy and reliable item...
Odd: what is good? How much if blueray that can support 3d?
Casing: CM k350/380
Monitor: recommend please good for the above gpu... 18"-23/24"

Guys finalizing my rig, i will order it at the end of this month...
I dont think i need oc build to run gpu at its best...or am i wrong?
And do i still need additional cooling for cpu or any component on my rig?if no overclock?

Sifus help me finalize my order. TIA ^^,
Suggest to recheck the casings that u proposed, sapphire R9 290Tri-X is a long card, your casing might just slightly able to fit the graphic card
llk
post Jan 8 2014, 08:13 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 8 2014, 08:10 PM)
Yup i wont overclock smile.gif to save from coolers biggrin.gif im not n editor anyway. So i guess ill just go for i7 4770? And btw, i will have sapphire r9 290 tri x for my gpu.. question is wat is a good psu that can sufficiently support it and will be open for dual sli or cf in the future? ^^,
A decent 600W is sufficient for your setup

Super Flower Golden Green HX600W 80Plus Gold Semi Modular RM299
SeaSonic S12-II 620 620W 80Plus Bronze Non Modular RM299
SeaSonic M12-II 620 620W 80Plus Bronze Semi Modular RM3XX
Seasonic S12G-650 650W 80Plus Gold Non Modular RM4xx
Corsair TX650M TXM Series 80Plus Bronze Semi Modular RM3xx
Corsair HX650 Series 80Plus Gold Full Modular RM4xx
llk
post Jan 8 2014, 08:49 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Jan 8 2014, 08:44 PM)
Uuuuh, if you want crossfire for 290 Tri X you'll need at least 850-1000W. Anandtech benchmarks showed at least 380-400W consumption for a single card.

Get the Cooler Master V850 or V1000. They are basically Seasonic OEMs but cheaper. Planning to get the same ones as well.
My bad didn't realized he want CF setup infuture sad.gif ,the PSUs i proposed can't be used anyway
llk
post Jan 8 2014, 09:08 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 8 2014, 08:57 PM)
All people have mistakes... ^^, so shud be 800w and up....
Ya, CF setup at least need 800W above
llk
post Jan 8 2014, 09:13 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Jan 8 2014, 08:57 PM)
Hahaha that's why I suggested the Seasonic X750 several posts up as well with the 290's monster consumption in mind. But crossfire memang need 1000W to be safe. I'm also planning to crossfire my 290X by end of this year. =D

Btw I also need to ask, is there any other better PSUs than the CM V1000 80+ Gold out there in terms of price/performance? Cuz if no then I'll confirm be buying this.
In fact before i bought Corsair AX860i actually i wanted to buy V1000, that was happened last month unfortunaetly the whole KV no stock, have ask few lyn sellers & lowyat shops as well but no luck at all, was informed new stock only arrived in Jan, that time i'm rushing to get the PSU as i sold my previous one. V1000 is highly recommended by several oversea websites as the series was made by seasonic using KM3 platform (same as seasonic X series)

P/S: i noticed Feiton has got stock already (from their FB)

This post has been edited by llk: Jan 8 2014, 09:14 PM
llk
post Jan 8 2014, 09:35 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 8 2014, 09:27 PM)
So if no better you buy CM V1000 80+ gold? Is 800w not enough for cf 290 tri x?  But 800w or 750 enough lah for single r9 290 tri x?
For single r9 290 a decent 600w is enough (i used super flower 600w previously), CF better get 800w above
llk
post Jan 8 2014, 09:53 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Jan 8 2014, 09:40 PM)
shocking.gif AX860i. That platinum rated monster from corsair. Bloody nice man hahaha. Not a bad choice really seeing your circumstances.

Hmmmm, looks like CM V1000 80+ Gold for me as well. Now to go hunt for people selling it at a very good price.  tongue.gif
I have ask viewnet before the price given was RM650, try your luck to bargain if you want or try hunting other shops.

Btw, this is testing result by anandtech for 290X CF running furmark, highest power consumption recorded was 720w for the whole system (Intel Core i7-4960X @ 4.2GHz) , therefore a 850w PSU should be play safe if want to play CF setup

http://www.anandtech.com/show/7457/the-rad...-290x-review/19

llk
post Jan 8 2014, 10:05 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Jan 8 2014, 10:00 PM)
Saw one guy who is selling it at flat 600 but he never replies much nor does he have a sales history so I'm not so sure. But even so 650 or slightly lower is damn good for a 1000W 80+ Gold PSU.

Yeah that's two stock 290X's. I'm planning to bump my 4770K to 4.2-4.4GHz at least amd also OC my 290x's so I need an extra 100-150W of headroom.  rclxms.gif
I roughly know who u are referring to tongue.gif , but try to get from shop better, importance thing is warranty
llk
post Jan 8 2014, 10:19 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Jan 8 2014, 10:13 PM)
Hehe. He suddenly came out of nowehere and started selling PSUs of different brands. But yeah, true. RMA is gonna be a pain if I don't get it from a reputable shop. I am going Tech Armory this Friday so I can bargain a bit since my friends want to buy two laptops and I need a PSU, HDD, SSD and AIOs. Hopefully the have the Kraken X60 too.  tongue.gif

Another question by the way, should I spend more and get a Plextor M5P 256GB or a SanDisk Extreme II 240GB, or should I just save and get a Samsung Evo 240GB?
Samsung has got very good reputation in many oversea reviews in terms of speed & reliability, & the price also very competitive nowadays, personally i will go for samsung
llk
post Jan 9 2014, 01:35 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 9 2014, 01:32 PM)
Guys what casing is required for the r9 290 tri x to fit in freely?
Plenty of models can, pls state your budget

0.0525sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:07 PM