QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Feb 24 2014, 09:59 PM)
Around RM 2600. I forgot to mention Windows 7 HP 64-Bit. Any suggestions or things that i need to change ?[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestions Thread V4
[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestions Thread V4
Feb 24 2014, 10:19 PM
11 posts Joined: Feb 2014 |
Feb 24 2014, 10:45 PM
5,043 posts Joined: Aug 2013 From: Putrajaya |
QUOTE(Hazard_Ous17 @ Feb 24 2014, 10:19 PM) Around RM 2600. I forgot to mention Windows 7 HP 64-Bit. Any suggestions or things that i need to change ? CPU:Intel Core i3 4130 3.4Ghz RM369MOBO:Asus B85M-G RM279 GPU:Sapphire R9 270 2GB GDDR5 RM679 RAM:Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM239 HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM189 PSU:Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM299 ODD:Liteon 24x DVDRW RM59 Casing:CM K380 RM149 OS:Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OEM RM319 Total:RM2581 Prices are from Viewnet. You can get an SSD when u've more money,cause u can't fit it in with the OS with a 2.6K budget. |
Feb 24 2014, 10:53 PM
50 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
Hai all sifu.
I need your help and suggestion in building rig as this is my first time building rig. The budget can say unlimited but then if possible i want try to minimize the budget. the rig that i plan is as followed: mobo: gigabyte sniper z87 (why I choose this? because I love green processor: i7 4770k ram: Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB x2 SSD: samsung evo 120 GB HDD: WD Caviar Blue 1TB GPU: any GTX 780 Ti PSU: Seasonic S12G 80+ Gold 650W case: NZXT Phantom 410 There are few question that still I need to clarify with sifu regarding my build. 1) Is there any problem if I use gigabyte sniper z87 as my mobo? 2) Can I change my processor to Intel Xeon E3-1230 V3 3.3 as it is more vheeper than i7? will this suit with my mobo? 3) should I go for reference GPU+ NZXT kraken G10 or should I just buy non reference gpu? which one should be better in term of performance and lifespan? |
Feb 24 2014, 11:00 PM
40 posts Joined: Dec 2013 From: Perak Darul Ridzuan |
QUOTE(SourPower @ Feb 24 2014, 10:53 PM) Hai all sifu. Since your budget is Unlimited I need your help and suggestion in building rig as this is my first time building rig. The budget can say unlimited but then if possible i want try to minimize the budget. the rig that i plan is as followed: mobo: gigabyte sniper z87 (why I choose this? because I love green processor: i7 4770k ram: Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB x2 SSD: samsung evo 120 GB HDD: WD Caviar Blue 1TB GPU: any GTX 780 Ti PSU: Seasonic S12G 80+ Gold 650W case: NZXT Phantom 410 There are few question that still I need to clarify with sifu regarding my build. 1) Is there any problem if I use gigabyte sniper z87 as my mobo? 2) Can I change my processor to Intel Xeon E3-1230 V3 3.3 as it is more vheeper than i7? will this suit with my mobo? 3) should I go for reference GPU+ NZXT kraken G10 or should I just buy non reference gpu? which one should be better in term of performance and lifespan? Why don't u go for over 25k price RIG? |
Feb 24 2014, 11:06 PM
Feb 25 2014, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(SourPower @ Feb 24 2014, 10:53 PM) Hai all sifu. Are u gonna OC?Here's a Non-OC buildI need your help and suggestion in building rig as this is my first time building rig. The budget can say unlimited but then if possible i want try to minimize the budget. the rig that i plan is as followed: mobo: gigabyte sniper z87 (why I choose this? because I love green processor: i7 4770k ram: Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB x2 SSD: samsung evo 120 GB HDD: WD Caviar Blue 1TB GPU: any GTX 780 Ti PSU: Seasonic S12G 80+ Gold 650W case: NZXT Phantom 410 There are few question that still I need to clarify with sifu regarding my build. 1) Is there any problem if I use gigabyte sniper z87 as my mobo? [color=red]Gigabyte Z87 G1 Sniper 5?That's priced around RM1700.. Better get Asrock Z87 Extreme4 RM539 or Asrock Z87 Killer Fatality RM599.. 2) Can I change my processor to Intel Xeon E3-1230 V3 3.3 as it is more vheeper than i7? will this suit with my mobo? [COLOR=red]Intel Xeon E1230 V3 is a i7 in disguise,only .1Ghz slower,no iGPU and cannot be OCed. 3) should I go for reference GPU+ NZXT kraken G10 or should I just buy non reference gpu? which one should be better in term of performance and lifespan? [COLOR=orange]With that watercooler,the GPU will run cooler.. CPU:Intel Xeon E1230 V3 3,3Ghz RM779 MOBO:Asrock H87 Pro4 RM319 GPU:Zotac GTX780Ti AMP! 3GB GDDR5 RM2459 RAM:Corsair 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM478 HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM189 SSD:Samsung 840 Evo 240GB RM589 PSU:Seasonic S12G 80+ Gold 650W RM409 Casing:Corsair Carbide 200r RM229 Total:RM5451 GPU from Cycom,the rest from Viewnet. That's a good build for 5.4K.. P.S.Im not pro with taggings and colors and such on LYF,so just ignore the messed up red/orange reply.. This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Feb 25 2014, 12:21 AM |
Feb 25 2014, 07:14 AM
QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Feb 25 2014, 12:13 AM) Are u gonna OC?Here's a Non-OC build so if i wan go OC then I just switch to i7 rite?CPU:Intel Xeon E1230 V3 3,3Ghz RM779 MOBO:Asrock H87 Pro4 RM319 GPU:Zotac GTX780Ti AMP! 3GB GDDR5 RM2459 RAM:Corsair 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM478 HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM189 SSD:Samsung 840 Evo 240GB RM589 PSU:Seasonic S12G 80+ Gold 650W RM409 Casing:Corsair Carbide 200r RM229 Total:RM5451 GPU from Cycom,the rest from Viewnet. That's a good build for 5.4K.. P.S.Im not pro with taggings and colors and such on LYF,so just ignore the messed up red/orange reply.. Umm, few more question. did i need to buy reservoir if I wan to use kraken with my GPU? and between asrock asus and gigabyte, which one is producing the best mobo? sorry for asking to much question sifu. |
Feb 25 2014, 07:27 AM
312 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Penang |
QUOTE(SourPower @ Feb 25 2014, 07:14 AM) so if i wan go OC then I just switch to i7 rite? for OC - intel CPU with K at the back such as i5 4670K..For AMD CPU i dunno, lost track of their CPU name scheme..Umm, few more question. did i need to buy reservoir if I wan to use kraken with my GPU? and between asrock asus and gigabyte, which one is producing the best mobo? sorry for asking to much question sifu. NZXT KRAKEN G10, if im not mistaken its AIO so no need for reservoir (correct me if im wrong) both 3 are good motherboard manufacturer, most people pick asrock since it abit cheaper than the other two most of the time.. This post has been edited by sirknieghf: Feb 25 2014, 07:28 AM |
Feb 25 2014, 09:12 AM
QUOTE(sirknieghf @ Feb 25 2014, 07:27 AM) for OC - intel CPU with K at the back such as i5 4670K..For AMD CPU i dunno, lost track of their CPU name scheme.. owh, okay then.NZXT KRAKEN G10, if im not mistaken its AIO so no need for reservoir (correct me if im wrong) both 3 are good motherboard manufacturer, most people pick asrock since it abit cheaper than the other two most of the time.. thank you enlighten me. Will go for kraken then since the review is so good. Plus I can use it for another GPU if I wan to change in the future. |
Feb 25 2014, 09:24 AM
8,746 posts Joined: Jul 2010 From: S.A.B.A.H |
QUOTE(SourPower @ Feb 25 2014, 09:12 AM) owh, okay then. NZXT Kraken G10 is a GPU cooler adaptor for AIO watercooling solutions to the GPU, by itself, it won't do any good to cooling your GPU so yes you still need to purchase an AIO like the Kraken x40thank you enlighten me. Will go for kraken then since the review is so good. Plus I can use it for another GPU if I wan to change in the future. |
Feb 25 2014, 09:34 AM
Feb 25 2014, 11:01 AM
8,746 posts Joined: Jul 2010 From: S.A.B.A.H |
QUOTE(SourPower @ Feb 25 2014, 09:34 AM) well technically any acetal-based AIO design water cooler will work with the Kraken x10... but yes they said that the Kraken x40 have the highest compatibility rate with the x10 so all in all it will set you back at least Rm200 to Rm300 |
Feb 25 2014, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(Clem1982 @ Feb 25 2014, 11:01 AM) well technically any acetal-based AIO design water cooler will work with the Kraken x10... but yes they said that the Kraken x40 have the highest compatibility rate with the x10 so all in all it will set you back at least Rm200 to Rm300 hmm. will consider it. btw, can you reccomend me any case that can actually fit the radiator of the kraken? for now I only considering NZXT phantom series. Maybe you can recommend me any good and stylish bitfenix case? |
Feb 25 2014, 11:20 AM
122 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Hi, I would like to setup a PC that will solely be used for graphic design. The software that I heavily use are Photoshop, Illustrator and Indesign. Mostly deal with high resolution image,thats the highest strain I put, nothing as heavy as 3d modelling and such.
I have been offered these 2 builds below. I would like to have your views on these builds and ways I could optimize it better with a budget of Rm2k~3k. If possible the budget should include OS and a decent monitor. Built 1 Processor (CPU) – Intel Core i5-4440 (3.10Ghz 6MB Cache, 4 core) Motherboard – MSI B85M-Z43 Memory (RAM) – Kingston 8G DDR 1600MHZ RAM X 2 PIECE(TOTAL 16G) Primary Storage : Western Digital Blue 1TB G.C: Sapphire R7 250 1G DDR 5 RAM Power Supply (PSU) – Silverstone ST50F 500WATT Heatsink – Silverstone AR02 HeatSink Case – Silverstone PS08 ATX casing Monitor:HP 20" LED Monitor O.S: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit Built 2 CPU: AMD FX8350 MOBO: Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0 RAM: Gskill AEGIS 2x4GB DDR3 1600mhz HDD: WD 1TB Caviar Blue HDD GPU: Sapphire R9 270X Dual X 3GB DDR5 Chasis: NZXT Souce 210 Casing PSU: Xigmatek Tauro 600W PSU GPU: Silversteone AR03 CPU Cooler The major difference I can see between the two builds is that one stresses on the need for more RAM (build 1) while the other more GPU. The other major thing is Build 1 gets me a monitor. The other does not. Both hits the 3k pricepoint. I've done abit of research myself and found this statement : "Video card isn't all that important at all. CPU also doesn't matter as much as you might think - the wife has a 3.2GHz i3 and it flies....she loves it. Any current med/high end CPU will be fine. If there's one area I would spend money on it would be a fast hard disk and SSD - SSD for OS and Apps and then a big/fast drive for storage. You'll also probably want some external backup/storage - a big portable drive is usually good for graphic designers. You could consider the various RAID setups too. As much RAM as you can afford as well" So,the real question is,are those two build decent enough or should I sacrifice some of those graphical prowess and opt for the lotsa RAM + SSD instead. Thank you very much for your help guys. Appreciate it. Cheers. |
Feb 25 2014, 01:57 PM
312 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Penang |
QUOTE(SourPower @ Feb 25 2014, 11:13 AM) hmm. will consider it. go for nzxt switch 810 btw, can you reccomend me any case that can actually fit the radiator of the kraken? for now I only considering NZXT phantom series. Maybe you can recommend me any good and stylish bitfenix case? |
Feb 25 2014, 03:00 PM
11 posts Joined: Feb 2014 |
QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Feb 24 2014, 10:45 PM) CPU:Intel Core i3 4130 3.4Ghz RM369 Is it better then the AMD and ASUS proc and mobo that i listed? I really like the NZXT but i do think thats it quite big and i dont really need a big casing. And it the gpu wont bottleneck? Plus can u overclock the proc? Cuz the AMD can be oc'ed so please help me. Sorry, im still learning bout these stuff.MOBO:Asus B85M-G RM279 GPU:Sapphire R9 270 2GB GDDR5 RM679 RAM:Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM239 HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM189 PSU:Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM299 ODD:Liteon 24x DVDRW RM59 Casing:CM K380 RM149 OS:Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OEM RM319 Total:RM2581 Prices are from Viewnet. You can get an SSD when u've more money,cause u can't fit it in with the OS with a 2.6K budget. |
Feb 25 2014, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(Hazard_Ous17 @ Feb 25 2014, 03:00 PM) Is it better then the AMD and ASUS proc and mobo that i listed? I really like the NZXT but i do think thats it quite big and i dont really need a big casing. And it the gpu wont bottleneck? Plus can u overclock the proc? Cuz the AMD can be oc'ed so please help me. Sorry, im still learning bout these stuff. That mobo is 70 ringgit expensive than the mobo in my recommended Intel rig..and it even has PCIE2.0 instead of 3.0.. The i3 4130 is 0.2 weaker than the AMD FX6350..but the Intel CPU has lower power consumption than the FX6350,54W vs 124W. Top up 90 ringgit can get you Core i3 4330 3.5Ghz which is 0.2 better than FX6350. Nah the GPU won't bottleneck the CPU and vice versa.You can't oc the Intel CPU i recommended because 1.It doesn't have the "K" at the back. 2.No Z87 Mobo. 3.You need a air cooler/liquid cooler because if u don't have it,you'll be cooking a "Fried CPU". Learning about PC Hardware's fun..im still learning about OCing and SSD Raid etc,just know the basic of those 2. |
Feb 25 2014, 04:44 PM
1,132 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: Kuching |
Hey guys, need a rough quotation for a rig for my dad. Budget is roughly rm2000.
No need monitor or other peripherals. Just the Rig. Put in everything thats worth it for a general/daily use PC. |
Feb 25 2014, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(Alfsaw @ Feb 25 2014, 04:44 PM) Hey guys, need a rough quotation for a rig for my dad. Budget is roughly rm2000. CPU:Intel Core i3 4130 3.4Ghz RM369No need monitor or other peripherals. Just the Rig. Put in everything thats worth it for a general/daily use PC. Mobo:Asus B85M-G RM279 RAM:Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM239 HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM189 PSU:FSP Hexa 500W RM149 Casing:CM K380 RM149 ODD:Liteon 24x DVDRW RM59 SSD:Samsung 840 Evo 240GB RM589 Total:RM2022 Prices are from Viewnet. |
Feb 25 2014, 05:17 PM
| Change to: | 0.0362sec