[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestions Thread V4

rav3n82
post Feb 24 2014, 03:17 PM

I find your lack of faith disturbing!
7,084 posts

QUOTE(AboveNBeyond @ Feb 24 2014, 03:05 PM)
Fuhh, I really like this build.  rclxm9.gif

But, just want to ask. SAPPHIRE R9 290 TRI-X OC will give on par performance to GTX 780Ti? The R9 price is great right.  rolleyes.gif

Anything I need to change in the build if I'm going to change 780Ti to R9?  sweat.gif
The R9 290 is on par with GTX 780, not the Ti version. sweat.gif But of course, you can further manually overclock the 290 to try to match the 780 Ti. biggrin.gif Yes, currently it offers unmatched performance for its price range.

Intel Core i7 4770K - RM1089
Asrock Z87 Extreme 4 - RM539
Swiftech H220 - RM489
Corsair Value Ram 8GB DDR3 1600MHz - RM239
Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC - RM1699
Cooler Master V650S PSU - RM369
Samsung 840 Evo 120GB SSD – RM329
WD Caviar Blue 1TB HDD - RM189
Cooler Master Storm Scout II Casing - RM309
Lite-On 24x DVDRW – RM59

Total – RM5310 (prices are from Viewnet)

Optional:
Intel Core i7 4770 - RM969 *
Intel Xeon E3 1230 v3 - RM779 *

* If take either these 2 processors above, can remove out Swiftech H220 AIO CPU Cooler from the quotation above. Note that Xeon E3 1230 v3 is essentially an i7 4770 without IGPu and 0.1 GHz slower only.
rav3n82
post Feb 24 2014, 05:04 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(AboveNBeyond @ Feb 24 2014, 03:39 PM)
Cool.  thumbup.gif

Hmm, with the Swiftech H220 AIO CPU Cooler. How high can I OC the CPU in stable version without hurting the CPU lifetime ? Sorry asking too much.  sweat.gif
Guess you would have to try it out yourself, to see how far you can go before hitting the wall. biggrin.gif
rav3n82
post Feb 24 2014, 05:42 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(AboveNBeyond @ Feb 24 2014, 05:19 PM)
If you say so, how about not high such as 4.0 Ghz? Easily can reach with liquid cooler right?  rolleyes.gif
Yes, definitely.
rav3n82
post Feb 24 2014, 09:34 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Feb 24 2014, 06:11 PM)
Why not the S12G/G series?  The VS series do use a mixture of non Japan caps... sweat.gif

Su'scon caps (the ones you find at CM GX series units)

Teapo caps... sweat.gif
How many years warranty does S12G/G series carry?
rav3n82
post Feb 24 2014, 09:59 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(Hazard_Ous17 @ Feb 24 2014, 09:44 PM)
Hello sifu, i would like to ask if my intended rig is good.

AMD FX-6350
ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Sapphire R7 260X 2GB DDR5
Kingston 8GB 1600mhz
1 TB WD Blue
120 GB Hyper X SSD
Seasonic S12G-650W
NZXT Phantom 410

Please gimme some suggestions, im still learning bout these stuff.  biggrin.gif
How much max budget?
rav3n82
post Feb 28 2014, 09:53 AM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(Tomtom. @ Feb 27 2014, 11:25 PM)
Just wnt to ask, cn r7 250 runs dota at max setting?
R7 250 should give you very strong framerates in 1080p at High Settings. Make sure you get the GDDR5 version though.
rav3n82
post Feb 28 2014, 10:00 AM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Feb 27 2014, 08:51 PM)
At least 2GB for 1080p. tongue.gif
270X is a rebranded HD7870XT, not the HD7870.  The HD7870XT utilizes Tahiti GPU, which is the one found on higher-end HD7900 series GPU (HD7950/HD7970), albeit it's a lower binned one. tongue.gif
Actually in terms of performance, yes the 270X is sort of a replacement for HD 7870 XT.

But it is not a rebrand for HD 7870 XT per se, since the 270X is based on the same Pitcairn GPU as the previous HD 7870 (not XT variant which uses Tahiti LE), but now renamed as Curacao. It receives a higher clock and memory speed, that's all.
rav3n82
post Feb 28 2014, 11:21 AM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(ken3230 @ Feb 28 2014, 11:12 AM)
[Budget] 4k

[Purpose] hardcore gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] none

[Monitor resolution] 1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] D2 and other new game coming out like titanfall  tongue.gif

[Personal preferences] would like to have 120 SSD, 24" monitor, and a casing that easy for installation and upgrade

[Location] KL

thx 1st for all he sifu here
Intel Core i5 4440 - RM579
Asrock B85M Pro4 – RM279
Corsair Value Ram 8GB DDR3 1600MHz - RM239
MSI R9 290 Gaming – RM1499
Seasonic S12 II 620W PSU - RM299
Plextor M5S 128GB SSD - RM299
Cooler Master K380 Casing - RM149
Viewsonic VX2370S 23" IPS LED - RM499
Lite-On 24x DVDRW – RM59

Total - RM4090 (prices are from Viewnet)
rav3n82
post Feb 28 2014, 11:39 AM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Feb 28 2014, 11:29 AM)
Casing a bit too bad la... sweat.gif
At least a Carbide 200R ma... blush.gif

Also, why not adding a bit for a PowerColor PCS+ one? icon_idea.gif
Casing or GPU better? hmm.gif

Feiton got ready for PowerColor PCS+ already?
rav3n82
post Feb 28 2014, 11:43 AM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Feb 28 2014, 11:40 AM)
Dunno?  But how about asking Feiton? brows.gif
GPU is more important than the case but TS specifies he wanted an easy to install and upgrade case. tongue.gif
Anyway, RM1499 for 3 year warranty MSI Gaming seems like a better proposition. brows.gif
rav3n82
post Feb 28 2014, 11:56 AM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Feb 28 2014, 11:44 AM)
How good is the warranty though. tongue.gif hmm.gif
Mind to enlighten me why you said so? hmm.gif

Anyway, some sellers already start selling Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X at RM1799. sweat.gif
rav3n82
post Mar 4 2014, 09:00 AM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Mar 3 2014, 10:01 PM)
Casing : Silverstone SG05B-Lite - RM159 (Ideal Tech)
RAM : Corsair 1600MHz 4GB x 2 - RM248
PSU : Silverstone ST55F-G - RM379 (Ideal Tech)
CPU : i5 4670K - RM759
MOBO : Asrock Z87E-ITX - RM499 (Ideal Tech)
GPU : Zotac GTX760 - RM799
SSD : PLEXTOR M5S 120GB - RM299
Monitor: Dell P2314H - RM699
Cable kit: SST-PP05 - RM69 (hikari85)

Total: RM3910 (prices from Viewnet)
This post has been edited by rav3n82: Mar 4 2014, 09:46 AM
rav3n82
post Mar 7 2014, 05:58 PM

7,084 posts

Not sure if the NZXT Source 210 does support 240mm radiators. In fact, I find a number of < RM200 casings do not really have such support.

Can try CM N200, at RM149 but it is limited to micro-ATX. unsure.gif
rav3n82
post Mar 7 2014, 09:31 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Mar 7 2014, 06:39 PM)
I think it can support a 240mm or 280mm on top, but that's about it. Which is still pretty good though.

Worse comes to worse he can always get a Cooler Master Nepton 140XL which performs as good as a H100i. biggrin.gif
But the fan on the Nepton 140XL is a tad loud though. tongue.gif And also need to bear in mind that not all casings support 140mm fans on rear/top. Source 210 seems possible to mount on the top side however.
rav3n82
post Mar 8 2014, 12:06 AM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Mar 7 2014, 10:11 PM)
Yeah that's why I said I think the Source can take a 240 or 280 rad on top, so the 140 shouldn't be an issue. But true also, many small cases cant take dual rads on top. Or even 140mm sizes.

I'm assuming he is ready to face the loudness of the Thermaltake 3.0 Extreme so the 140XL should be just fine. biggrin.gif
Sometimes being able to fit certain sized fans does not certainly mean it can mount radiator + fans. There is a difference, especially on small budget casings. Like my old Thermaltake V3, which supposedly clears for a 120mm rear fan, turned it can't even mount a 120mm radiator + fan.

It seems that 210 can't take a 240mm radiator without some improvisations. Not sure about 140mm radiators, my only concern is that it will clash with the motherboard.

http://www.overclock.net/t/1220330/mod-nzx...00-in-push-pull
rav3n82
post Mar 8 2014, 08:21 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(killer zone II @ Mar 8 2014, 06:21 PM)
Hi. I want to play Titanfall and upcoming Diablo 3 and Dark Souls 2. But the thing is im still using old AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE. Any recommended GPU that my proc can support? Or better i change to new proc?

Edit :

-Im using 1080p screen reso. And my budget wont allow me to change new proc/mobo setup. If had to, need to funding for 6 month.  sweat.gif
-Was thinking to buy Zotac Nvidia GTX 760 2GB @ RM799, but if my proc will bottleneck too much, might as well consider Zotac Nvidia GTX 750 2GB @ RM449.

Seeking your advice guys.
Thanks.  smile.gif
What graphic card are you using right now? Also what PSU are you using?

Anything below GTX 750 Ti / HD 7790 / R7 260X class should be fine with your CPU. Also, you can actually consider overclocking your CPU to further alleviate the bottleneck a bit.
rav3n82
post Mar 9 2014, 12:12 AM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(killer zone II @ Mar 8 2014, 08:42 PM)
Hi, thanks for reply. Previously im using HD7850, but sell it off due to underutilized (No good tittle at that time), and plus my proc bottleneck with 7850. So can't really enjoy the potential of the card. Now use basic htpc card HD5450. As for PSU using Gigabyte 550W.

I wanted to play Dark Souls 2, since i waiting for 2yrs. Not gonna miss this one. That's why come out from batcave. Lol. With new radeon RX series, i have no idea at all.  doh.gif
I would say going with the GTX 750 is a safe bet, since Dark Souls 2 shouldn't be that graphically demanding. Recommended graphics card is GTX 465 / HD 6870, and GTX 750 is faster than either cards. smile.gif
rav3n82
post Mar 14 2014, 03:31 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(ragecat @ Mar 14 2014, 03:20 PM)
So i have with me a cm690II casing, evga 780 superclock and a cm gx620w 80+ bronze.

Now i need the remaining parts. unfortunately, impulsive purchase has led to budget constrains. how to build the rest of the computer without bottlenecking the gpu or blowing up the psu? trying to keep budget to about around the 1.5k budget +/- couple hundred. can exceed, but rather not! will be used for gaming!
I would like to advise you to ditch the PSU, if possible. The 1st gen GX series is not good. Can consider my suggestion as below. smile.gif

Intel Core i5 4440 – RM579
Asrock B85M Pro4 – RM279
Corsair Value Ram 8GB DDR3 1600MHz – RM239
Evga GTX 780 Superclock
CM 690II casing

Seasonic S12 II 620W PSU - RM299
Lite-On 24x DVDRW – RM59

Total - RM1644 (prices are from Viewnet)

rav3n82
post Mar 14 2014, 05:52 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(ragecat @ Mar 14 2014, 03:39 PM)
Forgot to mention it has to include a monitor. FML confined to running a probable i3/g-series. sad.gif
A little tough, some sacrifices has to be made. sweat.gif

Intel Core i3 4130 – RM369
Asrock B85M Pro4 – RM279
Corsair Value Ram 8GB DDR3 1600MHz – RM239
Evga GTX 780 Superclock
CM 690II casing
CM GX620w 80+ bronze
Lite-On 24x DVDRW – RM59
Acer S220HQL led 21.5" Monitor - RM359

Total - RM1494 (prices are from Viewnet)

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0632sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:10 PM