Conversion convert softsub to hardsub, which program do i need to use

unnamed
post Jun 22 2006, 01:06 AM

502 posts

shinjite, you're not aware that VSFilter.dll is also a VirtualDub plugin. just load the dll in VDub (or rename to VSFilter.vdf and put in plugins dir) and you will get the TextSub filter. however, i would never recommend anyone to use VD filters...just use AviSynth scripts with fast recompress in VDub...

and why would you need to convert to loseless when using AviSynth? avisynth is already serving the original frames as decoded from the source
shinjite
post Jun 22 2006, 01:43 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,309 posts

Of course I am aware of it, that is why I put it in 2 ways. People won't know about it since its comes in packages like that.

About why need to convert it to lossless, you find it out for yourself then you know smile.gif If you don't wanna waste time, you can just do it normally without needing the lossless.

This post has been edited by shinjite: Jun 22 2006, 01:43 AM
TSatrash
post Jun 22 2006, 11:37 AM

351 posts

i tried last nite!but got some weird error!
1. after sometime encoding, task cannot finish because not enough space in c: -> b4 i sleep, i left c: with 24.6 gb free! after woke up, only 2gb plus free! The encoded thing is about 22gb and still unfinish?

2.for xvid compession, i've already uninstall and reinstall xvid codec with the lastest version, but got error 'startfile not found' ..why meh?
e-jump
post Jun 22 2006, 12:24 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

1. after sometime encoding, task cannot finish because not enough space in c: -> b4 i sleep, i left c: with 24.6 gb free! after woke up, only 2gb plus free! The encoded thing is about 22gb and still unfinish?
coz its lossless

isnt dvd already a good source? i dont see why we need to convert to lossless 1st before encode to desired compression
keyz
post Jun 22 2006, 01:04 PM

1,271 posts

QUOTE(atrash @ Jun 22 2006, 11:37 AM)
i tried last nite!but got some weird error!

2.for xvid compession, i've already uninstall and reinstall xvid codec with the lastest version, but got error 'startfile not found' ..why meh?
1. Maybe compression not properly selected.That's why ended with a big file.Can you describe steps you've taken & end up with such that problem ?

2. That error most probably you've not setup the location when doing 2 pass encoding.
linkinstreet
post Jun 22 2006, 03:17 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Lol.
he forgot to compress the audio
1. Go to Audio and select Full Processing Mode
2. Click Audio again and select Compression
3. Choose the compressor (LAME MP3 for me)
Now you will not have a big AVI file

anyway, if ppl having problem diffrenciating the two subs,
i'll give an example :

Link: For sub in MKV and AVI

These two videos are of 2 formats, 1 is MKV and another is AVI
What makes the MKV's softsub so appealing to me is that I can change the subs (there are 2 included in there).
The AVI however are HardSub, but I need to use it as I want the sub to have
Karaoke effects on them. SoftSub cannot do this kind of effects.

Moderation: Link removed

This post has been edited by keyz: Jun 22 2006, 04:31 PM
shinjite
post Jun 22 2006, 06:06 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,309 posts

Better if you extract the audio out first and only deal with the video
Audio later can be muxed together
TSatrash
post Jun 24 2006, 06:20 AM

351 posts

finally i managed to do it! rclxms.gif

but the file got bigger almost 2x..i mean the source is 458mb while the result is 708mb. sweat.gif
for video compression i use Microsoft MPEG-4 Codec V1 and for audio i use MPEG Layer-3 with 48kbit/s 24000Hz Stereo 6KB/s ..

is it getting bigger coz i got wrong compression type for video n audio? which MP3 format is better?

i still got problem with Divx codec and xvid.. sad.gif

divx:

Divx's error

xvid:

errors:

both i've reinstalled, but the problems still occur sad.gif ! Does anyone know why?

erm..for 2 passes, do i need to do the 1 pass first?
e-jump
post Jun 24 2006, 08:08 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

erm..for 2 passes, do i need to do the 1 pass first?
multipass 1st past, then multipass n'th pass
no need 1 pass
keyz
post Jun 24 2006, 08:26 AM

1,271 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Jun 24 2006, 08:08 AM)
multipass 1st past, then multipass n'th pass
no need 1 pass
I think 1st pass is mandatory.This step analyzes the source and records information needed for the subsequent pass. If you skip 1st pass maybe movie is playable, but is not at the best quality/file size and probably not MPEG-4 compliant).

e-jump
post Jun 24 2006, 08:36 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

QUOTE(keyz @ Jun 24 2006, 08:26 AM)
I think 1st pass is mandatory.This step analyzes the source and records information needed for the subsequent pass. If you skip 1st pass maybe movie is playable, but is not at the best quality/file size and probably not MPEG-4 compliant).
ehh?
maybe these pic will give an idea.. been using only multipass 1st n n'th options [learned from some tuts]
user posted image user posted image
however, i have no idea what its called in divX as i dont use em

-----------------

OH SHI~
i misunderstood the question doh.gif

This post has been edited by e-jump: Jun 24 2006, 08:48 AM
keyz
post Jun 24 2006, 08:45 AM

1,271 posts