5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Worklog: Project Bling It On, Bling up an old horse.

ikan_semilang
post Jun 22 2006, 01:29 AM

4,504 posts

Hope u can recover soon as possible and see another mod action. laugh.gif
TSianho
post Jun 22 2006, 01:45 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Here's what I did after it got dark. Can't do any cutting after 7pm unless I wanna start a war with my neighbours. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif So what I did was to clean up the internal hardware. What's the point of having a nice case n lights when it's all dirty n clogged up inside right?

Here's a look at the mobo b4 cleaning up. Look at the area at the Northbridge heatsink! Dust dust dust. A whole lotta dust.

Now to the part where I clean the CPU heatsink. Look at all that dust that accumulates without u knowing coz u dont really c it till u take off the fan. Can u imagine the peak load temps with dust like that! Must be pretty high n the worst thing is, when it's clogged up, it gets hot, then the fans gonna spin at max speed all the time which leads to more noise. More noise+hot temps= B.A.D

Here's a look at the VGA now. The fan is dead coz too much dust in there. The bearings were totally clogged up with grit n wudnt even move. Also, notice the broken blade? Not good. I'll hafta whip up a 40mm fan to replace the dead fan.

Dust dust dust!

After cleaning out the VGA.

Now here's after all that cleaning up with a bristle brush on the heatsinks n fans n sum compressed air on the sensitive bits.

CPU HSF b4 cleaning.

CPU HSF after mucho cleaning.

Northbridge b4 cleaning.

Northbridge after cleaning.

After cleaning out the VGA.

Well that's all 4 2day folks. Hopefully 2moro will b a more productive day when I feel a lot better.

SUSAllnGap
post Jun 22 2006, 09:50 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

that dust build-up is really nasty......no wonder those old PC always have heat problems
r4ydc24
post Jun 22 2006, 11:38 AM

Level of Noobness
1,067 posts

wat a brutality of dust.... but yeah, i once help to troubleshoot my fren's pc (a girl).. when i open the sidepanel, itz lyk a haunted house inside it... even got sum spider webs inside that... realy hope dat those whose ride has been pimped, knowz how to maintain them, ryt?
GoldenHawk
post Jun 22 2006, 01:58 PM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jun 22 2006, 01:45 AM)

This sight looks awfully fimiliar....tongue.gif

Cleaned out a BILLION of cases like this. Imagine the horror when the CPU, Northbridge & Graphic heastinks of a system sitting in a MicroATX case looks like this shocking.gif You'd have an effective "cup-warmer" (...or leg warmer depending on where it's located tongue.gif )

The best part is , when you return it to them, they complaint that the PC runs "cold" now doh.gif Not warm & toasty like it was before!!! doh.gif

What can I say... PEOPLE. They are strange beings unsure.gif
gerrard capashen
post Jun 22 2006, 03:21 PM

Quarry Executive
3,377 posts

seem like the CPU never been clean up since bought.. tongue.gif tongue.gif
gerrard capashen
post Jun 22 2006, 03:21 PM

Quarry Executive
3,377 posts

seem like the CPU never been clean up since bought.. tongue.gif tongue.gif
Vervain
post Jun 22 2006, 04:24 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

i've cleaned one of a girls pc. guess wat. the pc has been running for more than 4 years and the dust in the heat sink was so thick it form a tissue paper.
TSianho
post Jun 22 2006, 10:34 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Updatesssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Worked on it all day long n got the panels all done.

Detailed work on the side window. Using the RTX for intermediate cuts. Final touch will be with the file.

Next up was the acrylic. Cut a square piece for test fit.

Then I turned it around to mark with a pencil.

Cut cut cut! Started cutting the acrylic to fit the panel.

Hole in the middle done.

Now it's time to try it on the panel n hope it fits 1st time round without need for recutting. Lucky it was right 1st time around. No need for extra work.

TSianho
post Jun 22 2006, 10:49 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

C the air intake at the bottom of the faceplate? Sooooooooo small n restrictive.

I did sum dremelling to enlarge it. Here, it's much bigger now.

Now it's on to the 120mm intake fanhole on the front. As u can see from this pic. The front intake was originally 2x80mm holes.

I cut out the protruding fangrills on that n then cut the 120mm hole over the 2x80mm holes. This is a rough cut. Detailed work not done yet. I still need to grind away those nubs from the fan grill n also the rough edges from the cutting. This fanhole required extreme concentration n precision. Look how close I had to cut the top n bottom of the hole. C that tiny lil bit at the 12 n 6 o'clock positions. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif That's how close I had to cut it to make the fan fit there without sacrificing the front USB ports.

This is after filing n grinding of the edges. Mounted an old fan for test fit. Fits like a glove. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

TSianho
post Jun 22 2006, 10:53 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

That's all the updates for 2day. Will get down to installing the hardware n doing the Stealth Wiring now. N then it's time to install the bling bling to bling up the old horsey! Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeha.
sherren
post Jun 22 2006, 11:29 PM

Retired
1,298 posts

Nice work ianho sounds very interesting drool.gif rclxms.gif ,the front 120mm the side hole gonna leave it like that?, or gonna put epoxy resin then sand it?
woundxp
post Jun 23 2006, 02:43 AM

366 posts

Awesome detailed job there bro.
TSianho
post Jun 23 2006, 03:47 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

More updates!!!!!!!! Hehe. Just cudn wait to get the rig up n running. Wanted to see the internals all blinged up. Here's a sneak peek for now. I haven't installed the side panels yet coz they're not finished.

Here's sum bling bling for the gfx card, a nice blue LED fan.

This is how the gfx card looks like in the dark now.

This is the internal shot with just the LED fans running.

Here's the Super Bling Old Horsey all dressed up n ready for a night out. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif Check out my so called Stealth Wiring. Nice eh? wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
1 more thing, haf u guys noticed the HDD is "wireless". I tell u, this rig wasn't easy to implement my Stealth Wiring. The PSU had sum of the shortest wires I've ever had to work with n it was really, really difficult to work with.

Well, this is definitely the last update for the day. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
The window panel will b going in 2moro. But wait that's not it yet! There's more comig after the side window is installed. What is it? Well, u'll just hafta keep checking back to unravel the mystery. Muahahahaha.

Just to show u guys who just started reading this worklog, this is how the rig looked like before I blinged it up.

This post has been edited by ianho: Jun 23 2006, 04:00 AM
r4ydc24
post Jun 23 2006, 09:36 AM

Level of Noobness
1,067 posts

Ngaaaaaaaaa!!!!! drool.gif

i wonder if u can make a 12cm intake for CM Cavvy/C5 or not...
lolhalol
post Jun 23 2006, 11:36 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

hmm nice work so far man... all super pro work... dude r u going to cover up the old holes in the front ?
goldfries
post Jun 23 2006, 01:44 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jun 21 2006, 10:02 PM)
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Sry no updates whole day. Kena food poisoning last night. Spent  today recuperating. Managed to get sum work done though. Will post the updates a bit later.
you look fine when i saw you the other day. biggrin.gif couldn't even tell that you were sick.
TSianho
post Jun 23 2006, 02:15 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(r4ydc24 @ Jun 23 2006, 09:36 AM)
Ngaaaaaaaaa!!!!! drool.gif

i wonder if u can make a 12cm intake for CM Cavvy/C5 or not...
Yes of course it's possible. All cases with enuf space for a fan at the front is not a problem.

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 23 2006, 01:44 PM)
you look fine when i saw you the other day. biggrin.gif couldn't even tell that you were sick.
Watodo, had to go get sum hardware supplies from Home DIY mar.
ikan_semilang
post Jun 23 2006, 02:38 PM

4,504 posts

No updates? shakehead.gif More pics, more pics... laugh.gif
TSianho
post Jun 23 2006, 03:03 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Jun 23 2006, 02:38 PM)
No updates? shakehead.gif  More pics, more pics... laugh.gif
So fast meh? Just woke up man. Whole night modding tired lar. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:30 AM