Working for PETRONAS V2, How to get a job, benefits, culture etc

SUSsupersound
post Mar 8 2015, 08:28 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Mar 6 2015, 06:29 PM)
hye guys,

I'm am on the verge of receiving my offer letter from Petronas. I attended SI at PGB last month and asked to do medical examination yesterday. I completed the examination this morning. I checked with the HR the offer letter should be out by next week.

I have few questions here

1. If the offered salary lower than our expected, can we still negotiate with HR to increase, a bit if not up to the expected?

2. Can we nego with them on the report duty date? delay it by few days or a week or so.

I'm trying to look for a complete employment benefits from Petronas, in terms of leaves, medical, etc. I've seen once in the thread. If anyone here have any reference, appreciate if you could share with me. Would like to do some comparisons. =)
Gain some experience, then look for jobs in Middle East countries.
They are a lot of ex Petronas staffs in ME.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 9 2015, 12:56 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Mar 8 2015, 11:58 PM)
I know there's one in front of TCOT iinm but donno around GPS area. Mind sharing with me tongue.gif
Yup, part of my long term plan.
O&G still ME offering the best salary package.
And not to mention dirt cheap petrol price.
SUSsupersound
post Jul 26 2015, 10:49 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(forrestcat @ Jul 26 2015, 10:43 PM)
My friend got in coz he knew someone who knew a hiring manager, got 6 month contract as planner..contract not renewed. Petronas will not cut the permannent stafff, contract workers for non essential work will unlikely be renewed.
Yup, slowly they will do this, start with contract staffs first, follow by permanent staffs.
But if they do it the right way by slashing management level, it would be better.
SUSsupersound
post Aug 10 2015, 10:04 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Aug 10 2015, 09:39 PM)
With all the retrenchment from major oil companies around the world like shell n schlumberger, i wonder y is petronas still hiring...

I hope they dun bankrupt this country just by hiring ppl who doesnt do anything in the company juz to fill in the quota

If need ppl, should hire those experience ppl who juz got retrench. Afterall, these experience ppl unlike freshies hv financial commitments already such as families, hse and cars
Fresh grads usually are samseng jalanan. Giving them a post to sleep in Petronas can ensure they can have support during election. Like MAS is the best example, over manpower by 50% rclxub.gif
But, when a company are making money, they don't mind to have more employee sleeping inside laugh.gif
SUSsupersound
post Aug 11 2015, 05:43 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Aug 11 2015, 08:29 AM)
Fresh grad who never works for another company wouldnt know what bz is like or sleeping in company is like when u hv nothing to compare.

From friend's experience working in shell n petronas, he say eventhough shell hq is in miri and it is a small town yet they are busier than petronas which he is currently working at in klcc/dayabumi.

It has that kampung atmosphere. Very free. I hv fren working in petronas sabah. And he says petronas kl is nt as bz as sabah.

And i am assuming that ur a fresh grad who nvr works for any other company yet apart from intern?

The MAS situation is quite true...

But then again to the person who quoted me, i should seek out further info from frens who works in petronas. Afterall, one fren who had work in shell told me abt petronas current working environment.

I wanna see petronas high up there to compete wit the world top ong company but seem like petronas maybe losing its edge. Look at Sinopec, cnooc from china. A country with almost no oil n gas apart from the discovered shale gas. They r topping the charts by being top. Petronas?
Petronas are still top, from behind whistling.gif
SUSsupersound
post Aug 14 2015, 09:07 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(apache_utara @ Aug 14 2015, 05:56 PM)
Yeah, that's what happened to me & few colleagues.  laugh.gif

OT:
Read most RAPID projects are funded in mix currencies (USD + EURO + MYR), since USD is higher now, does that mean it's better for the projects?
hmm.gif
Sure would be better, infront of the world will use this excuse to demand more from government, behind look for excuse to delay the project.
Not all materials will be sourced from other countries, most are local.
So far the project are delayed for 1 year whistling.gif
SUSsupersound
post Aug 20 2015, 01:02 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Aug 17 2015, 02:16 PM)
just wanna ask to those that have experience with petronas HR. how frequent do you guys contact the HR to check on your application status?
If want to have fast result, join political party. Now newbie without political party connection won't get result from HR direct.
SUSsupersound
post Aug 21 2015, 01:25 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(minterk @ Aug 20 2015, 11:37 PM)
Seriously need to join a political party to speed up hiring process? sad.gif  sad.gif
Then try dumping e-mails to GLCs, see how long you get reply from them on this though situation.
Or if don't want to join political party, look for politician and follow JibGor's rule number 1 : you help me, I help you.
I already dump in about 20 e-mails and get no reply even after 1 year.
And some people even mentioned this in a FB's closed group.
SUSsupersound
post Aug 21 2015, 10:55 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(adelaide8 @ Aug 21 2015, 10:53 AM)
LOL this guy. What a joke you are! I don't think anyone appreciates your existence in here! Seriously  drool.gif
Yup, now I'm waiting for USD30 a barrel, see who has the final laugh.
A known dirty fact that lowyat forumers trying their very best to deny.
SUSsupersound
post Sep 29 2015, 09:12 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(qeyl90 @ Sep 23 2015, 08:18 PM)
I messed up the structured interview..so sad..sad.gif...been going thru interview session for half a year...one interview then two medical checkups then lastly structured interview then i failed to land d job...
Few of my friends that have another friend that having political background just get offered as senior engineer lately. They not even have good degree results, just 1 short interview and medical checkup and got job already. Not even need 4 months from day 1 they seek for help icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSsupersound
post Sep 29 2015, 01:04 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(qeyl90 @ Sep 29 2015, 11:57 AM)
Well..thats his luck then..having friends in higher places..smile.gif
Not really, before he is using cable to secure a job, he also submitted using normal channel. But for normal, no news at all.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 10 2015, 06:23 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(kamalz90 @ Oct 10 2015, 06:08 PM)
So guys, i had an SI on 3 Sep, and got an email that i passed it on 4 Sep. So i know that i still shouldnt put high hopes on it, but what should i do regularly to, in a way, have some hope on getting an offer
Get some connections icon_idea.gif
SUSsupersound
post Oct 11 2015, 12:28 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nunanuna @ Oct 11 2015, 12:08 PM)
Agree. This is my 3rd month with Pet. I really hate their political game & I wonder why did they hired the wrong people for the wrong position.

In my previous comp, we need to reply a letter within 3 working days (max); here in Pet, it took them 1 month to process a reply letter to outsider. Weird. Weird. Weird.
Well, a sampling point for plant also can design wrong and living with getting wrong results for 4-5 years, what are you expecting?

SUSsupersound
post Oct 12 2015, 10:23 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(wts6819 @ Oct 11 2015, 02:55 PM)
Cos they use the time mostly for smoking and tea time. When issue arise, everyone point each other but nobody giving a solution. Ball game hanging on the air. biggrin.gif
Not to mentioned for ACD that makes engineer good in theory but very poor in real-time problem solver. PPA = wayang time! brows.gif
Every where is the same, Shell are like this, Petron also the same.
An engineer might be very good in physics, but in physics, most of that variables are based on assumption. And assumption are the best failure under O&G troubleshooting doh.gif
That's why Petronas's UOP CCR failed few times thumbup.gif
SUSsupersound
post Oct 12 2015, 01:25 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(wts6819 @ Oct 12 2015, 01:16 PM)
Only in Msia boss. I work with BP engineer at West Australia, Karratha few years back. German engineer at Dubai World Dry Dock. They're freaking knowledgeable and skillful at hands-on work. They can relate their theory, formula and calculation very well with real-time situation. They do agree sometimes the problem can't be explained by theory. It just common sense and experience.

I believe, Msia still long way to go and growing country. But Msia produced quality engineering knowledge compared to other ASIAN country. smile.gif
Well, most engineers from other countries has to work from bottom and climb while ours only need strong cable. That's the difference.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 15 2015, 10:30 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nooryesmin1979 @ Oct 15 2015, 01:24 PM)
I just want to find out something from u guys here.

There was a vacancy (non-engineering) available. And i hv submitted my application then. And that was like two weeks ago. Earlier this week ( monday, i think) i noticed that they hv removed the vacancy from the list.

My question is 1) does that mean that my application went through? And 2) when would they notify me for the interview (kalau dapat lah) ???
1. Any job vacancy will have a time frame for them to look for suitable candidate to fit it. Like if a manager post that required a replacement(depending on the T&C on resignation period), the replacement will need to take over from the out going manager. So like the current policy require 3 months of notice, the job vacancy will be posted anywhere(newspaper, head hunter company) for 1 month, the next month would be interview and selection of the right person and the last month will be accepting the offer, join the company and take over.
2. As stated on the above, if that post require urgent covering, they will notify you.
Not to put salt in your wound, nowadays for a particular post, it will have > 100 people applying for it. So the HR tends to strike out people that are "not fit" for that post. So if you want it fast and get selected, you need to get the right man to help. This is how my friends secured a senior engineer post even they are not fit for it.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 16 2015, 04:29 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nooryesmin1979 @ Oct 16 2015, 09:05 AM)
Thanks. Now my mission is to get the right man huh??
Well, in reality fact, yes. But in cyber world like Lowyat forum, nope, you no need to get the right man.

This post has been edited by supersound: Oct 16 2015, 04:30 PM
SUSsupersound
post Oct 16 2015, 08:05 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nooryesmin1979 @ Oct 16 2015, 07:36 PM)
Hahaha!  I hv submitted two applications....now, where to find a man ????
Well, you need to go to your nearest party division to seek for help.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 17 2015, 11:14 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nooryesmin1979 @ Oct 17 2015, 11:10 AM)
LOL !!! I dont know anyone there lah. I only got tv cable. Must. Pray. Hard.
Well, this I can help any more, since that fellow I know won't simply use his cable to give job for people he don't know nod.gif
SUSsupersound
post Jan 12 2016, 10:02 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Bussybody @ Jan 11 2016, 10:03 PM)
I have applied available positions and drop my cv years ago but got no news.

May I know how to attract Petronas HR to view my profile?

What are they looking at I wonder
You have to go back door, donations to a party division head will solve your problem.
If you don't want to use this way, then you need to wait till oil price recovers back to USD100-120 where Petronas will simply hire people again.

0.0850sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:34 PM