16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Guitars ~ LYN Guitar Phreaks Club ~ V3!, Guitars, Girls and other G type things!

led_zep_freak
post Jun 27 2006, 02:24 AM

5,231 posts

ROFLMAO, new Petrucci video, the best among others :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MefjovJJr-0...related&search=

I know this post would be classified as a spam, but I have nothing else to say other than LOL!!! Watch the vid, guys! Yngwie even makes a cameo appearance. wink.gif

This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: Jun 27 2006, 02:25 AM
led_zep_freak
post Jun 27 2006, 09:48 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(plankton @ Jun 27 2006, 03:34 PM)
Ernie Ball Strings seem to rust faster than the daddario n Boomers.. is it only me or the slinkies r known to rust quicker?
Nope, I agree with you too. I like Ernie Ball Slinkies because they tend to sound brighter and more transparent to my ears but I just can't stand it when it turns black as quick as an hour!

I've read that there're strings that not only sound good but also withstand rust for a long period but they're not available here. sad.gif I used Stainless Steel strings once, it lasted quite long I think, but in the end it still rust. I don't think I liked the sound of them... couldn't really remember now.
led_zep_freak
post Jun 27 2006, 11:12 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Jun 27 2006, 10:46 PM)
how bout elixirs???
how does those perform???
heard their pretty pricey... 50 per pack?
Not too sure, never tried them before, maybe I should.

everdying, my Ernie Ball strings rust very fast... In order to slow down the process I have to clean it everyday... it doesn't happen when I use D'Addarios.
Anyway I usually change my strings once every month. Sometimes 3 weeks +.

Anyone heard of Wolfmother, a fairly new Aussie band?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SKAfxzfGqEw&search=wolfmother
Sounds like Sabbath + Purple + Zeppelin. thumbup.gif

EDIT :
QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jun 27 2006, 10:56 PM)
i've been trying to nail ETB for a long time now, and i am still stuck at 61 bpm.

the reason? for some weird cause i seem to play bloody lazy on it, make stupid mistakes....miss the string, miss the note, not comfortable playing....etc..e.tc

but when i play at 70+ bpm and 80+ bpm i play a lot better and more comforable, mistakes are there but not stupid ones.........and it feels like i am actaully practicing

this has been bugging me, i dont know to stick to 61 bpm and slowly work my way up or put it at 70 and slowly work me way from there
Stay at the tempo where you could play it note perfect and slow work your way up, you know it's worth the time. wink.gif

This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: Jun 27 2006, 11:14 PM
led_zep_freak
post Jun 27 2006, 11:41 PM

5,231 posts

Yeah, they aren't really anything special but I love the way they put those bluesy riffs into good use. And that bassist have a killer bass tone. thumbup.gif Great homage to 70s rock imo, the songs are pretty catchy, I got hooked. biggrin.gif
led_zep_freak
post Jun 28 2006, 12:03 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Jun 27 2006, 11:52 PM)
man
if i change once a month i'd be flat broke

i change all the strings once in 6-7 months when the high e string breaks
if not, it stays... =/
Once every 6/7 months is too long LOL! Once every other month's still ok, just cut down those cyber/yum cha sessions. tongue.gif Btw, if I change every 6-7 months, I won't get to play any guitar because I would probably break 3 of them by the 3rd month lol.
led_zep_freak
post Jun 28 2006, 12:19 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jun 28 2006, 12:02 AM)
the slower i go the sucker i become, i almost wanted to kill my self when i went to 40 bpm.

its like my hands become bloody lazy and mistime everything! bah, timing/ rythem problem?
That probably shows that your playing is sloppy when it's at normal tempo. wink.gif Give it a little more time and practise at 40bpm, eventually you'ill nail it and ready to move on to 42/43bpm. smile.gif
led_zep_freak
post Jun 28 2006, 07:28 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jun 28 2006, 07:07 AM)
hey guys! Now  in Vegas.... just went to the guitar center.... they have my ZaKk Wylde Epi at 799$. Wild get it When in La. will Check up the board when have more time
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif Go for it man... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jun 28 2006, 11:59 AM)
i can play quite ok at normal tempo, its stupid mistakes that i get pissed off about. if its cause i didnt practice enough its ok, i've been stuck at 60 for a looooooong time. and always after 2 times perfect i make one real dumb one and i gottta start all over.
Heh take it easy man, if you feel you're not progressing try something else and come back to it later. Don't forget that music should be something fun. thumbup.gif
led_zep_freak
post Jun 28 2006, 08:36 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Jun 28 2006, 08:13 PM)
i think u have the same problem as i used to have(and maybe now still a tiny little). u've developed speed but not control. too much focus put on speed that it becomes like a sport. im assuming that when u pick up ur guitar and just improvise, that tempo is what u play. only playing at that tempo has become a habit right? i didnt realise i had that problem too until i started playing with more experienced musicians and they told me. mine's not so bad anymore coz they really did drill me making me play everything perfect at the speed they want. well i am sure uve heard it many times, but playing with a metronome is really one of the best ways. u can start byplaying chords. i know it sounds simple, but try strumming chords in perfect timing at a slow speed for a few minutes. record yourself and listen. u'll be surprised how much room there is to improve.
Yup, I can't add anything more other than... you're right.
Recording is a very good way to gauge how well you play to the tempto, just remember to be brutal to yourself when judging, even a slight timing mistake counts. You're the only judge here and if you let yourself go with simple mistakes, nobody else will pinpoint if for you. wink.gif It's when I start recording that I realize how sloppy I am and how bad my sense of timing is, I'm just thankful that I started recording pretty early. wink.gif
led_zep_freak
post Jun 28 2006, 08:55 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(Bassix @ Jun 28 2006, 08:49 PM)
as long as the dude havent pay me...its still mine...hahahaha
and after he pay me...its upgrade time!!! yohoo....

seela shouta...all your fault cause me to spam
As long as it's yours, get some pics for us!!! thumbup.gif

Seelar shouta, cause me to spam also. whistling.gif whistling.gif

Anyway you can message ssslayerrr regarding the THD Hotplate, not sure if he would reply tho.
led_zep_freak
post Jun 29 2006, 01:34 AM

5,231 posts

Me too. biggrin.gif Usually in a band situation I would follow very closely to the drummer, if he screws up the timing, I have to follow too LOL! Anyway in my band my bassist is pretty much locked to the drummer and I usually give certain signals/eye contact when to end/quiet down etc... sometimes the vocalist would do the signal job, depending on which song we play.

But yeah, if the drummer isn't playing on a certain part, I would usually tap my foot and headbang a little to keep the timing. I realize that at times your foottapping would be synced to the movement of your picking hand. So the tapping is gonna be confusing if you play some complex rhythm, hence the headbanging. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: Jun 29 2006, 01:35 AM
led_zep_freak
post Jun 29 2006, 11:13 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(Bassix @ Jun 29 2006, 04:36 AM)
in my opinion, playing to tracks can be easier than playing with a live band.

Yup, totally agreed. Playing with a band and playing it live is very, very different from playing to backing tracks. Don't say wrong tempo, I've even played with ppl who plays in the wrong key! But all these adds to the fun of playing with a band... if you could get a few band members whom you could work well with (like nerd's family band), I suggest you stick with them no matter how bad they play lol, because they're very hard to come by. wink.gif

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Jun 29 2006, 07:19 AM)
well bassist and drummers go together(ok, it sounds wrong). in my former band, if the band practices 3 times a week, the bassist and drummer will spend another extra 2 days just the both of them to practice and nail things down tight.
Wow, really??? What my band do is we would practise once every week before performance and the band would spend extra time talking crap. tongue.gif

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jun 29 2006, 09:07 AM)
just checking in.
I bought a Gibson SG guitar for only 69.99$!

Only works with my ps2  though! ha ha ha! Guitar Hero Baby!
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
led_zep_freak
post Jun 29 2006, 09:04 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 29 2006, 11:50 AM)
oh...
SLAYER and uhh iron maiden might be coming to singapore end of this yr.
MAIDEN!!!! thumbup.gif flex.gif Damn... why do they get the good stuff and all we get was Linkin Park! cry.gif

QUOTE(Criptonox89 @ Jun 29 2006, 07:13 PM)
btw....anybody here is going down to swee lee this coming saturday? what's ur aim?......
You're going??? thumbup.gif

QUOTE(TheWhacker @ Jun 29 2006, 08:28 PM)
Yea, vocalist (who can sing) is very hard to come by. These days, people are aimming for those Malaysian Idol stuff and these kind of singers can't sing rock songs ..... hard to find those who have something like Steven Tyler;s voice.
Do they even exist here in Malaysia?! tongue.gif
led_zep_freak
post Jun 29 2006, 11:59 PM

5,231 posts

Guys, this was posted on Friendster Bulletin Board by echobrainproject :
guys n gals, n both alike...

My friend, Sanpagan San is organising a gig in his
college which is
KBU international college. its located in bandar
utama damasara near sri pentas TV3.

he is looking for bands who are willing to perform
on the 21st of July 06 in kbu for the gig.

So if u r interested in the gig and want to perform
pls send Sanpagan San a message. visit his
profile at
http://www.friendster.com/user.php?uid=7471909

thank u for ur time..
take care n cheers..

I have already messaged the guy about it, now gonna discuss with my band on what songs to play. I think it's a kinda a 'rock musical night' with lots of bands. Inverted Coma are playing too, with a young new drummer, who's my friend. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

If you have a band, come join the gig and let's support each other! thumbup.gif gizmoduck? nerd? j0sh? Anybody? thumbup.gif
led_zep_freak
post Jun 30 2006, 10:27 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Jun 30 2006, 12:03 AM)
meh, my band would embarass ourselves flat playing in a gig like that! sweat.gif
Nah... you guys are alright, just remind you other guitarist not to be so emo hah. jk... tongue.gif

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jun 30 2006, 07:23 AM)
woooo.... more dilemma. iPod just broke, so contemplating on using my Les Paul Fund For a new iPod... Will keep the drama going on..

And Led_zep, will get your pedals in la.... apparently a buy 1 free 1 offer there. Will check out what's that all about.
Dude, iPod you can get it here, anywhere, any time, but once you miss the Les Paul offer, it's either Singapore and never at all. Don't let Steve Jobs brainwash you!!! tongue.gif

Sounds like a sh!t hot deal. thumbup.gif
led_zep_freak
post Jul 1 2006, 01:49 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Jun 30 2006, 06:08 PM)
buy one free one? u shouldnt have mentioned it here but PM me. at least u give one to eong xien and i get to keep the other. tongue.gif hahaha. jk jk.

led zep, if i am free maybe i tumpang u to go watch u perform again. can?
You're more than welcome to chip in 50% of the price. tongue.gif

lol... it's not tumpang anymore because KBU is only 5 minute drive from my place lol. We'ill see how then. biggrin.gif If you can come over to 1U I can definitely pick you up from there.
led_zep_freak
post Jul 2 2006, 10:43 AM

5,231 posts

Sweet Child O' Mine from Taylor's Musical Night, uploaded from my dad's cam. The original sound wasn't that bad, I recorded it from the cam using a cheapo mp4 player. Youtube made the quality worse, so it doesn't sound as bad as it seems at the end. wink.gif
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jzk7z1QGdyw

I uploaded Ziggy Stardust too but can't play it yet :
http://www.youtube.com/?v=DSuR7KukaWQ
led_zep_freak
post Jul 2 2006, 11:13 AM

5,231 posts

Yeah... it's a youtube stream, you don't get to download it. wink.gif

If your connection is as slow as ours, pause it and let it load first. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif Ziggy Stardust vid still not working, darn.
led_zep_freak
post Jul 2 2006, 09:30 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(hydrogen @ Jul 2 2006, 04:10 PM)
LedZep, cool links. thanks.

watch this
my roommate's friends, performing at KLPAC. Both from Taiping. Band name: Silent Scenery, performing their own song.
Hope you enjoyed it. thumbup.gif

The song sounds alright I guess, still loading. Anyway I think they would look better with short hair lol, no offence. tongue.gif

QUOTE(nerd @ Jul 2 2006, 07:55 PM)
dude, that seems like a great gig!  thumbup.gif  although the sound was pretty screwed up, but i could hear and feel the energy from your playing biggrin.gif
No no, the sound is alright, it's not THAT bad. The format conversion and Youtube screwed it up lol! biggrin.gif Still waiting for the damned DVD, that one has decent sound I can assure you. wink.gif Thx for viewing anyway. thumbup.gif
led_zep_freak
post Jul 2 2006, 10:04 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Jul 2 2006, 09:33 PM)
i could only hear your guitar. great tone man. biggrin.gif
Thanks, yeah... it's much better standing only a few centimetres away from the amp. biggrin.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Anyway on the camcorder I could still hear a bit of bass and the drums are clearer. Oh well... sad.gif

Reuploaded Ziggy Stardust :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FXgUjQxdPEc
led_zep_freak
post Jul 3 2006, 11:34 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Jul 3 2006, 11:35 AM)
led zep, youtube did mess up the sound abit... but that day the live sound was pretty bad too
Yeah, but at least the sound of each instruments were pretty clear heh. I have heard PAs which are much much worse in comparison. Though, for the money the club paid and the stuff they have, it should've sounded much better. Shows how screwed up the soundmen are. sad.gif

QUOTE(j05h @ Jul 3 2006, 02:50 PM)
Eh when i open a guitar store, i'll make sure i warn them about you tongue.gif
Post a "not wanted" sign with your pic on it.
Instead of "Stairway Denied" you put "plankton denied". tongue.gif

QUOTE(sean392 @ Jul 3 2006, 07:00 PM)
yea that yamaha stack was cool btw, the knobs turn by themselves!!!!
Lol. it wasnt me rolleyes.gif
[Jakun]Wow, I wanna try one out too.[/Jakun] Is it available in the Subang Parade Yamaha store? tongue.gif

Btw, plankton, does your nickname has anything to do with Spongebob? tongue.gif

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:20 AM