Guitars ~ LYN Guitar Phreaks Club ~ V3!, Guitars, Girls and other G type things!
nerd
Jun 29 2006, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Jun 29 2006, 11:13 AM) Yup, totally agreed. Playing with a band and playing it live is very, very different from playing to backing tracks. Don't say wrong tempo, I've even played with ppl who plays in the wrong key! But all these adds to the fun of playing with a band... if you could get a few band members whom you could work well with (like nerd's family band), I suggest you stick with them no matter how bad they play lol, because they're very hard to come by. agreed. but despite all the difficulty, playing in a band is great fun! it's much better compared than being a bedroom guitarist. you actually feel the song in you. i wouldn't trade that experience for anything else now! ah yeah, but honestly speaking, i get angry with my drummer quite frequently.  but that band ain't gonna be disbanded anytime soon, coz it's unique. all the bandmembers are in another band comprised of their friends too, and i hope to find one when i go to college. This post has been edited by nerd: Jun 29 2006, 11:57 AM
nerd
Jun 30 2006, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Jun 29 2006, 11:59 PM) Guys, this was posted on Friendster Bulletin Board by echobrainproject : I have already messaged the guy about it, now gonna discuss with my band on what songs to play. I think it's a kinda a 'rock musical night' with lots of bands. Inverted Coma are playing too, with a young new drummer, who's my friend. If you have a band, come join the gig and let's support each other!  gizmoduck? nerd? j0sh? Anybody?  meh, my band would embarass ourselves flat playing in a gig like that!
nerd
Jul 2 2006, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Jul 2 2006, 10:43 AM) Sweet Child O' Mine from Taylor's Musical Night, uploaded from my dad's cam. The original sound wasn't that bad, I recorded it from the cam using a cheapo mp4 player. Youtube made the quality worse, so it doesn't sound as bad as it seems at the end. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jzk7z1QGdywI uploaded Ziggy Stardust too but can't play it yet : http://www.youtube.com/?v=DSuR7KukaWQdude, that seems like a great gig!  although the sound was pretty screwed up, but i could hear and feel the energy from your playing
nerd
Jul 2 2006, 09:33 PM
i could only hear your guitar. great tone man.
nerd
Jul 5 2006, 10:04 PM
you guys should look at mine. got chip summore.
nerd
Jul 11 2006, 05:53 PM
damn it, that looks fjooking great!
nerd
Jul 11 2006, 09:16 PM
wow halfstack from parents? i can only dream... bleh, havent touched my guitar for so long since college started.
nerd
Jul 18 2006, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(sean392 @ Jul 18 2006, 10:09 PM) hide hide hide hide hide hide hide hide hide hide hide !!!!!!!!!!! and i agree with you.... its the mark n memory they left in you that makes them an awesome guitarist! not just technical ability which is why micheal angelo doesn't have a very large fanbase.
nerd
Jul 20 2006, 09:24 PM
hey guys i'm still alive. been very busy lately! damn, i don't think i can come this saturday.
nerd
Jul 22 2006, 10:16 AM
the shop is crazy.
nerd
Jul 25 2006, 10:00 PM
played with a RM6k Ovation electro - acoustic belonging to my Physics lecturer. met a super amazing guitarist who was in my class but I didn't know he can play so well.
the convo went something like this..
I saw him playing the Ovation, fingerpicking, so I asked
"you a classical player?"
"not really. electric actually. fingerpicking easy what."
"what type of songs?"
"heavy metal."
"metallica, megadeth, BLS blablabla?"
"prefer megadeth. the older one when friedman was in it. don't really like pitrelli and the new megadeth with poland."
"oh. one of my fav megadeth songs is tornado of souls."
he belted out the whole solo right in front of my eyes. on an acoustic.
I came.
and then he told me he was trying to learn jazz, his favorite guitarist being a brazilian. he showed me 4-finger tapping. a backing track started playing. he began to shred and improvise on it.
I came. twice.
nerd
Jul 26 2006, 06:29 PM
[quote=led_zep_freak,Jul 25 2006, 11:16 PM] Oh, so the guy who came twice at my playing was you ar??? Damn, how long has he been playing then? 5 years. totally self taught through videos, according to him, with a little piano theory he picked up when he was younger.
nerd
Aug 15 2006, 08:27 PM
w00t haven't posted here in a loooooooooong time! been reallyyyy busy. anyway, just to let you guys know that i'll be performing with my college choir at sunway lagoon ampitheater on merdeka eve!  anyone who's free can come and see.  anyway, i haven't played much songs on my guitar lately, i prefer to just play some scales... i think i wanna relearn from scratch.
nerd
Aug 15 2006, 11:16 PM
free event methinks, it's part of the merdeka countdown celebration! we'll be singing a medley of patriotic songs, and also my lecturer's own english songs.
nerd
Aug 16 2006, 09:22 PM
maybe, our lecturer said there's a possibility they might call us up to lead the singing after the countdown.
nerd
Aug 16 2006, 10:51 PM
haha you people.. want me to kena tangkap ar?  +3kk!, yes.. performing there, ambang merdeka thing. should be there. hey now when i think of it, metallica can be a good idea.. and say that there was a sabotage..
nerd
Aug 16 2006, 11:05 PM
lol.. it's a choir la! there's an ensemble playing the backing track too, but i'm not in it.  the lead guitarist is super good though, observe him if you have the chance.  dunno what amp are they gonna give.
nerd
Aug 31 2006, 11:56 AM
anyone was at ambang merdeka yesterday? led_zep_freak got my number out of nowhere so i was pretty surprised when he called to introduce himself. took some time for me to register the info in my head, heh.  sorry ledzep, i couldn't go out to give you tickets. really sorry. =\
nerd
Aug 31 2006, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Aug 31 2006, 12:00 PM) It's ok lol... I got it from Ben... I was still at Subang, so thought of dropping by rather than getting stuck in the jam. How did your gig turn out anyway?  great, it feels really fun because the whole band lineup was so good.
nerd
Aug 31 2006, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(TheWhacker @ Aug 31 2006, 12:25 PM) What's the band lineup ?  Let me guess Disagree, Pop Subit ??? And why never post it at the Music Event, Concert & Workshop Information thread ? i wish! i meant, the ensemble lineup for my choir.