Guitars ~ LYN Guitar Phreaks Club ~ V3!, Guitars, Girls and other G type things!
j05h
Jul 14 2006, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 14 2006, 12:23 AM) well the ash series strat in a real fender. i was actually looking at that model earlier today on the fender website. falls under fender's american deluxe series which explains its high price. think what that guy on ebay has is a older model, cos the current ones dont have seymour duncans. yet no idea what the MN means  Hmmm. Backtrack a bit. AmDlx Ash Strats and MIA and expensive MIK Lite Ash Strats are not. I guess you already now that these do come with Duncans. They're Special Ed, bilt for fender by the Korean factory under license and supervision. Same as the CIJs that end up in FenderUSA's inventory, like the Electric 12. Those are built in Japan in factories like Fujigen, and sold domestically by FJapan, but FenderUSA brings some over. It's all in the serial numbers. For Strats: 010/011 - MIA 013 - MIM 026 - MIK 027 - CIJ
j05h
Jul 14 2006, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 14 2006, 04:45 PM) so any idea how much are the lite ash series here? i assume close to rm3k? Maybe. It's as much as Bents wants to charge for it. A lot, lah. For that price, it puts you smack in the middle of order-CIJ-from-Ishi territory. Which gets you: more choice, potentially more value for $, probably a better guitar with the relevant bragging rights (pwn those MIMs heh heh), and a damn headache dealing with KDRM.
j05h
Jul 15 2006, 01:05 PM
First batch of ESPs from Shibuya's ESP shop. Have a good look at their vintage collection. Those guitars are impressive, but don't look to well cared for. The wall of Gibsons comes from the vintage room in the Shibuya Ishi, cos no other Ishi I've been to has the wooden display cabinets. I guess the picture taker must've then moved on to Ikebe-Gakki, which is the underground one on the other side of Shibuya, next to a couple of other stores. Memories indeed
j05h
Jul 17 2006, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(plankton @ Jul 17 2006, 10:56 AM) Why? CK knows Kirk ah?
j05h
Jul 19 2006, 10:26 AM
I see wher everdying is coming from. If I only had a certain amount of money, I'd put it in the best I can afford. If the best could be better, why not hold out for a bit more? It's not about what brand is on the headstock or what. A guitar is the sum of its parts really, and if you're gonna put that money down, there's no point putting it down on parts that you don't really fancy.
Everdying clearly doesn't share the budget constraint problem a newbie has, and clearly has developed an eye for guitars.
I know there are great Squiers out there, but if I had money to spend, I'd try to get the best I can afford, and something I really want. Simple as that.
j05h
Jul 25 2006, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(hydrogen @ Jul 25 2006, 08:18 AM) Yeah hey, Friday would be cool. but wat time? i got Exams on the same day. Hmmm i wanna come to. Friday ah? What time? Got work on the same day. What time does Bents close? How about the next public hol? Are they open? How about everdying taking a day off on the weekend?
j05h
Jul 26 2006, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jul 26 2006, 01:01 PM) I think I might be able to go for the farewell concert thingamajic..... Should I bring my LP along??? Only if you're gonna play it. Ok, so it's Sat the 5th, 12 noon... So how do we know who's who? Maybe we should all have nametags. Or wear a black t-shirt
j05h
Jul 28 2006, 11:53 AM
What are you all talking about, recognising each other? Why is that important? The important thing is recognising the guitars  We know what Zakk, ahem, blacktrix is bringing. So list down what you're bringing, and it's easier to match the owner to the guitar.
j05h
Aug 10 2006, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Aug 10 2006, 09:39 PM) wana ask u all whats ur opinion on a baby taylor. If given the right nurturing and parenting, it'll grow into a big boy!
j05h
Aug 12 2006, 03:56 AM
Behringer is great when it comes to reverse engineering.
j05h
Aug 14 2006, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Aug 14 2006, 04:49 PM) It's no fairy tale but hey... nobody's perfect! Welcome back... there were 58295943208 flame wars while you were having fun in England but nothing we can't handle. you call those flame wars? hah. back in my day..... blah blah blah insert several jamtanking miscreants blah blah blah...
j05h
Aug 16 2006, 11:19 AM
That's just wrong...
She should be bent over doggy...
j05h
Aug 16 2006, 07:06 PM
QUOTE(jones007 @ Aug 16 2006, 03:29 PM) and u gona cut a hole there for ur deeckie? omg Where do you think the jack plugs in? But got to remember to sand it smooooooth, dun wan splinters.
j05h
Aug 26 2006, 07:06 PM
QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Aug 26 2006, 05:51 PM) Echo, one man's meat is another man's poison. Anyway, it seems that Fender's using the 'thin nitro finish' as a pro of the Highway One series.  I don't mind some wear and tear on my guitar, but I know a lot of ppl who don't! And then the Alnico III pickups... I would've prefered IV or II as they're brighter sounding and probably more vintage sounding. Oh well. They used the Sher-wood CAB-acrylic lacquer on the original H1s, and those are quite matte and they'd wear thru eventually. But it was not nitro, and it didn't have the VOC content nitro does, and so did not exceed environmental regulations. Now that they say they're using thin nitro, and when they say that it usually means it's 2-3 nitro clearcoats over a poly layer, but in this cas i believe it's the nitro clear over the CAB-acrylic. This kills the overly-matte appearance of the original H1 but retains the wear-thruability. The modern nitro they use is not the same as the original type from the 50's. It's less brittle these days, and more resistant to cold-checking and UV yellowing. I may be wrong, tho.
j05h
Sep 9 2006, 01:05 PM
QUOTE(dannyooi_84 @ Sep 9 2006, 12:13 PM) who is josh?..can you enlighten me...so for bothering.... That would be me. Shipping charges are listed on the site. 10k yen, including insurance = RM315. Then there's the 10% sales tax for Customs. If you get PosLaju to deliver to your door it'll cost more than if you go straight to Customs to pick up. Overall, it is a bit cheaper, but not by much... A mid-range CIJ will still cost nearly 3k to bring in. The plus side is getting something rare.