QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 18 2014, 10:23 AM)
ah but you are giving the example of 2 same vehicle with double the torque and same horsepower and example 2, double horsepower, same torque..
might as well compare, proton with porsche..can conclude with certainty which one will sure win the acceleration test.
When comparing the effects of certain parameter/variable. All other variables must be controlled or made constant. This is standard practices. If you try to claim the effects of the parameters without doing that, those scientists/engineers would laugh at you man.
why dont you say 10% difference in torque and horse power, but different gearing/gearbox which will affect the outcome differently.
Gearing/gearbox doesn't affect the outcome
at all. Gearing ratios are calculated from the given engine's power and torque chart. The one that would affect the outcome is the difference in torque and power chart between engines. There are optimal gearing ratios for every car, if you're talking about adjustable gearing ratios to fight on drag strips, sorry but that's for racing purposes and doesn't apply to production cars.
as i said, in a conventional ICE, max power comes at 6-7k rpm , at 3-4k rpm max torque level, you dont get full power., hence you wont get full acceleration.
if you got a gearbox that lets you rev to max power sooner, and stay there.. then if both cars with same horsepower+torque, the one with the gearing advantage to let you do so will accelerate faster.
Every naturally aspirated Internal Combustion Engine have the characteristics as you said. But you need to understand that the peak torque range is affected by:
1) Camshaft timing & lift
2) Shape of the combustion chamber
3) The design of cylinder heads (number of valves and position)
4) Shape of the intake manifold/plenum
5) Shape of the exhaust manifold/plenum
6) Length of intake manifold
7) Length of exhaust manifold
8) Length, dimension, and equipments installed on exhaust (4-2-1, s-flow or straight mufflers etc)
There are many factors that determine the torque curves, for example the shape of the combustion chamber, valves, intake manifold exhaust etc etc affects the speed of the intake gas going into the cylinder. Different configurations affects different volumetric efficiency of the engine at different rpm because the ideal engine must have different configurations for different rpm for optimal engine performance at every rpm. This is the reason why manufacturers introduced variable valve timing and lift technologies. Here's some additional info for you, there will be a choke point at which if the speed of the intake gas is higher than the speed of sound, the total volume of the gas that are able to go into the combustion chamber will be dramatically lowered with the added speed.
Did you noticed that normal cars have max torque at lower rpm range to help with drivability while high performance naturally aspirated cars have max torque at really high rpms?
That's just naturally aspirated cars What about forced-induction cars? Turbocharged cars are totally different, take for example a Toyota Supra with twin sequential turbochargers. 90% of the max torque (325 lb ft) of the 2JZ-GTE engine is available from 1300rpm onwards.

You said that max power rpm must be higher than max torque rpm, but why the chart above indicates the max torque rpm is the same with max power rpm, is this blasphemy? No, sorry just great engineering.
QUOTE(john_white @ Sep 18 2014, 10:30 AM)
oi2 ini thread moto lah bkn engineering yada2
Sorry man haha, engineers tak bleh tahan kalo tak defend balik fakta.
This post has been edited by terradrive: Sep 18 2014, 01:18 PM