9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

DIY DIY cable, Pictures of DIY cables

TSPcWork
post Oct 10 2007, 03:30 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Oct 10 2007, 12:42 AM)
A quick question over here, what kind of solder you guys are using? Dunno where I can get those audiophile grade solder in Malaysia without importing from overseas biggrin.gif
QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Oct 10 2007, 01:41 AM)
lol.. your timing is just nice..
please PM yeah_guyz.

*hint hint* - WBT silver solder tongue.gif
that cable kena tax gau-gau leh..... i bleeding this whole week.. =~(
hari raya time shouldn't import things.. =(

TSPcWork
post Jan 14 2008, 11:26 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

will post some photo of my newly made cable soon. =)
yeahs4.1
ur works seems great. =)

i had made myself a van den hul cable.
with some speaker jumper for my speaker bi-wire jumper connection.
=)

TSPcWork
post Feb 19 2008, 03:01 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(Sanko @ Feb 12 2008, 02:39 AM)

lol there goes my van den hul the bay C-5 cable..
i really miss the sound of it after i sell it. .i really regret.. make me gone crazy. my whole setup sound thin after i sell this cable to u.
and that make me gone crazy and directly buy van den hul MCD D102MKIII after that.. =(

anyone interested in original van den hul can call me up.
price :
1m pair van den hul the bay C-5 + 4pcs Neutrik profi + silver black sleeve + WBT silver solder lead = RM 350
1m pair van den hul MCD D102 MKIII Hybrid cable + 4 Pcs Neutrik profi RCA + WBT Silver soldering lead = RM 500

both cable were RCA-RCA. note that D102 cable is flagship of the mid range interconnect from van den hul. and retail price for factory terminated 1m pair D102 ranging from RM 950- RM 1100 now. (of course, factory terminated might have slight better quality)
cable source were coming from authorized dealer and guaranteed that it is original.

TSPcWork
post Mar 20 2008, 12:25 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

it's been some time i didn't upload photo for my diy cable. =)
here it goes.

my current setup. consist of NAD3020A, Marantz CD-46 and JVC CDP.
speaker is NAD 804 with hatakama footer, epos ES-11 on top of it. which my NAD is now serve as stand for my bookshelve. lol

DIYed 8 strand braid cable for my NAD804 floor stander

some old friend had already seen this couple of times.

DIY speaker jumper for my NAD804 floorstander, to replace the default metal jumper. really improve a lot on the smoothness over spectrum.

these jumper were made using Goodman (UK) speaker cable.

Van Den Hul D102 MKIII Hybrid cable as interconnect.
so far this cable sound the best in my whole inventory of cable.... ask coolerthings / akabane for review.. lol

Terminated with Neutrik Profi Plug, with WBT 4% Silver soldering lead.

DIY'ed CAT5e cable for my epos ES-11 speaker.
it's an single wire to Bi-wire configuration as epos does not allow me to add any jumper on the speaker.

so each side of the speaker consist of TWO cable, one for bass, one for treble. bigger one is designed for bass, while thinner one is for treble.

the specific cable at the end to amp.

TSPcWork
post Mar 20 2008, 12:18 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(MadZiZ @ Mar 20 2008, 06:33 AM)
Nice work PcWorks smile.gif I like your speaker cables. How much for one?
the speaker wire will be RM 700 for two meter pair, single wire to bi wire. (2 wire to 4 wire each channel)
slightly cheaper on single wire to single wire (2 wire to 2 wire each channel)
because the each channel of bass cable alone consist of more than 100 small strain cable. i have to braid all of them in 4 pair configuration before braid them into big bunch.
take me a few day to make that.
plugs are quality banana from CMY audio.
this cable is extremely low capacitance, and extremely QUIET.
there's one user with AE 1 / and Epos ES-14 also using this cable. and compare to his nordost cable / taralab cable.

QUOTE(ken3011 @ Mar 20 2008, 06:41 AM)
PcWorks always come out wit super nice cable...
loves it wats ur recomendation for me to use a bi cable for my jmlab speaker?
izzit venus cable nice?
it's depend. some speaker did sound good on bi'wire.
u will have to try it out.
venus i never try, cannot tell u the performance. sorry

This post has been edited by PcWork: Mar 20 2008, 12:22 PM
TSPcWork
post Mar 22 2008, 04:57 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

speaker cable currently i like the super cat5 speaker cable. =)

TSPcWork
post Mar 25 2008, 11:52 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

made by myself.

TSPcWork
post Apr 9 2008, 08:08 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

that's what come with old batch AEGO M ..
exactly the same cable.

TSPcWork
post Apr 12 2008, 12:16 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Apr 11 2008, 10:23 PM)
Wonder how much this jumper cost...??
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Apr 11 2008, 11:17 PM)
Better than the metal? Really? In what sense?
that one i sell Rm 200 for two pair. (1 set), try check QED, they use smaller wire, only 1 pcs yet selling RM 480 for two pair.
and i compared this with QED jumper. and both sound very similar, with similar detail , yet different characteristic. mine has more vocal, and the QED has more treb.

better in term the gap between the tweeter and the mid bass is vanished.
when i was using the metal jumper. there's a gap which the sound is weaken in between crossover point.
seems like tweeter sing itself, while bass sing itself too.
with this jumper, it has more upper mid which produced by both tweeter and mid bass.
high vocal sounds much much more better as compared to metal jumper.
and the treble also more sparkling yet not so harsh. hence the detail, soundstage and positioning overall does improve. that's why i am surprised that this jumper can make such big different.
TSPcWork
post Apr 12 2008, 12:43 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Apr 12 2008, 12:31 AM)
200.....any thing low cost that this?
no
as it uses good quality banana plug X4, spade X4.
banana plug cost is about RM 14 each. spade RM 12 each.
cable were GoodMan Cable, made in england.

TSPcWork
post Apr 17 2008, 02:43 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

no.
for the reason
read here
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coaxial_cable

TSPcWork
post Apr 18 2008, 11:39 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

that is techflex from USA. jalan pasar also got. but not same type =)
i previously ordered this techflex from alamaklor. but he do itlike charity bulk for once only.

TSPcWork
post Apr 19 2008, 01:35 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

beside ICelectronic shop..
but the price is...=P even more ex than i buy from USA.
hahaha

TSPcWork
post Apr 19 2008, 03:50 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

there are cheaper one. but the quality same as what jalan pasar offer. those computer sleeve.
but. it's best u can organise a bulk. or some one in canada/ usa to help out
the quality of techflex is much different.
and local computer sleeve is not heat tolerance. which when u using heatshrink on it. it will MELT.

TSPcWork
post Apr 20 2008, 07:25 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

hm.. i personally don't have so low cost one.
as banana plug each, is around RM 16. and u need at least 8 for 1 pair speaker cable.
cost for plugs alone is almost the price already lol...
those jalan pasar banana plug sound sucks to my ear.
no matter u use how good the cable. it will sound harsh.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Apr 20 2008, 07:26 PM
TSPcWork
post Apr 20 2008, 08:46 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

sorry. at this moment i dont have. good wire were all van de hul / transparent.
which price is above RM 200 per meter.

i afraid then u spend RM250 yet don't get an improvement, u might as well blame on me. lol

This post has been edited by PcWork: Apr 20 2008, 08:48 PM
TSPcWork
post Apr 20 2008, 10:05 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

definitely yes. else why i spend so much on my cable as well as my setup?
and to be honest. all my cable ARE tonality balanced. and preferably balanced bass.

so basically.. having nice bass , and tonal balance is a BASIC factor in making my cable. those cable which produce only treb / blur bass are FAILURE product and i don't sell those things. i rather use those cable to hang my cloth rather then sell it.
u can ask those friend who familiar with me, that did i ever produce a cable that is lean to either bright/ bassy sound?
=P
even Qable 6N pure silver cable (solid core) failed for my personal preference. and it is not even sell to any single customer, due to it's bass respond. it's bright, it's detail . but it's bass is sucks imho. and my personal tuned cable that i am selling now is FAR better than that.
there's one forumer yesterday meet me up in KLCC. to test out a silver cable and a copper cable which he interested to buy.
he also can be a judge for the cable.. NOTE: he is using a super sexy "sleek-SA6" earphone.

TSPcWork
post Apr 20 2008, 11:28 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Apr 20 2008, 11:22 PM)
I just wonder how you test the cable to such degree you can discern clear distinction between accurate base and that is muddled. do u use those audiophile cd /v demonstration cd or u have some instrument to check .
yes
for both vocal/ bass/ treble i have a few XRCD disc.and then i will test the overall musicality on my setup. both speaker and headphone.
=)

i usually test bass with Drum & Track Disc from sheffield Lab LIM XRCD.

for your reference.
current favorites test disc :

The sheffield Lab Drum & Track Disc LIM XRCD2.
Andrea Bocelli : Amore (USA Version)
Russel Watson : Amore Musica (German Version)
Mary Black : The collection ( Dublin Version)
Mary Black : No Frontiers ( Dublin Version)
Susan Wong : Someone Like You (SACD)
Jennifer Warnes : The Hunter (EC Version)
TakeDake with Neptune : Asian Roots (Denon Test Disc, USA version)
Denon HifiString (Denon Test Disc, USA Version)
Julio Iglesias : L'homme gue je suis (German Version)
Josh Groban : Josh Groban (USA version)
Josh Groban : Closer (EU Version)
Josh Groban : Awake (EU Version)
蔡琴&鲍比达:遇见 XRCD2
蔡琴:机遇 淡水小镇原声带 XRCD2
王菲 : 天空 (XRCD2)

for stereo-stereo mini cable for portable use. i will use IM716, audio technica M30. and HD580. the first two will be test as analytical. while HD580 will test for overall "enjoyable" or not.

some times. for RCA-RCA / speaker cable. iwill bring the specific cable to CMY audio or Perfect Hifi to test it out with proper hifi setup. according to the price range. which usually around RM 8-15K. and compare it to Zu cable / Transparent lowest end cable / VDH cable. while CMY audio can test Siltech. audioquest, and QED. =)

i am hell serious when i making one cable. but not all cable i will bring to test. as some i will test on my own. then if i feel it's the best among all cable i has. i will bring to different setup in friends house (coolerthings , yuheng) or different hifi shop friend place to test it out.
to know how is my cable compared to other cable. and sometime to show my hifi shop friend "see? i made this.. "lol

This post has been edited by PcWork: Apr 20 2008, 11:45 PM
TSPcWork
post Apr 20 2008, 11:44 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

yes
MS1 recable DID improve A LOT.
i did bring one recabled MS1 to the previous speaker gathering. and there's a lot of ppl shocked by it's performance.
the cable to recable is canare cable. it suit the taste of MS1.

TSPcWork
post Apr 26 2008, 11:08 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Apr 21 2008, 10:14 PM)
Do you make subwoofer cable ?? if "YES", how much for 2 metres ?

AudioQuest SUB-X subwoofer cable
yes. with GS-6 canare cable + 2 canare F-10 + WBT silver soldering lead + sleeve = RM 100

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Apr 21 2008, 10:29 PM)
Bro, 2 questions here.

1. Need a 0.3m stereo one end straight and the other end L share connector] , pls quote options.

2. Recable Bose Companion 3 Series II Satellite Speakers.
i short of L shape connector at the moment, wait i ask my pals they got extra or not. as far as i know yeahguy has.. =P
i try buaya from him...

the satellite speaker is using fix wire at the satelite and bare wire at woofer?
can be done.

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0483sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:17 AM