U Mobile U-Mobile Thread V5, www.u.com.my

azrash
post Nov 7 2013, 01:15 AM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(SmokeyTheBear @ Nov 6 2013, 10:01 PM)
I am also using MB 128 Postpaid, using the same Huawei E173 modem.

Also getting very poor speed AGAIN. 0.83 mbps dl and 0.26 mbps ul, tested at 9.50 pm. Johor Bahru.

Complained to U Mobile several times about 6 months ago and they replied with "can't find anything wrong". Only after I complained to consumerinfo.my did U Mobile start paying attention. After a long series of complaints, finally it was fixed for a few months, I got decent speed of about 3-4 mb dl even during peak.
They keep trying to get new subscribers but don't improve their infrastructure. They somewhat admitted to it when the Customer Service replied to my emails, telling me they were going to build a new station near my area, but no confirmed date.

Now, the speed is crawling again. Been using U Mobile for more than a year, but now I give up! Thinking of switching to Yes 4G Postpaid as there is no plan. Anyone know if Yes 4G is fast/reliable?

Can't get Unifi as my street has low demand and TM refuses to pull the cable to my street. P1 can get it done but costs 300 I think.
a friends uses Yes 4g on the highway, going north from KL to penang, he managed to get 13mbps on the go and a few devices were able to stream from the Yes Dongle smoothly. This was years ago though, when they first launched.

if you can find a way to try the speed first for a few days, that'll be the best option. check with their rep if you can loan or rent a modem to try for a few days or something,

However, certain area might have issues. In KL, another friend that is living at a high rise builidng, couldn't get a decent speed which is normal for people that is living at that level and up. so your mileage may vary.
azrash
post Jan 6 2014, 12:16 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jan 6 2014, 11:27 AM)
both are same card and same privilege. called Ucard because have U logo. Even if you view Ucard points in U.com.my, all data actually coming from Bcard server.

to be honest. I'd rather see Umobile giving out the B-card.

Heck the Berjaya group should give B-card to all their 'members' instead of giving out rebranded B-card. it is all sort of confusing.

and if I were to use the U-card at their other partners, would they definitely know it is a B-card? sticking with just one card ie B-card is more streamlined and easier I guess. maybe i am getting old laugh.gif

This post has been edited by azrash: Jan 6 2014, 12:28 PM
azrash
post Jan 6 2014, 03:53 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jan 6 2014, 12:36 PM)
I don't want to use but umobile sent me the card, so just register la...  never use elsewhere pun. I hate to carry to many card in pocket.

Same for AEON, there is AEON Jusco card and new one is AEON Big card, both from same company but cannot use together.  doh.gif

Even some electric shop that only have 1 shop also have card now.
Exactly. And most of these 'privilege /members' cards use magnetic strips instead of barcode, so have to carry them to earn points. Barcode, I can just add them in my key ring app.
azrash
post Mar 9 2014, 01:26 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Mar 9 2014, 11:25 AM)
Alamak... what the intl no to call ? I deleted aldy... before this i save google no... +1 650 253 0000
So step still same ? Call within 2 secs and hang-up ?

QUOTE(CnY Garage @ Mar 9 2014, 12:58 PM)
cheapest rate isĀ  calling china

try to search for some china bank help line =.= only RM 0.05

I use Google Beijing, +86-10-62503000

http://www.google.com.my/about/jobs/locations/beijing/

This post has been edited by azrash: Mar 9 2014, 01:26 PM
azrash
post Apr 18 2014, 11:43 AM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(stren89 @ Apr 16 2014, 11:58 PM)
Best internet plan and pricing for mobile services in Malaysia.

But the customer service in Ipoh sucks to max. Bad attendants and CS staffs always putting on sulky face like there are no other competition around.

UMobile execs reading this take note especially their CMO, Jasmine Lee take note.

Your Ipoh branch CS staffs have one of the rudest people around. If a customer walks in to terminate the line, after hearing from them immediately they'll do it without hesitance. Totally no respect for customers and rude replies!

RM50 for 2GB + Free UNLIMITED calls to all UMOBILE numbers.
Good for all day instant messaging and OTT voice calls.

Quota depletes only RM10 for every subsequent 1.5GB top-up.

Way better than DiGi and Maxis in pricing. HSPA Speed is as good as Maxis's HSPA network since they are sharing.
Email a formal complaint to their cs and ask for a case number. This way they'll be in the system and they can take proper action. If there is even a Umobile exec that is actually lurking here, it is better to tell them straight away.

They won't know about the poor service unless it is reported.
azrash
post Apr 22 2014, 02:16 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(sweeseng85 @ Apr 22 2014, 10:14 AM)
no sifu can help me ?
are you currently using umobile on your phone or other device? LTE is a big jump from HSPA+, but if your area is not covered, then you'll not be fully utilising the LTE mifi.

i suggest for you to try a prepaid sim on an LTE enabled phone, and check whether the places that you'll be using it has Umobile LTE coverage, and check the average speed.

frankly speaking, LTE coverage wise, Maxis is leading the game. so you might want to try a prepaid maxis on your lte device too before deciding on which carrier to use.

on the question whether is LTE worth it? yes it is. faster than unifi 20mbps.

the max i got with DC-HSPA+ was 20.++
azrash
post May 31 2014, 02:03 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ May 31 2014, 12:04 PM)
now only i know that even u have sufficient balance credit in acc, the umi28 will not auto renew unless u got to do fresh top up credit... shxt policy

are you sure? I reloaded 100 during the 8% promo and so far it has auto renewed fine so far, on my end.
azrash
post Jun 7 2014, 09:32 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(AriesChai @ Jun 6 2014, 01:04 PM)
can u mobile prepaid top up rm100 for 200days vadility?

which umi plan for more value? umi18 or umi 28?
Use an app that track your calls, SMS, and data usage and you'll know which plan will fit your usage best.

For Android, I recommend Call Meter 3G. It is lightweight and spartan.

This post has been edited by azrash: Jun 7 2014, 09:33 PM
azrash
post Jul 9 2014, 07:51 AM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(youloke @ Jul 8 2014, 11:02 PM)
I use uni138, 20gb broadband, speed?hsdpa speed 0.50, ping 138ms. Wtf? Dont even know how to utilise my data, lousy and sucks.
posting here won't do much difference. screenshot your speedtest, and email it to SKMM and cc Umobile's customer service. nod.gif
azrash
post Aug 10 2014, 01:04 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(sugardaddy @ Aug 5 2014, 12:07 AM)
wanna ask sifu-sifu
if i use strictly for whatsap/wechat max 1-2 hours per day,
what UMI plan should i get?

thanks.
depends on how much data you use per month. My dad is on tunetalk's RM2/week 100MB. good enough for whatsapp and Waze that he uses daily. he normally has 40-50 MB left at the end of the week. call rate is cheaper than UMobile too.

QUOTE(biatche @ Aug 9 2014, 12:11 AM)
Hello, trying to figure out the best plan for me

(calls up to 60min calls / month, 20-30sms, 1/2 day data usage per month, less than 50MB likely)

i'm currently on maxis... considering digi family plan or umobile family plan if there's one. (1 principal account, 2 supplementary accounts)

Any suggestions? How's umobile coverage? I don't wanna travel here or there then suddenly see coverage so poor.

Please share opinions on digi vs maxis vs umobile
can consider tunetalk too if you are low data user. as tunetalk is very cheap for calls and it uses Celcom's network. if you know your rough usage per month. you can do some rough costing.

my parents are on tunetalk because they call more instead of using data. they saved around roughly RM400/year per line by switching out from the previous celcom postpaid

my sister and I are on umobile since we are data heavy user.

This post has been edited by azrash: Aug 10 2014, 01:10 PM
azrash
post Jan 26 2015, 09:18 AM

1,174 posts

a UMI28 user here. Usually once my free minutes are used up. I use Hangout to place calls. 0.03 Canadian dollar / min, roughly equivalent to 9-10 sen / min. you'll need internet connection, but still a lot cheaper than PAYU. calling Malaysia landline is only 0.02 CAD.

and using hangout to call overseas' numbers is cheaper than using the traditional IDD. calling china is only 0.01 CAD(around 0.03 RM / min).

another tip, pay in Canadian Dollar instead of USD because CAD's currency is cheaper than USD, and they dont fluctuate as much.

Hangout is cheaper than Viber for most places.
azrash
post Jan 27 2015, 11:55 AM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jan 26 2015, 04:34 PM)
So i need to install below :-
Hangouts Dialer - Call Phones

And call msia hp no using country code (eg : +6012 345 6789) ?
From where the money deducted ? From my prepaid balance ?
you can follow the guide here to add credit. pick CAD instead USD. https://support.google.com/hangouts/answer/...f_topic=3187124

yeap just dial +6012 345 6789)
azrash
post Feb 2 2015, 05:05 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(PakBelalang2014 @ Jan 31 2015, 11:50 PM)
Thanks for the info. Anyway how to pay in CAD. It only show in USD
select 'change currency' in the attached photo.

0.0593sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:40 PM