118 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Has Soundbars Improved to Usable Levels?

SSJBen
post Oct 26 2015, 04:29 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Shinka @ Oct 26 2015, 04:12 PM)
I wonder why no one has recommended Sonos?

The Playbar is one of the nicest sounding soundbars I have heard so far.
Yes it is a great sounding bar. Too bad it only has ONE input.

The other problem? Because it uses and optical input, that means it is stuck with Dolby Digital and DTS tracks from the TV. However, we are nearly in 2016 but yet there are still many TVs that do not send DD over its optical output. Even less TVs support DTS encodes. doh.gif

Finally, for 3.8k without a sub and limited inputs? Why not just get an entry level AVR + a pair of bookshelf speakers + 2nd hand sub for about the same price that would literally blow the Sonos playbar out of the water?

The price makes zero sense.

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Oct 26 2015, 04:12 PM)
bro which would you recommend then?  smile.gif
For 1k or less? The Sony CT380 is about as good as it gets for price-performance-functionality, there are no soundbars at this price range that has 3 HDMI inputs and supports decoding for all the major formats. Plus, it at least sounds decent.

If audio quality is the most important, the Philips HTL3140b actually sounds better than the CT380 despite its size.

QUOTE(rhys86 @ Oct 26 2015, 04:19 PM)
i see... but bro.. if a budget of RM1k-1.3k lets say.. what other choices do i have... for a balance kick in the bass and also sound quality...
At this price, you'd probably want to look at the Sony CT780 instead. There was a Sony sale before that brought it down to 1.3k+ not too long ago. Year-end is coming up, so they usually do have a sale around then IINM.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Oct 26 2015, 04:31 PM
Shinka
post Oct 26 2015, 04:34 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 26 2015, 04:29 PM)

The other problem? Because it uses and optical input, that means it is stuck with Dolby Digital and DTS tracks from the TV. However, we are nearly in 2016 but yet there are still many TVs that do not send DD over its optical output. Even less TVs support DTS encodes. doh.gif

Finally, for 3.8k without a sub and limited inputs? Why not just get an entry level AVR + a pair of bookshelf speakers + 2nd hand sub for about the same price that would literally blow the Sonos playbar out of the water?

For 1k or less? The Sony CT380 is about as good as it gets for price-performance-functionality, there are no soundbars at this price range that has 3 HDMI inputs and supports decoding for all the major formats. Plus, it at least sounds decent.

If audio quality is the most important, the Philips HTL3140b actually sounds better than the CT380 despite its size.
At this price, you'd probably want to look at the Sony CT780 instead. There was a Sony sale before that brought it down to 1.3k+ not too long ago. Year-end is coming up, so they usually do have a sale around then IINM.
Actually I agree, the sonos playbar does not even support DTS. It only supports DD and DD5.1.

It uses an 'upscaling' tech by converting PCM from the tv into its own 'fake' Digital Surround sound.

Nevertheless, I was really impressed by its performance, its cable-free ecosystem and also the fact that it plays music very well.

Most home theater set ups are all about booming explosions, sound effects, they dont really play music with much heft.
SSJBen
post Oct 26 2015, 04:42 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Shinka @ Oct 26 2015, 04:34 PM)
Actually I agree, the sonos playbar does not even support DTS. It only supports DD and DD5.1.

It uses an 'upscaling' tech by converting PCM from the tv into its own 'fake' Digital Surround sound.

Nevertheless, I was really impressed by its performance, its cable-free ecosystem and also the fact that it plays music very well.

Most home theater set ups are all about booming explosions, sound effects, they dont really play music with much heft.
KEF Q100 + Pioneer VSX329k = RM3.1k

Music, gaming, movies, you name it, it covers it. Need some explosions for cheap? Plenty of amazing 2nd hand subs but in great condition deals at hifi4sale.net

Obviously, that's just a very brief example of what can be done with significantly less money than from a soundbar.
rhys86
post Oct 26 2015, 04:45 PM

331 posts

i see bro.. how about brands like samsung... philips?
Like a Bause
post Oct 26 2015, 05:25 PM

419 posts

will a 380 having much difference compared to a 780? im looking at this 780 model actually..

where to source for cheaper price in klang valley for this sony 780?
SSJBen
post Oct 26 2015, 05:35 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(rhys86 @ Oct 26 2015, 04:45 PM)
i see bro.. how about brands like samsung... philips?
Have not heard any Samsung bars, so can't say anything about that. The philips like I said, under 1k the HTL3140b isn't too bad.

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Oct 26 2015, 05:25 PM)
will a 380 having much difference compared to a 780? im looking at this 780 model actually..

where to source for cheaper price in klang valley for this sony 780?
The 780 has a wider soundstage, a more energetic treble and its mids are more balanced with the sub.

For comparison, previously on the 770 it lacked balance due to the sub bleeding and eating into the low-mids which caused a lot of bloat. The 780 does improve on this noticeably.
timottt2000
post Oct 27 2015, 01:34 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Shinka @ Oct 26 2015, 04:12 PM)
I wonder why no one has recommended Sonos?

The Playbar is one of the nicest sounding soundbars I have heard so far.
If one has the money to spend, then Sonos playbar can be considered.
I mean, just the soundbar alone, it's crazy expensive.
And it doesn't even come with subwoofer. shakehead.gif

SSJBen
post Oct 27 2015, 05:08 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(timottt2000 @ Oct 27 2015, 01:34 PM)
If one has the money to spend, then Sonos playbar can be considered.
I mean, just the soundbar alone, it's crazy expensive.
And it doesn't even come with subwoofer.    shakehead.gif
Rich or not isn't the issue. The issue is how Sonos price it like it's some unicorn blooded soundbar. Like I've already explained, if money isn't an issue, go for a very high-end 2.1 setup if space is a problem. Not enough money but have the budget for a Sonos? Get an entry level proper 2.1 setup, it'll still destroy the sonos playbar into oblivion. There's no competition needed.

And like you said, no sub? doh.gif
The Sonos playbar, as good as it sounds (it's not really great either actually) makes no sense in this world.
liangshu17
post Oct 30 2015, 04:02 PM

163 posts

i have a sonos playbar and Sub bought from US, they are amazing and awesome
Shinka
post Oct 30 2015, 04:09 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(liangshu17 @ Oct 30 2015, 04:02 PM)
i have a sonos playbar and Sub bought from US, they are amazing and awesome
Lol I agree. The whole concept about Sonos is that its not only wire-less, it has its own ecosystem and sounds very good. Can directly stream spotify/pandora and all other music channels on it.

I just purchased the playbar, sub and 2 Play 1's =)

Music sounds awesome as great as movies.

dannygeni
post Nov 1 2015, 07:20 PM

1,804 posts

Saw this super deal at gemfive. Been looking at this sound bar and best price I got is at rm900.

Gemfive today at rm755 and using code Threats100 less another 100. Total rm655 only. Now wonder they will deliver or not only. Lol

sonerin
post Nov 2 2015, 06:46 AM

8,739 posts

Just check the website no more 755
dannygeni
post Nov 2 2015, 08:58 AM

1,804 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Nov 2 2015, 06:46 AM)
Just check the website no more 755
That was fast. 1 day promo I guess.
sonerin
post Nov 2 2015, 09:20 AM

8,739 posts

If is still same price, I will buy immediately.
dannygeni
post Nov 3 2015, 12:37 PM

1,804 posts

sen heng(gem five) just call me on delivery of ct380 sony. got stock..lucky got this at special price..

not like lazada last time i order tv but no stock
SSJBen
post Nov 4 2015, 06:06 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Sony HT-RT5 will be in stock soon, RM2.4k SRP (expect street price around RM2.3k).

Might be getting a unit for review, not sure yet. Depends on stock availability Sony says. If the RT5 ends up being better than the Phillips HTL9100, Sony would have just then conqured the soundbar 5.1 market.

Fingers crossed.

*EDIT*
Actually, it's surprising that there are almost no reviews on the RT5. Sony isn't actually advertising it that much either. It's got all the ingredients for success except for the lackluster subwoofer (still better than the older downfiring subs).

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Nov 4 2015, 08:40 PM
dannygeni
post Nov 5 2015, 09:39 PM

1,804 posts

Got my ht380 set up just now. Sound quality not bad..up to my expectation.lol

By the way, my set up all is Sony. 😄 All link up nicely.

SSJBen
post Nov 8 2015, 06:01 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Got the HT RT5 from Sony. Will test for a few weeks before I come up with a conclusion.

On a side note, I'm letting go my rather mint CT770 for a low price. So anyone interested, shoot me a PM.
Like a Bause
post Nov 13 2015, 09:58 AM

419 posts

hi all sifus.. wanna ask.. if TV like Sharp LE860.. it does mentioned Dolby and DTS.. does it meant that if we plug the sound bar to the TV.. it can give the full sound to the sound bar ?
SSJBen
post Nov 13 2015, 05:07 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Nov 13 2015, 09:58 AM)
hi all sifus.. wanna ask.. if TV like Sharp LE860.. it does mentioned Dolby and DTS.. does it meant that if we plug the sound bar to the TV.. it can give the full sound to the sound bar ?
You're mistaken. Unless your soundbar is a multi channel type, you'd be getting "full" sound regardless. A 2.0/2.1 soundbar usually downmix a DD or DTS track into stereo. However, a stereo soundbar will only have stereo channels, so that means you won't hear rear audio or center audio.

Don't be mistaken by the soundstage however.

118 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:41 PM