Has Soundbars Improved to Usable Levels?

tmc
post Sep 30 2022, 01:03 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(ckwhy @ Sep 29 2022, 06:29 PM)
Hi, I see most are discussing about Samsung, LG and Sony.
Anyone bought Yamaha YAS 209?
Anyone bought the newly launched Edifier B700?
Eyeing on this 2 models now as my budget is less than 2k

Don't know if reading it correctly, the power output seems like low. 7 units of 15w+70w woofer that is not even 200watt. Other brands says higher power.

This post has been edited by tmc: Sep 30 2022, 01:12 PM
tmc
post Sep 30 2022, 07:40 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 30 2022, 05:12 PM)
interesting attempt by Edifier but very hard to find reviews.... Not sure is the product first launched in Msia because can't seem to find any reviews from other countries also. Even Edifier website don't have the product details

RM 1.9k would put it in the same price range as LG SN8Y and Samsung Q600B.... both reputable products
This is what I gathered, correct me if I am wrong.

LG SN8y 440watt, 3.1.2 channel
Samsung 360watt, 3.1.2 channel

Edifier ???? watt, 5.1.2 channel

tmc
post Oct 1 2022, 08:35 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(ckwhy @ Oct 1 2022, 01:35 PM)
More watts = clearer sound? Or just louder?
All brands should ensure that they can output the sound within their specification without distortion. Under this premise, brands like LG can output upto their upto the 440 wattage specifications without distortion.

If the wattage for Edifier is only 175watt, that means it can only output 175watt without distortion. So either it cannot be louder than 175watt, or if it is louder than 175watt, there will be distortion.

Do not seem to be a great spec if my understanding is correct.
tmc
post Oct 2 2022, 01:22 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Oct 2 2022, 10:51 AM)
My first home theater setup was a cheap sony 5.1 bluray player with 300w total output. Volume had to be 80 and above if I really want to enjoy the sound. After few years it started giving error push power protect if I use it for long hour sessions, dropping the volume to 60 something would solve the issue. It was like cpu throttling in pc whenever a temperature threshold is reached.

I believe nowadays speakers are made from better materials, 175w maybe sounds a bit low but it probably good enough to fill a small living room. But then asking 1.9k for it is ridiculous.
Yeah what you say is true. Also not all brands are honest about their spec, we hope it is a case of other brands overstated their spec, while Edifier understated their spec. We can get to the bottom of this by looking at a review. But then the Edifier has no review either.
tmc
post Oct 15 2022, 01:42 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Oct 14 2022, 12:51 PM)
My Edifier B70 (Malaysia version is B700) finally arrived.

Much cheaper than buying locally... RM1,317 including sea freight. Luckily no kena import duty.
Tell us your quick experience.

Rm1317 that makes it the cheapest Dolby Atmos sound bar.
tmc
post Oct 16 2022, 09:44 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Oct 16 2022, 03:53 AM)
I still havent registered for Netflix yet to try Dolby Atmos. I also never tried other soundbar before to give a good impression. I'm just going to compare it with what I'm using previously which is a set of Edifier S730 connected via a USB DAC.

The loudness is enough for me at 90% volume (seated 20ft away). The way it filled the living room is different compared to a 2.1 speaker. The subwoofer is okay at bass+3 but no match for the 150w S730 subwoofer. The good is that the subwoofer is not over powering, thus even playing (midnight) at 90% volume also didnt get complaints from wife upstairs.

If Edifier would add another 25-50w for the subwoofer, I think it would be even better. Even though the soundbar is listed as 7.1.2, the front L R Center driver are really small, almost like tweeter size. Perhaps that's what help with the clear vocals.

Overall, kinda satisfied with it since it only cost 1.1k++ and the rest are basically shipping charges.
I don't really worry about product quality with Edifier.
Good review, it gives people a good feel of its capability but if there is comparison with another established brand, that will be excellent.
tmc
post Oct 19 2022, 09:40 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Oct 19 2022, 01:41 PM)

It did mention hdmi 2.1 and also HDR pass through but there's no mention if one or both port support them.

Vocals is clear. I think soundbar characteristic tends to favor vocals since there's so many small driver. Having said that, my volume level is between 70~90% depending on content. Plus I'm seated 20ft away.
20 ft away ? You have a big house !
tmc
post Oct 25 2022, 10:29 PM

1,185 posts

Wish to get some comments/inputs about soundbar in these two categories :-

1. Soundbar around rm1600. Can use Samsung HW Q600B as example.

2. Soundbar around rm2400. Can use Samsung HW Q800 as example.

Price difference rm800.

My question. Are there big difference in sound quality and effects in the two ? In other words, is the additional rm800 really worth it ?
tmc
post Oct 28 2022, 07:11 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Oct 28 2022, 11:46 AM)
You need to try them out yourself. Not all the RM800 went into sound quality.

Q800B:

1. WiFi - you can control the soundbar from your smartphone app
2. Wireless Dolby Atmos - as the name suggest, you do not need to attach cable to get wireless dolby atmos with certain Samsung TV
3. 5.1.2 - you get 2 more side firing speaker on the soundbar for better surround
For Samsung q800b, what other brand models are in the same competition space ? Cannot find something equivalent from Sony. How is LG S90QY compared Samsung ?
tmc
post Oct 28 2022, 09:35 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Oct 28 2022, 08:19 PM)
I can't answer you since I have never listened nor know anything about other soundbar.

I only searched about Samsung since my sister work in Samsung and sometimes I googled about the specs to see whether it's worth buying or not. In the end, I settled for the cheaper Edifier since I only want Dolby Atmos and has no use for DTS:X.
tmc
post Oct 31 2022, 02:30 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(minano0001 @ Oct 31 2022, 01:45 PM)
Should look at Samsung HW-Q930B
Where to put the rear speakers is the headache. No tables at the back. Need to get some kind of speaker stands or tables.
tmc
post Nov 9 2022, 11:01 PM

1,185 posts

Anyone has something to comment on this soundbar:-

Prism+ symphony 5.1.2 760watt peak, Dolby Atmos support.

This soundbar has 11 speakers, including surround and up firing speakers. And it is loud. You would probably just set it at a lower fraction of the max volume.

Spec wise is looks good to me. The downside is that it is less internationally known. My understanding is that Prism is a Singapore based company.

There are quit a few reviews in YouTube.

Any comments?
tmc
post Dec 4 2022, 09:58 AM

1,185 posts

Power on/off questions
on home entertainment devices :-

Do you power off your soundbar and subwoofers or you just switch put TV to sleep ( which sends a ARC/eARC command to the soundbar ) ?

Do you power off TV completely or just using the remote, which actually put TV to sleep only ?

From long term usage angle, which make the home devices to have longer life span ?

tmc
post Dec 11 2022, 08:11 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(hyalbert @ Dec 10 2022, 10:42 AM)
I have recently bought a Sony 4K TV and wish to add a soundbar for better HT entertainment.

Based on my budget of around RM 1800, I have been suggested  to buy the Sony HT-G700 3.1ch Dolby Atmos/DTS.X soundbar.

As I am new to soundbars, would appreciate guidance to the following :

1. Is it preferred to use soundbars from the same brand or can we match with soundbars from other brands, say Samsung, LG
2. For the same budget, what are the other soundbars with better specs that can be considered?
3. Any other useful information to know inselection of the soundbar

Thank you.
This is my two cents.

I think the main consideration for soundbar is whether you want to have rear speakers or you don't want. Rear speakers would make soundbar different, but have to give due consideration to cable and power source at the rear speakers.

Within those soundbars without the rear speakers, from the big brand, there is probably very little difference.

Using soundbars from unestablished brand is kind of risky.

With hdmi eArc, the soundbars from different brands would be able to work together. You are not restricted from using soundbars from the same brand of TV.
tmc
post Mar 1 2023, 11:11 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(ikeiyou @ Mar 1 2023, 10:30 AM)
that has 1 subwoofer unit, and 2 satellite units.
defeats the purpose of having a "soundbar".
You want good sound experience or you want the simplicity of a sound bar. A personal choice.

0.0878sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:39 AM