my late test drive of proton suprima

TSpg84
post Nov 5 2013, 10:10 AM, updated 13y ago

289 posts

I know there are many review of suprima out there already but I can't help wanted to write one myself. I'm normalized to my p407 before the test so my judgement may biased towards comparing to p407

tested: suprima s at jb

test condition :
- long straight with 90deg corner n few traffic lights .
- uneven road with few potholes
- 3 occupant

interior
- rough plastic all over.
- uncomfortable sitting position , too high , hard leather seat , wife complain uncomfortable at back seat
- steering is heavy , ladies would complain , but comfortable , looks elegant n upmarket
- sitting inside feel the car is narrow - the feeling , dunno why

exterior
- looks good but prefer preve sedan look

the drive
- pickup good compared to preve from previous test drive
- superb handling , feel solid , suspension is good as the ride is supple over uneven road - first thing came to mind is ' this is better than my 407!'
- accelleration is very good !! I keep on testing the turbo whenever I see a straight road .
- engine is very noisy , not refined. should have put more noise insulation to make it a better car.

summary.
- not recommended for ladies for the heavy steering .
- feels cheap , cheap interior ,looks like QC does not include material quality in checklist .
- noisy engine = noisy cabin
- uncomfortable seat , seating position ,seating position too high, hard leather seat

+ handling
+ power n acceleration
+ looks good
+ sporty steering design.

just for sharing from a person who rarely speed above 110kmj and drives like an uncle.

TSpg84
post Nov 5 2013, 01:54 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(pai3355 @ Nov 5 2013, 01:19 PM)
how about the audio / gps system? is it good?
never get to try cos wanted to hear how quiet is the cabin with engine noise .
TSpg84
post Nov 5 2013, 06:20 PM

289 posts

the heavy steering is not really a big issue la , last time my waja also heavy , p407 is also heavy , not a deal breaker anyway .Other parts like engine noise is . ...cos too loud leh.....press minyak , powerful n laju but jet engine sound also .....I was hoping it to be more refined....

0.0161sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:05 PM