my late test drive of proton suprima

dares
post Nov 5 2013, 12:42 PM

834 posts

Hmm....I never quite understood the heavy steering complaint on the Preve/Suprima, it is no heavier than the 1st gen Vios at home and that Vios is driven by my sister hmm.gif

Certainly during test drives the steering weight did not stood out to me as being extraordinarily heavy, and I am used to the Fiesta steering which is one of the lightest steering I have driven (when low speed, it is even lighter than Vios/Myvi). Unless you are expecting something like the latest Accord, which you can spin with 1 finger even when highway cruising..... sweat.gif
dares
post Nov 5 2013, 02:22 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(edison1437 @ Nov 5 2013, 02:10 PM)
nowadays people just got pampered with Electric Power steering, when comes to car that have Hydraulic Power steering, then they unable to drive already doh.gif
fixed tongue.gif

It is worse than you thought whistling.gif
dares
post Nov 5 2013, 04:48 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(yamato @ Nov 5 2013, 04:08 PM)
TS feels that the suprima steering is heavy, its totally fine.
why wanna mocked him as his just being honest about his experience & feeling, dont forget this is his personal review.

i dont see owner of car with no power steering laughing at those with hydraulic power steering, saying they got pampered and nags when given a car without a power steering.
It is not mockery (well at least I wasn't mocking the TS), just a very general observation + my personal opinion about Proton's steering setup.

Hope this clears up any misunderstanding.
dares
post Nov 5 2013, 10:12 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 5 2013, 09:40 PM)
theres a reason why supercars/hypercars still uses hydraulic instead of EPS
Focus ST, Golf Mk7 GTI, Fiesta ST, Megane RS, GT86 etc. etc. all uses EPS and every one of them is in a different league when it comes to handling, compared to Suprima / Preve.

You don't need HPS to make a car handle well. You just need to know how to tune an EPS system to work with a properly set up chassis and suspension.

This post has been edited by dares: Nov 5 2013, 10:13 PM
dares
post Nov 5 2013, 10:13 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Nov 5 2013, 10:01 PM)
ESP does not help in handling.. it save ur arse when u lost control ..
thats why kcng ask u why ESP link to handling
EPS la, not ESP sweat.gif
dares
post Nov 6 2013, 11:41 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(edison1437 @ Nov 6 2013, 08:19 AM)
no need super car that have a few modes for steering
cerato also have brows.gif
No wonder RM15k more expensib than Fortetek icon_question.gif
dares
post Nov 7 2013, 05:29 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(psycho1 @ Nov 7 2013, 04:07 PM)
Proton lost a huge chunk of market share when they try to make every single car of them handle like a sport car but without the performance of a sports car. Focus too much on handling but not much improvement in engine refinement. IMO, the only proton that worth considering is the inspira.
Proton lost their market share due to cronyism and complacency, and the resulting poor quality cars. It has nothing to do with their focus on handling or whatnot.

QUOTE(psycho1 @ Nov 7 2013, 04:49 PM)
Proton own Lotus not the other way round. What will happen if one day DRB decided to sell their Lotus brand or what if Lotus no longer support them with their "handling"?
You think Proton still send their cars to Lotus to do chassis and suspension tuning meh? laugh.gif

They learned from Lotus and do their own tuning and design now, the "Lotus R&H" is just a brand name and gimmick to associate themselves with a sports car brand. When Preve was launched, they reverted to the "Proton R&H" label. Then Suprima came along and they used back the Lotus brand name....tader confidence kot doh.gif

Even if tomorrow DRB sells Lotus away, new Proton models won't suddenly handle like a boat.

This post has been edited by dares: Nov 7 2013, 05:29 PM
dares
post Nov 7 2013, 05:48 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(psycho1 @ Nov 7 2013, 05:34 PM)
I mean i dont see much improvement from their engine refinement, engine is the soul of a car. If the engine isnt good, i wouldnt even consider buying it. Anyway, i still give credit to proton for overall interior quality and their design in the suprima and preve, just doesnt quite like the noisy engine.
QUOTE(psycho1 @ Nov 7 2013, 05:41 PM)
Im pretty sure that the mass market doesnt need a sedan that handle like a sports car, they just want a car that is easy to move around and dont handle like a boat. Proton should find a balance in between, thats just my 2sen.
Nowadays I won't say Proton is not moving forward, good example is they took the trouble to improve the CVT gearbox from the Preve to the Suprima, and it's not just a software update....the internals and mounting are different and improved upon. Yea the Campro is due for a replacement, and there have been strong signs that a new engine is forthcoming.

Proton handles like a sports car meh laugh.gif Anyway, I can't say I complain about the comfort in the Preve and Suprima. They could do a lot worse, but then they could do a lot better as well.
dares
post Feb 4 2014, 04:08 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Feb 4 2014, 12:26 AM)
What do u mean ?
I thought EPS can reduce a bit stress to engine...
EPS also can make the steering heavy when drive at high speed, more stable...
Most EPS numbs feedback from the wheels to the steering wheel.

Some EPS are so light even at high speed they are tiresome if not dangerous to drive.

If not implemented correctly, there may be noticable delay to steering weight change according to speed, ie: when decelerating from high speed, the steering weight does not lighten up accordingly, or conversely if you suddenly accelerate to high speed, the steering does not become heavier until a few seconds later. If you like to brake hard and accelerate hard, the steering weight becomes unpredictable.

However, most of the downsides may only matter if you always FnF. Like it or not EPS will replace all hydraulic power steering soon (word is the new Proton B-hatch aka GSC will be the first Proton car to use EPS), except for those hardcore sport cars, for example the Alfa Romeo 4C that doesn't even have power steering.

This post has been edited by dares: Feb 4 2014, 04:10 AM

0.0174sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:29 PM