8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

PROTON SAGA BLM, FL & FLX Thread V53, Slipping timing belt ®

TitanRev
post Oct 29 2013, 12:49 PM

Actually extension of oil change intervals mostly rely on the engine oil properties itself now. Since modern engines now are build with very high accuracy equipment unlike in the pass where variations are very huge more than 5% that's why friction is more and also that time oil technology still not as advanced as now.

These days engines are built very precisely and at about 1000KM or less your engine has already run in and OCI can straight go to 10K with Full syn for that normal daily drive.
TitanRev
post Oct 29 2013, 04:57 PM

QUOTE(ruby1288 @ Oct 29 2013, 01:34 PM)
to sum it all,
if u plan to keep the same car for long term, I will stick to old school unker style.
SS = 5k.
if u don plan to keep the same car, after 3-5 yrs, plan to sell then just follow SC use SS for 10k.
even use 10k with mineral oso no problemo.
coz when u sell car, ur car will still be running.
don fking care how the next owner suffer la.

if i follow SC rekomend SS use for 10k, i cannot accept coz my old school unker car maintenance knowledge tell me the engine will kaput much earlier than 7-10 yrs.
if no kaput, sure got a lot of big issues with engine
SS can last about 5 to 7K
Mineral cannot last 10K you will start to feel the car sluggish when the oil has totally lost it's ability to lubricate.
The major thing that affect EO life span is heat and moisture.

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Oct 29 2013, 01:53 PM)
Did you floor it all the way down?

How did you break in your engine? if gentle method, tough luck on getting the most out of your engine. If you wanna break in, do it like sifu V12Kompressor. Naik Genting 2nd day dapat kereta notworthy.gif

Now also I'm doing hard break in for the new SE whistling.gif
Actually you just raise the rev until maximum for a short period of time and shot burst will be ok...I did this on the 1st day when I got my car. 2nd gear and 3rd gear

QUOTE(ruby1288 @ Oct 29 2013, 01:57 PM)
what is the "mythical" difference btw hard and soft break in  hmm.gif
wear parts (cylinder, piston ring & etc) gets smoothen out faster ?
I only know break in is break in no soft or hard....Hahahaha icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(r3apers @ Oct 29 2013, 03:03 PM)
I lagi slow car ma bye.gif
Mine also slow...
TitanRev
post Oct 29 2013, 05:17 PM

QUOTE(ruby1288 @ Oct 29 2013, 04:41 PM)
ooooo
when change brake fluid, if no brake fluid leak when press brake, ini also consider pump got problem ?
How to check brake problems.

1. Caliper Stuck
On Front:
A. Car will pull to 1 side if jam is severe and your brakes start to smoke.
B. The rim on the side where the piston is jam will be very hot you can feel with your hands
C. Heavy brake burning smell.

On Rear
A. Heavy brake burning smell.
B. 1 side of the car will squat down if the piston is totally jammed on the drum on 1 side. Can experiment yourself, pull handbrake then put into D or 1st gear and slowly try moving forward. Pay attention as your car rear will start to sink down as the brake is holding the wheel from moving.
C. If brake shoe is jammed on the lining too much forcing will cause the shoe to break off from the base plate. This happen before.
B. Rim will also feel more hotter.

For cars with drum brakes it is best advice not to apply the hand brake after you have washed your car and put it overnight as the rust formed between the shoes and lining will slightly "weld" the parts together. Best use a brick to act as a stopper.

2. Brake Fluid Leaking
Usually places that will leak brake fluid
A. Brake bleed nipple (loosen)
B. Piston seal area front caliper (watch for wet caliper)
C. cylinder o-ring for rear cylinder (watch for wet sign)
D. The O- ring between the master pump and the brake pedal shaft. (This will cause brake fluid to leak into the cabin and can determined by inspecting for wet carpet usually under the brake pedal.

3. Inspected and no break fluid leaking but car don't have brake why?
A. The O-ring inside your brake reservoir where it apply the pressure to the caliper is worn out. This will require taking out the master pump and the brake reservoir to change the o-ring.
When the above happen your brake pedal will feel spongy and will sink all the way down follow by a kruukk sound.

This post has been edited by TitanRev: Oct 29 2013, 05:21 PM
TitanRev
post Oct 29 2013, 05:18 PM

QUOTE(ruby1288 @ Oct 29 2013, 04:59 PM)
if u plan to sell in 3 yrs, why not. .
can use mineral. .  brows.gif
janji when sell car time engine not yet kaput kau kau. .
bless the next owner only ma
I cannot do this la...pity the next owners....the cars I owned before and sold not a single complain from the 2nd owners....that's how I take care of my cars.....no compromise mia....
TitanRev
post Oct 29 2013, 05:43 PM

QUOTE(ruby1288 @ Oct 29 2013, 05:23 PM)
deswai I can brain the logic behind it.
least u show me what EO they use and the reliable SOS that it can sustain for 20k.

otherwise, I rather belib old school mechanics knowledge.
wonder how many % of conti car owners actually knows how to take care and maintain their car's health
most i know only know need service ah ? ok i send to SC.
after warranty, need service ah ? ok i send to my fren bawah pokok.
when pay time, how much ?
full stop d.

alot dont even know what needs to be changed wat already been changed by the magician.
so they wont question why the EO can use for 20k.
when you tell them, after 20k only come back see u ah ?
this EO so good ah ? OK la, next time I come find u again. then for the rest of the day, happy mood coz he "thought" he "terpick up gold on the floor"
i m not implying that all conti owners are like above, but so far, those I know, yes.
The 20K SI for Conti cannot apply here or in US because our weather here is 360 degrees different then in EURO. As I told to many people before Heat and moisture + friction will wear down the EO overtime. Prolong stop in traffic jam, start stop driving. All this wears down EO also Many people think if I stuck in traffic jam my engine oil won't wear down is really wrong. As long the engine is running it is used to lubricate.

If 20K SI in long term a lot of sludge will build up and cause the the oil gallery to get clogged and engine GG due to lack of lubrication Oil pressure will build up and your oil pump bearing also die.

We might ask why 20K SI in EURO, labour there is damn kao expensive and they charge by the hour if 10K SI it will be a PITA to the car owners. Also in European Union (EU) all the neighbouring countries you can just drive there without carrying passport so they will rack up 10,000KM in a very short time.
TitanRev
post Oct 29 2013, 08:31 PM

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Oct 29 2013, 07:05 PM)
My front doesnt have any of these symptoms. I tried to jam brakes hard, still straight. Both rims feels about the same temperature. No brake burning smell. The only thing is got the annoying screeching/rubbing sound.

On a side note, car isn't leaking petrol like what I thought initially. I revved like a malau just now, siap neighbours come out see, but no petrol come out sweat.gif
That noise is after you press brake and release right. Try go spare parts shop and see if you can buy some anti squeal lube to apply to the caliper slider pin inside the rubber boot or apply some at the back of the pads. very easy to DIY repair the sound and apply the grease.

Also try cleaning your rims and caliper thoroughly.

This post has been edited by TitanRev: Oct 29 2013, 08:32 PM
TitanRev
post Oct 29 2013, 08:41 PM

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Oct 29 2013, 08:34 PM)
Its when pressing.. hmm.gif

Not sure if its pads or callipers hmm.gif
If it's pressing then it's your pad. Check if the guy who change the pads for you put the brake grease or not. IF got sound after release check the sliding pin like in the pin the 2 14mm bolt. Overtime the black rubber boot will get harden or torn and when dirt goes in it cause the pin to rust and give sound...

This post has been edited by TitanRev: Oct 29 2013, 08:42 PM
TitanRev
post Oct 29 2013, 08:52 PM

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Oct 29 2013, 08:43 PM)
The stupid part is, no he didnt put grease. Also, the sound sounds like when the brake pad finish doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Should put one, when change the pads should put some on the location like the pad worn out pin at both ends and at the backing plate and where the piston touches..
Refer to pic

TitanRev
post Oct 29 2013, 09:00 PM

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Oct 29 2013, 08:54 PM)
If I had the right tools, I can DIY sad.gif

First, I need a 2 tonne jack (or stands), then some misc tools.
No need 2 ton jack la....the stock jack will do. I guide you through the things you need.

1. 13mm or 14mm socket spanar or ring spanar (Don't use open end as it will slip and damage the nut)
2. flat head screw driver (standby as you will find use for it, usually to pry open the caliper)
3. Anti squeal grease
4. Cleaner (you will need to be cleaning before you apply any grease to the caliper and pads.
5. A small C clamp use to push the piston back in case you can't refit the caliper as the piston might be in the way. (before use the c-clamp to push the piston back open the brake fluid cover.)
6. hand glove for safety and less dirty hand.

After you open your rims, everything should be very easy and self explanatory. IF got problem just PM me.

Since your backing plate as told by David is rusted, just go to spare parts shop and buy 2 new ones for both calipers and replaced them since you are opening up the caliper anyway. Do it smart and correct so you only do it once and worry free after that.

This post has been edited by TitanRev: Oct 29 2013, 09:02 PM
TitanRev
post Oct 29 2013, 09:07 PM

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Oct 29 2013, 09:03 PM)
notworthy.gif

Much appreciated. Thanks bro!
You are welcome.....sharing is caring....and doing up own car is very fun....just like below notworthy.gif
http://stickydiljoe.com/2013/03/25/exclusi...m-tactical-art/
TitanRev
post Oct 30 2013, 11:54 AM

To be honest, I'm kinda F**king piss off at that link with the ular oren and the Throttle body respond thing...NMGH....this people really ordinary DIY thing also want to sapu profit so much....IF know then just share the knowledge to all la...what so secret.... vmad.gif
Should I go gate crash that fellow???

BTW, just put order for a Triton today....traded in my Frontier which has serve me very well since 2005.....Travel up mountain and down sea with him....Never fail me once....never gave up and never throw temper at me.....Can't forget the days where he would just whack up Genting, Cameron, Fraser Hill without breaking a sweat with full load....He;s the 1st pick up I've own and has opened up my eye to how beautiful and fun it is to go into Jungle and explore nature...

TitanRev
post Oct 30 2013, 12:17 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Oct 30 2013, 12:09 PM)
Why u no buy Ford Ranger Wildtrak vmad.gif
"Hello there good lad, I shall now gate crash your house if you don't mind. Care for a spot of tea after that?"[/i]
Rough use la.....for hauling goods and stuff.....

BTW, yesterday I called in to Euromobil want to book A6 Hybrid....manatau was told all sold out....WTH...so fast.....I ask when batch coming they say not sure also..... rclxub.gif
TitanRev
post Oct 30 2013, 12:24 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 30 2013, 12:20 PM)
taxi plz
No more stock how to Taxi, I want test drive pun don't have

QUOTE(ch@ich@i @ Oct 30 2013, 12:20 PM)
mind to share how to do it? im keen to know and do it for my ride as well.
From the pic I see is just adding ground cables using welding cable as all of us here are using...1st started by david. Then the Throttle body thing is either a PnP jpb or cleaning.

TitanRev
post Oct 30 2013, 01:12 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Oct 30 2013, 12:25 PM)
How many cars do you need  shakehead.gif

The A6 hybrid was sold out very quickly as soon as it was launch, you slowpoke like cow lar  doh.gif Speaking of which, I saw one on OKR yesterday.
I wonder how he feels about be gate crashed by monopoly man  whistling.gif
For company use la, Tak kan I always have to ask my driver drive lorry out to send 1 pallets or collect a few hardware from supply mah...The Audi is my father's idea, he put the A6 brochure on my table when I was not around. Then complain to me CT200h cannot put few more golf bags when he fetch his friends.... blink.gif I wrote a note to him..."OK Fine, I will get you a Container Lorry, no more complain"

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 30 2013, 12:25 PM)
eventually when you get it la, no rush thumbup.gif
But not must get......

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Oct 30 2013, 12:28 PM)
Want to ask, is TitanRev a rich guy? ph34r.gif
No, he's not.....Very poor guy and kiam siap one...everyday only eat 4.00 mix rice with ice tea only 30cents and skip breakfast most of life to save on money. Dinner only eat roadside or tumpang mother in law house to eat. Seldom go flashy restaurant. Only go when got promo.

QUOTE(dares @ Oct 30 2013, 12:30 PM)
Pug206, Mitsu Grandis, Mitsu Triton, Nissan GTR35, Satria etc. etc. in Japan owned an Evo 8

His Saga is like bicycle for him  whistling.gif
All the above Saga, is the most fun...No! not trolling....Low profile, good handling, handles like a go kart, can slip into any small space I can find, let ppl think I'm a low salary guy, won't attract gold diggers, won't attract robbers, Mr. police and JPJ very friendly to me...support local product mah...easy on my petrol bills, Can act bobby eat tiger with the saga..., when buy furniture or house appliances. Can nego kao kao with shop and show them I drive saga only then they will let me squeeze more discount...proven to work same shop different people I drive different cars go. Drive nice car go...no discount at all the most 50 bucks...drive saga I straight get 200 discount....more value for money. See when you drive saga how much money you can save and you feel more proud and happy because can squeeze those fellow to give more discount....seriously speaking my wife did a estimated calculation....we drive nice car go buy stuff the total rebate we get is around 200~300. we drive saga go out....rebate 1000~1100....All stuff add up la....just recently I manage to get my gate done at 1k autogate I can get around 600 to 700....That's a lot of savings.

So, I love my saga very much as much as I love all my other cars. Not because it's cheap and it don't deserve to be loved. That's why I don't simply let other people touch it and won't simply give her anything....

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Oct 30 2013, 12:32 PM)
No wonder always heard such car in this thread la...sorry i slow poke...
I'm more slow poke...

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 30 2013, 12:40 PM)
bring pen and paper or whatever you're comfortable with taking down notes/pictures
Prepare to draw kukujiao again ? icon_idea.gif brows.gif
TitanRev
post Oct 30 2013, 01:15 PM

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Oct 30 2013, 01:13 PM)
apa ni?? blink.gif
Pink hippo....
TitanRev
post Oct 30 2013, 01:19 PM

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Oct 30 2013, 01:17 PM)
Hippo tail so long one geh meh? blink.gif
Radiation causes....
TitanRev
post Oct 30 2013, 01:20 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Oct 30 2013, 01:16 PM)
I love my bicycle too  unsure.gif
You ah...always like to put me on table mia.... flex.gif
Next TT you GG liao.....I rape kau your Fiesta with my bicycle...
TitanRev
post Oct 30 2013, 01:23 PM

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Oct 30 2013, 01:20 PM)
hmm.gif

I need to get an SV, then start shopping around liao whistling.gif
Seriously now many ppl see your material stuff to judge you one....you drive cheap old car go, you want discount no problem. You drive nice car go ask for discount...they say you so rich still ask for discount....isk isk isk....
TitanRev
post Oct 30 2013, 01:26 PM

QUOTE(ruby1288 @ Oct 30 2013, 01:24 PM)
I not greedy mia  wub.gif  wub.gif
I will get a copy of Mini brochure and put on the windscreen of tu lowered standard gaga with Seremban car plate next time he comes for TT  ph34r.gif
With some blessings, hope I will get my Mini, again I am not greedy  wub.gif
You think I do charity meh.....

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Oct 30 2013, 01:24 PM)
Unless ur car park in front of the shop, else how they know which car u drive? blink.gif
I always drop my wife off in front of the shop so every staff sees it....Hahahaha....
TitanRev
post Oct 30 2013, 01:36 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Oct 30 2013, 01:26 PM)
I bawa kapcai go blush.gif

This flyday u coming?
Have you driven your Saga to a golf course?

Ask my friend go play golf as he is in the sales line, he say drive dugong dun dare to drive into golf club  doh.gif
This Fly day I see 1st...no promise yet....I will whatsapp gorilla...

Err...I've driven my saga to some flashy places actually like in those hotels around Golden Triangle area, I never play golf but I went a few times to just see my dad play or take golf bag to him....actually no problem la..I know there will be a lot of nice cars but it don't bother me a bit....To me I don't care much how people judge me by what I drive..they want to think I'm poor than go ahead...won't hurt me right....I rather have ppl thinking that I'm a poor guy so they don't keep come bothering me with business proposal or asking me to buy insurance. These days showing off with your flashy cars or bling bling diamonds is the most silly thing to do....the next thing you know GTA happens....

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0461sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:00 AM