Working in Singapore V15

tengah
post Oct 25 2013, 11:24 AM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(candle @ Oct 25 2013, 11:22 AM)
agree, prefer to contribute to own country instead.
Yes, contribute to own country but that depends on how well your country treats you..
tengah
post Oct 26 2013, 12:27 PM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(RabbitS @ Oct 25 2013, 09:46 PM)
In sg at most u will get spit (saliva not royal white stuff) upon by singkiemang or treathened by sg commando delta force
Ha ha... good one. biggrin.gif

By the way, he's busted. Mindef confirms he is fake commando. blush.gif

Somehow you know real commando won't anyhow behave like that drool.gif
tengah
post Oct 26 2013, 04:59 PM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Oct 26 2013, 02:00 PM)
for a thought experiment

will singles like me get the recently announced BRIM of Rm300 since my monthly income is technically RM 0 ? smile.gif
Yes, register at https://ebr1m.hasil.gov.my/

See also https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3007814

tengah
post Oct 26 2013, 05:00 PM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(puppyee @ Oct 26 2013, 04:52 PM)
Don't understand why like so many siao lang likes to self proclaim that they're commando. The fat guy who shouted in the library as well. Mindef sure is busy lately.
Empty vessels make the loudest noise.. especially the fat guy at the library.

tengah
post Oct 27 2013, 01:23 AM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(paintballtao @ Oct 27 2013, 01:12 AM)
is there a limit of 60k salary per annum to apply for credit card in singapore?
The minimum income required to apply for a credit card in Singapore is $30,000 per annum.

tengah
post Oct 27 2013, 04:09 AM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(tengah @ Oct 27 2013, 01:23 AM)
The minimum income required to apply for a credit card in Singapore is $30,000 per annum.
QUOTE(Argiope @ Oct 27 2013, 02:04 AM)
I think it depends which bank and whether you are Singaporean/PR or working pass holder.
Minimum income $30,000 pa is a MAS requirement.

Yes, Singaporean/PR or employment status does matter.

tengah
post Oct 27 2013, 10:00 AM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Oct 27 2013, 09:28 AM)
Ya, SC/PR minimum 30k for the lowest card. Foreigner higher depending on banks. Normally 50-60k, heard HSBC is 40k, best bank in SG. icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(paintballtao @ Oct 27 2013, 09:49 AM)
eh why is hsbc the best? lol
Because @Fiona Chin thinks the 40K requirement for foreigner makes HSBC the best?

tengah
post Oct 27 2013, 10:12 AM

Way my on
851 posts

Citibank needs minimum income of S$42,000 per annum for foreigner for credit cards.

tengah
post Oct 28 2013, 03:38 AM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(be_happy @ Oct 28 2013, 02:28 AM)
Yeap, you are right. Your perception started to change when you grow older. Some of them choose to back to Malaysia to have their life but some convert to Singapore citizen.

Some choose to take Singapore citizenship and buy a property in JB when they retire.

tengah
post Oct 29 2013, 01:32 AM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(alvo @ Oct 28 2013, 12:48 AM)
Just to seek some opinion here..I considering an opportunity to relocate to SG..considering that I have a commitment in the form of a house in KL..I am wondering if it makes any sense to move over to SG ..(take the salary equation aside as I would be earning more or less the same amount of salary both in KL & SG as it is a company relocation)..From a tax / quality of life (living in a rented room vs a house of your own for example) / cost of living perspective..would like views from you guys who have worked or working in SG to contribute your 2cents..thanks!
QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Oct 28 2013, 12:29 PM)
Quality of life = better in terms of safety.

Cost of living = cheaper with your strong dollar.
Safer, yes. Strong dollar, yes.

But no more house. HDB flat, not unless you can afford private condo or house in Singapore.

tengah
post Oct 29 2013, 10:05 AM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Oct 29 2013, 09:55 AM)
i am wondering,

how does a company help you in getting a PR?
To be eligible for PR, you need an work pass ( P, Q or S ) for the "workers" category. Other categories are Investors/Entrepreneurs and spouses of citizens and PR.

Since you mentioned company, you should be applying under the "workers" category.

The company plays a critical role in your PR application because the company will be filling up the Annex A to Form 4A. It is a one page form with questions about the company and your job that your company will answer.

Please note, however, the company in filling up Annex A does NOT mean the company is sponsoring you.

tengah
post Oct 30 2013, 12:20 PM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 30 2013, 08:11 AM)
No, CPF only for SC and SPR

About that Chicken rice at Chatter Box. S$32 for chicken rice is a rip off no matter how good it is or if it is at a hotel. There are better things to eat for $32.

==== Cancelled the above because @deodorant removed the Chicken Rice link from the Signature =====

==== Update #2: now the link on the Signature came back ====

Anyway, forget about this, it's not important drool.gif

This post has been edited by tengah: Oct 30 2013, 01:56 PM
tengah
post Oct 30 2013, 02:06 PM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 30 2013, 01:58 PM)
No I didn't ... not yet, anyway. New blog post come then only I'll change, for now is still chicken rice lol.

To me it's worth it to go once (only) just for the sake of saying 'yes I've eaten at that chicken rice place.' But for a return visit no way biggrin.gif
Great blog by the way. Enjoyed reading it biggrin.gif

tengah
post Oct 31 2013, 09:05 AM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Oct 30 2013, 02:35 PM)
You should try their laksa, rojak and ice kacang. Just as pricey. Bad if you have to pay out of your own pocket, but good if you have a company credit card.

But despite the prices, the place is full most of the time.
So pricey for hawker food at the hotel.. if I go to hotel to eat, I would pay to eat "hotel" food.

For "luxury" hawker food, I would just go to lau pa sat. Price still above average at lau pa sat compared to hawker centres but cheaper than Chatter Box. But no air con at lau pa sat cry.gif

tengah
post Oct 31 2013, 09:09 AM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Oct 30 2013, 03:08 PM)
All the food outside are rip off anyway. Depend on how much you are already used to being rip off and how much you are willing to be rip off for something new.
Yes, outside food is a rip off, nowadays hawkers can charge as much as $10, on the extreme side, particularly when you pick more meat.

Sometime back, this guy was charged like $600 for ordering crabs, something like that.

tengah
post Nov 4 2013, 02:07 AM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(be_happy @ Nov 4 2013, 01:36 AM)
Previously, I was in bank industry for 1year and 9months. My salary was RM3000 excluded commission.

I got an offer of SGD $2400 now, do u all think is not worth to downgrade? (bt i got EP Q1 and I tot only salary above $3k can get EP)

What do you all think?  hmm.gif
Separately, I am looking for room nearby Aljunied or Potong Pasir.

Currently I am staying with my bro at Clementi, sleep in living room and need to pay $300.

Is expensive and far from my work place. (although is in the same MRT line)
Downgrade? Convert $2400 and see how much is that in RM.

Many people try to get job in Singapore, you are lucky that you are offered a job there.

I hope that not relative bro, just some dude. If it is blood brother, get rid of him as soon as you can because your own brother charges you $300 for sleeping in living room.

Anyway, you're a big fellow, pay a bit more and go find yourself a room.

tengah
post Nov 4 2013, 03:08 PM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 4 2013, 02:53 PM)
Uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh mang how can you convert FX and then declare that it's not a downgrade?

If I'm earning rm10k in Malaysia and I come over on sgd5k (27% increase after FX conversion), does that mean I got a good deal?
This is debatable..

Financially, you make more money, then it is not downgrade.

Job scope/responsibility wise, then it is a downgrade since a RM10K job in Malaysia is normally a directorship or something similar and a SGD5K job in Singapore is normally an officer or senior officer job.

You may then say cost of living higher in Malaysia, but Singapore is safer and not race-based, so it is really debatable.

If the person is planning to return to Malaysia after the job in Singapore, then it is certainly a bargain since the FX conversion would make him much richer..

tengah
post Nov 4 2013, 04:17 PM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 4 2013, 02:53 PM)
Uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh mang how can you convert FX and then declare that it's not a downgrade?

If I'm earning rm10k in Malaysia and I come over on sgd5k (27% increase after FX conversion), does that mean I got a good deal?
QUOTE(jitshiong @ Nov 4 2013, 03:27 PM)
u will be surprised....
nobody in their sane mind will hire u at that kind of rate
say u earn 5k sgd, u expect to come back malaysia n earn 10k?

from RM10k job to a sgd5k job is definitely a downgrade in salary
That RM10K salary didn't come from me. Here there are threads talking about so difficult to get RM3K job. RM10K? Far from it.

SGD5K is RM12.7K. Money wise, RM12.7K is greater than RM10K, downgrade?

Cost of living vs security bla bla bla

Ketuanan Melayu vs Meritocracy bla bla bla

Executive position vs Officer position bla bla bla

Whether upgrade or downgrade, it is debatable. drool.gif

tengah
post Nov 4 2013, 04:19 PM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Nov 4 2013, 03:36 PM)
Typo or what? Malaysia cost of living higher?

Wait till you getting a house and a car here, then you realise you need your SG salary figure to be in MY salary figure * 2.5 to get the equivalent lifestyle here (applicable for condo only, landed you need to win Toto, for few times in a row to own one).
Yo, saw you in Choa Chu Kang, where is the handsome boy?
Yeah, it's a typo.

Yes, it will cost more to buy house and car in Singapore. It is cheaper in Malaysia but you trade that for your safety, civil rights, apa lagi mau etc..

tengah
post Nov 4 2013, 04:28 PM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 4 2013, 03:47 PM)
i do not think there is anything to debate
first off...if u take into consideration the exchange rate...personally, you are already losing.
u will be working and living in SG spending SGD...why are u converting it into RM?
you are not spending RM in SG...it may become a debatable point if you travel everyday across the causeway
but still, exchange rate should not even be taken into consideration.

where you retire is uncertain, so never take that as a factor.
if u earn RM10k, and settle for SGD5k...the amount you get to save does not necessary be more when you convert it back
why not factor the amt you might save if u got a job at SGD9k or even 10k or more?
You have never heard of people going back and forth Singapore to work. To these people, it is big profit to them.

Although you spend SGD in Singapore, when you finally leave Singapore and withdraw your money from SG accounts, you make a big pile of money there.

You trade that for your safety, civil rights in Malaysia, you are talking about two different countries, not Penang or KL so it is debatable in many aspects.

Every time the Police patrol stop you in Malaysia, you need to consider parting with kopi money. In SG, you better don't do that or you will be arrested for bribery.

You already said it... ".the amount you get to save does not necessary be more when you convert it back" - so this already makes it debatable.

If it is downgrade which implied not desirable as opposed to upgrade, what are all these Malaysians working in Singapore for? They like downgrade?

So it is quite debatable, on the countary. Not saying either option is good but depends on your needs.

0.0493sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:44 AM