Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$

coolguy99
post Oct 31 2019, 09:04 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(jeffboon97 @ Oct 31 2019, 08:30 PM)
Every year they give Guaranteed Cash Payment which is RM 300.00 if I put in RM500 per month(6000 p.a)
Based on the illustration they shown, the average returns is around 4% to 6%.

I've decided to go with Max Yield because it is also considered as an insurance.
Honda CRZ, I am sharing the installment with sibling. Do you usually cook? How can you survive with RM400 per month sad.gif .
Yes I do cook, that is like the best way to save on food lol.
coolguy99
post Nov 4 2019, 07:12 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(MAYOFIENDZ @ Nov 4 2019, 05:56 PM)
Hi guys, I'm 21 working in singapore & single right now. (non bumi) Please take a look at my monthly cash flow and financial information to advice better suggestions if possible.

Income :
Salary - RM 5950

Investment:
Stashaway    - RM 2100

Expense:
Phone            - RM60
Rent              - RM960
Car                - RM750 ( 7 years to fully settle)
food                - RM410
Parent            - RM300
Petrol              - RM50
entertainment  - RM300
Transport(SG) - RM180

Saving            - RM840 (minus off investment already)
Current assets & investments:

Saving account    - RM6000+
Stashway            - RM6000+
Cryptocurrencies - RM14000+

Yes I know it is not wise to invest so much in cryptocurrencies but I have prepared to lose the money so not an issue for me. Kinda want to try my luck in cryptocurrencies since I'm still quite young, personally I think worth the risk.
TBH I wish I started to invest as early as you. My only advice is to diversify your investment into maybe ASNB or unit trust?
coolguy99
post Nov 19 2019, 02:59 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 19 2019, 02:04 AM)
You are young,... try to do a business, don't dive into investments yet. Make more to be used as bullets for future. After building your warchest, then you learn investments.

My background was like yours.
I think safe investment like ASNB can work with dividends of 5% every year.
coolguy99
post Nov 19 2019, 11:54 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 19 2019, 03:29 PM)
You are welcome, young bro,...  smile.gif

Emm,... some businesses needed cashfow to start and to develop, if the young man gets involved in such a business for which he feels he is capable of doing, then it would be best put to use in the business to earn more money. LIke leveraging,....

Earning 5% per year shld be the last way for him to earn money with,... at his age. JMHO,.... I did not play safe when I was younger,...but that's my way though,..
I guess everyone's risk appetite is different. I used to be a super risk taker until I got burnt hard last year, now I switched to be conservative, only investing in safe stuff.
coolguy99
post Nov 22 2019, 07:19 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(sixtydee123 @ Nov 22 2019, 03:02 PM)
Hi guys,

Would appreciate greatly if I can get some advise on how and where to grow my money. Dont have a big risk appetite

Nett Pay: RM4,600 - RM5,000

Monthly Expenses:
Property Loan: RM350 (after deducted rental returns)
Food: RM 300
Petrol: RM 300
Insurance: RM 250
Phone bills: RM240
Misc. (Dating, yumcha/Alcohol etc.): RM700

Car: Paid off (looking to upgrade but i think it will still be problem free for the next 1 year or so)

Savings per month - RM2300-2500

ASNB - RM25k
Cash - RM35k
EPF - Did not check
I suggest you try Stashaway too.
coolguy99
post Dec 24 2019, 11:01 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(sixtydee123 @ Nov 22 2019, 03:02 PM)
Hi guys,

Would appreciate greatly if I can get some advise on how and where to grow my money. Dont have a big risk appetite

Nett Pay: RM4,600 - RM5,000

Monthly Expenses:
Property Loan: RM350 (after deducted rental returns)
Food: RM 300
Petrol: RM 300
Insurance: RM 250
Phone bills: RM240
Misc. (Dating, yumcha/Alcohol etc.): RM700

Car: Paid off (looking to upgrade but i think it will still be problem free for the next 1 year or so)

Savings per month - RM2300-2500

ASNB - RM25k
Cash - RM35k
EPF - Did not check
Invest your cash somewhere. Don't let your cash sit in your bank account doing nothing.

There are a few good writeups on investment tools around this forum. Stashaway, FSM etc, go spend sometime and browse the topic.
coolguy99
post Feb 5 2020, 12:21 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(jeffboon97 @ Feb 4 2020, 03:09 PM)
Hi Lowyat,

I am currently in a dilemma should I be buying a property that priced as below:
Property Price
RM 814k (Before Rebate)

Rebate
RM 57k
RM 54k
RM 4k (Referral)

The rebate will be credited into my bank account as cash, which can be use for Renovation and covering for monthly installment for at least 21months (1.75 years)

I am planning to use 35k to renovate.

Current Salary - RM 5100 (After Deducting EPF)

Current Monthly Loan Repayment
Car - RM 700
Car - RM 750 (Ends in 5 month time)
PTPTN - RM 300
Phone - RM 285 (Ends in 11 month time)

Should I buy this property and use the rebate to pay off monthly installment for 1.75 years and work hard to ensure I get a higher pay by the end of 2021 to start paying the installment with my own salary? I also planning to rent out 1 room which yields around RM1000.
Just curious, if the rebate will be credited to you, in that case aren't you paying interest for the so called rebate as it will be priced into your loan amount?

coolguy99
post Apr 22 2020, 12:32 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Apr 22 2020, 12:24 PM)
i wonder how many ppl can make 22k/m let alone 50k a month.

if a cleark who makes 3k or 4k a month, it is very difficult to reach the one like your scale.
Maybe he is earning USD? RM50k per month in Malaysia must be senior management level already.
coolguy99
post Apr 22 2020, 01:39 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Apr 22 2020, 12:59 PM)
precisely speaking, my exboss was on RM100k a month basis. our salary is just a small fraction of his salary.

so to achieve like what this forumer achieved, how many of us can achieve? his argument being, "who say salary earner cannot be a millionaire"?

Can, but definitely not multimillionaire like him only lo.
QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 22 2020, 01:28 PM)
He also has a privileged tool that allows him to accumulates wealth without much effort, ASB.
True that. ASB is a great way to grow your passive income.
coolguy99
post May 2 2020, 05:01 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ May 2 2020, 04:54 PM)
Going through this thread, I can't help but feel there are so many ppl humblebragging here. Those earning >10k have no business sharing or pretend to ask for advice here, you are only bragging and trolling trying to make ppl here feel bad.

Earning > 10k, you are totally not in a pinch needing help managing money, you only need to not fuck up your business and income source, and don't waste money on lambo or mont kiara condo.
I mean every man has their own tale to share. Maybe he is earning 10k but have a sick mother and he spends most of his money caring for her hence needing some advice? I do agree that many are just bragging but it’s not fair to generalise.
coolguy99
post May 19 2020, 10:29 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 19 2020, 07:05 AM)
No we don’t, we’ve been based in Singapore for nearly 30 years. I’m still Malaysian though, She’s taken up Singapore citizenship.
Very nice to be able to retire in Singapore comfortably. biggrin.gif I am envious.
coolguy99
post Jun 18 2020, 09:09 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 17 2020, 05:55 PM)
Different people at different stages of their lives will have different risk appetites, based on different needs as well as financial capabilities.

At my age, I really cannot afford the roller coaster rides of the stock markets or Forex derivatives.

Bonds is good enough for us.
Agree. It is all high risk high reward at the end of the day. Stock market can earn you a windfall but you can also lose till you drop.

Do you invest on unit trust funds too? Or do you find that too high of a risk as well?
coolguy99
post Aug 31 2020, 10:30 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(AnAngel65 @ Aug 31 2020, 09:58 AM)
Hi all,

Been reading the sharing here, felt like I could humbly get some advice from the sifus here~

Nett Pay: 4700

Monthly Expenses:
Rent: 750
Food: 600
Phone bill: 50
Petrol: 200
Online shopping: 200
Parents: 500
Medical Insurance: 200
Medical supplement: 100
Others: 100 (Ochipalang)
-----------

Monthly savings: 2,000

Savings/Assets:
1. FD 10k
2. Rakuten 13k
3. PRS 5k (Topping up 2k yearly for income tax relief)
4. ASM 26k
5. OCBC 360 70k
6. EPF 49k

Total Assets: 173k

No outstanding loans. My parents bought me my first Axia and have been a great companion since.

OCBC 360 was great as i manage to hit the high interest rate monthly, but now its only 2.6% pa so i've been looking at other high yield interest saving account option.
Also, I'm interested in investing in robo-adviser (Wahed or stashaway) for perhaps 10% of my savings and with aggresive portfolio since ive been doing rather low-risk investment.

Ive actually achieved my financial goal already (for this age), just trying to diversify more on the investments and learn more as there's so many diff type of investments now.

Kindly give me any advice, thanks all in advance~
Given the low interest rate environment that we are in now, does OCBC 360 still earn you a lot of interest? Else park more money into ASM or you can try out StashAway too.

coolguy99
post May 26 2021, 06:34 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(taiping... @ May 26 2021, 06:06 PM)
For me, atm, i dont know what to invest in

IBKR but i dont know how to choose stocks
I invest in SA SG
coolguy99
post May 27 2021, 09:44 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(fun_feng @ May 27 2021, 09:40 AM)
What is the difference with SA MY?

Im under the impression once u invest in foreign entity, essentially they are in foreign currency

Any RM drop will result in increase in the investment
I think their asset allocation is different between SA MY and SA SG. I am invested in both. Currently treating SA SG as a place to park my SGD.
coolguy99
post May 27 2021, 01:50 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(taiping... @ May 27 2021, 01:19 PM)
I dont know if i will be interested or have the time to do technical analysis/ research.

Even if i have the time, i dont know if i absorb correctly what i hear/ research haha
It's okay you can learn a lot from sifus in this forum too. biggrin.gif That is what I did to kickstart my investment journey.

0.0976sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:01 AM