Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$

Showtime747
post Jul 15 2014, 05:05 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 15 2014, 03:01 PM)
Tax: anything above RM100K = 26% taxed
Next year: 25% tax BUT GST implemented newly, thus may be kaka hinting the fan

Next year >100k got 3 categories. 100k - 250k is 24% tax

http://www.malaysiandigest.com/opinion/484...cy-changes.html
Showtime747
post Jul 15 2014, 06:15 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 15 2014, 06:02 PM)
no feel bro.
SG tax - max tax 20% and only for income >=SGD360K /yr (pls correct me re_freako if i'm mistaken).
That's like..MYR936K /yr  shocking.gif
20%!
Patient bro. By 2020, potentially you pay only 20% like sg. But gst increase to 10% tongue.gif

http://m.thesundaily.my/node/229981
Showtime747
post Nov 23 2015, 09:39 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Nov 23 2015, 08:09 PM)
Hello folks,

I'd like to request for your advice on my personal finance. I'm 30 this year, single (with plans to marry in about 2-3 years) and below is the summary of my current situation. Items are shown as a percentage of my net worth:

Cash, RM, M2U Savers :21.86 %
Cash, USD                  :29.39%
Bursa (Dividend stocks, REITs) : 7.33%
ASM and AS1M                        : 41.06%

I don't own a car or property as I currently do not need either of those. I do intend to purchase a house/condo, not necessarily in Malaysia, just before I get married. I'd appreciate some recommendations on possible tweaks I can implement for better growth.

Constructive input please  notworthy.gif
Q1. Are you happy with your current returns ?

It is all about risk and return. Your current portfolio is very conservative except for your USD.

I would set a target for my desired return first. If I am happy with 4%, then throw everything into FD. If I am only happy with 8%, then I have to take higher risk.

So, all depends on your return expectation

Q2. Are you going to use the above investment as down payment for your house ?

If so, then you have to keep your funds liquid. That would determine which type of investment you need now
Showtime747
post Nov 23 2015, 09:43 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 23 2015, 08:47 PM)
I do not know how much you are worth. However you do not need so much cash in hand (21.86 %). Dump them into asm/as1m. Keep what you need for the month. For myself, I set a future target of RM100k each in asm, asw2020, as1m (haven't even have RM100k yet, still planning tongue.gif) . Why only Rm300k, cause with RM300k, I will be getting approximately RM18k/year free money. I can survive based on that. The rest I will dump into certain unit trust bought via FSM to generate at least min 10% returns/year. If you do not know what to buy, can consult pinky and xuzen. Like mr guy. He buy based on recommendations in the FSM thread and earn min 5%, max 20+%

You should not hold cash. Try openning SG account and buy their reits. Their REITS is able to give a 7% return/year which is equal to ~21% after factoring in the exchange rates.

That's my future plan and hope it helps. smile.gif
7% is still 7% whether it is in RM or forex

Eg. S$10k x 7% = S$700 ==> RM30k x 7% = RM2.1k

Showtime747
post Apr 22 2016, 12:14 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(superhero_123 @ Apr 22 2016, 11:59 AM)
My situation:

Own a car, thinking to sell of and will have around 25k on hand. Am planning to put the 25k into current house loan and buy a new car with 25k loan.

Is this feasible? My simple thinking is since house loan interest is higher (>4%) and car loan interest (<4%), I should save some money on interest. And also the house loan reduction of 25k will save me more interest in the long run since interest is calculated daily.
Bro, your interest rate concept is wrong. House loan is reducing balance, while car loan is straight line.

So, car loan interest is roughly 2 time the quoted rate. If the bank say is 3.5%, then the effective interest is around 7%. House loan is always cheaper than car loan, personal loan and the like

Your plan is not a good plan.
Showtime747
post Apr 22 2016, 12:20 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 22 2016, 12:18 PM)
another one conned/misled by flat-rate interest VS effective rate interest
these financial institutions should be made to comply with certain marketing & communication standards.
urgh
Somebody must complain the BNM. And I nominate our wong seafood thumbup.gif
Showtime747
post Apr 22 2016, 01:09 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(superhero_123 @ Apr 22 2016, 12:39 PM)
Thanks for response.

I understand that car loan is a straight loan, so it is just calculated 1 time based on loan. In example, 25k loan for 3.5% for 5 year is equivalent to 4375 (25k x 0.035 x 5).

House loan if reduced by 25k, let say interest 4.6%, equivalent to 1150 (25k x 0.046) for first year.

This is my understanding and if over long run, wouldn't it be better? Maybe after 4-5 year, it would be the same as car loan interest?
Compare like to like :

Car loan :

25k, 3.5%, 5 years
Total repayable = (25,000+4,375)=29,375

House loan :

25k, 4.6%, 5 years
Monthly installment = 467.21 x 60 = 28,032.79

So house loan is cheaper than car loan, despite what the interest suggest. Because for house loan, your interest is calculated on reduced principal every month. So, interest is more at the beginning, while less at the end. On the other hand, car loan interest is calculated fixed at 25k for the whole 60 months

Showtime747
post Jun 21 2016, 05:10 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Jun 20 2016, 10:03 PM)
Folks,

I'm thinking of purchasing my first property. However, I'm wondering about what would be the best combination to obtain the best value for my hard earned money.

My understanding is that :
1. Higher downpayment = lower total interest paid
2. Shorter loan term = lower total interest paid

How do you determine the best combination of downpayment and loan tenure for a given property purchase - can I approach a Financial Planner on this ?

I don't think it would be a good idea to ask bank staff because they have a vested interest to maximize the interest earned on every loan.
Bro, use flexi loan and you will have a lot of flexibility. Your above 2 concerns will be solved.

1. Higher downpayment ?
Flexi loan allows you to dump your excess cash into the current account to reduce the amount outstanding, thus reducing your interest expense. While the excess cash can still be withdraw out for your own use later (if you can find some investment with good return for example). That is the beauty of flexi loan.

So, take as much loan as possible (90% LTV) with the bank. Then dump in your extra cash into the current account later to reduce interest expense, while still be able to use it when you need money. If you pay higher downpayment, then your cash will no longer be available to you

2. Shorter loan term ?
Again, flexi loan will take care of your concern. Interest is calculated on daily basis based on your balance outstanding. So if you have extra cash, dump everything into the current account. It has the same effect of paying more instalment as a shorter loan term.

So, take loan term as long as possible in flexi loan. Then deposit as much money as possible into the current account. That will save you interest. And you may pay off your loan sooner

By getting flexi loan with as much LTV + as long loan term as possible, it gives you the flexibility to pay lesser interest and at the same time allows you to withdraw the excess money when you need it. And the extra money you paid into your current account will be available for use for a longer period also.

However, flexi loan is of no extra advantage for people who has no extra cash to dump into the current account. For this category of people, there is no difference for them to take conventional fixed loan
Showtime747
post Jun 22 2016, 11:17 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Jun 22 2016, 06:45 PM)

But I still have an ultra newbie question:
Assuming you have 300k cash and your home transaction price is 450k, is it still better to pay 10% downpayment (45k) and take a home loan for 405k for 30 years (and park the remaining cash in the linked current account to reduce the interest payment) ?
Yes.

With flexi-loan, you take 405k loan at 30 years. When the accounts are in operation, then park your remaining 255k inside the current account. Your interest calculation is effectively on principal of 150k, not 405k.

If you take conventional loan, you have to pay interest on 405k irregardless. The 255k is your separate fund which you have to think how to make good return on it

Another way of viewing the flexi-loan is a "low cost reducing-balance overdraft" (where the overdraft facility is reduced by the monthly instalment amount). The interest rate is housing loan rate (4.xx%) compare to overdraft interest rate of 7.xx-8.xx%. The fund is ready for you to jump on good investment opportunity at anytime. If you cannot find a good opportunity, you are still paying less interest expense as your balance principal is already reduced.

Compare to conventional loan which you take high LTV, you have to pay interest on a full loan, while feel the pressure to look for investment opportunity to cover the interest expense which runs on daily basis
Showtime747
post Jun 24 2016, 09:56 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Jun 24 2016, 02:09 AM)
all income should goes to pay/acquire asset (FD, business) such that the assets can generate passive income to pay for all expenses/debt.

This cycle should be automated until passive income exceed all expenses, where you achieve financial freedom on paper.

That's all is needed for the so called Personal Financial Management.
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This is the ultimate aim of everybody

Just wondering have you achieved your financial freedom ? What is your vehicles to generate passive income ?
Showtime747
post Jun 24 2016, 10:01 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Jun 24 2016, 09:58 AM)
some like it complicated, others like it simple, to each its own.
How about yours specifically ?
Showtime747
post Jun 24 2016, 10:09 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Jun 24 2016, 10:03 AM)
free advice are not specific, and not accountable.

use it on own digression, disagree if u like.
Good way of saying "fxxk off, I won't share with you" thumbup.gif
Showtime747
post Jun 24 2016, 10:33 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Jun 24 2016, 10:20 AM)
from your replies, even if i share more (which i already did), you will still blame me for not sharing more.

so.. i guess i have to agree with you.

over and out.
Bro, its Friday lah. Just joking, why so serious ? Blame you ? For what ? biggrin.gif

From your avatar, you must be heavily into stock ? Brexit vote count right now affecting the uncertainty of the whole world's market. Chill man ! It won't be the end of the world
Showtime747
post Jun 24 2016, 09:58 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Jun 24 2016, 09:00 PM)
Is it?

Ok, let's say you save everything until you can achieve financial freedom. That's possible, but it takes time. Most people take a long, long time to do that.

The fact is, for most people, by the time they achieve financial freedom, they are too old to enjoy the things they could have enjoyed when younger. You cannot wind back the clock. I'll leave it at that, because one either understand that, or one doesn't.
There are 2 or 3 people who achieved financial freedom in the 40s or early 50s here. Can't remember their nicks, but they are in the retirement planning thread.

I have a number of my friends who retired in the 50s. And I know some who can afford to retire, but choose to continue to work. I am one of these people.

The elderly in my family mostly live beyond 70s close to 80. Some >80 years old and still healthy. Assuming the "design" of my body is similar, I still have at least 20 years, or maybe 25 years to enjoy my life if I take care of my body well

Many young people now live the YOLO life style. If they do their financial and retirement planning early instead, they could realistically achieve financial freedom in the 50s. After that, still have maybe 20-25 years to enjoy life. Plenty of time

I will also leave it at that, because one either plan early, or one doesn't. And that determines one's retirement with financial freedom a reality, or a far fetched dream.

Showtime747
post Jun 24 2016, 10:36 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Jun 24 2016, 10:06 PM)
For completeness, I will clarify my point.

I am not saying you should spend like no tomorrow. At the same time, I am saying one should not solely save for tomorrow. Somewhere in between, there is a balance.
Yes. Agree. No money for enjoyment is very difficult. But some people did it that way. Especially women biggrin.gif

Just like to add on what lowya posted :

all income should goes to pay/acquire asset (FD, business) such that the assets can generate passive income to pay for all expenses/debt.

This cycle should be automated until passive income exceed all expenses, where you achieve financial freedom on paper.

That's all is needed for the so called Personal Financial Management.

Note that he is talking about "income producing assets" which will generate income which pay for the expenses. It is a process, instead of a final result. One got to start somewhere and slowly accumulate the assets. As such, initial years will be harder, and it gets easier as years go by

If one starts early maybe in the early/mid 20s, when he reaches mid or late 30s, his passive income could be of sizeable amount by then. At that stage, the retirement planning will be easier and he may take stock of his financial position and decide to allocate part of the passive income for early enjoyment.

To me, nothing comes easy. The most difficult part will be to take the first step to plan, and then stick to the plan faithfully. It is easier said than done, but I have seen quite a few achieved their goal. The common character of these people is they have the required discipline and determination to put their plan into action
Showtime747
post Jun 26 2016, 10:58 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jun 26 2016, 06:44 PM)
Spot on
Can share here or pm how u accumulate RM20m NAV?
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 26 2016, 09:21 PM)
Share here la. We also waiting for his info.

But must ask him whether he knows what is NAV in the first place. Earlier post he got it completely wrong.
Haiyo, both you two old birds know he lacks the knowledge, but still want to push on biggrin.gif
Showtime747
post Jun 27 2016, 06:50 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 26 2016, 11:52 PM)

Lacking knowledge is no issue. But his arrogance is quite surprising.
LYN is not short of such people over the years. He is not the first one, and won't be the last biggrin.gif

A simple NAV calculation also can argue until his father come out. I won't be surprised the grandfather and grandmother will appear later doh.gif

Readers will know who is trolling lah biggrin.gif

Showtime747
post Jun 28 2016, 07:27 AM

4,258 posts

NAV calculation is maths, which is based on universal accepted formula and usual practice. It is not an art where it has "perceived value" or "beauty" in the different eyes of the beholder biggrin.gif

It is used widely by mutual funds, ETF etc for its market price and people trade billions based on this value. It is used by the accountants to value a company. And listed companies like Reits used it to revalue and reports to the stock exchange. Properties value are supported by licensed valuer's report. Some used more than 1 valuers and take the average. NAV calculation is accepted by the regulators around the world.

However, some people look at it as something superficial and can arbitrarily put a value and include his father's asset in the calculation of NAV biggrin.gif

By having this type of opinion in this forum, if it is read by someone who has just some financial knowledge, he will not only "mempersiasuikan"himself but also the regular readers here biggrin.gif
Showtime747
post Jul 25 2016, 03:24 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jul 25 2016, 12:00 PM)
Funny we had 2 renovators who came to challenge all the finance threads taikors claiming they know better than everyone else; supersound first and kengyan now....

They seem to be active in different renovation traits though, else I would think they are just alter-egos  brows.gif
Both likes to call names which makes them stand out from everyone else
Both ? "They" are the same person ! biggrin.gif

From the writing style and the content (the lack of), most probably they are the same person. Because everybody ignored supersound, he has to register a dupe
Showtime747
post Aug 25 2016, 02:34 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Aug 25 2016, 02:17 PM)
so you recommend direct go buy/sell shares?
Just for the background, that kengyan is the dupe of supersound, who thought all insurance and UT agents are con man. Most of us knew he is a tin kosong biggrin.gif

My take for you is to spend some time reading the relevant threads which interest you. There are a lot of info here for new comers. Then if you don't understand a specific investment, you can ask the sifu here

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0950sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:03 AM