The Official iPad Air Discussion Thread | V1, The Power of Lightness

celciuz
post Feb 13 2014, 10:06 PM

14,037 posts

Yay! Now I could join this thread after receiving it as a gift from my girl hehehe! Upgrading from iPad 2 here smile.gif
celciuz
post Feb 14 2014, 12:32 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Feb 14 2014, 12:22 AM)
Hory Shet. Me jealous here hahaha!

A Valentine's Day gift from girlfriend? iPad Air?  rclxms.gif

So lucky bro...
Yeap, she definitely caught me by surprise this round blush.gif

Surveying low and high for glass SP + case. Most likely going to end up with Glass-M and Moshi VersaCover.
celciuz
post Feb 14 2014, 10:29 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(shahruls @ Feb 14 2014, 08:40 AM)
Already 3 week with  Glass-M and Moshi VersaCover combination. So far everything ok, no problem. Some user got problem with glass-m, mine ok.
Can I know how much did you paid for the Glass-M and Moshi VersaCover?

QUOTE(S4a @ Feb 14 2014, 10:16 AM)
Well, you must be a casual user. Unlike myself, I draws & writes with adonit Jot Script/Touch 4 stylus a lot and using the iPad Air like there's no tomorrow... Seriously. The Glass-M is over-hyped. It's not as strong as advertised. It cracks very easily. Make sure you don't accidentally drops or knocks it. It'll crack even with a slight knocks on the edges or screen. Lousy... doh.gif
I personally am using Glass-M 0.2mm on my iPad 2 + Switcheasy Canvas case, so far no signs of chipping yet. Usually play games such as Infinity Blade 3 on it, that's why I'm going for the Glass-M again for my iPad Air.

However, my brother uses the 0.15mm Glass-M on his iPhone 5S and it chips without any drops! So far my Armorz Extreme Lite is good though on my iPhone 5S, but I'm using SGP Neo Hybrid which covers the edges.
celciuz
post Feb 15 2014, 04:36 PM

14,037 posts

Shit, just installed my Glass-M and found 2 hairline scratches the moment I removed the top plastic cry.gif Also the adhesive isn't covering 100% of the glass! Will post some pics later on.

This post has been edited by celciuz: Feb 15 2014, 05:12 PM
celciuz
post Feb 15 2014, 09:37 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Feb 15 2014, 06:53 PM)
Glass-M Seems like giving user many problems.
I'm disappointed sad.gif I paid RM150 for this item and sigh, even the adhesive did not have 100% coverage.
celciuz
post Feb 15 2014, 11:16 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(S4a @ Feb 15 2014, 11:02 PM)
The adhesive will contract after 48hrs leaving a mm uncovered area around the edges. Especially around the home button. Sigh~
Unfortunately for mine, I saw the gap even before installing it but decided to proceed. Upon installation sigh the gap can't be avoid since there's basically no adhesive in between the glass and screen. I actually think my alignment was pretty "perfect" already. sad.gif

celciuz
post Feb 16 2014, 12:28 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(S4a @ Feb 16 2014, 12:04 AM)
Yes, this is exactly what I meant. It happened to both my iPad Air and iPhone 5S  doh.gif
I'm going to feedback this to my seller and see what can be done, will update here smile.gif
celciuz
post Feb 16 2014, 10:54 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Feb 16 2014, 01:00 AM)
Woah ... good thing I didn't go with Glass-M
Might be an isolated case for my iPad Air. My iPad 2 had better coverage but definitely not as good as my Armorz Extreme Lite for my iPhone, that one perfect!

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Feb 16 2014, 09:24 AM)
I bought some other brand 0.2mm glass sp from Taobao from RM60 and it seems to be very good. The edge is curve nicely so when I stick it on the iPad Air, it really looks like there is no glass sp installed. The edge also feel very smooth.  I had it install since dec last year and so far no chipping at all.  Very satisfy except that it's a fingerprint magnet but regular cleaning would do.
Bro, can share the link? RM60 sounds really cheap alternative compared to the RM150 Glass-M sweat.gif But eh, I checked Taobao the Glass-M goes for about RM50~RM60 only sweat.gif
celciuz
post Feb 16 2014, 02:07 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(powerstar @ Feb 16 2014, 02:03 PM)
Guys, I planning to get a iPad air. Is apple already solve the yellow tint problem on the new 2014 product?
My iPad Air bought on 13/2 is definitely blue-er than my iPhone 5S or my older iPad 2 laugh.gif
celciuz
post Feb 16 2014, 02:27 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Feb 16 2014, 02:23 PM)
Right now I'm loving my iloome. It feels good and looks like no SP on my iPad, and it's thin too.

Yeah I think Armorz is the best glass SP I've used so far for iPhone, but I already have a deep scratch on mine  cry.gif
Yikes, so far I've been using the Armorz for about 2 months now. (Y) the screen smoothness is win! Haven't used any that is better than it yet. Initially was considering the Armorz for iPad Air but then the price sweat.gif so decided to go with Glass-M but unfortunately my copy haih cry.gif
celciuz
post Feb 16 2014, 02:46 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Feb 16 2014, 02:35 PM)
I wanted to order Armorz for iPad also but it's no where to be found. Almost go with Glass-M but heard a lot of chipping issue so I went with iloome. Wanted to get siege from one of the forumer here but no stock.
So far I think Armorz only available on their website, nobody bringing this in sigh. http://www.armorz.com/en/product/iPad-Air/...e-iPad-Air/fm67 (USD89.95 sweat.gif )
celciuz
post Feb 16 2014, 07:14 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Connect2USales @ Feb 16 2014, 04:33 PM)
According to the ex distributor of armorz in Taiwan, they said armorz extreme r have adhesive issue. We clarify with armorz and they said their main concern is the supply chain n not the adhesive issue. They will look into that after they improve their supply chain.
N since extreme lite did not have such issue, we sticks to it at the moment until armorz improves their extreme r which is the best seller.
sweat.gif what sort of issue? hopefully its not coverage issue like the Glass-M I have with sad.gif
celciuz
post Feb 16 2014, 09:35 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Connect2USales @ Feb 16 2014, 09:26 PM)
Not too sure but from what I heard, its the adhesive issue which is not consistent. some area might not be covered. But apparently only happens with Extreme R. Too many defected units. Even one of the forumer bought 2 units from Hong Kong, reach here both also defected.
again? seems like iloome really prone to scratches too
Alamak, that's what I'm facing with the Glass-M now sad.gif The gap is collecting dust dry.gif Just 1 day of usage!
celciuz
post Feb 18 2014, 09:59 PM

14,037 posts

Question to iPad Air users here, as I'm not using any case yet... I noticed when charging my iPad Air, if I were to put my fingers and slightly rub on the metal case it sorts of vibrates similar behavior to my rMBP when charging. Is this common? Does it happen to your unit too?
celciuz
post Feb 19 2014, 07:36 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(S4a @ Feb 18 2014, 10:12 PM)
For MBPr, use the extension cable that came with it instead of direct plug on the brick charger. Cause there's no grounding if charging without the extension cable  icon_rolleyes.gif
Was going to try for the rMBP but the unit is usually with my gf and the cable with me sweat.gif , haven't got to try it yet. But I'm surprised my iPad Air also have this issue! Don't tell me the USB charging outlet provided is not grounded? But I see 3 pin...
celciuz
post Feb 19 2014, 10:48 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Feb 19 2014, 10:19 AM)
Yes you see 3 pins but it's still not gounded. When you separate the 3 pin adapter with the usb charger, it only connect live and neutral. The 3rd pin is just to accommodate our socket standard.
This is referring to the iPad Air's original charger? But I see there's like a slot to put a fuse in, and the ground pin is metal too.
celciuz
post Feb 19 2014, 02:35 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Feb 19 2014, 11:31 AM)
Yes I was referring to the iPad charger as below

The ground pin can be metal but it is still not connected to grounding. Remember when we need to use 2 pin plug on a 3 pin socket where we jam pen or test pens to get the socket open? In this case, the 3rd pin serve this purpose.

Actually the fuse is not for grounding, it's to cut any overload from the live connection.

If you see in the picture below, where the round metal thing on the side, that is the grounding for the adapter (usually found on Macbook or MBA charger). The 3 pin plug also have a metal contact in the insert to complete the grounding.

Ahh! Okay that explains, then its perfectly normal for iPad Air then since there's no cable option anyways right? But then again, somehow why didn't Apple noticed this small issue sigh.
celciuz
post Feb 19 2014, 09:21 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Feb 19 2014, 03:14 PM)
It might not be a issue in the 1st place to them
I actually fitted the 3 prong to my iPad charger, looks so cute! the charger, yes confirmed the vibration is gone. Ahh dry.gif now where can I get these cable.. or I should just buy one of those multi USB chargers with grounding perhaps.
celciuz
post Feb 21 2014, 10:03 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Feb 21 2014, 02:29 AM)
wao when i run lots of apps if no close at multitasking
my ipad will restart = =
Probably ran out of memory doing so... must have been a lot a lot of app there! Last time I went to try out iPad Air at Machines, it had A LOT of in the background. But surprisingly I still could use it smoothly, so I guess yours had way more sweat.gif
celciuz
post Feb 23 2014, 09:56 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(geek8585 @ Feb 23 2014, 09:43 AM)
I got these problem as well... I'm pretty disappointed with Glass M now... The side adhesive is just simply bad...

First thing come to my mind, this pcs of SP is not flat enough... Probably some minor curve cause it... Lesson learnt: good things don't come cheap... My previous Spigen Glass T.R on iPhone 5 just fit perfectly, but it cost a boom...  sad.gif
I had the same initial thought, I was thinking my iPad surface isn't flat enough when I installed on my iPad 2 earlier. But then when installing recently to my iPad Air I took note just before I peel the layer off. The adhesive actually didn't cover entirely! Disappointing.

QUOTE(Kellyyhx @ Feb 23 2014, 09:53 AM)
Indeed. Both my iPhone and iPad's Glass-M cracked within one month usage.
And the quality weren't that good as described.
Mine had a fine line scratch right after I remove the top layer!

I definitely won't recommend this Glass-M to anybody already.

0.0382sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:35 AM