Mov_freak
post Oct 22 2013, 10:59 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(hoss @ Oct 22 2013, 10:43 PM)
how much is urs SVS PB1000?
Less then your budget... laugh.gif

Talk to him lah. I might get in trouble putting prices here... You don't want that right.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Oct 22 2013, 11:00 PM
chanhin
post Oct 22 2013, 11:07 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(hoss @ Oct 22 2013, 09:56 PM)
Chanhin, do you have any recommendation on the subwoofer?

how about the 3 models below:-

1. B&W ASW610 (a lot good reviews)
2. Wharfedale Diamond SW250,
3. KEF Q400B.
Well, to be frank, my experiences on sub is still limited and hard to judge solely based on sub because we do not just listen to only sub in any shop.

My recommendation is EarthQuake Minime P12, which is a 12" that can do as low as 18 hz. Good enough for me.
Vinceyang
post Oct 22 2013, 11:24 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Oct 22 2013, 09:40 PM)
Be careful le... Later drop speakers or scrath here and there...  sweat.gif
brows.gif  biggrin.gif  tongue.gif
Not sure n LX-82, but LX-87 do rock and impressed me. I consider myself hard to satisfy type.
Latest is LX-87. Somehow Malaysia has the first owner faster than HK. How I know?  biggrin.gif
Mind to elaborate more of u impression on LX87? Movie, stereo...
TShoss
post Oct 23 2013, 12:36 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Oct 22 2013, 11:07 PM)
Well, to be frank, my experiences on sub is still limited and hard to judge solely based on sub because we do not just listen to only sub in any shop.

My recommendation is EarthQuake Minime P12, which is a 12" that can do as low as 18 hz. Good enough for me.
hmm... not quite understand that u mention on [12" that can do as low as 18 hz]. what to do with the 18hz?
sonerin
post Oct 23 2013, 07:31 AM

8,739 posts

To select a sub the lower the hz can go the better. SVS can lower than 18hz, so theoretically is better. In practical it is a better sub as well
chanhin
post Oct 23 2013, 12:50 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(Vinceyang @ Oct 22 2013, 11:24 PM)
Mind to elaborate more of u impression on LX87? Movie, stereo...
Movies and concert BD experinces are fantastic with clarity and details that never heard before... Basically another level as compare to normal Marantz or Onkyo. I can give 9/10.

Stereo music wise.... a bit complicated. Details got, depth so-so... So later I switch to using CD player analog output where depth improved, but details and clarity drop. So far cannot find good general solution on the stereo music. I can give 4/10.

Anyway, dun get me wrong on the not-so-good stereo music playback, most people speakers should already has a limit on hearing the bottleneck. Some more most ears cannot ears the differences much... So still okay to most people including the experinced one.

Thus for LX series users, serious recommend to buy another set of stereo amp.

QUOTE(hoss @ Oct 23 2013, 12:36 AM)
hmm... not quite understand that u mention on [12" that can do as low as 18 hz]. what to do with the 18hz?
Our amp can usually do between 10Hz to 100kHz. A good sub must be at least doing 20Hz on the low side for deeper feel. Cheap sub is about 30Hz where hardly can feel the deep depth stuff.
Vinceyang
post Oct 23 2013, 02:04 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Oct 23 2013, 12:50 PM)
Movies and concert BD experinces are fantastic with clarity and details that never heard before... Basically another level as compare to normal Marantz or Onkyo. I can give 9/10.

Stereo music wise.... a bit complicated. Details got, depth so-so... So later I switch to using CD player analog output where depth improved, but details and clarity drop. So far cannot find good general solution on the stereo music. I can give 4/10.

Anyway, dun get me wrong on the not-so-good stereo music playback, most people speakers should already has a limit on hearing the bottleneck. Some more most ears cannot ears the differences much... So still okay to most people including the experinced one.

Thus for LX series users, serious recommend to buy another set of stereo amp.
Our amp can usually do between 10Hz to 100kHz. A good sub must be at least doing 20Hz on the low side for deeper feel. Cheap sub is about 30Hz where hardly can feel the deep depth stuff.
Thanks for you sharing. notworthy.gif
Maybe the older model LX-90 Susanno is doing better in stereo?

What do you think if LX86/87 compare to Denon 4311?

chanhin
post Oct 23 2013, 02:18 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(Vinceyang @ Oct 23 2013, 02:04 PM)
Thanks for you sharing.  notworthy.gif
Maybe the older model LX-90 Susanno is doing better in stereo?

What do you think if LX86/87 compare to Denon 4311?
No experinces on Denon....

Any1 willing to sponsor me the Denon for 2 weeks evaluation?

Hopefully I can get a Yamaha soon...

Btw, I think the Pioneer LX86 and 87 should be the best for movies... For 2 reaons;

(1) I hear it, damn good and impressed
(2) Even in KL intertional video audio show, most demostration are using pioneer after all. Assume they had done thier homework.

This post has been edited by chanhin: Oct 23 2013, 02:20 PM
matyeo
post Oct 23 2013, 02:25 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(hoss @ Oct 22 2013, 08:44 PM)
i believe ur avr is quite expansive.

btw what u mean for the "class D" ?

beside, u mentioned u always on THX mode even though the audio dun hv the THX format? or how ?
Last time i owned pioneer vsx-ax2as (thx selec 2 cert.) then i want upgrade to HD sound...i bought onkyo not sure the model but it was THX selec 2 also, price around 4.5k
sorry to say it cannot beat pioneer sound especially when i try play around with THX mode...i owned only one week then sent it back ...replace with pioneer LX82...
this situation is 5 years ago, now im not sure onkyo improving or not... smile.gif

agree with u i dont have thx format disk but for pioneer but when you setting your system with pioneer thx speaker setting even though your speaker not thx certified, trust me you can
feel different especially your sub and surrbck..

What is class D you can google it bro...and pioneer is pioneer in THX class D av receiver if i' not mistake... smile.gif

chanhin
post Oct 23 2013, 02:38 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(matyeo @ Oct 23 2013, 02:25 PM)
What is class D you can google it bro...and pioneer is pioneer in THX class D av receiver if i' not mistake... smile.gif
Matyeo is right, for class D defination, can google.

Here has some human understanding of defination of Class D;

(1) Nothing wrong with details and clarity, proven in LX-87
(2) When you play to max power ratted, the distortion is much worst than Class AB, which completely unacceptable for music.

Anyway, there is no worry, with the Pioneer, max rated is about 200 watt, how to use to the max in home? First bottleneck is speakers. laugh.gif

While for class AB maxed out power, distortion could be detected at small detailed, which is not that bad as compare to class D.

And for Class A, I think hardly can detect any issue when max out power...

Again, all these not important in reality...

Btw, when you guys trying to max up all the rated power for any reason, be very careful on the multiple speakers connection using single amp output. If you do parrellal connection too much, the amp is very very hot and easily burn it.

This post has been edited by chanhin: Oct 23 2013, 02:39 PM
Vinceyang
post Oct 23 2013, 03:35 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Oct 23 2013, 02:18 PM)
No experinces on Denon....

Any1 willing to sponsor me the Denon for 2 weeks evaluation?

Hopefully I can get a Yamaha soon...

Btw, I think the Pioneer LX86 and 87 should be the best for movies... For 2 reaons;

(1) I hear it, damn good and impressed
(2) Even in KL intertional video audio show, most demostration are using pioneer after all. Assume they had done thier homework.
Reading of your experience makes me wanna try out Pionner Elite tongue.gif

Does the Advance MCACC comes with Bass correction?
matyeo
post Oct 23 2013, 04:00 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(Vinceyang @ Oct 23 2013, 03:35 PM)
Reading of your experience makes me wanna try out Pionner Elite  tongue.gif

Does the Advance MCACC comes with Bass correction?
im not sure what you mean by bass correction but mcacc for LX series got extra menu for sub setting ...
and pioneer dont have sub trim like others... smile.gif

bro...if you really like watch movie more...pioneer LX is good chioce .. nod.gif

runemastertan
post Oct 23 2013, 04:06 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(hoss @ Oct 23 2013, 12:36 AM)
Just ask yourself this - Do you want a sub for accuracy, or you want a sub that can let your heart feel the "thumb" , especially during explosion?
Vinceyang
post Oct 23 2013, 04:18 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(matyeo @ Oct 23 2013, 04:00 PM)
im not sure what you mean by bass correction but mcacc for LX series got extra menu for sub setting ...
and pioneer dont have sub trim like others... smile.gif

bro...if you really like watch movie more...pioneer LX is good chioce .. nod.gif
Oh, is the mean MCACC have room correction for low frequency as well? But I thought it only correct until 60Hz (not sure)

Well, time to hunt for a LX series! drool.gif
sonerin
post Oct 23 2013, 05:46 PM

8,739 posts

SS2 hi way laser carry a lot if pioneer AVR models
Vinceyang
post Oct 23 2013, 05:59 PM

189 posts

I in Penang state sad.gif
sonerin
post Oct 23 2013, 08:16 PM

8,739 posts

Normally SenQ and Harver Norman do have it as well. You can try your luck
htkaki
post Oct 23 2013, 09:37 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Vince, PM me if you looking for spkrs. wink.gif
chanhin
post Oct 23 2013, 10:28 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(Vinceyang @ Oct 23 2013, 04:18 PM)
Well, time to hunt for a LX series!  drool.gif
So far in hifi world, very very rare things can impressed me... And these are the very few;

(1) LG 84" UDHD TV - my house can fit, but my wallet cannot afford notworthy.gif
(2) Focal Electra series speakers - super realistic sound, but too bad not pocket friendly. notworthy.gif
(3) Pioneer LX-87 for BD experinces (movies and concert). Please insist to get those DTS-HD Master. And use very good mid and high freq speakers. Example: KEF Q series notworthy.gif
Vinceyang
post Oct 23 2013, 10:48 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Oct 23 2013, 10:28 PM)
So far in hifi world, very very rare things can impressed me... And these are the very few;

(1) LG 84" UDHD TV - my house can fit, but my wallet cannot afford  notworthy.gif
(2) Focal Electra series speakers - super realistic sound, but too bad not pocket friendly.  notworthy.gif
(3) Pioneer LX-87 for BD experinces (movies and concert). Please insist to get those DTS-HD Master. And use very good mid and high freq speakers. Example: KEF Q series  notworthy.gif
So 1+2+3 will be the ultimate Home theater setup for those who have deep pocket tongue.gif

13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0282sec    1.03    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:31 AM