Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V8, Pls read post 1-3 & use Search Topic 1st

Sole X
post Jan 1 2014, 11:17 PM

209 posts

I'm new to credit cards.

Applied to Maybank 2 Card after reading through sifu Gen-X's blog, reading what I can from this forum. So here's the scenario I would like to confirm with the sifus here.

Received card on 27th of Dec.

Statement date: 18 of every month
Due date: 7 or 8 of the next month

That would mean all my expenses on my cards after 27 Dec will be stated on the 18th of January and due on the 8th of February.

I thought that from 27 Dec until 8 Feb, I had around 43 days of interest free period.

Here's my dilemma, after a friend mentioning that I will incur interest though my due date is on 8 of Feb.

His point was: Repayment must be done within 20 days after date of purchase, then only I will incur 0 interest for each transaction.

What do you guys think?

Sole X
post Jan 2 2014, 06:44 AM

209 posts

Thanks @David83 and @Alexswk . I was pretty worried when he mentioned that. Can't wait to receive my first statement, settle my payment and prove him wrong.
Sole X
post Jan 15 2014, 02:58 PM

209 posts

Hi guys,

I just got a call from someone claiming they're from Takaful or TA ? and its a special offer tied with my recent application of MBB 2 Cards.

1) She asked if I've activated my cards
2) Asked for expiry date
3) Asked for my card registration number, which is where I stopped the call and enquired whether this will cost me. And she said there are costs incurred

I said to her, I need to check back with Maybank about this.

Has anyone gotten any one of these calls and is this legit?
Sole X
post Jan 15 2014, 10:20 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 15 2014, 03:16 PM)
You are smart and did the right thing  notworthy.gif

Read below thread

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1833743

and if you got time click here to read my article Credit Card Fraud Calls and SMS Default Value
Thanks bro. She almost got me there. lol

Sole X
post Jan 17 2014, 07:25 PM

209 posts

Hi guys, my first statement will come tomorrow. I understand the concept of statement date and due date.

However, would like to confirm with you guys

a) That whatever I spend tomorrow will be carried forward to the next statement date,

or

Is it still counted into the statement?

b) Will my finalized statement date be generated tomorrow and I"ll be able to check every purchase I've made?

Thanks smile.gif
Sole X
post Jan 18 2014, 05:59 AM

209 posts

@Human Nature
a) refer post below

b) Your statement will only show all transactions up to the statement cut-off date.
Yes, 5x TP everyday

@victorywp

a) it depends on the merchant's posting date. if the merchant posts the transaction on the same day, it may appear in your statement tomorrow. if the merchant posts the transaction after your statement date, then it will appear in your next statement.

@namh

it is easier to check all your purchase if you have maybank2u.. dont have to wait for statement and can see up to 60 days back of transaction..

Thanks Sifus. Understood. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Sole X: Jan 18 2014, 06:00 AM
Sole X
post Jan 23 2014, 06:32 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Jan 23 2014, 02:16 AM)
applied m2card at 1U promo booth, no freebies.. less hassle cuz dont have to bring ur payslip to apply..

oh need to know different between gold vs platinum (not the benefit) such as yearly fee, interest rates, charges and so so..
Oh you applied without knowing those details? brows.gif

You can read about them here For Your Info

0.0440sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:22 AM