** Google Nexus 4 Official Thread V12 **, The Heritage of Nexus.

IwanAGP
post Oct 13 2013, 10:25 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Oct 13 2013, 09:58 PM)
Nova Launcher seem very nice... may be just me but i dont like having a Launcher (which always running) that require Internet connectivity... for anonymous reporting...

Nova Launcher permission:

Nexus 4 default launcher permission:

Probably to check for license?
IwanAGP
post Oct 14 2013, 08:54 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(ShengHow @ Oct 14 2013, 08:51 PM)
any idea how to edit the short cut in notification bar?
as in turn on/off data, etc
That's is a android thing. Can't be done using a launcher. There're apps that do this. Search for Power Toggle
https://play.google.com/store/search?q=power%20toggle
IwanAGP
post Oct 16 2013, 12:27 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(CrabNian @ Oct 16 2013, 12:24 AM)
Hi guys, is there any screen protector that is clear but anti-fingerprint?
Look for those with oleophobic coating. But this kind of coating (on the screen protector) is not permanent. It wears off with time.
IwanAGP
post Oct 16 2013, 01:32 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Oct 16 2013, 01:13 PM)
hi guys!

please help me. any way i can recover my stuffs?

i was on 4.2.2 custom rom CM stock kernel.

i backed up my stuffs using titanium backup, and nandroid online.
then i update my 4.2.2 to 4.3

the thing is i forgot to transfer the backup file from the phone to PC

when i installed 4.3 titanium backup to my phone, i realized my data is gone..
sms, whatsapp conversation, new contacts.

i know google saved my contacts, but it is not up to date! before i update, i check that google sync is ticked, and saved to my email. but then when i restore it back, the calendars, the contacts i have recently put in is all gone!

please help icon_question.gif
Since you've done nandroid, why don't you just restore your nandroid?

For titanium backup, try go into preferences and change the storage location. Click "Detect" in that screen and let it search for backup in whole device.

For Google sync, it worked everytime for me. Having it ticked and having it synced is different. You should check as it should say "Last synced at XXXX" Besides that, are you certain that you have your contacts saved to your google account instead of local storage on the phone (not linked to Google).

Btw, please detail on how you upgraded from 4.2.2 to 4.3. Which cache/data/anything else you wiped? Brief about your procedure.

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Oct 16 2013, 01:33 PM
IwanAGP
post Oct 16 2013, 06:57 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(wai57 @ Oct 16 2013, 03:07 PM)
Have anyone's N4 got visible digitisers on screen when looked at certain angles against light?
This was mentioned about a year ago when most of the websites reviewed Nexus 4.
IwanAGP
post Oct 21 2013, 06:29 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(harith_gtr34 @ Oct 21 2013, 09:25 AM)
do you guys notice, you can power off your phone even when its locked.
I think this is not secure at all. For those who are using anti-theft apps, like mine, Creberus...it's quite useless if somebody can power off the device.
Erm... Do you notice that... you can power off your device by long pressing... Really loooooonnnnnnggggg pressing the power button just like how our desktop/laptop behave when you long press on the power button.

This is necessary because the battery is non-removable. If that's the case, they can power it off anyway.
IwanAGP
post Oct 27 2013, 02:25 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Oct 27 2013, 12:07 AM)
good enuff for me icon_rolleyes.gif

Nice time lapse. Do you notice that the exposure is not fixed during time lapse? That's quite a big issue. For your case, it's still ok coz it's not too contrasty. But when taking time lapse for sunrise/sunset, the adjusting exposure ruins the time lapse. It will be much better with fixed exposure biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Oct 31 2013, 12:09 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 31 2013, 09:55 AM)
I can't recall when, I read one of the forumer here do the test with his own phone here back few version before of this thread.

Even thou, I also experience the same things when I was still on Maxis(currently on Umobile).
I remember when I was on Maxis(Nexus4) and my mom on Maxis too(old school Nokia bar soap) She can get full bar inside my house, while my Nexus 4 only capable to get 1 or 2 bar only. That was almost 8months ago happen to me, I think that time should be still at 4.2.1 or 4.2.2 something if not mistaken. nod.gif
Your mom on Maxis too, and it's old school Nokia phone. Means? Your mom's phone got 3G or just old school 2G only?

What about your Nexus 4. Connected to 3G or just 2G? I believe you can get the same reception if you force it onto 2G. Maybe is the maxis 3G coverage that makes you think your N4 has poor reception.
IwanAGP
post Nov 3 2013, 12:35 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Nov 3 2013, 12:27 AM)
It just make a sound?then what, can it read info?
Makes a sound means the NFC Tag is detected. There's 2 type of NFC Apps. First type writes specific tasks into a tag (which means permanent). Then scanning the tag will perform the specified tasks. Second type just reads the "code" of the NFC Tag (something like your IC Number, different for each tag), then you set what tasks to be performed when this specific "IC Number" is scanned.

You can try AnyTag NFC (by Malaysian, Lowyat forumer too) which is the second type. Only use first type when you buy dedicated NFC Tags. Otherwise the info inside your IC/other NFC Tags will be erased.

It can't read our identity info in IC. There should be some type of encoding done to protect this information.
IwanAGP
post Nov 3 2013, 07:54 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(tjay_tj @ Nov 3 2013, 06:39 PM)
correct, as u mention above,
it can only read the code/serial embedded in the nfc tag. u can then set to do what action after detect the nfc by the apps mention. those apps will nt rewrite or write or erase the code/serial. just use the code to do what u ask. so ic will totally behave like a nfc tag and display the code/serial only. to erase/write the code/serial u need special device
You can actually write an NFC tag using a phone. But to read the encoded information then you need special device that decodes those information.
IwanAGP
post Nov 5 2013, 01:09 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(muaz9768 @ Nov 5 2013, 12:42 AM)
i was thinking on doing that too. currently downloading the factory image with super slow download speed
You can do ADB push in recovery mode or sideload the zip file.

Both need PC.
IwanAGP
post Nov 5 2013, 01:24 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(muaz9768 @ Nov 5 2013, 01:10 AM)
do you have any idea on getting back my files in sd card partition in fastboot?
is Wug's Nexus 4 root toolkit able to do it?
Recovery again... ADB Pull. But you have to know where's your file located. Go read up on that.

However... I'm uncertain whether you can get back your data. What did you wipe? You formatted whole storage or what?
IwanAGP
post Nov 6 2013, 02:19 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(jacktay94 @ Nov 6 2013, 01:17 AM)
means no international bands? or is tat controlled by software? o.o
That chip supports almost all LTE Bands. The problem with Nexus 4 is not that chip but the power amplifier for LTE. Nexus 4 has the LTE chipset but not the transceiver (antenna + power amplifier) needed for LTE.

I guess they fit it into Nexus 5.
IwanAGP
post Nov 6 2013, 12:17 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Nov 6 2013, 03:16 AM)
That's a good news, I hope they follow what Apple did on iPhone. Just one model for all.
It can never be one for all. US always wants to be different. Korea and Japan also quite different from other regions.

It's almost impossible for that to happen. It's only possible if the number of bands for LTE is standardized to 6 or 7 bands instead of over 20 different bands (i think should be around 20 bands used by telco worldwide). Due to political and profit concern, these countries will never use the same band. Why? We never know... doh.gif
IwanAGP
post Nov 6 2013, 04:04 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(aegis`- @ Nov 6 2013, 03:15 PM)
my s3 internal memory also cant utilize finish.

Better camera? im satisfied with s3 camera as i only use it for work. technical stuff and technical drawing

when nex5 is out im sure nex4 will be 1k or below? good buy imho
You get it wrong...

S3 has a better camera compared to Nexus 4. I've been in a situation where S3 and Note 2 camera totally put Nexus 4 and Galaxy Nexus camera in shame. So many shots taken on Nexus 4 and Galaxy Nexus comes out blurry. Friend Note 2/S3 just one shot already a much better picture.

Maybe you won't find them different in perfect setting (sufficient light, still subject etc) but the camera in S3 is quite far ahead in low light.

Seems like Google will continue to make Nexus phones suffer in low light sad.gif

*Don't flame me with... something like "Get a camera to take picture, not a phone" Not everyone has the cash to spend on 2 gadgets instead of one* icon_rolleyes.gif
IwanAGP
post Nov 8 2013, 04:58 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 8 2013, 03:57 PM)
What should second phone get? Note 3? iPhone 5? sweat.gif

Actually I also looking toward the ultimate spec as well, the Acer Liquid S2. Spec on paper is godlike.drool.gif
I thought Acer Liquid S2 same spec as Note 3, just 0.3" bigger screen.

Note 3 comes with 4.3 somemore.
IwanAGP
post Nov 8 2013, 11:08 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(am84496 @ Nov 8 2013, 10:29 PM)
IMO, any phone with 3000mAh ++ battery is great. It can simply last for a day with 6-7 hours SOT without any modification. Example is HTC butterfly s and note 2/3.
If you use it with the pattern you currently using your Nexus 4, it will probably last 2 or even 3 days.

Btw...

http://www.thestar.com.my/Tech/Tech-News/2...ife-report.aspx

S4 best battery life biggrin.gif

Not sure if G2 and Note 3 are tested though.
IwanAGP
post Nov 9 2013, 04:53 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(jacktay94 @ Nov 9 2013, 03:16 PM)
Seriously? I tot it was a sure thing to have one. O.o
Even Galaxy Nexus already don't have it. Nothing surprising there hmm.gif
IwanAGP
post Nov 10 2013, 04:52 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Nov 10 2013, 12:36 AM)
WTF!! I power off my phone and then i turn it on and it stuck at boot loop. I didnt flash anything nor touch anything. What can i do now? I got important msg in whatsapp wei... Really wtf la
Try flash the ROM again? I believe whatsapp can survive since a backup is made in the storage (Whatsapp folder) unless you messed with it before.

I suggest you to make titanium backup runs on schedule once every 3 days (or so) then even if you lose any data, it won't be > 3 days old.
IwanAGP
post Nov 10 2013, 10:20 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ Nov 10 2013, 09:21 PM)
I see quite a few orders for Nexus 5 in garage sales. But, most sets are going to be from US. I dont get it - why buy something that u cant us it 100% (LTE wise)???
Erm... Some ppl just want to be the first one to own them. They take it as their hobby or interest so they're doing it for the joy.

This is good because it stimulates the economy.

*PS: I'm not one of them biggrin.gif*

It's the same reason why ppl would pay premium to be one of the first to own a new generation iPhone.

Anyway, at that 1.8~1.9k pricing, its price is just about on par with other flagship or a little more expensive because being the first phone to have 4.4 is one that a shop/seller can boast about. That worth few hundred probably? biggrin.gif

Other than buying from Garage sale, I believe many ppl here bring in on their own, through forwarding service. That way, each phone will probably just cost around 1.2k after sirim and everything. Not sure if the LTE bands work here though. Wait for local release rolleyes.gif

0.0379sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:19 PM